We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Hostel | Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL Amsterdam, Holland, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 RL

72.0% Overall Rating

30 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Julius Pröpper thinks…

"Staff was really friendly and helpful, bathrooms were clean and the hostel is close to famous Bulldog Coffeeshop and the Van Gogh Museum."

Read all Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam has a policy of pre-authorising your credit card in order to secure the reservation. We do this prior to your arrival date to ensure that the card is still valid and that it has sufficient credit to cover the reservation. The pre-authorised amount will be released back to your account after payment in cash. We do not accept bookings for more than 6 persons. Please contact us for exceptions. We have an age limit and can only accept guests between the age of 18 and 35 years old. Cancellation Policy: we have a 72 hours cancellation policy, which means you need to cancel or change your booking 3 days prior to your arrival. In case of a No Show or late cancellation, we need to charge you for your entire stay. On arrival it is not possible to cancel or change your booking. The outstanding balance and city tax must be paid in EUR cash at check in upon arrival. City tax of 5,5% is not included and will be added to your balance upon arrival. There is a minimum stay of 4 nights required between the 30th December and 2nd January. Please make sure there is enough credit on the given credit card to cover the total amount of the booking. We will pre-authorise (not a charge) the full amount of the reservation directly after the booking is made. The booking will be cancelled if we will not be able to get an pre-authorisation. After payment on arrival in cash, we will release the amount back to your account. Cancellations have to be notified by e-mail 14 days before the arrival date. After this period we are forced to charge full amount of the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Janson
27.94 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews
Trianon
24.60 USD

Hostel 64.8% 338 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
18.20 USD

Hostel 65.0% 543 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.89 USD

Hostel 69.7% 4330 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.77 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1569 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
992.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
39.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 791 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.83 USD

Hostel 86.1% 2333 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

30 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
65.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julius Pröpper

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2015 Julius would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helpful, bathrooms were clean and the hostel is close to famous Bulldog Coffeeshop and the Van Gogh Museum.

Disliked: Julius left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Antoine Rabussier

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 August 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: No kitchen, very crowded and not welcoming people. Everythng is done in order that you let as much money as possible. The main problem was that each stair is equiped with only one shower and toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is in a very nice area, if you are a fan of vondelpark rather than the busling city center.

Disliked: The wifi is really bad in the room and there wasn't a comfortable common area to sit and use wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juana Marina Navarrete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015 Juana Marina would recommend this property

Liked: I reach Amsterdam at night, no place to stay, and at the last minute I looked this web and found Cosmos, I made my reservation and 30 min later I arrived, in reception the guys treated me very well, they were friendly, and I got room without a problem. I liked that the bed was clean, the sheets, the room along with the bathroom. When I needed to use another bathroom and also liked, it was clean and had more space. I stayed shared the room with other 4 women, all quiet and everyone in their affairs, the neighborhood is very quiet, not much noise and was comfortable, sleep very well If I go back to Amsterdam I'll stay with them.

Disliked: Everything was well.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

José Alcalde

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015

Liked: The internet was fine

Disliked: The staff personal was so unfriendly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015

Liked: The beds are confortable and clean.

Disliked: In my stay (3 nights) there wasn't hot water to shower, not even warm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen adams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: the bed was comfy and i like the wall paper the hostel cat simba, is a lovely friendly cat and loved being made a fuss of

Disliked: nothing it was all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met some really friendly people and staff, well located. Basic but also cheap. Found it clean btw for a hostel. Lockers can fit a big backpack.

Disliked: Stairs!!! and Simba biting me:(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very helpfull. I liked the location because of the museums and nightlife. Also good when staying with friends, not recommended for solo travellers.

Disliked: Stairs....haha not for older people.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful 24 hour access was good so you didn't have to worry about being back at a certain time also sambar the cat is so cute

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cynthia Jeong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: leaving and nothing else

Disliked: This is easily the worst hostel I have ever stayed at, and I've stayed in plenty of hostels. The bathrooms were horrible and small, the dorms tiny, the location average, horrible beds and the facilities limited. Whilst the facilites were disappointing compared to other hostels I have stayed at, it was the terrible service that was the biggest shock. After flight delays and a long journey we finally made it to the hostel, where, upon checking in, we were yelled at patronisingly, tyrannically and unfairly like children, for a confusion in the payment method. The next day the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. What's worse.::. it's not even cheap.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Few and tiny bathrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location and nice roommates!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rajei nadia

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 June 2014 rajei would recommend this property

Liked: verry good

Disliked: rajei left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: Rude are staff!! Took a booking fee when it was clearly stated no booking fee ! Staff we're rude beyond belief when questioned about anything ! False advertising about rooms and facilities . We felt like an hindrance rather that customers. Shower facilities were awful ,dirty and 3 were to be shared between entire hostel ! Asked for a receipt of the rates per night and person on desk wouldn't give us one and would not discuss rates that we paid at all . We did not know what we were paying for just a complete total was giving

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly staff, plus they have a friendly little cat that hangs around, giving it a homely vibe. Free breakfast is always good. Not many showers but never had a problem.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities, which is terrible for a backpacker - only a microwave, no kettle. No plates, cups or cutlery available after breakfast. Bit uncomfortable in the common area (the kitchen/breakfast area) as the chairs are packed away after breakfast, so don't feel welcome sitting there. Not very social

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Euan Mackenzie

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Euan would recommend this property

Liked: Budget accomodation that accurately describes itself. Great for people familiar with hostel life but not those expecting luxury.

Disliked: No safe or lockers to leave items in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greta Gonzalez Rios

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Greta would recommend this property

Liked: Its super near to the museums in a nice not noisy area. And well connected in the city through public transport. Staff is very helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Bed linen do not include a sheets its just a thick cover which doesnt smell like just washed. Bathrooms are only one per floor and super tiny.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Murchie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: Good location for visiting the museums and only about 10 mins walk to going out areas. Helpful guy working there marked out all the spots on the map I should visit. Room was nice and big, even with 12 people sleeping in it.

Disliked: Rubbish atmosphere with no real common room. The dorm on the top floor was incredibly hot, even with the windows open. Pretty annoying having only one plug in the room, but not the end of the world. The only toilet on our level got blocked, and nobody seemed too bothered about fixing it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: the property was extremely clean. every time we go to take a shower or to the toilet it was very clean. we were not happy with the room they gave us and with a big surprise we got so nice things from them. they really took care of us and made us feel super comfortable. staff was great!

Disliked: the location is not so good. its far from the center of Amsterdam but you have a tram station 2 minutes far. the value for money was so bad. we went on a trip to Prague, Berlin and Amsterdam and in the other two we paid small amounts of money and got extremely great things (and im talking about 19 euros per night) in a great location. the rooms are so small you need to get used to it and they have only one shower at each floor. (eventhough the great staff let us use all the showers because they are super nice :) )

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and fairly clean

Disliked: We booked a 12 bedroom room but when we came home at night they had put in another bed so before it was really small but after The extra one it was too small and you where sleeping 30 cm from a stranger.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Horrible bathrooms, WiFi was out, one electrical plug in for twelve room dorm, "free breakfast" was bread

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and nice to speak to. Facilities and rooms were all clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Not much of a communal area so not overly social

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the museums, and a short tram ride to central station. Nice and quiet surroundings.

Disliked: No card payment facilities - make sure you bring cash!