HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Hostel | Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL Amsterdam, Holland, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 RL

66.3% Overall Rating

23 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/10/2014)

"Great staff and very helpfull. I liked the location because of the museums and nightlife. Also good when staying with friends, not recommended for solo travellers."

Read all Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam has a policy of pre-authorising your credit card in order to secure the reservation. We do this prior to your arrival date to ensure that the card is still valid and that it has sufficient credit to cover the reservation. The pre-authorised amount will be released back to your account after payment in cash. We do not accept bookings for more than 6 persons. Please contact us for exceptions. We have an age limit and can only accept guests between the age of 18 and 35 years old. Cancellation Policy: we have a 72 hours cancellation policy, which means you need to cancel or change your booking 3 days prior to your arrival. In case of a No Show or late cancellation, we need to charge you for your entire stay. On arrival it is not possible to cancel or change your booking. The outstanding balance and city tax must be paid in EUR cash at check in upon arrival. City tax of 5,5% is not included and will be added to your balance upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Janson
31.61 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews
Trianon
25.30 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
18.96 USD

Hostel 61.1% 531 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
18.98 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
25.30 USD

Hostel 82.6% 1477 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
49.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 85.6% 777 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.46 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.3%

Overall Rating

23 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
58.4%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 30 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very helpfull. I liked the location because of the museums and nightlife. Also good when staying with friends, not recommended for solo travellers.

Disliked: Stairs....haha not for older people.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful 24 hour access was good so you didn't have to worry about being back at a certain time also sambar the cat is so cute

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cynthia Jeong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: leaving and nothing else

Disliked: This is easily the worst hostel I have ever stayed at, and I've stayed in plenty of hostels. The bathrooms were horrible and small, the dorms tiny, the location average, horrible beds and the facilities limited. Whilst the facilites were disappointing compared to other hostels I have stayed at, it was the terrible service that was the biggest shock. After flight delays and a long journey we finally made it to the hostel, where, upon checking in, we were yelled at patronisingly, tyrannically and unfairly like children, for a confusion in the payment method. The next day the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. What's worse.::. it's not even cheap.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Few and tiny bathrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location and nice roommates!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rajei nadia

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 June 2014 rajei would recommend this property

Liked: verry good

Disliked: rajei left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: Rude are staff!! Took a booking fee when it was clearly stated no booking fee ! Staff we're rude beyond belief when questioned about anything ! False advertising about rooms and facilities . We felt like an hindrance rather that customers. Shower facilities were awful ,dirty and 3 were to be shared between entire hostel ! Asked for a receipt of the rates per night and person on desk wouldn't give us one and would not discuss rates that we paid at all . We did not know what we were paying for just a complete total was giving

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly staff, plus they have a friendly little cat that hangs around, giving it a homely vibe. Free breakfast is always good. Not many showers but never had a problem.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities, which is terrible for a backpacker - only a microwave, no kettle. No plates, cups or cutlery available after breakfast. Bit uncomfortable in the common area (the kitchen/breakfast area) as the chairs are packed away after breakfast, so don't feel welcome sitting there. Not very social

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Euan Mackenzie

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Euan would recommend this property

Liked: Budget accomodation that accurately describes itself. Great for people familiar with hostel life but not those expecting luxury.

Disliked: No safe or lockers to leave items in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greta Gonzalez Rios

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Greta would recommend this property

Liked: Its super near to the museums in a nice not noisy area. And well connected in the city through public transport. Staff is very helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Bed linen do not include a sheets its just a thick cover which doesnt smell like just washed. Bathrooms are only one per floor and super tiny.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Murchie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: Good location for visiting the museums and only about 10 mins walk to going out areas. Helpful guy working there marked out all the spots on the map I should visit. Room was nice and big, even with 12 people sleeping in it.

Disliked: Rubbish atmosphere with no real common room. The dorm on the top floor was incredibly hot, even with the windows open. Pretty annoying having only one plug in the room, but not the end of the world. The only toilet on our level got blocked, and nobody seemed too bothered about fixing it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: the property was extremely clean. every time we go to take a shower or to the toilet it was very clean. we were not happy with the room they gave us and with a big surprise we got so nice things from them. they really took care of us and made us feel super comfortable. staff was great!

Disliked: the location is not so good. its far from the center of Amsterdam but you have a tram station 2 minutes far. the value for money was so bad. we went on a trip to Prague, Berlin and Amsterdam and in the other two we paid small amounts of money and got extremely great things (and im talking about 19 euros per night) in a great location. the rooms are so small you need to get used to it and they have only one shower at each floor. (eventhough the great staff let us use all the showers because they are super nice :) )

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and fairly clean

Disliked: We booked a 12 bedroom room but when we came home at night they had put in another bed so before it was really small but after The extra one it was too small and you where sleeping 30 cm from a stranger.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Horrible bathrooms, WiFi was out, one electrical plug in for twelve room dorm, "free breakfast" was bread

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and nice to speak to. Facilities and rooms were all clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Not much of a communal area so not overly social

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the museums, and a short tram ride to central station. Nice and quiet surroundings.

Disliked: No card payment facilities - make sure you bring cash!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, room, toilet and shower facilities were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jade Elliott-Archer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013

Liked: Location was great, good free tea and coffee in the morning. generally clean, basic and fine as long as you're not expecting luxury

Disliked: Common room is really small so not much room for socialising, also on our final night the hostel cat did catch a mouse in the hostel but that wasn't really as bad as it sounds (at least there was a cat to catch it!) For the price we paid (about 25 euro) it didn't seem great value for money but that might just be Amsterdam prices as its quite expensive anyway

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean comfortable beds. Overall we were very happy with the hostel. No problems at all.

Disliked: Bathroom/toilet on first floor is right by reception so you have to walk through in your towel after your shower. Room was a little bit small but not small enough to become an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great location and staff were friendly, nothing crazy for anyone looking for a good time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location close to everything you need.

Disliked: Only one toilet and one shower per floor. No common area. ONly allowed to store bags for 3hrs on day of checkout.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gurinder Singh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Gurinder would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Rooms need an exhauist fan to get frest air in.