HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Hostel | Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL Amsterdam, Holland, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 RL

65.6% Overall Rating

20 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Troy WHITMARSH thinks…

"The staff were friendly and it's nice to stay near museumplein instead of in the red light district."

Read all Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.02

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations need to be notified by e-mail to hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 72 hours prior to arrival date (NOT ARRIVAL TIME). Failure to do so will result in a full cost of one night no show fee during week days and two nights in the weekends (FRI/SAT/SUN); this will be charged to the given credit card Please note: the 5.5% sales tax are NOT included in the payable on arrival amount and need to be paid in addition Please note you will have to pay in cash upon arrival as we do not accept credit cards, ATM's and banks are a short walk away. Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. We do not accept MULTIPLE group bookings of 7 people or more. For exceptions for groups please contact us directly. Bookings made under different names for more than 6 persons will be cancelled ! Prices do not include the 5.5% city tax. Please note that 5.5% tourist tax needs to be paid on the top of the balance on arrival. If you are more than one hour late without advising the hostel it will be presumed that you are not arriving. Cancellation must occur by e-mail and 72 hours before the check-in date. Cancellations need to be notified by e-mail to hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 72 hours prior to arrival date (NOT ARRIVAL TIME). Failure to do so will result in a full cost of no show fee during week days and the weekends (FRI/SAT); this will be charged to the given credit card. Please note that we accept cash only for payment on arrival. Upon arrival you will be asked to pay the full amount for the whole duration of your stay. On arrival it is not possible to cancel your booking or part of your booking. No refunds due to cancellations on arrival and you will lose your bed(s) for remaining days! In case of a booking for more than 1 person, you should be aware that booker is responsible for the total amount payable upon arrival. This means that in case one of your friends doesn't come along or doesn't arrive, you will have to pay the full amount for all days and loose the bed for the remaining day(s). When one does not pay the total amount on arrival, we will charge the credit card of the booker for the total amount plus any additional costs requested by the credit card company. All nights of accommodation must be paid for on arrival or no later than 21:00 hours. It is not allowed to bring visitors to the hostel! Please respect this rule as we will ask you to leave our hostel when breaking this rule. SPECIAL EVENT BOOKING -Queen's Day 2013 Queen's Day 2013 conditions for reservation The below conditions applies to any booking for 28th,29th, 30th APRIL 2013 THERE IS MINIMUM STAY OF 3 NIGHTS. Any No Show, cancellations and changes during and after arrival date will be charged 100% We will need (pre) authorization of VISA or MASTERCARD for the total amount. Once you arrive you can pay in cash and we will not charge the card. NEW YEARS 2013/2014 conditions concerning reservations • The below conditions applies to any booking for 27th, 28th ,29th , 30th ,31st DECEMBER 2013 and 1st and 2nd JANUARY 2014 • We require a minimum stay of 3 nights • All cancellations have to be notified to us by e-mail and 1 week (7 days before arrival date) after this period there is a 100% charge of the total cost. • In case of no show, your credit card will be charged 100% of the total cost. • Cancellations and changes during and after arrival date will be charged 100% • In order for us to guarantee your booking and to make sure we are not handling a false booking, we need to pre-authorise the amount equal to the first of every booking. • The pre-authorised amount will be released back to your account after payment in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Janson
33.57 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews
Trianon
33.58 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
33.57 USD

Hostel 69.1% 524 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.24 USD

Hostel 60.0% 4253 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
37.61 USD

Hostel 86.7% 1437 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
45.54 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
41.64 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

20 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
55.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 28 reviews
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cynthia Jeong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: leaving and nothing else

Disliked: This is easily the worst hostel I have ever stayed at, and I've stayed in plenty of hostels. The bathrooms were horrible and small, the dorms tiny, the location average, horrible beds and the facilities limited. Whilst the facilites were disappointing compared to other hostels I have stayed at, it was the terrible service that was the biggest shock. After flight delays and a long journey we finally made it to the hostel, where, upon checking in, we were yelled at patronisingly, tyrannically and unfairly like children, for a confusion in the payment method. The next day the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. What's worse.::. it's not even cheap.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Troy WHITMARSH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: The staff were friendly and it's nice to stay near museumplein instead of in the red light district.

Disliked: I have stayed in over 100 hostels and this is definitely one of the worst. They have some very, very stupid policies. After you check out, you must leave the hostel immediately, you are not allowed to wait in the common area for your bus or train or anything like that. The included breakfast times are a joke. If you are sleeping on the first floor, breakfast is from 7:00-7:45am. 2nd floor 7:45-8:30, 3rd floor 8:30-9:15. Seriously who gets up at 7am when travelling in Amsterdam ? A joke. The beds are very poor quality, cheap, metal noisy bunks where you can feel and hear every movement of other other person. The pillows are ridiculously big air type pillows and are unusable for sleeping. The dorms are small, cramped and stuffy. Do not stay here if you want to sleep in a bed which is even remotely comfortable. The worst part is the ridiculous cost. They get away with being so terrible because often its the only hostel left available at the last minute.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Few and tiny bathrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location and nice roommates!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rajei nadia

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 June 2014 rajei would recommend this property

Liked: verry good

Disliked: rajei left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: Rude are staff!! Took a booking fee when it was clearly stated no booking fee ! Staff we're rude beyond belief when questioned about anything ! False advertising about rooms and facilities . We felt like an hindrance rather that customers. Shower facilities were awful ,dirty and 3 were to be shared between entire hostel ! Asked for a receipt of the rates per night and person on desk wouldn't give us one and would not discuss rates that we paid at all . We did not know what we were paying for just a complete total was giving

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly staff, plus they have a friendly little cat that hangs around, giving it a homely vibe. Free breakfast is always good. Not many showers but never had a problem.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities, which is terrible for a backpacker - only a microwave, no kettle. No plates, cups or cutlery available after breakfast. Bit uncomfortable in the common area (the kitchen/breakfast area) as the chairs are packed away after breakfast, so don't feel welcome sitting there. Not very social

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Euan Mackenzie

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Euan would recommend this property

Liked: Budget accomodation that accurately describes itself. Great for people familiar with hostel life but not those expecting luxury.

Disliked: No safe or lockers to leave items in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greta Gonzalez Rios

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Greta would recommend this property

Liked: Its super near to the museums in a nice not noisy area. And well connected in the city through public transport. Staff is very helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Bed linen do not include a sheets its just a thick cover which doesnt smell like just washed. Bathrooms are only one per floor and super tiny.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Murchie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: Good location for visiting the museums and only about 10 mins walk to going out areas. Helpful guy working there marked out all the spots on the map I should visit. Room was nice and big, even with 12 people sleeping in it.

Disliked: Rubbish atmosphere with no real common room. The dorm on the top floor was incredibly hot, even with the windows open. Pretty annoying having only one plug in the room, but not the end of the world. The only toilet on our level got blocked, and nobody seemed too bothered about fixing it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: the property was extremely clean. every time we go to take a shower or to the toilet it was very clean. we were not happy with the room they gave us and with a big surprise we got so nice things from them. they really took care of us and made us feel super comfortable. staff was great!

Disliked: the location is not so good. its far from the center of Amsterdam but you have a tram station 2 minutes far. the value for money was so bad. we went on a trip to Prague, Berlin and Amsterdam and in the other two we paid small amounts of money and got extremely great things (and im talking about 19 euros per night) in a great location. the rooms are so small you need to get used to it and they have only one shower at each floor. (eventhough the great staff let us use all the showers because they are super nice :) )

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and fairly clean

Disliked: We booked a 12 bedroom room but when we came home at night they had put in another bed so before it was really small but after The extra one it was too small and you where sleeping 30 cm from a stranger.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Horrible bathrooms, WiFi was out, one electrical plug in for twelve room dorm, "free breakfast" was bread

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and nice to speak to. Facilities and rooms were all clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Not much of a communal area so not overly social

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the museums, and a short tram ride to central station. Nice and quiet surroundings.

Disliked: No card payment facilities - make sure you bring cash!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, room, toilet and shower facilities were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jade Elliott-Archer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013

Liked: Location was great, good free tea and coffee in the morning. generally clean, basic and fine as long as you're not expecting luxury

Disliked: Common room is really small so not much room for socialising, also on our final night the hostel cat did catch a mouse in the hostel but that wasn't really as bad as it sounds (at least there was a cat to catch it!) For the price we paid (about 25 euro) it didn't seem great value for money but that might just be Amsterdam prices as its quite expensive anyway

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean comfortable beds. Overall we were very happy with the hostel. No problems at all.

Disliked: Bathroom/toilet on first floor is right by reception so you have to walk through in your towel after your shower. Room was a little bit small but not small enough to become an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great location and staff were friendly, nothing crazy for anyone looking for a good time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location close to everything you need.

Disliked: Only one toilet and one shower per floor. No common area. ONly allowed to store bags for 3hrs on day of checkout.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gurinder Singh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Gurinder would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Rooms need an exhauist fan to get frest air in.