HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 69%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.69USD

Important Information

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam has a policy of pre-authorising your credit card in order to secure the reservation. We do this prior to your arrival date to ensure that the card is still valid and that it has sufficient credit to cover the reservation.

The pre-authorised amount will be released back to your account after payment in cash.

We do not accept bookings for more than 6 persons. Please contact us for exceptions.

We have an age limit and can only accept guests between the age of 18 and 35 years old.

Cancellation Policy: we have a 72 hours cancellation policy, which means you need to cancel or change your booking 3 days prior to your arrival. In case of a No Show or late cancellation, we need to charge you for your entire stay.

On arrival it is not possible to cancel or change your booking.

The outstanding balance and city tax must be paid in EUR cash at check in upon arrival.

City tax of 5,5% is not included and will be added to your balance upon arrival.

There is a minimum stay of 4 nights required between the 30th December and 2nd January.

Please make sure there is enough credit on the given credit card to cover the total amount of the booking. We will pre-authorise (not a charge) the full amount of the reservation directly after the booking is made.

The booking will be cancelled if we will not be able to get an pre-authorisation.

After payment on arrival in cash, we will release the amount back to your account.

Cancellations have to be notified by e-mail 14 days before the arrival date. After this period we are forced to charge full amount of the reservation.

Maximum stay 5 nights.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 69%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Close to museumplein

Disliked: One bathroom per floor... one outlet in a 6 person room with a power strip. They converted an old building into this makeshift hostel but you get what you paid for.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location was excellent and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Only vending machines provided food.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: No area to hang out other than the room. Would be nice to have a room to eat, play games and relax.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Convenient location. Had a cool cat.

Disliked: Alot of the staff were unfriendly and bored.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: You dont need to put your linens yourself

Disliked: It doesnt even have a real sign outside. Shower works for 10 seconds and stops. You have to push the button again and again every 10 seconds. And when you are in toilet, suddenly you find yourself in darkness. You have to walk inside to make it switch on again. They dont let you sit reseption are after check-out. You can leave your bag for maximum 6 hours and you have to pay for that.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The only entrance to the building was by the front desk attendant has a camera to the front door which made me feel secure while being there. Bathrooms were clean and shower had good water pressure and temperature. I liked having two sinks and a mirror in my room.

Disliked: I did not like that not only did I have to pay for a locker, but it was on the ground floor of the building when my room was on the first floor. That was very inconvenient. Also 2/3 of the bathrooms that I used were too small with barely enough room to use the toilet. The problem with the shower was that you had to press a button to restart the shower every 10 second to continue showering. I did not like that I was on the top bunk of a triple bed with no railings.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It was very secure with individual spacious lockers for purchase of 1 euro a night.

Disliked: The staff was very rude and pushy. Also the shower facility it had good hot water pressure but it shut off every few seconds so you had to hold in the knob while showering. Other than that had a good overall experience

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: When I first started looking at places to stay in Amsterdam I wanted to be as close to the CBD as possible. When I saw this hostel online I was deterred from staying here because it looked so far away, but it's not really, it's literally 100 meters from the nearest team stop. For €2.90 you catch the number 16 or 24 tram towards Centraal Station right into the city so easily. The tram ride takes literally 16mins. (According to Google maps. It actually feels quicker than this)The hostel is newly renovated, extremely clean including the bathrooms, and reasonably quiet for a hostel- (we stayed in a private room) they also have towel hire for €1.50. Yes their are steps to climb, the bathrooms can be a little small and there is a cat but these are not bad things. It's a very well priced budget hostel in an excellent location, also walking distance from a supermarket and the popular museums. It's great value for money and I will definitely be staying here again!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and the place was safe and secure . The beds were comfy , bathrooms clean and I slept well . People at this hostel seem to respect the need for sleep so it's not a party place which is great . Location was spot on , just ten mins from the start of town , bustling but not too busy ,

Disliked: FIX THE WIFI !! Everyone had issues with the internet and the staff didn't seem to see the issue but there is a massive issue ! Also , not a lot of facilities in terms of food and drink , so unless you eat cold food in the small lobby (which is nice but small ) you'll have to eat out a lot or eat cold food . Ironically the wifi is working the morning I leave , however it's been playing up the entire week so make sure they fix it , however there are cafés everywhere so wifi is easily accessible nearby .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying! Internet was not working properly because a huge problem with one of the biggest providers of Amsterdam (Ziggo). They were attacked by hackers, but it is solved now;)

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: No kitchen, very crowded and not welcoming people. Everythng is done in order that you let as much money as possible.The main problem was that each stair is equiped with only one shower and toilets.

Check Availability