HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 69%

Location 86%

Safety 86%

Staff 75%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.79USD

Important Information

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam has a policy of pre-authorising your credit card in order to secure the reservation. We do this prior to your arrival date to ensure that the card is still valid and that it has sufficient credit to cover the reservation.

The pre-authorised amount will be released back to your account after payment in cash.

We do not accept bookings for more than 6 persons. Please contact us for exceptions.

We have an age limit and can only accept guests between the age of 18 and 35 years old.

Cancellation Policy: we have a 72 hours cancellation policy, which means you need to cancel or change your booking 3 days prior to your arrival. In case of a No Show or late cancellation, we need to charge you for your entire stay.

On arrival it is not possible to cancel or change your booking.

The outstanding balance and city tax must be paid in EUR cash at check in upon arrival.

City tax of 5,5% is not included and will be added to your balance upon arrival.

There is a minimum stay of 4 nights required between the 30th December and 2nd January.

Please make sure there is enough credit on the given credit card to cover the total amount of the booking. We will pre-authorise (not a charge) the full amount of the reservation directly after the booking is made.

The booking will be cancelled if we will not be able to get an pre-authorisation.

After payment on arrival in cash, we will release the amount back to your account.

Cancellations have to be notified by e-mail 14 days before the arrival date. After this period we are forced to charge full amount of the reservation.

Maximum stay 5 nights.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 69%

Location 86%

Safety 86%

Staff 75%

Value 69%

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It was very secure with individual spacious lockers for purchase of 1 euro a night.

Disliked: The staff was very rude and pushy. Also the shower facility it had good hot water pressure but it shut off every few seconds so you had to hold in the knob while showering. Other than that had a good overall experience

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: When I first started looking at places to stay in Amsterdam I wanted to be as close to the CBD as possible. When I saw this hostel online I was deterred from staying here because it looked so far away, but it's not really, it's literally 100 meters from the nearest team stop. For €2.90 you catch the number 16 or 24 tram towards Centraal Station right into the city so easily. The tram ride takes literally 16mins. (According to Google maps. It actually feels quicker than this)The hostel is newly renovated, extremely clean including the bathrooms, and reasonably quiet for a hostel- (we stayed in a private room) they also have towel hire for €1.50. Yes their are steps to climb, the bathrooms can be a little small and there is a cat but these are not bad things. It's a very well priced budget hostel in an excellent location, also walking distance from a supermarket and the popular museums. It's great value for money and I will definitely be staying here again!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and the place was safe and secure . The beds were comfy , bathrooms clean and I slept well . People at this hostel seem to respect the need for sleep so it's not a party place which is great . Location was spot on , just ten mins from the start of town , bustling but not too busy ,

Disliked: FIX THE WIFI !! Everyone had issues with the internet and the staff didn't seem to see the issue but there is a massive issue ! Also , not a lot of facilities in terms of food and drink , so unless you eat cold food in the small lobby (which is nice but small ) you'll have to eat out a lot or eat cold food . Ironically the wifi is working the morning I leave , however it's been playing up the entire week so make sure they fix it , however there are cafés everywhere so wifi is easily accessible nearby .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying! Internet was not working properly because a huge problem with one of the biggest providers of Amsterdam (Ziggo). They were attacked by hackers, but it is solved now;)

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: No kitchen, very crowded and not welcoming people. Everythng is done in order that you let as much money as possible.The main problem was that each stair is equiped with only one shower and toilets.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is in a very nice area, if you are a fan of vondelpark rather than the busling city center.

Disliked: The wifi is really bad in the room and there wasn't a comfortable common area to sit and use wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helpful, bathrooms were clean and the hostel is close to famous Bulldog Coffeeshop and the Van Gogh Museum.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I reach Amsterdam at night, no place to stay, and at the last minute I looked this web and found Cosmos, I made my reservation and 30 min later I arrived, in reception the guys treated me very well, they were friendly, and I got room without a problem.I liked that the bed was clean, the sheets, the room along with the bathroom. When I needed to use another bathroom and also liked, it was clean and had more space.I stayed shared the room with other 4 women, all quiet and everyone in their affairs, the neighborhood is very quiet, not much noise and was comfortable, sleep very well If I go back to Amsterdam I'll stay with them.

Disliked: Everything was well.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The internet was fine

Disliked: The staff personal was so unfriendly

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds are confortable and clean.

Disliked: In my stay (3 nights) there wasn't hot water to shower, not even warm.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the bed was comfy and i like the wall paperthe hostel cat simba, is a lovely friendly catand loved being made a fuss of

Disliked: nothing it was all good

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability