We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bed and Breakfast Groenendael

Guesthouse | Nieuwendijk 15, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

75.1% Overall Rating

122 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

"The staff are amazing and location is absolutely brilliant - just on the outside of the Red Light District and the main shopping street. The street on which it is situated has many coffee shops, restaurants and bars (so…"

Read all Bed and Breakfast Groenendael reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that bookings over 6 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Aroza Hostel
41.75 USD

Hostel 57.8% 66 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
44.53 USD

Apartment 79.2% 24 reviews
Season Star
89.06 USD

Hotel 61.0% 89 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
42.19 USD

Hostel 90.7% 464 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
44.53 USD

Guesthouse 70.5% 3 reviews
Quentin Arrive Hotel
27.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.7% 23 reviews
Dam Hotel
33.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 327 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.1%

Overall Rating

122 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bed and Breakfast Groenendael'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing and location is absolutely brilliant - just on the outside of the Red Light District and the main shopping street. The street on which it is situated has many coffee shops, restaurants and bars (so can get noisy late night) but great fun if you are out in it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Miro Labaš

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Miro would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap, and staff were helpfull. Location is amazing. Everything is so close.

Disliked: The shower was really bad, but if you shower fast you`ll forget about it. :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Hemmings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff! Locked rooms! Clean toilet concerning hostel!

Disliked: Small rooms! Poor breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Groenendael had an amazing location, about 5 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal, surrounded by restaurants, cafes and stores and a short walk to many museums and touristic sites. The room had a bed and a sink and a table and was reasonably clean.

Disliked: Could definitely do with an upgrade to furniture - one of the chairs in our room broke when we sat on it, and the light bulb blew out and wasn't working. Could have been a bit more clean as there was rubbish stuffed behind the heater (between the wall) and there were hairs on the blanket.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ELENI MOUSTERI

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 July 2015 ELENI would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: 1)Noisy. 2)They didnt let us make our check in earlier than 13:30. In the voucher of hotel it writes check in 10:00 as they describe

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alexandru Ciocea

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 June 2015

Liked: The hostel was ok, everything you need except towels was there. You have wifi, a shower on the room and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: There are mice on the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MERVE DEN?Z GULGOR

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 MERVE DEN?Z would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to everywhere, easy to move around. Staff is really helpful

Disliked: The room we stayed wasnt that nice. No fresh air inside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louis Davies

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2015 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff :)

Disliked: Shower room to small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kati Möttönen

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

23 April 2015 kati would recommend this property

Liked: location, value for money

Disliked: kati left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful old tradition building in an excellent location with friendly staff and very comfortable beds

Disliked: The stairs are very narrow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely and helpful staff

Disliked: It could be a little loud at times as it was on a main street

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Paulina Pikulska Saunders

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2015

Liked: Perfect location, close to attractions but in the same time very noisy. The street below was busy and noisy till late night hours.

Disliked: It was a noisy house. We could hear next-doors talking, having sex, using the toilet etc. Slamming the door was also a problem in the middle of the night. The room could have been cleaner

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Susulowskyy

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 January 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff are lovely

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Man Yi Cheung

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2014 Man Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Central station!

Disliked: It's a bit noisy at night because of the coffee shops downstairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast!

Disliked: Small room but adequate size and clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Brownlee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: Stairs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

cheryl doyle

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2014 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: traditional building in a good location. pretty good value for money. good enough for sleeping as thats all we needed it for. breakfast was fine.

Disliked: need another shower as the one on our floor wasnt usuable. there was everything except the shower head & curtain? wouldn't take much money to get it up & running again. owner a bit grumpy didn't even say thanks when we left?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and it was right in the centre of town so I didn't have to spend any money on transport during my stay.

Disliked: The shower on our floor was broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Haupt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Smoker friendly :)

Disliked: Intermittent internet, but only a minor thing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cameron Street

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, close to the rail station and within walking distance of many attractions.

Disliked: Not the cleanest of hostels, and breakfast wasn't the most satisfying (bread, cheese and an over boiled egg)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014

Liked: It was in the middle of the city.

Disliked: The dirtiness and the rooms. They where nasty and looked worse than a cell in prison. We got some kind of bedbugs bites from our stay which could only be accepted by stoners and people who don't sleep. This is not acceptable for a hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Siegfried Straube

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Siegfried would recommend this property

Liked: Toilet without towels and soup. Washbasin without plugs. Rooms very small. Situated in the best area and l vibrant location.

Disliked: Siegfried left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good and the workers were friendly and helpful. The place could have been a little cleaner though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.