HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bed and Breakfast Groenendael

Guesthouse | Nieuwendijk 15, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

78.1% Overall Rating

85 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Everything was good and the workers were friendly and helpful. The place could have been a little cleaner though."

Read all Bed and Breakfast Groenendael reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Aroza Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 66.3% 32 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
53.86 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Season Star
80.79 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
47.13 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
46.99 USD

Hostel 86.4% 449 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
47.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Quentin Arrive Hotel
50.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.3% 13 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
43.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

85 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bed and Breakfast Groenendael'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 106 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good and the workers were friendly and helpful. The place could have been a little cleaner though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CRYSTALBEL FOO

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 CRYSTALBEL would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were friendly and helpful whenever we needed recommendations or directions, and the location of the property is fantastic.

Disliked: Wifi was intermittent in rooms, but perfectly fine in the common room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Danielle Nicholls

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Although slightly out dated, battered and dirty, it was worth the price purely for the location - couldn't get any better with everything literally on the doorstep. Full of quirky character, with friendly and helpful staff, would definitely stay again. Beware of the stairs, they are as steep as all the reviews say!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Noise before 9am due to renovation works

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos De Leon Romero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Blood on my pillow, bedbugs, dirty bathrooms, showers. Not soundproof so it's very noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alyssa Stried

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff a lot at the hostel. Very friendly and helpful! Rooms were clean. The building is a bit older and the stairs are skinny, but these are not big deals to me. I would definitely recommend this place because of it's value , location, and staff.

Disliked: Toilet didn't flush sometimes. Other times it was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and kind.

Disliked: The stairs were too narrow.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and included breakfast.

Disliked: Small space, thin walls which could not block noisy customers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff

Disliked: Shared bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Kiddle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly, the service felt very personal. Pam gave us plenty of advice for things to do in the city. The breakfasts were lovely as well.

Disliked: The interior decor is not very modern, though in a way this adds a certain amount of character to the place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian McMurry

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 May 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and accommodative.

Disliked: Stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natasa Selmanovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Natasa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and staff is kind and helpfull. The smoking in the room is allowed

Disliked: the walls are too thin (too noisy Germans next too us from 5 am were screaming like they were in our own room). It was too cold, there is no heating

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theo Farquharson

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2014 Theo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: Steep stairs, problematic for mobility issues

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice location and the friendly staff

Disliked: The bed was very old and soft. Also the hotel wasn't the cleanest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Culligan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 February 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very close to Central Station and right in the heart of the shopping district. Red light district is close at hand and the walk to the Rijksmuseum was only 20-30 minutes away. The room was nice and my gf and I had a great time. The staff are nice and we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: The toilet next to our floor had an ever-present smell that wasn't pleasant.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, small breakfast but with service.

Disliked: Just slept there, and therefore it was good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! 5mins from Centraal Station. Room was basic but that was expected, also not a problem as I wasn't planning on spending much time in the room! Having a basin in the room was a nice touch as well, made brushing teeth etc much easier than having a shared sink in one of the bathrooms. Breakfast (although basic - boiled egg, bread, butter/jam and tea/coffee) is included which was nice. Best of all the price! Only £251 for 5 nights for a twin room over New Year.

Disliked: Noisy group in the room next to us - obviously not the B&B's fault though, and the staff went and spoke to them when we explained how noisy they were. Shared toilets smelled on the 3rd floor and did not always look clean but there were definitely more positives than negatives.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

aaron mundow

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very close to central station, plenty of coffeeshops, bars and restaurants on your doorstep.

Disliked: Having a room on the top floor with typically steep Dutch staircase

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Susana Santos

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013

Liked: It's great location.

Disliked: We didn't like having cigarrette burns on our blanket, or having to go to a dirty toilet shared with too many people and with a faulty flushing mechanism. Plus, breakfast was poor missing juice, fruit, ham, cerials, etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just that it was central to the heart of amsterdam.. Staff were friendly and the cat, and breakfast included.. Wifi.

Disliked: The location was hard to find as was just a door in the street, the stairs very steep! Hard to get up with luggage, room was what we needed, hard camp bed tho, couldnt eat all the breakfast due to a health condition of having to eat gluten free! Was ailein to them!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013

Liked: great location and friendly staff

Disliked: hotel was old and quite dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lenka Cecilova

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 September 2013 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Lenka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vilmos Csizmadia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Vilmos would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, helpful and kind staff.

Disliked: Shared shower rooms, but its okay.