HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bed and Breakfast Groenendael

Guesthouse | Nieuwendijk 15, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

76.6% Overall Rating

68 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Natasa Selmanovic thinks…

"The location is perfect and staff is kind and helpfull. The smoking in the room is allowed"

Read all Bed and Breakfast Groenendael reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Aroza Hostel
34.55 USD

Hostel 57.9% 19 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
55.28 USD

Apartment 80.2% 19 reviews
Hotel Liberty
41.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews
Season Star
82.92 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
48.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Damrak 2D
60.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
28.88 USD

Hostel 85.4% 447 reviews
Quentin Arrive Hotel
44.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

68 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bed and Breakfast Groenendael'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 84 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natasa Selmanovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Natasa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and staff is kind and helpfull. The smoking in the room is allowed

Disliked: the walls are too thin (too noisy Germans next too us from 5 am were screaming like they were in our own room). It was too cold, there is no heating

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theo Farquharson

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2014 Theo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: Steep stairs, problematic for mobility issues

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice location and the friendly staff

Disliked: The bed was very old and soft. Also the hotel wasn't the cleanest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Culligan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 February 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very close to Central Station and right in the heart of the shopping district. Red light district is close at hand and the walk to the Rijksmuseum was only 20-30 minutes away. The room was nice and my gf and I had a great time. The staff are nice and we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: The toilet next to our floor had an ever-present smell that wasn't pleasant.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, small breakfast but with service.

Disliked: Just slept there, and therefore it was good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! 5mins from Centraal Station. Room was basic but that was expected, also not a problem as I wasn't planning on spending much time in the room! Having a basin in the room was a nice touch as well, made brushing teeth etc much easier than having a shared sink in one of the bathrooms. Breakfast (although basic - boiled egg, bread, butter/jam and tea/coffee) is included which was nice. Best of all the price! Only £251 for 5 nights for a twin room over New Year.

Disliked: Noisy group in the room next to us - obviously not the B&B's fault though, and the staff went and spoke to them when we explained how noisy they were. Shared toilets smelled on the 3rd floor and did not always look clean but there were definitely more positives than negatives.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

aaron mundow

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very close to central station, plenty of coffeeshops, bars and restaurants on your doorstep.

Disliked: Having a room on the top floor with typically steep Dutch staircase

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Susana Santos

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013

Liked: It's great location.

Disliked: We didn't like having cigarrette burns on our blanket, or having to go to a dirty toilet shared with too many people and with a faulty flushing mechanism. Plus, breakfast was poor missing juice, fruit, ham, cerials, etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just that it was central to the heart of amsterdam.. Staff were friendly and the cat, and breakfast included.. Wifi.

Disliked: The location was hard to find as was just a door in the street, the stairs very steep! Hard to get up with luggage, room was what we needed, hard camp bed tho, couldnt eat all the breakfast due to a health condition of having to eat gluten free! Was ailein to them!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013

Liked: great location and friendly staff

Disliked: hotel was old and quite dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lenka Cecilova

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 September 2013 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Lenka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vilmos Csizmadia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Vilmos would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, helpful and kind staff.

Disliked: Shared shower rooms, but its okay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Reynaldo Tolentino

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Reynaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Sit- the sons owner is very helpful and accommodating. Very good location, just a few minutes walk to central station Amsterdam;)

Disliked: Towel should be provided immediately in the room, as we still need to asked for a towel when we checked in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there's a cat in the dining area. friendly staff and cosy rooms.

Disliked: no toilet in room. not very clean shower room or toilet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mikkel Jensen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 July 2013 Mikkel would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The toilets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: Location is superb. It's located just walking distance from Central station.

Disliked: The room has welcomed me with the smell of smoke by previous travellers. The cleanliness isn't good at all plus air ventilation in the room isn't good at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the old town and Cetral railway station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Adam Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013

Liked: Close to everything and the staff (Pamella specifically) were friendly.

Disliked: It was a hole, for the most part. The sheets were clean, but that's where it ended. Gross walls, carpet, showers and toilets stood out.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated <10minutes from Amsterdam Centraal Station, the Groenendael's location is ideal for exploring the city. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly. Reasonable price for a non-dorm room.

Disliked: The shower on the middle floor was out of order, leaving only 2 showers to serve the entire hostel - not ideal. To my knowledge there was no safety deposit system, leaving valuables open to thieves. The stairs are extremely steep and feel unsafe in places (though with caution injury is unlikely). The rooms are cobwebbed and cramped.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The shower set up was atrocious, very hard to keep the things dry that needed to stay dry while showering and nowhere to change or dry off. No soap in rooms. Wifi only officially available in commonroom which closes at 10 though you could go and sit on the stairs outside. Smoking is allowed in the rooms--I know it's Amsterdam but that's what the coffeehouses are for! Owner was not very friendly and the staff needed to be asked for everything (nothing not even a city map was volunteered).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kiarn Eslami

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 June 2013 Kiarn would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, plenty of places to eat / drink / smoke etc on the street, only 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal. Breakfast: Simple, but great and always served as you walk in. Expect cheese, jam, breads, boiled eggs (speciality there) and good tea / coffee. Rooms: Basic but for the price & location you can't really complain. Beds was comfortable for a good nights sleep after a long day/night out, they were all clean and well spaced apart. Some rooms come with good views, others do not. Shared shower & toilet on each corridor, both seemed to be ok, shower was working well and temperature was good. The lounge area / dining area was decorated really nicely, really made it feel like a travellers trip. Foreign notes & licence plates all over the wall. Staff: Very friendly and welcoming, helped us with all our needs throughout our stay. Location: Fantastic, you can walk everywhere (within reason) from the hostel, the street that is located on contains: supermarket, fast-food takeaways, ice cream parlours and a few coffee / souvenir shops. Not the cheapest around but considering where you are located it's not that bad.

Disliked: The stairs are very steep (but from seeing other places around the city I think the majority of Amsterdam staircases are like this).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and easy-going. The B&B was located within a walking-distance of basically everything (sights, restaurants etc.). The breakfast was pretty small (bread, cheese, coffee, 1 boiled egg, jam), but it carried me for several hours until lunch.

Disliked: The room was very small and a bit short (I'm 175cm and it was barely long enough). The shower looked a bit mouldy. The stairs were pretty steep and narrow, so had to watch my step.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Wessel

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 April 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, the location is very very central, around 3 walking minutes to the central station and around 10 minutes to Dam. A lot of shops and food shops around the property.

Disliked: Maybe the breakfast was a little too small - only toast bread, 1 egg and 2 slices of cheese, jam and butter. Or maybe I'm just too demanding ;)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013

Liked: It was in the center of the city.

Disliked: There were mouses in our room - jumping into the table and on the chair where we kept our clothes!!!! As soon as we switched off the light, we could hear them walking in the walls and on the floor!!! Rooms and lobby are neglected and dirty!! Can you imagine eating breakfast in that building?!?! It should be inspected by some sanitary control. We left the next day and got a refund. Walls are awfull, full of dirt. Altough we were accommodated on the top floor, we could hear people on the street.