We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bed and Breakfast Groenendael

Guesthouse | Nieuwendijk 15, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

76.1% Overall Rating

94 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

cheryl doyle thinks…

"traditional building in a good location. pretty good value for money. good enough for sleeping as thats all we needed it for. breakfast was fine."

Read all Bed and Breakfast Groenendael reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Aroza Hostel
32.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 40 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
51.78 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Season Star
77.67 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
45.29 USD

Hostel 55.2% 9 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
34.82 USD

Hostel 85.4% 452 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
45.31 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Quentin Arrive Hotel
40.13 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.8% 14 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
32.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 152 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

94 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bed and Breakfast Groenendael'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

cheryl doyle

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2014 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: traditional building in a good location. pretty good value for money. good enough for sleeping as thats all we needed it for. breakfast was fine.

Disliked: need another shower as the one on our floor wasnt usuable. there was everything except the shower head & curtain? wouldn't take much money to get it up & running again. owner a bit grumpy didn't even say thanks when we left?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and it was right in the centre of town so I didn't have to spend any money on transport during my stay.

Disliked: The shower on our floor was broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Haupt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Smoker friendly :)

Disliked: Intermittent internet, but only a minor thing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cameron Street

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, close to the rail station and within walking distance of many attractions.

Disliked: Not the cleanest of hostels, and breakfast wasn't the most satisfying (bread, cheese and an over boiled egg)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014

Liked: It was in the middle of the city.

Disliked: The dirtiness and the rooms. They where nasty and looked worse than a cell in prison. We got some kind of bedbugs bites from our stay which could only be accepted by stoners and people who don't sleep. This is not acceptable for a hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Siegfried Straube

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Siegfried would recommend this property

Liked: Toilet without towels and soup. Washbasin without plugs. Rooms very small. Situated in the best area and l vibrant location.

Disliked: Siegfried left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good and the workers were friendly and helpful. The place could have been a little cleaner though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CRYSTALBEL FOO

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 CRYSTALBEL would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were friendly and helpful whenever we needed recommendations or directions, and the location of the property is fantastic.

Disliked: Wifi was intermittent in rooms, but perfectly fine in the common room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Danielle Nicholls

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Although slightly out dated, battered and dirty, it was worth the price purely for the location - couldn't get any better with everything literally on the doorstep. Full of quirky character, with friendly and helpful staff, would definitely stay again. Beware of the stairs, they are as steep as all the reviews say!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Noise before 9am due to renovation works

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos De Leon Romero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Blood on my pillow, bedbugs, dirty bathrooms, showers. Not soundproof so it's very noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alyssa Stried

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff a lot at the hostel. Very friendly and helpful! Rooms were clean. The building is a bit older and the stairs are skinny, but these are not big deals to me. I would definitely recommend this place because of it's value , location, and staff.

Disliked: Toilet didn't flush sometimes. Other times it was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and kind.

Disliked: The stairs were too narrow.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and included breakfast.

Disliked: Small space, thin walls which could not block noisy customers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff

Disliked: Shared bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Kiddle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly, the service felt very personal. Pam gave us plenty of advice for things to do in the city. The breakfasts were lovely as well.

Disliked: The interior decor is not very modern, though in a way this adds a certain amount of character to the place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian McMurry

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 May 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and accommodative.

Disliked: Stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natasa Selmanovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Natasa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and staff is kind and helpfull. The smoking in the room is allowed

Disliked: the walls are too thin (too noisy Germans next too us from 5 am were screaming like they were in our own room). It was too cold, there is no heating

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theo Farquharson

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2014 Theo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: Steep stairs, problematic for mobility issues

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice location and the friendly staff

Disliked: The bed was very old and soft. Also the hotel wasn't the cleanest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Culligan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 February 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very close to Central Station and right in the heart of the shopping district. Red light district is close at hand and the walk to the Rijksmuseum was only 20-30 minutes away. The room was nice and my gf and I had a great time. The staff are nice and we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: The toilet next to our floor had an ever-present smell that wasn't pleasant.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, small breakfast but with service.

Disliked: Just slept there, and therefore it was good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! 5mins from Centraal Station. Room was basic but that was expected, also not a problem as I wasn't planning on spending much time in the room! Having a basin in the room was a nice touch as well, made brushing teeth etc much easier than having a shared sink in one of the bathrooms. Breakfast (although basic - boiled egg, bread, butter/jam and tea/coffee) is included which was nice. Best of all the price! Only £251 for 5 nights for a twin room over New Year.

Disliked: Noisy group in the room next to us - obviously not the B&B's fault though, and the staff went and spoke to them when we explained how noisy they were. Shared toilets smelled on the 3rd floor and did not always look clean but there were definitely more positives than negatives.