We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Station Hostel

Hostel | Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HJ Amsterdam

76.1% Overall Rating

170 out of 208 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Amber Mansfield thinks…

"Location was absolutely perfect, walking distance to everything, couldn't have asked for better location. Rooms were great size and bathroom was clean."

Read all Central Station Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you’re late. We accept cash only for payment on arrival By reservations with a not working creditcard, we are forced to cancel the reservation without any refunds possible!!!! Prices do not include the 5.5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email We have an age restriction, only 16 to 40 year old permitted. The check-in time: 14:00 -The check out time: 10:00 We ask for pre-authorization on the given credit card for the total amount, otherwise the reservation will be terminated if there is no pre-authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Please note that bookings over 6 people are subject to cancellation . Please contact groups dept for further information. Special event Cancellation policy During New Years: 30th Dec 2014 to 2nd Jan 2015 , Easter (4th to 6th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may, 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
37.07 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1117 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
36.86 USD

Hostel 93.4% 1323 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
27.18 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
38.06 USD

Hostel 88.9% 318 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
25.01 USD

Hostel 78.1% 937 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
54.37 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
19.57 USD

Hostel 78.5% 1159 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

170 out of 208 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Station Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 203 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no common area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms and bathrooms, new mattresses in our room, lockers, awesome location- you can just walk everywhere. Funny, helpful staff members.

Disliked: Reception area/hallway is tiny

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Melinder Sahota

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Bad service Narrow stairs Small rooms No air con Bad wifi connection

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aleksander Ciszek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 June 2014 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Really Top Location rooms are clean.

Disliked: no common room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: It's in a nice central area.

Disliked: Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. It's expensive for having no lounge. There are VERY steep stairs (the steps are so small only 1/4 of your foot can fit on it) - not ideal for a party city where everyone gets intoxicated. Checking in is a nightmare if there is a line, as there is no waiting area, just a very hot, narrow hallway. There is no closed luggage room, you just throw your bag down in FRONT of the reception. It is VERY hard to find. Don't expect useful brochures/tours of the area around the desk either.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Once you're able to find this hostel you realise it's situated in a very convenient location. Most of the main sights/attractions are within minutes of walking distance. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and safe, although I always like to remind that this also depends on you fellow travellers!

Disliked: I never had such a hard time finding a place, not even in the intricate labirynth that is Marrakesh's Medina. I walked in circles for over an hour before I was able to find this hostel in a tiny side alley by the Dam square as it happened to be located in Amsterdam's only street with the wrong name tag. The hostel itself is inside a sort of even smaller courtyard and barely advertised on its outside gate.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014

Liked: it's clean an good location

Disliked: don't have a lugagge room, leaving room, or this type of things

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious.

Disliked: No common area meant everyone had to lie/sit on their beds if they wanted to relax in the hostel. It's also a small place so there's no space for a kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly people and good sized room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Fraisse

Alone

City break

23 May 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place; central in Amsterdam. Secure, safe and use full!

Disliked: Little bit tiny rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erh Hsuan Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Erh Hsuan would recommend this property

Liked: great locayion, clean bathroom

Disliked: lockers don't work properly

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam Bailey

Alone

City break

12 May 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Good location near Dam Square. Lockers available for all guests and bathrooms looked new and clean. Beds were also quiet comfy.

Disliked: The guy at reception over night was pretty rude. Even though it says 24 hour check in, when I arrived late night (1:30am) he told me last check in was meant to be at 1 (nothing about this on the hostel page). Not very welcoming, but I wasn't expecting silver service for the amount I paid!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kara parsons

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 kara would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and really clean and comfortable beds. Also, it may take a bit of time to find but once you do you won't forget it. Fantastic location, close to everything.

Disliked: The stairs are very narrow, more like climbing up and down a ladder, but that just kept it interesting. There isn't a common room to hang out and meet people so this hostel is perfect if you are just looking for a good place to sleep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: It was nicely located.

Disliked: They ran out of keys to my 10-person room. When I arrived, someone was in the room so I was able to enter and drop off my stuff. When I came back at ~11 PM, I was unable to enter my room because every single key had been given out and nobody was back for the night yet. Since there is absolutely no common space in the hostel, I had to go outside and wander the streets for a few hours until someone from my room returned.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shamika Pujara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Shamika would recommend this property

Liked: It's quiet, safe and centrally located. Rachid, a staff member was very helpful and understanding. Our first visit to Amsterdam and first time living in a hostel. I'd highly recommend it to anyone travelling.

Disliked: Shamika left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

megan tucker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 megan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good atmosphere and very helpful staff

Disliked: No common hang out area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin OCallaghan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, newly renovated bathroom that was clean and had an excellent shower. The room (10 bed) was also clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No communal space (ie kitchen/lounge area). Don't be put off by the dodgy looking reception, room is quite nice and 2 of the 3 staff we met were very kind and helpful (the 3rd was normal). Very skinny beds, so if you roll a lot whilst sleeping, stick to the bottom bunk! Also need more power points in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin OCallaghan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, newly renovated bathroom that was clean and had an excellent shower. The room (10 bed) was also clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location, very central and despite being close to tourist bars, it wasn't noisy at night. Easy to find thanks to their detailed instructions.

Disliked: No communal space (ie kitchen/lounge area). Don't be put off by the dodgy looking reception, room is quite nice and 2 of the 3 staff we met were very kind and helpful (the 3rd was normal). Very skinny beds, so if you roll a lot whilst sleeping, stick to the bottom bunk! Also need more power points in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. The location is perfect though the hostel is hidden in a small street. The rooms are quite big and clean, neat and tidy, not too crowded with beds. I would go back again and recommend it!

Disliked: The stairs to get to the rooms...kind of dangerous!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Hide

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, super clean, great beds and bathrooms and the awesome staff (especially Rashid#2 and Brahim).

Disliked: Nil.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neat room and bed. Practical for a one night stay in transit.

Disliked: Staff should have been nicer when attending me for the first time

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great starting point to see the city, friendly staff and quite safe. Great value for money.

Disliked: Not as clean as it could be, but that's just about it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zlatko Kitanovski

Alone

Relaxation/spa

08 April 2014 Zlatko would recommend this property

Liked: Love the stay in this hostel , it was fun, clean, good people around , and is so freaking close to everything. you are definitely seeing me back there :)

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, especially the two guys from marocco.

Disliked: theres no group room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Birch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very steep stairs