HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Central Station Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 63%

Location 96%

Safety 79%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please email us if you’re late.
By reservations with a not working creditcard, we are forced to cancel the reservation without any refunds possible!!!!
Prices do not include the 5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
We have an age restriction, only 16 to 40 year old permitted.
The check-in time: 14:00 -The check out time: 10:00

We ask for pre-authorization on the given credit card for the total
amount, otherwise the reservation will be terminated if there is no
pre-authorization.

Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email

Please note that bookings over 6 people are subject to cancellation .
Please contact groups dept for further information.

Special event Cancellation policy

During New Years: 30th Dec to 2nd Jan , Easter (4th to 6th April), Queen’s Day (27th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may, 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 63%

Location 96%

Safety 79%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 184 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Location is good, although it is hard to find. Staff is really friendly an helpful. Rooms looks good. 24h reception computer free to use

Disliked: THere was not some common room or somethin like that.... If you check-out in the morning and you are departuring in the evenin, you have to leave your luggage at very very small reception unattended. The bathroom of my room was not so clean. Sockets were only near the door and some of them were near the top bed, but unfortunatelly not mine. 2€ for the locker and 5€ deposit????? Insane.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, helpful staff

Disliked: The narrowness of the hallway to get to the room (where we also have breakfast)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is perfect and the furniture is pretty new.

Disliked: No visible signs about hostel door and there is no name of the hostel to be sure that you are at the right one.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was very good. You can travel many famous places by walk or maybe tram. It is quite close to red light district which is good for people who wants to night out during the visit.

Disliked: Although the location was perfect, facility was terribly bad. Staff was very rude. They forced me to change my room twice during my 2 nights visit, which was very frustrating for me and my friend. I would offer travellers to pick something different by not looking only the location since it is very easy to travel in Amsterdam thanks to the good railway network. 3 days free pass costs you only 25 € that also brings you to Central Station to Schipol Airport free and you can travel in Amsterdam freely.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, feels really safe, really clean and modern, great value for money, good atmosphere, staff made us feel welcome, you're right in the centre of everything but it's so quiet so sleeping isn't a problem, great hostel, will definitely return.

Disliked: The stairs!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location, super friendly staff, nice and clean modern room and bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent bathroom facilities, friendly and accommodating staff, excellent central location just off Dam Square.

Disliked: Very steep stairs both into the hostel and up to the room, no common room area.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff were really helpful and friendly. Excellent location for central Amsterdam, easy to find!

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is near to the central amsterdam. Easy acces to all over the town.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly, his name is Hasan. He didnt treat guest well. Also the other staff, his name is Ismail. I wanted to early check out and he was telling me that i must awake until 1am to notify the other staff. Is this kind a bully for me? But the owner Ibrahim was nice person. Maybe he should train the staff again.


The property's response is

dear guest,

we are very sorry to hear this. We have investigated this issue and we think there is an communication misunderstanding. You cheked out early and he explained to you that you can pick up your key deposit also the evening before. We will do our best to prevent these mis communications in the future.

greeting

staff

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Saw cleaning everyday Lockers were big (remember to bring your own lock!) Good location Good ratio of beds to bathroom (6 bed room)

Disliked: No included breakfast (just cup of tea and slice of toast would have been good)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability