We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Station Hostel

Hostel | Steenhouwerssteeg 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HJ Amsterdam

72.0% Overall Rating

159 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Maryam Al Blooshi thinks…

"I did not have any complaints as we all were prepared for staying in a hostel together with a bathroom and that is what we got."

Read all Central Station Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you’re late. We accept cash only for payment on arrival By reservations with a not working creditcard, we are forced to cancel the reservation without any refunds possible!!!! Prices do not include the 5.5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email We have an age restriction, only 16 to 40 year old permitted. The check-in time: 14:00 -The check out time: 10:00 We ask for pre-authorization on the given credit card for the total amount, otherwise the reservation will be terminated if there is no pre-authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Please note that bookings over 8 people are subject to cancellation . Please contact groups dept for further information. Special event Cancellation policy During New Years: 30th Dec 2014 to 2nd Jan 2015 , Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may, 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
35.94 USD

Hostel 87.9% 1108 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
30.23 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1300 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 316 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
24.04 USD

Hostel 79.3% 928 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
94.88 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Damrak Inn
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1145 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

159 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Station Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious.

Disliked: No common area meant everyone had to lie/sit on their beds if they wanted to relax in the hostel. It's also a small place so there's no space for a kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly people and good sized room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Fraisse

Alone

City break

23 May 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place; central in Amsterdam. Secure, safe and use full!

Disliked: Little bit tiny rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erh Hsuan Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Erh Hsuan would recommend this property

Liked: great locayion, clean bathroom

Disliked: lockers don't work properly

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam Bailey

Alone

City break

12 May 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Good location near Dam Square. Lockers available for all guests and bathrooms looked new and clean. Beds were also quiet comfy.

Disliked: The guy at reception over night was pretty rude. Even though it says 24 hour check in, when I arrived late night (1:30am) he told me last check in was meant to be at 1 (nothing about this on the hostel page). Not very welcoming, but I wasn't expecting silver service for the amount I paid!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kara parsons

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 kara would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and really clean and comfortable beds. Also, it may take a bit of time to find but once you do you won't forget it. Fantastic location, close to everything.

Disliked: The stairs are very narrow, more like climbing up and down a ladder, but that just kept it interesting. There isn't a common room to hang out and meet people so this hostel is perfect if you are just looking for a good place to sleep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: It was nicely located.

Disliked: They ran out of keys to my 10-person room. When I arrived, someone was in the room so I was able to enter and drop off my stuff. When I came back at ~11 PM, I was unable to enter my room because every single key had been given out and nobody was back for the night yet. Since there is absolutely no common space in the hostel, I had to go outside and wander the streets for a few hours until someone from my room returned.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shamika Pujara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Shamika would recommend this property

Liked: It's quiet, safe and centrally located. Rachid, a staff member was very helpful and understanding. Our first visit to Amsterdam and first time living in a hostel. I'd highly recommend it to anyone travelling.

Disliked: Shamika left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

megan tucker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 megan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good atmosphere and very helpful staff

Disliked: No common hang out area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin OCallaghan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, newly renovated bathroom that was clean and had an excellent shower. The room (10 bed) was also clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No communal space (ie kitchen/lounge area). Don't be put off by the dodgy looking reception, room is quite nice and 2 of the 3 staff we met were very kind and helpful (the 3rd was normal). Very skinny beds, so if you roll a lot whilst sleeping, stick to the bottom bunk! Also need more power points in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin OCallaghan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, newly renovated bathroom that was clean and had an excellent shower. The room (10 bed) was also clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location, very central and despite being close to tourist bars, it wasn't noisy at night. Easy to find thanks to their detailed instructions.

Disliked: No communal space (ie kitchen/lounge area). Don't be put off by the dodgy looking reception, room is quite nice and 2 of the 3 staff we met were very kind and helpful (the 3rd was normal). Very skinny beds, so if you roll a lot whilst sleeping, stick to the bottom bunk! Also need more power points in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. The location is perfect though the hostel is hidden in a small street. The rooms are quite big and clean, neat and tidy, not too crowded with beds. I would go back again and recommend it!

Disliked: The stairs to get to the rooms...kind of dangerous!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Hide

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, super clean, great beds and bathrooms and the awesome staff (especially Rashid#2 and Brahim).

Disliked: Nil.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neat room and bed. Practical for a one night stay in transit.

Disliked: Staff should have been nicer when attending me for the first time

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great starting point to see the city, friendly staff and quite safe. Great value for money.

Disliked: Not as clean as it could be, but that's just about it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zlatko Kitanovski

Alone

Relaxation/spa

08 April 2014 Zlatko would recommend this property

Liked: Love the stay in this hostel , it was fun, clean, good people around , and is so freaking close to everything. you are definitely seeing me back there :)

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, especially the two guys from marocco.

Disliked: theres no group room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Birch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very steep stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Finch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location Was great! It was clean, quiet and the hosts were courteous.

Disliked: Stairs! But all stairs in Amsterdam are a bit steep, so...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yuin Yi Ng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Yuin Yi would recommend this property

Liked: It's really convenient, located like 2 mins away from dam square and there's loads of things to do a stone's throw away. Really clean rooms and bathroom. Staff are friendly and helpful and gave really good advice like the 1 euro amazing breakfast at Hema.

Disliked: The steps were too steep, but it's a dutch thing so it's normal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Schilt

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely decent value for an expensive city. Staff gave me some good info, very helpful. The hostel is clean, lockers in the room, working wifi, location couldn't be better.

Disliked: No common areas and no kitchen. Only go here if you just need a bed for the night, for the longer term I would pick a place with more facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Rachid is the best

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendliy staff - Robby was very nice and helpful!

Disliked: No dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Rachid, the guy at the reception was super friendly and helpful ! He's just hcheerfully always there at the front desk happy to answer all your queries! Thank you Rachid!!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good value for money, only £8 for a night and it is as described on the website. Very helpful and friendly staff. He gave me all the information I needed. The mattresses were the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hostel. Private bathroom in the room was a bonus in stead of having to share one with the whole building.

Disliked: The stairs were very steep, but you will find this in most hostels in Amsterdam. It's not the easiest address to find, but when you do it wasn't that difficult after all.. Find the baker! Biggest issue was the freezing shower...! No hot water at all.. But again for the price we got better value than expected.