We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Station Hostel

Hostel | Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HJ Amsterdam

76.0% Overall Rating

185 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"I was able I check in early, and store my bags safely. The room was clean and big, along with the bathroom. Excellent location. The guy working there didn't speak the best English, but he was very nice and helpful.…"

Read all Central Station Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you’re late. We accept cash only for payment on arrival By reservations with a not working creditcard, we are forced to cancel the reservation without any refunds possible!!!! Prices do not include the 5.5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email We have an age restriction, only 16 to 40 year old permitted. The check-in time: 14:00 -The check out time: 10:00 We ask for pre-authorization on the given credit card for the total amount, otherwise the reservation will be terminated if there is no pre-authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Please note that bookings over 6 people are subject to cancellation . Please contact groups dept for further information. Special event Cancellation policy During New Years: 30th Dec to 2nd Jan , Easter (4th to 6th April), Queen’s Day (27th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may, 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.93 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
35.67 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.13 USD

Guesthouse 61.5% 230 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
44.72 USD

Hostel 90.6% 323 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
27.95 USD

Hostel 82.4% 958 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
55.90 USD

Apartment 81.9% 42 reviews
Damrak Inn
25.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1184 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

185 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Station Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 223 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maryam Al Blooshi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Maryam would recommend this property

Liked: I did not have any complaints as we all were prepared for staying in a hostel together with a bathroom and that is what we got.

Disliked: I disliked being able to hear the other guests using their bathroom in the other rooms. Toilet flushing, running water etc is not really what you want to hear when you are trying to sleep. However, this is not a major issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Fennell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in a great location, no faults.

Disliked: Not issues as such but the two flights of stairs you have to traverse to get to the first level of rooms are steep! And I mean like climbing a ladder steep. Also found the fact the toilet is basically inside the dorm room a little uncomfortable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Steven Page

Alone

Events / festivals

04 September 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: clean and staff were helpful

Disliked: no common area to sit down

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Stairs to get up.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Emin Çenberlita?

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: Only location

Disliked: It is the worst hostel I've ever stayed. Only one bathroom for ten people. Are you kidding me? Toilet in the bathroom. Stairs are terrible. Bed is horrible. Only five lockers for ten people. Please stay away from this hostel for your health.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura McPhee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, clean, wonderful staff (especially Brahim!).

Disliked: Nothing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Maya Sherwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Cramped and overprice for what it offered

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Katherine Coyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: very steep stairs to get to the room! They are basically vertical

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

yacob kazal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014 yacob would recommend this property

Liked: Just what you expect of a hostel. The room was a bit small for 6 ppl but it has it's own toilet and batheroom which was very clean and nice.

Disliked: The only thing bothered me the size of the room a bit and the very long stairs with very small steps. Not cool if you're carrying some luggage.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

carolina salome

Alone

City break

23 July 2014

Liked: the location in the city is quite good! Very close to the dam square.

Disliked: The steps to get to the hostel and to the room are very dangerous. They require 10 euro deposit for the key. The staff were not helpfull at all. They wanted me to stay as in a room with 9 males. I know the rooms were mixed gender (and I was ok with that) but not being the only female with 9 males, after wasting about 3 hours debating this with the receptionist, he finally moved me to a room (that was just like the first one, but with males and females). In other words, the problem could have been solved in 3 minutes, instead of 3 hours. My honest recommendation is not to stay in this hostel, is definitely expensive and you don't want to put your life in risk with those steps.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Piotr W?odarek

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014

Liked: Excellent location, very clean (including bathroom), WiFi working very well, hot water 24/7.

Disliked: Extremely tight interior: no place to sit!! (chair or sofa - forget it, there is simply not enough space for that in the hostel), no kitchen, no way to do a tea or coffe yourself (because there was no place for the kettle!). There WAS a coffee machine but it was neither operational nor free. Your bad can be very far away from the power outlet (and your bed is the only place you can actually sit or lay) so you may not be able to use your laptop unless you have full bateries...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlyn Munro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Kaitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel rooms and bathrooms were very spacious and clean. It was a great location, literally a minutes walk to the red light district, and just across the road from Dam Square, which was close to coffee shops, retail shops, and supermarkets. Central Hostel is only a short walk to the train station. My friend and I were very pleased with Central Hostel, and I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: The only thing that we disliked was the stairs! They were very narrow and steep, but it all added to the Amsterdam experience! Plus, the staff were very helpful with moving our bags and luggage and up down for us anyway.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jack Rushforth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, helpful staff.

Disliked: WiFi was terrible, sky bar was not open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Very clean. Good wifi. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Oczeretko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice bathrooms

Disliked: No kitchen

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no common area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms and bathrooms, new mattresses in our room, lockers, awesome location- you can just walk everywhere. Funny, helpful staff members.

Disliked: Reception area/hallway is tiny

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Melinder Sahota

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Bad service Narrow stairs Small rooms No air con Bad wifi connection

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aleksander Ciszek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 June 2014 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Really Top Location rooms are clean.

Disliked: no common room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: It's in a nice central area.

Disliked: Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. It's expensive for having no lounge. There are VERY steep stairs (the steps are so small only 1/4 of your foot can fit on it) - not ideal for a party city where everyone gets intoxicated. Checking in is a nightmare if there is a line, as there is no waiting area, just a very hot, narrow hallway. There is no closed luggage room, you just throw your bag down in FRONT of the reception. It is VERY hard to find. Don't expect useful brochures/tours of the area around the desk either.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Once you're able to find this hostel you realise it's situated in a very convenient location. Most of the main sights/attractions are within minutes of walking distance. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and safe, although I always like to remind that this also depends on you fellow travellers!

Disliked: I never had such a hard time finding a place, not even in the intricate labirynth that is Marrakesh's Medina. I walked in circles for over an hour before I was able to find this hostel in a tiny side alley by the Dam square as it happened to be located in Amsterdam's only street with the wrong name tag. The hostel itself is inside a sort of even smaller courtyard and barely advertised on its outside gate.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014

Liked: it's clean an good location

Disliked: don't have a lugagge room, leaving room, or this type of things

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious.

Disliked: No common area meant everyone had to lie/sit on their beds if they wanted to relax in the hostel. It's also a small place so there's no space for a kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly people and good sized room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Fraisse

Alone

City break

23 May 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place; central in Amsterdam. Secure, safe and use full!

Disliked: Little bit tiny rooms