HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Station Hostel

Hostel | Steenhouwerssteeg 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HJ Amsterdam

84.2% Overall Rating

119 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

Kate Hide thinks…

"Amazing location, super clean, great beds and bathrooms and the awesome staff (especially Rashid#2 and Brahim)."

Read all Central Station Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you’re late. We accept cash only for payment on arrival By reservations with a not working creditcard, we are forced to cancel the reservation without any refunds possible!!!! Prices do not include the 5.5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email We have an age restriction, only 16 to 40 year old permitted. The check-in time: 14:00 -The check out time: 10:00 Please note that bookings over 8 people are subject to cancellation . Please contact groups dept for further information. special events Amsterdam 2013/2014 Eastern 29,30 and 31 march and 1 april queensday period: 26 april until 1 may. New Year: 28,29,30 31 December 1 January For the days above there is a minimum stay and cancelation policy. If you like to cancel your booking, you must let Central Station Hostel know 2 weeks (14 days) before your arrival day (not arrival time!) via e-mail. Late cancellations and cancellations after the arrival date will be charged 100% of the total cost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog
41.50 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1081 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
53.95 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
34.58 USD

Hostel 90.9% 306 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
30.43 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
103.75 USD

Apartment 83.8% 37 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.59 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Damrak Inn
40.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
30.43 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

119 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Station Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Lukas Nienhaus

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Jan Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Location & good value for money

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Johnson

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom were both very clean, comfy beds with comfy bedding and lots of room

Disliked: Need more lighting in the room, as there were 6 girls sharing it's hard to do make up with one central dim light

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Konstantina Margiotoudi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 December 2013 Konstantina would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Pearce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good location and you feel very safe. The staff are awesome and will help you out with maps and sightseeing information. great rooms, very clean and stylish.

Disliked: The stairs :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdella Oumer

Alone

Business / conference

17 December 2013 Abdella would recommend this property

Liked: Supper clean, big clean shower, toilet with all kinds of soft tissues/toilet papers, clean rooms & bed with big pillows, i like it :) ... like home decorated with painting hanging on wall, bucket flowers....etc.

Disliked: A bit too warm for me, z other guests turner z theater on high...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful in any way especially Rachid.

Disliked: Nothing!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013

Liked: Not a lot... The shower was good I suppose...

Disliked: Uncomfy bed, oh and the hostel staff felt it appropriate to THROW AWAY MY SUITCASE!!! I had left my hand luggage at the side of my locker because it would not fit inside the locker and put my belongings inside the locker for safe keeping. I put my toiletries and dirty washing from my travel there after getting changed. I looked on the day of leaving for my bag amongst others by this point I assumed it was still where I left it beside my locker on the floor underneath the table where other bags were stowed. It wasn't there... I asked staff, they were unaware.. Called the manager and night staff... Unaware.. Then 'old bob the job man' walks in and announces he threw the empty case away!! FUMING!... Made them buy me a bag for €20 to get my stuff home but now I have to replace my handluggage which wasn't even mine, I borrowed it for the trip!! Safe to say I WONT go back... And WONT recommend... I questioned why they felt the need to throw something away while they still had bookings in the room and they accused me of not sleeping there!!!!??? Where else did I sleep!? On the streets!? Just spend best part of £100 to sleep on the streets eh!? POOR!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas El-Hariry

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A great location (can walk to Dam square in less than a minute). The room was reasonably clean as was the bathroom. The lockers in the room were big enough for all laptops/tablets/cameras etc with ease - you can rent a padlock for €3 from reception. Read the directions to the hostel, and you'll find it with no problems (a lot of reviews were misleading about finding the hostel)

Disliked: Booked a 6 bed dorm, put into an 8 as they ''double booked''. ''24 hour reception'' - staff refused to sell us a bottle of water during the night and were told to go back to sleep.. Narrow, steep stairs! - very challenging when drunk! Nothing to affect our experience in Amsterdam.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hood

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, comfortable bed and very clean bathroom!

Disliked: The vast steep stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom Hiscock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very friendly and willing to give you advice about Amsterdam.

Disliked: The price fluctuates daily so ensure that you do a block-booking, and not book day by day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robson Moraes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Robson would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly.. Excellent location.. Best choice!!!

Disliked: Robson left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dylan Stephenson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the new look of the rooms as well as the location.

Disliked: I would never stay in such a big room again with sooo many people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Humberto manuel ortiz padilla

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Humberto manuel would recommend this property

Liked: muy buena ubicacion y estaba limpio, las instalaciones estaban en buen estado, banio amplio con agua caliente todo el tiempo

Disliked: escalera muy empinada, escalones angostos, no tiene cocina solo un micro y una cafetera, desayuno seria ideal

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeff Hancock

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Stairs are damn steep, just use the handrail. Even if your stoned, you can still use a handrail. Ignore all the other whingers. The rooms are of average size for 6 people, toiler and shower works good. Hot water and water pressure is amazing. Bed Linen is clean and pillow is nice and firm. Location is good, but dont be put off by the narrow alley way, no dodgy types know where the place is. Sleep = Good Location = Local Clean = Clean Value for Money = Good What else do you want from a cheap hostel?! Would stay again.

Disliked: More easily accessible locker in the room (room 3) is a bit tough to get to. Nothing else notable stands out as 'bad'.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Wifi did not work

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: Location. One street away from the Dam place and Madame Tussaud. Hard to find though as it is in a really small street at the back of the building.

Disliked: Toilet and bathroom are in the room and not separated. Not much privacy. People over 40 were in the rooms. Guys came back in the room totally drunk and on drugs. A guy came back and almost pissed on my friend thinking it was the toilet. He finally found the toilet ... to piss in the shower that we were all sharing. Another guy came back later, on drugs and ran into the toilet to throw up and to finally sleep in the same shower the other guy pissed in before ! Paying 30 euros a night for that ?! No thanks !! Girls i would not recommend !

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Francisco Santos

Alone

Events / festivals

01 October 2013 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked its atmosphere. It was a proper Hostel with its pros and cons, but definetly what I was hoping for! I even liked the steep stairs typical in Amsterdam!

Disliked: The lack of an outdoor/indoor space for socializing, but it is understandable given the constraints of the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Willis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms were very clean!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rachid, thank you for your hospitality and friendliness! It was a great stay in the center of the city with the help of Rachid. From restaurants to the museums, Rachid gave me good recommendations, so that I enjoyed visiting cool places such as FOAM and Van Gogh museums.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2013

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: Rude staff, nothing was said about a depositor the need to bring your own lock or rent a locker, no common space, iron squeaky beds, boiling hot room when it's 18 degrees outside

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Right in the middle of the city where the action is. Staff member Akram was very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nothing. You get what you pay for, it would be nice to have a communal area or kitchen to be social but it is not advertised, so...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: It was just your room and a hole in the wall for a front desk . Nothing else.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are awesome!

Disliked: The stairs are very inclined

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ok.

Disliked: The green metal gate was a little hard to find. The door to the room had a bad lock, hard to open.