HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Oosterpark

Hostel | Oosterpark 72, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1092

68.2% Overall Rating

29 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Jasmin Geddes-Rainbow thinks…

"It was nice to have a chandelier in the room and nice velvet carpets on the staircases. The location is lovely if you like parks as Oosterpark is a lovely one. Provides a bed for the night which is…"

Read all Hotel Oosterpark reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.71 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
19.33 USD

Hostel 75.8% 424 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 690 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.37 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 772 reviews
Vita Nova
29.02 USD

Hostel 80.6% 281 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

29 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Oosterpark'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 46 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jasmin Geddes-Rainbow

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2014 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice to have a chandelier in the room and nice velvet carpets on the staircases. The location is lovely if you like parks as Oosterpark is a lovely one. Provides a bed for the night which is what you want it to do.

Disliked: It is a small family-run business and you cannot get in without ringing a doorbell. So coming in with dinner-plate eyes thinking we were seeing pink elephants in the middle of the night and having to wake the poor men sucked. Didn't mention 5.5% extra charge on booking. Bunks didn't have ladders or barriers so I ended up sharing with the bottom bunk sleeper below me. A bird flew in the room and poo-ed everywhere and it didn't get cleaned up. Sink in room was blocked and linen could have been fresher. No towels included as it said in description.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Tram station.

Disliked: - nothing -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Small, poor infrastructure

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, very cheap

Disliked: For the value - nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2013

Liked: 15secs from a beautiful though rapey-looking park

Disliked: Family own hostel, so even bringing a friend for half an hour (there were 2 of us in the room already) meant the receptionist asking the sage old man eating cous cous (the owner) who grumbled his approval after half a minute. So it's fine if you're a quiet person. Otherwise...

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a clean hostel that ultimately does its job of providing a bed for the night. It doesn't offer much more than that but you're in Amsterdam so get out and enjoy the city!

Disliked: Feels quite shabby as you enter. Could do with a lick of paint and new carpet just to improve on first impressions.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and friendly staff; decent area adjacent to a park; good value and pleasant stay.

Disliked: A bit far from the city center; promised wireless internet doesn't appear to work from the rooms; occasional guests are rowdy and loud late into the night (at least during my stay)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tze Liang Yeoh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Tze Liang would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Seems like it is located in a bad neighbourhood. Bugs in the bed too

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy access by tram to city centre and Nightlife district.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Hazell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good price for the accommodation and was in an excellent location

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they looked after us as a group and I was upgraded so that i didnt have to share a room with an all male group of strangers

Disliked: bit far from the centre.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The bed sheets smelled like smoke.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2013

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful

Disliked: Everything else

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Rabbitts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great youth hostel, very clean, and in a lovely location in a peaceful part of Amsterdam. Staff were friendly and helpful, and beds were comfortable. Highly recommended.

Disliked: I found nothing to dislike about this, although I was one of only two people in an eight-bed dorm. Perhaps if there were more people, it may have been different!!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013

Liked: We really enjoyed leaving it. It was a shame we couldn't leave it earlier.

Disliked: The drab interior, the unhelpful Moroccan fellows who own this poor excuse for a hotel, the pillows seemingly stuffed with wall insulation, the lack of WiFi despite their claim of having it. There was very little to desire about this hotel whatsoever, it is situated in what can only be described as Brixton, the room stunk of stale fag smoke, the toilet/shower was a laughable arrangement - we ended up doing both at the same time since it was possible. The owner's pet horse was staying in our room and ate all of our food, when we asked him to move the beast he replied simply with "Horse is friend." When walking through the corridors we feared for our lives, there were many wild animals with sharp teeth and arab's waving around pistols, this seemed totally normal and when we asked the owner about he simply took out a large gun of his own and gave us a gold-toothed smile. There were horrible screams coming out of the basement all night. There were people having campfire's in the corridors, the free breakfast was a sachet of sugar for the expensive coffee which was a sort of rust colour.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 April 2013

Liked: Our room was comfortable with heating and own sink.

Disliked: Room and whole hotel stank of smoke. Only one shower to share with the other guests in the hotel. Had to pay for own tea and coffee. Did not look clean . Would not stay here again.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Morgan Paterson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Morgan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friend we have payed for a 6 people room. When we arrived the hostel told us that I group of six people where there (4 in our room, and other 2 in a private one). And he asked if we could change for it. So we went to a private room instead of our. And everything was made so clearly, and with no obligations. That´s was the most interesting think.

Disliked: The room was a little bit dirty.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Josmar Alas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012

Liked: Close to tram line that takes you straight to the city centre.

Disliked: It has no character whatsoever. It is a one star hotel so don't expect too much about it. The staff could barely speak english and they were not helpful nor friendly at all. It is not close to the downtown core but it is a 15min tram ride away. WiFi only in the common room on the first floor.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012

Liked: Own sink in room

Disliked: Dirty sheets dirty towels no front door key poor wireless bad location bad value for money when you consider other amsterdam hostels

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

nevo elmalem

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 October 2012

Liked: close to few tram stops, helpful stuff.

Disliked: not clean,the hitting didnt work, we complained and still nothing happened. cleaner didnt go into the room although we asked to. internet didnt work most of the time. the breakfast room was closed on sunday morning.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, honestly they are like family

Disliked: the location is a little bit far away from the center, but it is one on the nicest areas of Amsterdam, and easily accessible to the center of the City round the clock by public transportation

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pavel Afanasjev

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Nothing in the room apart of 7 beds + extra charge of 5% on check in. Wan't mentioned while booking on the site

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2012

Liked: :)

Disliked: :(