HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

63.4% Overall Rating

684 out of 959 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2014)

"The facility was way above my expectations. I stayed at female room and i felt secure. The room and the restroom part were clean for a room for 16 girls. It is good to have an age restriction, it creates better…"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
40.03 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
48.32 USD

Apartment 88.9% 71 reviews
Hotel Tamara
34.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.7% 200 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.85 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Liberty
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews
Damrak Inn
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
55.22 USD

Apartment 80.2% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.4%

Overall Rating

684 out of 959 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
71.2%
Value
56.8%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 556 of 665 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: the location was fantastic, and it was very international, so nice for meeting people. If you are planning to smoke a ton of weed, this might be nice for you because the lobby is a coffeeshop.

Disliked: Felt like a hostel run by potheads. If you do not like a smoke-filled common space at all times, you'll have to either stay in your room or go elsewhere. There was very minimal staffing, so when I had a problem, like someone being in my bed that I'd reserved, the person at the front desk could do nothing about it because he had to run the front desk and there was no help. Overall, very unclean with almost no facilities. Honestly, a fellow traveler and I joked that it felt like camping, which it did. I spent all summer in a tent in the woods and felt like I often had as many amenities as at Bob's Youth Hostel. However, if you are just looking for a bed (not really a towel or shower, some running water) and are willing to rough it, this is a very cheap place to stay.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: Terrible

Disliked: Very bad, dirty and strange

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Konstantin Ivanov

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Konstantin would recommend this property

Liked: + hostel is in the center of Town, nearest to Dam Square + you can come anytime you want + Including breakfast (with toaster :))

Disliked: - very few electic sokets - we have only one in 8 bed-room. - no shelves - i had to put my phone on the floor for charging - my girl slept on squeaking bed - it was noisy for her and others - no one pegs in the room or in bathroom, that is very unconfortable

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yiwei Darren Tan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Reception smells of weed all the freaking time. If you're sleeping in, be prepared to be awakened by noisy cleaning staff. Room is cramped and not very clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere they provide, maybe it is because its in amsterdam or whatever but the atmosphere is really nice

Disliked: that the place is divided into 2 buildings and the second building has toooo many stairs, specially if you are in L1 or L2 because when stonned its very difficult climbing up those stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gediminas Strelciunas

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Gediminas would recommend this property

Liked: many stairs

Disliked: cleaners

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tucker Ida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Tucker would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere,really relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LAURENT PAING

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 LAURENT would recommend this property

Liked: The youth hostel is located in the city center so it's really nice to enjoy the stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The wireless access because there was only one computer so when the hotel is full could be a problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Destiny Ziebol

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 June 2011 Destiny would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the reception room, it had a lot of character (and you are allowed to smoke there). They had two computers set up that were free to use, and free breakfast. The location was pretty good. We were put into a six bed room instead of the 12 bed room we signed up for. The shower and sink attached to our room was nice.

Disliked: Half the time there was no hot water, and it could defiantly be cleaner. The bathroom was pretty jank and had a hole in the ceiling. Despite this, I would still recommend this hostel, with the understanding that it's extremely difficult to find a place to stay in Amsterdam, and the ability to prolong your stay at Bobs makes it a good choice in case you have an emergency and need to stay longer.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: All! If you don't smoke weed this place is not for you!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty in places

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011

Liked: They had lockers that you could use and the shower was really hot.

Disliked: At the third floor. Not very helpful at reception initially but had different person who was more helpful next time. Didn't realise we needed 20 euros deposit for key and locker.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cool lounge was great for meeting new people.

Disliked: The toilet and the bathing room where old and kind of dirty.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

RO-LING YO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

31 March 2011

Liked: It is near the central station and the dam in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The shower was really awful. There was no hot water. Besides, the bed was uncomfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sewoong moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 sewoong would recommend this property

Liked: Room was quite.

Disliked: The wifi was available only in th lobby and it was not free.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Blair Johnson

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2011

Liked: Comfy beds and the location was pretty good.

Disliked: The staff are rude and disrespectful. One morning I had one of them knocking on the shower door screaming at me to get out. Another morning they woke us up at 11am and told us bluntly to get out of the room as they're cleaning. I will advise everyone I know to avoid this place, don't give them your money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Wilbourn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 February 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, great staff, safe and very welcoming to foreigners.

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kristian Brookes

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Central and secure !

Disliked: Bit boring, old and Dull ! Opens onto street pavement , no outside seating, no bar. No communal area, no proper food or catering for guests !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, smoking room, nice people.

Disliked: noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Hartley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean dorm rooms, cleaned every day. Great location, tasty breakfast of boiled eggs and toast.

Disliked: Dont stay here if you're uncomfortable around stoned men, there were some odd character. But all completely safe and fun.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

24 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: too expensive for 20 eu., too weed in everyplace and disrupted

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew norman

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: central to everything, lovely amtosphere and charaters to meet, friendly as you can imagine staff.

Disliked: the amount of stairs!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big locker. Convenient location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and cozy, spacious rooms, cheap price. And an awesome reception/lounge area

Disliked: Breakfast was toast and a boiled egg, wouldn't have minded some choice

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010

Liked: their entry-way/ reception is the cafe/ smoking area (cigarettes outside, boo)

Disliked: the rooms, the bed, the signs warning you about keeping anything out because of the rats and mice... street-side bed... etc...