We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.6% Overall Rating

735 out of 1031 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

camilo arrieta thinks…

"Excellent location, it's just in the middle of every important place. Near to red light district, coffe shops, museums, etc."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.32 USD

Apartment 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.07 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 243 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
19.81 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
38.53 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.53 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 143 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.52 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
33.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

735 out of 1031 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 596 of 736 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kate Howard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012

Liked: The bar downstairs was pretty cool, they played really good music.

Disliked: The place felt like it was coated in mold, the dorm that I stayed in smelt disgusting and the shower had a layer of mold on the ceiling. The breakfast, was always there, but I'm pretty sure the eggs they serve had gone bad. The staff also seemed very unaware of who they were actually buzzing up into the area of the dorm rooms, Which made me think there were probably a lot of people not staying at the hostel being aloud up there. I wouldn't say much for there linen, but my back has been itchy since. NOT worth the money, not in the slightest. Even though it is in one of the best locations for stoners and party goers. Wish I had been able to book at the flying pig! I hear it's awesome!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Louise Bastow

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 March 2012

Liked: it had an ok location and was cheap

Disliked: it is unsafe the power points broke 3 of our adaptors because they were dangerous and had surges of power, the hostel was filthy and i could hear mice at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Panov

Alone

Business / conference

08 March 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and organized enough for a Youth Hostel. Everyone gets a locker if they want it, so it's pretty secure. Bed sheets can be changed if you ask for it. If someone sleeps in you bed, like it happened to me, just ask the staff and they will give you a new one in no time. Also, the bathrooms are really good with a nice hot shower! Good place!

Disliked: Perhaps 20 people in one room is a bit too much, but then again, it's a hostel right... ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the city centre

Disliked: It is not so clean, and the rooms and the furnitures are a bit old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Albert Arts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly and the atmosphere was really relaxed

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest place, they didn't clean the place enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: To narrow stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice "reception" coffeeshop area, which is good to chill out in. Great music and you are allowed to eat your own food, drink your own drinks, and smoke your own stuff in there. They also sell cheap drinks. Great location, close to Dam square, supermarket, train station. Breakfast was satisfactory, two pieces of toast, some jam/peanut butter + a bolied egg. For the money we pay it's good. Staff really helpful and ready to help in everything. Desk open from 8am to 3am. Luggage room very useful. Bathroom is exceptionally clean and new. Soap provided, amazing shower. Beds are comfy. Flexible check-in time too. Clean sheets provided, towels too for 1 euro! All in all, awesome place. We expected it to be very bad (terrible reviews on some other main hostel websites) so we did not have high expectations. Compared to this, the place was a great surprise, excellent value for money.

Disliked: No plug in the 16 bed dorm room so we had to charge phones etc. at the reception. Bring slippers because the floor in the dorm was not always tidy even though they cleaned it daily.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marat Subkhankulov

Alone

City break

16 February 2012 Marat would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and character - spent the whole evening in the cafe area just relaxing.

Disliked: Marat left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

16 February 2012

Liked: -close to center -cheap

Disliked: -there is no any shared kitchen where can you do some tea/coffee, food -internet was not always working -haven't noticed any computer -it's rather not clean -20euro deposit for locker key -had to show my hostelbookers booking email, because otherwise they didn't have my booking info

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2012

Liked: good shower

Disliked: Had mice in room and staff said it was normal

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - short walk to the train station, central canal area, red light district and everything is in walking distance. The breakfast was good - just 2 pieces of toast and a boiled egg, but much better than buying your own!

Disliked: Some of the staff allow smoking of weed in the entrance/lounge area, which can be a bit annoying if you're not into the whole smoky indoors thing, but theres no smoking in the rooms, so you don't have to put up with it if you don't want to.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011

Liked: Lots of character and a place to sleep. Close to the central railway station.

Disliked: Whole place was dirty. Bathrooms in the dorm rooms were not so great, water goes all over the floor, also the ratio of one bathroom for 12 people could be better. Steep winding stairs to get to dorms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the bar was okay and the prices at the bar were good.

Disliked: Dirty and chaotic

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A REAL hostel for REAL travelers who want to socialize in a great atmosphere. Nice little bar/cafe/lounge area to chill out, smoker friendly ;) laid back staff, nice free breakfast to get you going in the morning, comfy beds and hot showers. It may not be the absolute cleanest or have the most facilities but i paid 10 euros per night and i loved it! Perfect location too.

Disliked: builders doing work started at 7am every morning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just amazing place. First impression may be a bit confusing 'cos this is really a youth hostel. This hostel was full of life and various travellers. One was just a weekend visit, some have been on road over 6 months. You won't get bored 'cos there is allways some good company in the lounge. Lounge is "the thing" at Bob's. It's like your livingroom! You can sip a beer, supereasily meet new friends, eat your (microwave)meal etc. You won't find such a great atmosphere even more expensive hostels! I payed 11€ per night, got new friends, nice sleep and some breakfast. Really worth of money!

Disliked: When people is crawling back to dorm, you may wake up. Breakfast is a quite thin, but it's free so can't complain.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011

Liked: The location is great, and the beds were remarkably comfortable, with a fluffy comforter and thick pillow. The lockers were also very big, enough to fit 2 backpacks & 1 small suitcase. It was also nice that you can smoke in the common room.

Disliked: There was only one toilet & shower available for the 16-person room I stayed in, and ZERO electrical outlets. There were no towels available all weekend, so I ended up having to use a tshirt to dry myself off after using the dirty shower. The staff were fairly aloof and unhelpful. The 20 euro deposit for a key + locker is pretty ridiculous, and there's no free wifi. Overall, this hostel is just a good place to lay your head, that's it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011

Liked: It is in the center of amsterdam.

Disliked: The place is dirty and out of shap.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better social area than other dorms in the area

Disliked: Small bathrooms connected directly to the dorm so to get ready and shower in the morning you feel bad making noise

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

13 November 2011

Liked: The location, it's pretty central.

Disliked: It was filthy. Upon arrival my sheets were clean. but the was it. I was there for 5 days and the floors weren't mopped one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and helpful atmosphere. Hanging out in Bob's Lounge is a perfect picture of young life in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The cleaning staff shows up at around 10 and wakes you up and kicks you out of the room. It would have been great to be warned about this so I could have showered before then.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Hurford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful. A small hostel with lots of atmosphere and a friendly feel.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Abhijit Sen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Abhijit would recommend this property

Liked: near to the station, with good atmosphere

Disliked: The wifi was not working. And the breakfast is a pity.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joscelyne Canavan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Joscelyne would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that we were able to get a private (4 bed) ensuite room for a very reasonable price (similar to what other hostels were offering for dorms with shared bathrooms. The location was brilliant and the free breakfast and reception area with a bar were excellent perks. The beds were bunks and looked really rickety but my bed was so comfy and the pillow was great.

Disliked: Someone used a key to enter our room on two occasions, while we were asleep. The locks on the lockers were really flimsy and you have to pay a ten euro deposit for the key. There wasn't a mirror in the bedroom so we couldn't get ready while someone was in the shower - a mirror in the room would have been much better. The room wasn't as clean as it could/should have been, and it was not cleaned at all during our stay, only the bin bag was changed. There was only one plug socket which was a struggle sharing between four.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar downstairs with very relaxing atmosphere, the rooms where ok

Disliked: The stairs are narrow and are steep, quite a achievemnt to get your luggage to your room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Iria Losada Docampo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Iria would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. Here you can meet many people. Alsa cause you can smoke in the common room, so you can chat and be confortable.. The breakfast, it is simple but nice

Disliked: The chekni time, they are really strict, you can´t go in even if it´s 13:55even just to take a shower. The reception issmall and in weekend you can have some problems to get a place for breakfast.