HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 50%

Location 90%

Safety 71%

Staff 66%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.17USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 50%

Location 90%

Safety 71%

Staff 66%

Value 61%

Showing 81-90 of 116 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lockers

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is close to the center of the city and is a quick walk to all the great sights in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The wifi only worked some of the time.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spacious room

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Wifi across all buildings and common area to relax (a bit small but still an option)

Disliked: The linen's were not the cleanest and the beds were rock hard (in the private rooms). Also, our mates ended up having mice in their room.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Locaation

Disliked: The rooms had poor toilet facilities, poor security, front door beside dodgy nightclub, the staff generally made me feel unwelcome.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's an okay hostel if you're just looking for a (relatively) cheap place to stay in Amsterdam (all the hostels here are so expensive). The reception/common area looks to be recently renovated, so it actually looks a lot better than the photos I saw. The location is quite good, very close to the main areas. There are actually two buildings that belong to the hostel, one where the reception is and one a street away. I stayed in a 20 bed mixed dorm, which was cramped, but surprisingly quiet at night. You also get a large box to store your stuff under the bed.

Disliked: Common room is always smoky, but I'd just pin that on being in Amsterdam. The shower was quite awful in my room, not because of the water pressure or anything, but because it had a gag-inducing smell. I felt like barfing every time I went in. Seriously need better ventilation. There are also not enough sockets for plugs in a room for 20 people. We had to charge our phones at the common room everyday. The storage boxes under the bed can be difficult to take out, since the space between the bunks is so narrow. I say only stay here if all other places are full or you're on a tight budget.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: so so

Disliked: They change my bed without any reasonable explain.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything was perfect :)

Disliked: :)

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location mostly, otherwise there wasn't anything else special

Disliked: I stayed in the second building behind the main bobs youth hostel. Just a basic building, nothing special or particularly bad except the wifi didn't work at all in this building. Found this inconvenient especially because I was saying alone in a room of 20 so was hard to contact friends and had no way of contacting anyone in case of an emergency.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The facility was way above my expectations. I stayed at female room and i felt secure. The room and the restroom part were clean for a room for 16 girls. It is good to have an age restriction, it creates better atmosphere for young people.

Disliked: The beds were so uncomfortable, i felt like i was lying on a floor. Also majority of the locks of dress boxes were broken. In the bathroom there was not any soap.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability