We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

72.3% Overall Rating

712 out of 998 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

Fionnuala Bulman thinks…

"Great location close to the central station but directions could be clearer. Rooms were light and airy even in the middle of summer. Showers and toilets were mostly kept very clean. Lounge downstairs…"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
40.48 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Tamara
25.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 226 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
11.39 USD

Hostel 74.9% 719 reviews
Damrak Inn
14.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
31.63 USD

Apartment 76.7% 21 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
42.16 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 124 reviews
Aroza Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 69.0% 42 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

712 out of 998 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 583 of 703 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A REAL hostel for REAL travelers who want to socialize in a great atmosphere. Nice little bar/cafe/lounge area to chill out, smoker friendly ;) laid back staff, nice free breakfast to get you going in the morning, comfy beds and hot showers. It may not be the absolute cleanest or have the most facilities but i paid 10 euros per night and i loved it! Perfect location too.

Disliked: builders doing work started at 7am every morning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just amazing place. First impression may be a bit confusing 'cos this is really a youth hostel. This hostel was full of life and various travellers. One was just a weekend visit, some have been on road over 6 months. You won't get bored 'cos there is allways some good company in the lounge. Lounge is "the thing" at Bob's. It's like your livingroom! You can sip a beer, supereasily meet new friends, eat your (microwave)meal etc. You won't find such a great atmosphere even more expensive hostels! I payed 11€ per night, got new friends, nice sleep and some breakfast. Really worth of money!

Disliked: When people is crawling back to dorm, you may wake up. Breakfast is a quite thin, but it's free so can't complain.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011

Liked: The location is great, and the beds were remarkably comfortable, with a fluffy comforter and thick pillow. The lockers were also very big, enough to fit 2 backpacks & 1 small suitcase. It was also nice that you can smoke in the common room.

Disliked: There was only one toilet & shower available for the 16-person room I stayed in, and ZERO electrical outlets. There were no towels available all weekend, so I ended up having to use a tshirt to dry myself off after using the dirty shower. The staff were fairly aloof and unhelpful. The 20 euro deposit for a key + locker is pretty ridiculous, and there's no free wifi. Overall, this hostel is just a good place to lay your head, that's it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011

Liked: It is in the center of amsterdam.

Disliked: The place is dirty and out of shap.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better social area than other dorms in the area

Disliked: Small bathrooms connected directly to the dorm so to get ready and shower in the morning you feel bad making noise

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

13 November 2011

Liked: The location, it's pretty central.

Disliked: It was filthy. Upon arrival my sheets were clean. but the was it. I was there for 5 days and the floors weren't mopped one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and helpful atmosphere. Hanging out in Bob's Lounge is a perfect picture of young life in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The cleaning staff shows up at around 10 and wakes you up and kicks you out of the room. It would have been great to be warned about this so I could have showered before then.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Hurford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful. A small hostel with lots of atmosphere and a friendly feel.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Abhijit Sen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Abhijit would recommend this property

Liked: near to the station, with good atmosphere

Disliked: The wifi was not working. And the breakfast is a pity.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joscelyne Canavan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Joscelyne would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that we were able to get a private (4 bed) ensuite room for a very reasonable price (similar to what other hostels were offering for dorms with shared bathrooms. The location was brilliant and the free breakfast and reception area with a bar were excellent perks. The beds were bunks and looked really rickety but my bed was so comfy and the pillow was great.

Disliked: Someone used a key to enter our room on two occasions, while we were asleep. The locks on the lockers were really flimsy and you have to pay a ten euro deposit for the key. There wasn't a mirror in the bedroom so we couldn't get ready while someone was in the shower - a mirror in the room would have been much better. The room wasn't as clean as it could/should have been, and it was not cleaned at all during our stay, only the bin bag was changed. There was only one plug socket which was a struggle sharing between four.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar downstairs with very relaxing atmosphere, the rooms where ok

Disliked: The stairs are narrow and are steep, quite a achievemnt to get your luggage to your room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Iria Losada Docampo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Iria would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. Here you can meet many people. Alsa cause you can smoke in the common room, so you can chat and be confortable.. The breakfast, it is simple but nice

Disliked: The chekni time, they are really strict, you can´t go in even if it´s 13:55even just to take a shower. The reception issmall and in weekend you can have some problems to get a place for breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, good location and cool decorations in the rooms

Disliked: The bathroom we used could need some renovation

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, meeting nice + interesting people from everywhere

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lovde that it hade some charming details, like: the floor was not straigt and the doors wasn´t verry big so you had do bend so you don´t hit your head. small but verry quit! LOVE the bathtub!!

Disliked: can´t come up with anything bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011

Liked: The location was one of the only good things about this hostel!

Disliked: The beds are broken, there is no ladder to the top bunk so you have to climb! My door didnt lock so having a key was pointless!! My room was on the very top floor, with no elevators and a very, very narrow staircase! AND no free Wifi! - Very expensive hostel for what you get.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 September 2011

Liked: I liked the location .......

Disliked: very durty !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephen Carty

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 September 2011

Liked: NOT ALOT ACTUALLY,CANT,APART FROM PRICE,COMMEND ANYTHING.

Disliked: We were staying around the corner,next to The Doors and found the stairs to be very steep and frankly dangerous,shower room had exstensive damp on the ceiling,generally the place came over as grubby.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Graeme Mowat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: The beds, although quite small, were really comfortable. Only problem is the top bunk lacks ladders. The entrance to the hostel is very relaxed and is where the majority of your time will be. It's got great music and it's easy to meet new people. If you dont like smoking weed, or the smell, this place isn't for you.

Disliked: The toilets and shower facility weren't as clean as they could be. The staff can be either really helpful, or quite rude. The breakfast shouldn't even be called a breakfast. Two bits of bread and a boiled egg, that was cold.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Amsterdam atmosphere, you can smoke weed at the bar. Clean simple large rooms.

Disliked: If you don´t like the smell of the weed this is not the right place for you. First night they didn´t have free lockers in our room, the next night we had a locker far from our bed. Bad beds - very soft mattresses. Terrible looking but working shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

aimee mccartan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 aimee would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere in the reception was really welcoming. The location was really good, close to alot of things.

Disliked: not much

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Filipe Saraiva Marques

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2011

Liked: Nice location. Friendly staff. If the purpose is just to have a place to sleep, works perfectly, since is well located in the city center.

Disliked: If you expect to stay in the Hostel and relax some time during the day, is not the best hostel to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special just good

Disliked: there are no electrical plugs to charge our camera or mobile

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amadeus müller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 amadeus would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was very cool everyone was very relaxed

Disliked: small room and beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge is great, the staff is friendly. The location is great very close to shopping streets&coffeeshops. The price is cheap. The location is the key.

Disliked: The shower was covered with mold all over and dirty. They don't give you the lockers just next to your bed, you have to access your bag near some guys head trying not to wake him up. The kitchen is crowded and not very clean