We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.6% Overall Rating

735 out of 1031 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

camilo arrieta thinks…

"Excellent location, it's just in the middle of every important place. Near to red light district, coffe shops, museums, etc."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.32 USD

Apartment 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.07 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 243 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
19.81 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
38.53 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.53 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 143 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.52 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
33.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

735 out of 1031 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 596 of 736 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Javier Cruz-Perez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012

Liked: It has a good location. Close to many places including Dam Square, Trams, Shopping, etc.

Disliked: The place was quite dirty. Theyre was no food allowed in the room due to a rat problem. The place has a graffiti theme which is nice except for all the additional graffiti added by people. The beds squeaked the slightest movement would wake up the whole room. There was a large deposit for keys including lockers. My room was located in another building that had no amenities. Breakfast was in another building. No wifi. Not even a single outlet anywhere in the room. Not even in the bathroom. Had it been more than 2 nights after a longer stay elsewhere. I would have left.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2012

Liked: Very cheap and there was (to some extent) breakfast included. Beds were clean and there were lockers for personal items.

Disliked: Reception was slow at doing things and reception area was pretty dirty. Dire sociable atmosphere for meeting people. Old Amsterdam building so very tight and steep staircase!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Bob's was the best decision we ever made. We fell in love with the quirky description on the website and the price was in our budget, but the reality far exceeded our expectations! We met so many interesting travelers because everyone was young and spent lots of time in the reception area getting to know each other. The staff is amazing and incredibly helpful. They're quick to give you a suggestion, point you in the right direction, or help you out of any sort of situations you may run into. I highly recommend staying at Bob's!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Bob's was perfect for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Deadly stairs.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012

Liked: left hostel early as it was so unpleasant, was able to get refunded for the night.

Disliked: Bed was broken, room VERY dusty, staircase was an absolute death trap, reception area was very dingy. Would suit a traveller who doesnt want to leave the hostel and smoke weed all day. Staff gave impression that they were also smoking weed - didnt inspire confidence. Room cleaners didnt change a bed after someone checked out because they had slept on the top of the sheets rather than inside. Was overall disgusted.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Mckinstry

Alone

Romantic getaway

08 June 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: close proximity to prostitutes

Disliked: hearing other people on the toilet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Hussey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. Free breakfast & wireless was great.

Disliked: Rooms were very basic with one shower/ toilet/ basin to a 12 bed room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ŽANA PRISLAN

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 ŽANA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very good and fast wi-fi, friendly staff :)

Disliked: But the cleanliness was very very bad!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Fuller

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: A proper backpackers hostel. Cheap and cheerful with really friendly staff, right in the middle of all the action. The best coffeeshop in Amsterdam is round the corner (Lost in Amsterdam).

Disliked: The stairs are intense. Although that is more the Dutch style than anything to do with the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicolas Prandi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting setting. Good breakfast. Great location.

Disliked: Mouse in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Hignett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very low price and excellent location, reception and rooms were cleaned regularly.

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 May 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, ruined rooms, bad bathrooms, no charging facilities in rooms, very modest breakfast, some of the staff were pretty rude.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUCAS VENUTO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 LUCAS would recommend this property

Liked: Near From the centre, easy to get from central station, also east access to the channels, where there's a lot of free tours. It's a tidy and clean hostel.

Disliked: The reception building is apart from the rooms, if you need to talk to the réception you must walk on the street, not a big problem though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, service and the crowd staying in, clean and tidy rooms with en suite showers and bathrooms.

Disliked: Safety and security on the premises could be improved.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Grzegorz Flasinski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: Logation is a thing I like most in Bob's.

Disliked: I expected a bit highier room standard and place to be more secured

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giselle Ramirez Chavez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Giselle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good ambience and the recepcionists are always friendly and willing to help! =) Oh and the breakfast for the prize that they offer is GREAT!

Disliked: The only thing is that in the girl's dormitory, the window that is facing the street does not close, so you hear the street sounds and it's difficult to get a good night sleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location good mix of guests

Disliked: They allow smoking of weed in the reception whoch is small and constantly full of smoke so i your not keen on weed there is nowhere to socialise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and the staff was extremely helpful and they knew many languages. The lounge area was pretty nice and very friendly. They do give you a very basic breakfast as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alan Hale

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, five minutes away from central station and Dam square. One of the girls on reception was very helpfull when we arrived. Got three keys for the apartment. they seem quite safe to with code needed 2 enter the building. Also recived emails from them which were very helpfull. Rooms are ok what you expect from hostel. Bunk beds cud do with a steel step or something between the beds to make getting up 2 the bunk easier. overall would say average accomdatio but cheap compared t other places but would reccomend other hostels such as stayokov more.

Disliked: First bad thing about this hostel is the fact that is seperated in different buildings, we were in the other building which had a awfull very steep staircase not the best thing u want after a night out. Secondley the common room is tiny compared to other hostels in amsterdam the review of the comon room website defintley ezzagerates the size and feel of the main room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cher Ling Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Cher Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Great places, great people, great location and great price! For what you pay, it is really worth!

Disliked: Cher Ling left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystal Kunze-Perry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Krystal would recommend this property

Liked: I love Bob's! Soo good I will definitely be revisiting them again. Cheep beer, great atmosphere and super awesome in general!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Bob's.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No Towels... Had to pay 20€ for my key deposit and when I got up to check out reception was closed so I couldn't get my money back.. Bob's keys are now in Berlin

Disliked: Towels, stairs, reception hours

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

danielle perkel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2012

Liked: good location, cool vibe, cool people

Disliked: uncomfy beds!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012

Liked: Nothing, it was filthy and everything was broken. Crammed 16 beds in a tiny room that was in a separate building. Ive stayed in some pretty hardcore backpacker hostels before, but theres a definite line between budget accommodations and living in a dirty sardine can.

Disliked: It looked like someone had either vomited or defecated on the floor when i arrived. The staff came to clean it, which involved running a wet mop over it a few times, which left all the stuck on chunks. Then they "mopped" the rest of the room with the same water. This describes the cleanliness of all the facilities. The lounge area has a terrible atmosphere, and the guy at the counter was quite rude and either blasted middle eastern music or emo rock. I regularly heard him mouth off to other people staying at the hostel. Facilities are all run down, internet is at a crawling speed. I wish I just spent 5 or 10 euro more a night to stay in a cleaner/friendlier hostel as I dreaded going home every night I was here. The dorms are in a separate building from the lounge area a couple blocks away, right above a very loud bar. Lockers were tiny and broken, walls were covered in graffiti. I don't understand how they still get customers...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No kitchen and lot's of mice!