We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

71.9% Overall Rating

722 out of 1014 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

Emmi Jarvinen thinks…

"I really liked the atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff, laid-back service, clean rooms, comfotable beds and flexible check-in"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
35.93 USD

Apartment 87.5% 8 reviews
Hotel Tamara
24.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.3% 238 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
23.95 USD

Hostel 68.9% 733 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
32.66 USD

Apartment 77.8% 22 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
36.29 USD

Guesthouse 76.3% 132 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.22 USD

Hostel 64.3% 49 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
32.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.2% 120 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

722 out of 1014 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 588 of 719 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Fuller

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: A proper backpackers hostel. Cheap and cheerful with really friendly staff, right in the middle of all the action. The best coffeeshop in Amsterdam is round the corner (Lost in Amsterdam).

Disliked: The stairs are intense. Although that is more the Dutch style than anything to do with the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicolas Prandi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting setting. Good breakfast. Great location.

Disliked: Mouse in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Hignett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very low price and excellent location, reception and rooms were cleaned regularly.

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 May 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, ruined rooms, bad bathrooms, no charging facilities in rooms, very modest breakfast, some of the staff were pretty rude.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUCAS VENUTO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 LUCAS would recommend this property

Liked: Near From the centre, easy to get from central station, also east access to the channels, where there's a lot of free tours. It's a tidy and clean hostel.

Disliked: The reception building is apart from the rooms, if you need to talk to the réception you must walk on the street, not a big problem though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, service and the crowd staying in, clean and tidy rooms with en suite showers and bathrooms.

Disliked: Safety and security on the premises could be improved.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Grzegorz Flasinski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: Logation is a thing I like most in Bob's.

Disliked: I expected a bit highier room standard and place to be more secured

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giselle Ramirez Chavez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Giselle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good ambience and the recepcionists are always friendly and willing to help! =) Oh and the breakfast for the prize that they offer is GREAT!

Disliked: The only thing is that in the girl's dormitory, the window that is facing the street does not close, so you hear the street sounds and it's difficult to get a good night sleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location good mix of guests

Disliked: They allow smoking of weed in the reception whoch is small and constantly full of smoke so i your not keen on weed there is nowhere to socialise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and the staff was extremely helpful and they knew many languages. The lounge area was pretty nice and very friendly. They do give you a very basic breakfast as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alan Hale

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, five minutes away from central station and Dam square. One of the girls on reception was very helpfull when we arrived. Got three keys for the apartment. they seem quite safe to with code needed 2 enter the building. Also recived emails from them which were very helpfull. Rooms are ok what you expect from hostel. Bunk beds cud do with a steel step or something between the beds to make getting up 2 the bunk easier. overall would say average accomdatio but cheap compared t other places but would reccomend other hostels such as stayokov more.

Disliked: First bad thing about this hostel is the fact that is seperated in different buildings, we were in the other building which had a awfull very steep staircase not the best thing u want after a night out. Secondley the common room is tiny compared to other hostels in amsterdam the review of the comon room website defintley ezzagerates the size and feel of the main room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cher Ling Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Cher Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Great places, great people, great location and great price! For what you pay, it is really worth!

Disliked: Cher Ling left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystal Kunze-Perry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Krystal would recommend this property

Liked: I love Bob's! Soo good I will definitely be revisiting them again. Cheep beer, great atmosphere and super awesome in general!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Bob's.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No Towels... Had to pay 20€ for my key deposit and when I got up to check out reception was closed so I couldn't get my money back.. Bob's keys are now in Berlin

Disliked: Towels, stairs, reception hours

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

danielle perkel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2012

Liked: good location, cool vibe, cool people

Disliked: uncomfy beds!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012

Liked: Nothing, it was filthy and everything was broken. Crammed 16 beds in a tiny room that was in a separate building. Ive stayed in some pretty hardcore backpacker hostels before, but theres a definite line between budget accommodations and living in a dirty sardine can.

Disliked: It looked like someone had either vomited or defecated on the floor when i arrived. The staff came to clean it, which involved running a wet mop over it a few times, which left all the stuck on chunks. Then they "mopped" the rest of the room with the same water. This describes the cleanliness of all the facilities. The lounge area has a terrible atmosphere, and the guy at the counter was quite rude and either blasted middle eastern music or emo rock. I regularly heard him mouth off to other people staying at the hostel. Facilities are all run down, internet is at a crawling speed. I wish I just spent 5 or 10 euro more a night to stay in a cleaner/friendlier hostel as I dreaded going home every night I was here. The dorms are in a separate building from the lounge area a couple blocks away, right above a very loud bar. Lockers were tiny and broken, walls were covered in graffiti. I don't understand how they still get customers...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No kitchen and lot's of mice!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kate Howard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012

Liked: The bar downstairs was pretty cool, they played really good music.

Disliked: The place felt like it was coated in mold, the dorm that I stayed in smelt disgusting and the shower had a layer of mold on the ceiling. The breakfast, was always there, but I'm pretty sure the eggs they serve had gone bad. The staff also seemed very unaware of who they were actually buzzing up into the area of the dorm rooms, Which made me think there were probably a lot of people not staying at the hostel being aloud up there. I wouldn't say much for there linen, but my back has been itchy since. NOT worth the money, not in the slightest. Even though it is in one of the best locations for stoners and party goers. Wish I had been able to book at the flying pig! I hear it's awesome!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Louise Bastow

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 March 2012

Liked: it had an ok location and was cheap

Disliked: it is unsafe the power points broke 3 of our adaptors because they were dangerous and had surges of power, the hostel was filthy and i could hear mice at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Panov

Alone

Business / conference

08 March 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and organized enough for a Youth Hostel. Everyone gets a locker if they want it, so it's pretty secure. Bed sheets can be changed if you ask for it. If someone sleeps in you bed, like it happened to me, just ask the staff and they will give you a new one in no time. Also, the bathrooms are really good with a nice hot shower! Good place!

Disliked: Perhaps 20 people in one room is a bit too much, but then again, it's a hostel right... ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the city centre

Disliked: It is not so clean, and the rooms and the furnitures are a bit old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Albert Arts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly and the atmosphere was really relaxed

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest place, they didn't clean the place enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: To narrow stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice "reception" coffeeshop area, which is good to chill out in. Great music and you are allowed to eat your own food, drink your own drinks, and smoke your own stuff in there. They also sell cheap drinks. Great location, close to Dam square, supermarket, train station. Breakfast was satisfactory, two pieces of toast, some jam/peanut butter + a bolied egg. For the money we pay it's good. Staff really helpful and ready to help in everything. Desk open from 8am to 3am. Luggage room very useful. Bathroom is exceptionally clean and new. Soap provided, amazing shower. Beds are comfy. Flexible check-in time too. Clean sheets provided, towels too for 1 euro! All in all, awesome place. We expected it to be very bad (terrible reviews on some other main hostel websites) so we did not have high expectations. Compared to this, the place was a great surprise, excellent value for money.

Disliked: No plug in the 16 bed dorm room so we had to charge phones etc. at the reception. Bring slippers because the floor in the dorm was not always tidy even though they cleaned it daily.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marat Subkhankulov

Alone

City break

16 February 2012 Marat would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and character - spent the whole evening in the cafe area just relaxing.

Disliked: Marat left no negative feedback.