HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

Showing 71-80 of 113 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Amazing central location within walking distance of all the city's best areas. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There was a nice view from our room and the bathroom and shower were kept clean. Beds were more comfortable than expected.

Disliked: There was definitely at least one mouse/ rat in our dorm, it was scampering around constantly and kept me awake most of the night before our flight back. The people we were sharing the dorm with on the first 3 nights were extremely loud and inconsiderate - they had parties with music and loud singing inside the dormitory itself despite the perfectly good lounge area downstairs. Obviously this isn't the fault of the hostel themselves but I think the low cost and location may tend to attract a more rowdy clientele with limited respect for other people's need to sleep! Having said that the people who arrived on our last night were all lovely. Still, I wouldn't reccmend staying here if you're hoping for a relaxing holiday.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Pretty much everything - people, service, wifi, the dog key and the rule of smoking :)

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good room! Friendly room mates! Cheap!

Disliked: The staff wasn't really friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: the position: walking distance from centraal station (not even 10 mins), shower in the room, pretty good price for the position, but....atmosphere in the hostel

Disliked: except the wifi that didn't work in the room (my room wasn't in the main building but in another in the street behind 1 minute walking to the other), not even in the lobby it couldn't work! (at 8.30 am! i was alone with the friendly guy working at the reception) i was there for 2 days...but someone who's travelling around europe/world want to find a pretty good connection..3 plug in an 8 bed dorm...2 of these in the same corner...pretty unuseful...the room wasn't clean at all, dust in the floor, hairs in the shower (i'm saying a bunch not 1 or 2 -which were in the sink in the room toilet), the sheets in my bed weren't clean, i would say used to someone else (God knows how many days before me).

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place was alright. It was my first hostel experience so I didn't know what to expect. The shower was nice and the room was clean. Gives you a pad lock for the locker under the beds.

Disliked: The bald dark man was a jerk and ignored me for the first five minutes I was standing there after trying to get his attention. He was rude every time I saw him after that. The wifi didn't work the whole first day for me and the bald dude did nothing to help. The lobby always smelled like weed.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very close to the center. Clean bedsheets.

Disliked: Soft bed.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Possible threat iof mice, desk not open for checkout

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Price

Disliked: Someone took my bed last night

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Location is very good, very handy to move around. Some of the staff were very friendly, some a bit less. Beds are very comfy. Rooms have sort of graffiti which are pretty nice.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that I had to "climb" all the way through 4th floor. Stairs are a nightmare, after few drinks it is kinda of difficult to go upstairs. Kitchen missing, so you need to go for a take away every single time. In general the hostel it is not too bad for a short stay. I managed to get a bed for cheaper - £20 p.night during the weekend- but definitely I won't pay more than that.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The room we stayed in was very dirty. We had to walk from the reception area outside and down an alley to another building and up 4 flights of stairs to our room. There was 1 toilet for 16 people and 2 showers that had lots of mold. DIdn't feel like they cleaned very often. Try and stay somewhere else, but tis place was very cheap.

Check Availability