HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

70.3% Overall Rating

704 out of 987 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"It was a fun hostel the people there were great. Definitely not the cleanest but the location is so amazing we didn't mind."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
38.94 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
47.00 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Hotel Tamara
47.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
37.60 USD

Hostel 76.3% 708 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 342 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
53.71 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
47.40 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 111 reviews
Aroza Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 66.3% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

704 out of 987 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 578 of 692 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alan Hale

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, five minutes away from central station and Dam square. One of the girls on reception was very helpfull when we arrived. Got three keys for the apartment. they seem quite safe to with code needed 2 enter the building. Also recived emails from them which were very helpfull. Rooms are ok what you expect from hostel. Bunk beds cud do with a steel step or something between the beds to make getting up 2 the bunk easier. overall would say average accomdatio but cheap compared t other places but would reccomend other hostels such as stayokov more.

Disliked: First bad thing about this hostel is the fact that is seperated in different buildings, we were in the other building which had a awfull very steep staircase not the best thing u want after a night out. Secondley the common room is tiny compared to other hostels in amsterdam the review of the comon room website defintley ezzagerates the size and feel of the main room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cher Ling Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Cher Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Great places, great people, great location and great price! For what you pay, it is really worth!

Disliked: Cher Ling left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystal Kunze-Perry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Krystal would recommend this property

Liked: I love Bob's! Soo good I will definitely be revisiting them again. Cheep beer, great atmosphere and super awesome in general!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Bob's.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No Towels... Had to pay 20€ for my key deposit and when I got up to check out reception was closed so I couldn't get my money back.. Bob's keys are now in Berlin

Disliked: Towels, stairs, reception hours

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

danielle perkel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2012

Liked: good location, cool vibe, cool people

Disliked: uncomfy beds!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012

Liked: Nothing, it was filthy and everything was broken. Crammed 16 beds in a tiny room that was in a separate building. Ive stayed in some pretty hardcore backpacker hostels before, but theres a definite line between budget accommodations and living in a dirty sardine can.

Disliked: It looked like someone had either vomited or defecated on the floor when i arrived. The staff came to clean it, which involved running a wet mop over it a few times, which left all the stuck on chunks. Then they "mopped" the rest of the room with the same water. This describes the cleanliness of all the facilities. The lounge area has a terrible atmosphere, and the guy at the counter was quite rude and either blasted middle eastern music or emo rock. I regularly heard him mouth off to other people staying at the hostel. Facilities are all run down, internet is at a crawling speed. I wish I just spent 5 or 10 euro more a night to stay in a cleaner/friendlier hostel as I dreaded going home every night I was here. The dorms are in a separate building from the lounge area a couple blocks away, right above a very loud bar. Lockers were tiny and broken, walls were covered in graffiti. I don't understand how they still get customers...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No kitchen and lot's of mice!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kate Howard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012

Liked: The bar downstairs was pretty cool, they played really good music.

Disliked: The place felt like it was coated in mold, the dorm that I stayed in smelt disgusting and the shower had a layer of mold on the ceiling. The breakfast, was always there, but I'm pretty sure the eggs they serve had gone bad. The staff also seemed very unaware of who they were actually buzzing up into the area of the dorm rooms, Which made me think there were probably a lot of people not staying at the hostel being aloud up there. I wouldn't say much for there linen, but my back has been itchy since. NOT worth the money, not in the slightest. Even though it is in one of the best locations for stoners and party goers. Wish I had been able to book at the flying pig! I hear it's awesome!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Louise Bastow

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 March 2012

Liked: it had an ok location and was cheap

Disliked: it is unsafe the power points broke 3 of our adaptors because they were dangerous and had surges of power, the hostel was filthy and i could hear mice at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Panov

Alone

Business / conference

08 March 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and organized enough for a Youth Hostel. Everyone gets a locker if they want it, so it's pretty secure. Bed sheets can be changed if you ask for it. If someone sleeps in you bed, like it happened to me, just ask the staff and they will give you a new one in no time. Also, the bathrooms are really good with a nice hot shower! Good place!

Disliked: Perhaps 20 people in one room is a bit too much, but then again, it's a hostel right... ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the city centre

Disliked: It is not so clean, and the rooms and the furnitures are a bit old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Albert Arts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly and the atmosphere was really relaxed

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest place, they didn't clean the place enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: To narrow stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice "reception" coffeeshop area, which is good to chill out in. Great music and you are allowed to eat your own food, drink your own drinks, and smoke your own stuff in there. They also sell cheap drinks. Great location, close to Dam square, supermarket, train station. Breakfast was satisfactory, two pieces of toast, some jam/peanut butter + a bolied egg. For the money we pay it's good. Staff really helpful and ready to help in everything. Desk open from 8am to 3am. Luggage room very useful. Bathroom is exceptionally clean and new. Soap provided, amazing shower. Beds are comfy. Flexible check-in time too. Clean sheets provided, towels too for 1 euro! All in all, awesome place. We expected it to be very bad (terrible reviews on some other main hostel websites) so we did not have high expectations. Compared to this, the place was a great surprise, excellent value for money.

Disliked: No plug in the 16 bed dorm room so we had to charge phones etc. at the reception. Bring slippers because the floor in the dorm was not always tidy even though they cleaned it daily.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marat Subkhankulov

Alone

City break

16 February 2012 Marat would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and character - spent the whole evening in the cafe area just relaxing.

Disliked: Marat left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

16 February 2012

Liked: -close to center -cheap

Disliked: -there is no any shared kitchen where can you do some tea/coffee, food -internet was not always working -haven't noticed any computer -it's rather not clean -20euro deposit for locker key -had to show my hostelbookers booking email, because otherwise they didn't have my booking info

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2012

Liked: good shower

Disliked: Had mice in room and staff said it was normal

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - short walk to the train station, central canal area, red light district and everything is in walking distance. The breakfast was good - just 2 pieces of toast and a boiled egg, but much better than buying your own!

Disliked: Some of the staff allow smoking of weed in the entrance/lounge area, which can be a bit annoying if you're not into the whole smoky indoors thing, but theres no smoking in the rooms, so you don't have to put up with it if you don't want to.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011

Liked: Lots of character and a place to sleep. Close to the central railway station.

Disliked: Whole place was dirty. Bathrooms in the dorm rooms were not so great, water goes all over the floor, also the ratio of one bathroom for 12 people could be better. Steep winding stairs to get to dorms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the bar was okay and the prices at the bar were good.

Disliked: Dirty and chaotic

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A REAL hostel for REAL travelers who want to socialize in a great atmosphere. Nice little bar/cafe/lounge area to chill out, smoker friendly ;) laid back staff, nice free breakfast to get you going in the morning, comfy beds and hot showers. It may not be the absolute cleanest or have the most facilities but i paid 10 euros per night and i loved it! Perfect location too.

Disliked: builders doing work started at 7am every morning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just amazing place. First impression may be a bit confusing 'cos this is really a youth hostel. This hostel was full of life and various travellers. One was just a weekend visit, some have been on road over 6 months. You won't get bored 'cos there is allways some good company in the lounge. Lounge is "the thing" at Bob's. It's like your livingroom! You can sip a beer, supereasily meet new friends, eat your (microwave)meal etc. You won't find such a great atmosphere even more expensive hostels! I payed 11€ per night, got new friends, nice sleep and some breakfast. Really worth of money!

Disliked: When people is crawling back to dorm, you may wake up. Breakfast is a quite thin, but it's free so can't complain.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011

Liked: The location is great, and the beds were remarkably comfortable, with a fluffy comforter and thick pillow. The lockers were also very big, enough to fit 2 backpacks & 1 small suitcase. It was also nice that you can smoke in the common room.

Disliked: There was only one toilet & shower available for the 16-person room I stayed in, and ZERO electrical outlets. There were no towels available all weekend, so I ended up having to use a tshirt to dry myself off after using the dirty shower. The staff were fairly aloof and unhelpful. The 20 euro deposit for a key + locker is pretty ridiculous, and there's no free wifi. Overall, this hostel is just a good place to lay your head, that's it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011

Liked: It is in the center of amsterdam.

Disliked: The place is dirty and out of shap.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better social area than other dorms in the area

Disliked: Small bathrooms connected directly to the dorm so to get ready and shower in the morning you feel bad making noise