HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

Showing 61-70 of 114 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: it may seem shabby, but the girls' room was very clean

Disliked: they didn't give me my key deposit back because i was leaving when the reception was closed, even if the receptionist was in front of me..

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good and staffs are OK

Disliked: Smell, the distance between beds and beds, the cleaness of room and bathroom

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are very friendly.

Disliked: wifi is slow. There is no place to charge the cellphone.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: That it is close to the train station. The city center including a convenient store

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -Location was very close to the centre-The staff were laidback although sometimes too laidback that they didn't care

Disliked: -My bed was very itchy to sleep in and so resulted in me sleeping in my sleeping bag liner for the rest of my stay there, didn't have that in any other hostel I stayed at on my trip- Someone in my room hid their ipod and money but it was stolen and found the next night under another bed in the room- The only plugs are in the centre of the room so charging over night isn't a great plan unless you want your phone stolen-Some rooms are in a seperate building which it doesn't state on the info with steep stairs and no lift, also isn't stated on website-Worst hostel we stayed in on our trip by a mile, staff weren't friendly particularly the Indian man working behind the desk who was rude to me a number of times especially when we had to give in our keys in the evening as we had a very early flight the next morning

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, perfect for our own needs (students on a short stay) no curfew, come and go as we please.

Disliked: Scary man at front desk, everywhere was a bit grubby, the toilet absolutely STANK! All of this we expected though considering we paid 30 euros a night for the place

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a fun hostel the people there were great. Definitely not the cleanest but the location is so amazing we didn't mind.

Disliked: There are incredibly steep stairs to get up to the rooms and the WiFi doesn't work too well

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing. We spent the whole day trying to find somewhere...ANYWHERE else to stay!

Disliked: Dirty floorsDirty wallsDamp on wallsDangerous stairsBroken lock on doorAnyone could enterHostel worker gave us the wrong key to our neighbours roomBed sheets had stainsRoom was not clean at all even when we askedRoom was a street behind the repception under a weed bar Awful security Hair in shower and stray cats in the room

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Proximity to everything was very good, park, restaurants, cafes, train station supermarket, bike hire etc

Disliked: the linen smelt a bit badly

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good atmosphere, large lockers, luggage room, good showers, great location.Let us stay in the same room for all 3 nights of our stay even though we had made 3 separate bookings.Guy who let us in at 4am!

Disliked: WiFi not very reliable.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability