We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.5% Overall Rating

730 out of 1024 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

Emmi Jarvinen thinks…

"I really liked the atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff, laid-back service, clean rooms, comfotable beds and flexible check-in"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.85 USD

Apartment 84.4% 9 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.0% 241 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.57 USD

Hostel 72.1% 741 reviews
Damrak Inn
20.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
44.67 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
39.08 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 140 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.92 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
33.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 122 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

730 out of 1024 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 591 of 727 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was clean, close to centre and good atmosphere

Disliked: the breakfast was poor but good for what we spent on the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The chill out room at reception- you can sit and drink or smoke until they close at 3pm - good for meeting people, especially if you're travelling on your own. Cool decor too, just loads of stuff stuck all over the walls, looks like a proper hostel. Super comfy beds! Never had them that comfortable before!

Disliked: Only thing I really didn't like was the cleanliness.. From the reviews I was expecting it to be really bad but the day we arrived it was fine, but it took until the 4th day of our stay for the room to be cleaned again. I understand that this is the cheapest place in Amsterdam and maybe you get what you pay for, but it would just be so much better if it was at least done every second/third day - especially because the dorms are so big. The doors to the dorms don't close properly so it's easy for someone to forget to pull it tight leaving it open quite often

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled, clean, close to everything.

Disliked: after a few days in amsterdam you may want to have a break from being in a room full of weed smoke... the only common room is always full of smoke.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of baked people in the lobby area :P

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, the lockers are very big and a simple breakfast is included in the price.

Disliked: If you're staying at the hostel and want to reserve more nights from the reception, you can only do it very early in the morning before check-out time and only one night at a time. This is very weird. Also during one night when I was staying at the hostel, the owner came and woke everybody up (!) to ask about receipts or something... This seemed highly unprofessional and was very uncalled for, as getting sleep in a room with 15 other people is hard enough in itself.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012

Liked: The location next to the shopping street was good.

Disliked: The room was very dirty on the ceiling and also on the corners. The beds don't smell very well like perfectly cleaned. Another problem was the door which was already broke in the past, it gives no confidence in our Hostel. Then the reception is not on the night open, we leaved Amsterdam at 6pm and nobody and nothing was for our help to give the keys back...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012

Liked: Convenient centre location, close to everything we needed, nice reception area.

Disliked: Room was more cramped than pictures show, due to misfortune ended up in the top room, so alot of stairs and high heat ruined any time spent in the room

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: DIMLY LIT

Disliked: EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE LOCATION IS OK

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location

Disliked: all female dorms are sooo much cleaner than mixed...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Robin Renahan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent because it is right in the heart of the city and you can easily walk to many bars, coffee shops, and tourist spots

Disliked: It wasn't very clean, my room had a rat in it, the floor felt grimy and the bathroom had a strange odor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ece uzuneser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 ece would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and helpfull staffs. atmosphere was wonderful! definetly , I recommend Bob's Youth Hostel in Amsterdam!!!

Disliked: nothing!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

BERNARDO MARTIN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 BERNARDO would recommend this property

Liked: It's really well located, just a few minutes of walking from the train station and the Dam square.

Disliked: The rooms and toilets weren't always as clean as I would have expected. And the shower was a bit uncomfortable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: zentrale Lage, sehr freundliches Personal, gute Möglichkeit mit anderen Reisenden aus den verscheidensten Ländern in Kontakt zu kommen.

Disliked: die Raucherlaubnis im Hostel (Aufenthaltsbereich), das Fehlen einer Selbstversorgerküche

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the most awesome place ever! The staff was great and the atmosphere was magical. We loved it.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely comfortable beds. And a nice common room where it was easy to make friends!

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

SERGEI KOLOTOV

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Toilet & shower in our room were clean. Thanks god. And the air was fresh because the window was opened all the time. Other people in the room was nice.

Disliked: The good price for one bed here is 12 euro per night. Not more.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet other travelers and just have some fun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MING YOU TEO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 MING YOU would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the center of the city and you could just easily reach there by public transportation or a walk from centraal station.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy at night but you shouldn't expect much in a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, large lockers

Disliked: overall pretty good, won't nit-pick

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, generally staffs were nice. they changed sheet every time people leave. bed was not that very comforty, but it wasn't that terrible either. if you have an experience staying in hostel in london, you'd find it comfortable!

Disliked: as i don't smoke weed, I didn't like being in a first floor with people. i couldn't even breath because of the heavy smoke, but I think it would be great if you like smoking weed. also the most disappointing fact was that one guy working in a reception, I suppose he's bob, was extreamly unfriendly.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Javier Cruz-Perez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012

Liked: It has a good location. Close to many places including Dam Square, Trams, Shopping, etc.

Disliked: The place was quite dirty. Theyre was no food allowed in the room due to a rat problem. The place has a graffiti theme which is nice except for all the additional graffiti added by people. The beds squeaked the slightest movement would wake up the whole room. There was a large deposit for keys including lockers. My room was located in another building that had no amenities. Breakfast was in another building. No wifi. Not even a single outlet anywhere in the room. Not even in the bathroom. Had it been more than 2 nights after a longer stay elsewhere. I would have left.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2012

Liked: Very cheap and there was (to some extent) breakfast included. Beds were clean and there were lockers for personal items.

Disliked: Reception was slow at doing things and reception area was pretty dirty. Dire sociable atmosphere for meeting people. Old Amsterdam building so very tight and steep staircase!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Bob's was the best decision we ever made. We fell in love with the quirky description on the website and the price was in our budget, but the reality far exceeded our expectations! We met so many interesting travelers because everyone was young and spent lots of time in the reception area getting to know each other. The staff is amazing and incredibly helpful. They're quick to give you a suggestion, point you in the right direction, or help you out of any sort of situations you may run into. I highly recommend staying at Bob's!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Bob's was perfect for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Deadly stairs.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012

Liked: left hostel early as it was so unpleasant, was able to get refunded for the night.

Disliked: Bed was broken, room VERY dusty, staircase was an absolute death trap, reception area was very dingy. Would suit a traveller who doesnt want to leave the hostel and smoke weed all day. Staff gave impression that they were also smoking weed - didnt inspire confidence. Room cleaners didnt change a bed after someone checked out because they had slept on the top of the sheets rather than inside. Was overall disgusted.