HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

70.5% Overall Rating

705 out of 988 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"It was a fun hostel the people there were great. Definitely not the cleanest but the location is so amazing we didn't mind."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
38.96 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
47.02 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Hotel Tamara
47.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
37.61 USD

Hostel 76.3% 708 reviews
Damrak Inn
40.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 342 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
53.73 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
47.42 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 111 reviews
Aroza Hostel
40.30 USD

Hostel 66.9% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

704 out of 987 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 578 of 693 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Veronica Curran

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty and had an unpleasant odour. The breakfast area hadn't been cleaned from the night before when we got up and the floor was sticky with garbage. The breakfast was not great and the luggage room was disgusting.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: Proximity to Amsterdam Centraal. There is a tram stop right outside.

Disliked: This place is a complete mess. I was in the 16 girl dorm and it was SO dirty. They hardly cleaned it. When they came and "cleaned," the sink top was still extremely dirty...so what did they do?! Also, the wifi is NOT reliable. It wasn't working properly when I was there and the receptionist said she didn't know how to fix it. She should have found someone who could fix it!!! It was very inconvenient. Also, the music in the common area and the bar next door is extremely loud, so good luck sleeping if you're near that side of the hostel. On top of this, the hostel common area is cramped and people would block the walkway with their chairs. This is annoying and should be prevented...Especially because it's kind of a fire hazard. Anyways, go here if you want to blaze, but that's about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MERVE DENIZ GULGOR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 MERVE DENIZ would recommend this property

Liked: Even the location is perfect, there is not much noise. The girl room is really clean with the respect of the travellers. breakfast is enough to start the day and everything worths how much you pay. so we had no problem and liked every minute we spend there.

Disliked: There wasnt anything i didnt like.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really near the center and price was so good for a student:)

Disliked: Bathroom was not so clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, price

Disliked: hygiene, breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Para ir com um grupo de amigos do melhor. Atenção que o micro-ondas não é no quarto, é na sala de convivio/recepção e para lá chegar tem que se atravessar a rua, nada de outro mundo. Tem supermecados perto, a ideia é ir ao supermecado comprar todos os dias, já que não existe frigorigico para comprar logo tudo no primeiro dia. Tem massas para duas pessoas a 3€ (recomendado) e saladas pelo mesmo preço que também marcham... O pequeno almoço é aceitavel para o que se paga, ovo cozido (dá para repetir) duas fatias de pão (manteiga/doçe) Leite, Chá e café à discrição!

Disliked: Para tomar banho de manha é complicado nos quartos com 18 pessoas. Com 18 pessoas o quarto é normal acordarem as 5 da manha com malta a chegar, mas a rapaziada até respeita e tenta fazer o minimo de barulho.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really nice the fact that the reception is a bar, with good atmosphere, as well as the place for breakfast.

Disliked: The breakfast is a little bit poor and should be more organized.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The review are honest. A place to sleep. Pretty clean no bugs no animals and a good location, just a three min walk from Dam Square. Breakfast is simple and. A good start to the day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

maria `saeki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm and welcoming,

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything - it's dirty, they have a mice problem, the bathrooms are filthy, etc.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

farizi pathi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013

Liked: cool lounge

Disliked: dirty.poor facilities.the bed not safe o sleep on.took 4 private room.the toilet was fine.bed terrible.no one could stand it.found better hostel the next day

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

WAI SENG SAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 WAI SENG would recommend this property

Liked: There are no mice when i was there. the toilet wasnt as dirty as described. The bedsheet was clean. everything was clean. toilet was in good condition. Only the floor of the dorm a little dirty. the lockers are usable but its just to old and rusty.

Disliked: the common place was always noisy with rock music although there were some classical music. the people are constantly smoking and taking cannabis in the afternoon. and the plugs... there is too little of them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: regulation

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012

Liked: Some of the staff were helpful, the free breakfast was ok, location was pretty good ( pretty close to central station) and the common are was big enough to fit a lot of people.

Disliked: The hostel was pretty dirty and the 20 bed dorm did not look like the pictures. The bathrooms were tiny and not cleaned very often and the only common area also doubled as the smoking room. I didn't mind that much but it was just annoying if you ever wanted a break from the weed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

lindsey jennings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012

Liked: I liked the location, and the people were nice. There were lockers in the room. They had cheap beer for sale in the lobby (although you couldn't bring your own in) and tequila shots for an hour and a half every night. the pillows were really comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that the lobby was a small room constantly filled with smoke. There was no kitchen to cook food in, and since I personally don't smoke it was annoying to have everything I owned smelling like smoke all the time. Plus a lot of the people int he hostel weren't really interested in doing much except for hanging out inthe hostel and smoking. It would have been nice if there were perhaps two separate rooms, or something. somwhere I could eat food or something. there was also a 10 euro deposit for your key and a 10 euro deposit for your locker key and a 5 euro deposit for your towel... the bathrooms smelled of urine, and I showered with my socks on because I felt dirty going in them. It was nasty. There was like dirt or something in my bed too. it wasn't really clean at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: This is a great place if you are in town to party, and want to meet a heap of young people who love to smoke, drink, and have a good time. They also have very comfy beds and great blankets and sheets! A rarity in hostels.

Disliked: Not a great place if you are keen on a quiet night's sleep! It is very, very busy and we were lucky to find somewhere to sit to enjoy our breakfast of an egg, toast and coffee.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alexandre Monich

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: Very well localizated

Disliked: Too underground; Staff is not friendly; The breakfast is not that good for the price that you have to pay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, great smoking room. Bed was comfortable, what you want for 15euros. No problems what so ever, will happily stay in this hostel in the future.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emily Mills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Bob's Youth Hostel was in a brilliant location near the train station, and had a vibrant atmosphere. The bed's were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Noise continuing throughout the night/morning from nearby music. Bathrooms could have used more attention, and the floors needed sweeping/mopping.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jasmine Law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel was great, within walking distance to central Amsterdam. The staffs were friendly and and the ambiance was great. I met a lot awesome people just by staying at this hostel.

Disliked: The shared shower and bathroom were dirty, definitely bring shower shoes! The storage lockers were a bit rusty and old, somewhat dirty. There was only one computer, but wi-fi is provided.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marius Müller-Frank

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2012

Liked: Close to the center

Disliked: Mouse in the Dormroom. Stayed there for one weekend the bathroom has not been cleaned once. The shower room was so moldy you could barely breath.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca McClement

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and guests were very friendly, the reception has a lounge for guests to relax which has a range of music on. The loaction of bob's is great as its close to everything i wanted to see.

Disliked: The vending machines were broken. Thats literally all!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

HSIN-HUA LEE

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012

Liked: The location is really good!!!

Disliked: I stayed in the 16 female dorm, and bed is near the toilet and shower, so I felt not good to stay there. And that room just only 3 plugs, one is next to the door, the other two are next to someone's bed, that is really unconvenient!!!!I spent 30 euro per night, that is really costy!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Kuczynska

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very atmospherical common room, veeery friendly staff, very good location! I felt safe and I had a good sleep.

Disliked: Maybe should be more often cleaned. Though I wasn't suprised.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, clean sheets, big lockers, nice graffiti on the room walls :)

Disliked: There were mice in the room at night. They didn't bother the one of us who was on the top bed, but you can hear them if you sleep on the lower bed. Also keep your bags on you bed or in the locker and don't store any food there.