We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

72.7% Overall Rating

753 out of 1060 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

"Bob's has a great location and a cheap price. The staff is really helpful and friendly and they have decent offers, including free coffee and tea. The beds are comfortable but that's where the good things end."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
37.10 USD

Apartment 85.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Tamara
31.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.9% 259 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
31.47 USD

Hostel 73.8% 758 reviews
Damrak Inn
28.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
39.34 USD

Apartment 79.2% 24 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
39.34 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 160 reviews
Aroza Hostel
42.15 USD

Hostel 57.8% 66 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

753 out of 1060 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 615 of 764 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lobby bar is a good place to chill out.

Disliked: They have a dorm in a completely separate building on a different street.lots of hair and dirt on the floor.but still totally doable.and great breakfast!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rachel Choi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Well located. Regular staff are really friendly (the cleaners were not so much - who I think are related to the owner somehow). Good for meeting people which is easy anywhere in Amsterdam. Has all the basic things you need really.

Disliked: It is very basic so don't expect too much. For example, in my dorm room of 16 we had one powerpoint from which to charge things. And the bathroom seemed like it hadnt been cleaned in ages but wear thongs and don't think too much about it and its all good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

17 June 2013

Liked: The admosfere

Disliked: The dirtyness of the bathroom and rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A cool hostel with a good reception area and nice rooms. Close to the train station and everything else in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Toby Oxford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Great location from the majority of tourist areas in Amsterdam, though the road is quite quiet at night. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants in the area too!

Disliked: There is a lack of plug sockets in the room, only two for sixteen people!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Atmosphäre -lustiges Personal - Super Preis -sehr gut gelegen

Disliked: -zu wenig Bäder und Toiletten verfügbar

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was amazing

Disliked: Staff were a bit up themselves

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caroline Holz

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

30 May 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: In the Center of Amsterdam! Very cheap and good quality for the prise!

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Lorant Bako

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Lorant would recommend this property

Liked: Locations. It was very close to the Train station, but also to the Dam square were everything starts from. I particularly did not care for the hostel allowing smoking but it does offer a safe environment for it.

Disliked: The stairs up to the room, you could break your neck if you're not careful, no key to get into the hostel after 4AM, but you can if you ring the doorbell. I little overpriced for the overall experience.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: the staff could have been more friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oly Darke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Oly would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone was helpful and friendly. The lobby was great for hanging out in, talking to other travellers (plus the music was really good)

Disliked: There wasn't any soap in our dorm bathroom but I had brought my own, there was also no hot water on my first day there but that was no fault of the hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just overall this was a very great experience. The whole hostel was very good. It might not have been the most clean place in the world, but really what are you expecting and I thought it did a really good job. The beds were absolutely amazing, more comfortable than my uni bed :) The whole stay was the epitome of gezellig

Disliked: IF I were to put anything, maybe it could have been a touch cleaner, but everything else was exactly what I was expecting.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sandra Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: The shower area was clean and it was centrally located.

Disliked: The beds were creaky, the light in our toilet wasn't working, staff members weren't very approachable or accessible, since we were staying in a separate building from the reception. The room we were in had a second door that couldn't be locked, and was poorly maintained.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing 'lobby'. like a cool bar.

Disliked: sheets were not very clean but it was fine

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013

Liked: close to the centre

Disliked: cleanliness

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: cleanliness and facilities

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ranjan Shrestha

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Ranjan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly behavior

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evangelia Kousounadi Knountsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Evangelia would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very good atmosphere, friendly staff, people from all over the world. It is clean, very cheap, offers breakfast that's included in the price, and it is in the centre of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The mices around and the private room without WC (it only had the shower).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Derek Heidewald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Safe reception office next to the police station. Reception area is also a smoking area. No outlets in the large mixed bedrooms, but plenty in the reception area.

Disliked: Reception area was in a different building a black away from where my room was.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: 16 bed dorm with only one toilet and one shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SULEYMAN CEM TOPALOGLU

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 SULEYMAN CEM would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Cleanless

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Milan Mishkovikj

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: evrething was Excellent

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free to come and go as you pleased. Bang in the middle of all thats going on. Lockers were great for all my stuff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super chill and relaxed atmosphere! very easy to meet buddies to adventure around the lovely city of Amsterdam. As soon as you walk in the door you're greeted with the wonderful smell of some ganja! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're not a fan of marijuana though.

Disliked: 2 toilets/ and 2 showers in our 20 bed dorm was a little inconvient at times, but worth it for the price! There is also a ridiculously steep staircase that was a bit funny to climb up with my huge backpack. Nothing too bad tho!