We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

72.3% Overall Rating

719 out of 1011 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

Emmi Jarvinen thinks…

"I really liked the atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff, laid-back service, clean rooms, comfotable beds and flexible check-in"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.93 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Tamara
21.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 237 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
12.31 USD

Hostel 69.5% 732 reviews
Damrak Inn
12.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
44.76 USD

Apartment 76.7% 21 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
37.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 129 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.98 USD

Hostel 64.3% 49 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
30.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.2% 120 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

719 out of 1011 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 588 of 716 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the centre, in girls room clean sheet, has his own atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were mostly satisfied with our stay at Bob's. Room was clean as did bathroom and toilet. I really liked comfortable and warm bed blanket I had.

Disliked: It might be a good idea to have a stool near every bed for added comfort.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay at :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty. there was graffiti and dirt on the walls. the beds and linens were very dirty as well. Also the beds did not have stairs to go up on the second one. I found weed tubes in my bed when i returned at night. the breakfast was like a joke. the offered just two slices of bread and a hard egg. they say they have free wifi but we could not use it. and the guy on reception insisted on not giving it to us. it is impossible to describe the sufferings we went though there. if you have an alternative do not choose this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: The lounge

Disliked: Everything else than the lounge.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Mouse droppings in my bed, the staff at reception were very rude and unhelpful - didn't help us navigate around Amterdam at all, the free breakfast was busy and crowded - had to eat out every morning, the main reception is way too dark, I stayed around the corner not in the main building - seperated from everyone it was horrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful and friendly and the place has a relaxed and quirky vibe. Sleeping area is warm, good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about it really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location, within walking distance to most sites.

Disliked: No soap in the bathrooms- make sure to bring your own. No towels are provided (can rent for 1 euro + 5 euro deposit fee). It is in Amsterdam, but the lounge is full of smoke and weed all the time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mohsin Khan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Mohsin would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, good place to meet other travellers and smoke weed. nice common area. overall a fun stay

Disliked: not the cleanest

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jordan Goodwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, clean comfortable beds, LOCATION WAS GREAT

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better but it was still quite satisfying.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Veronica Curran

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty and had an unpleasant odour. The breakfast area hadn't been cleaned from the night before when we got up and the floor was sticky with garbage. The breakfast was not great and the luggage room was disgusting.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: Proximity to Amsterdam Centraal. There is a tram stop right outside.

Disliked: This place is a complete mess. I was in the 16 girl dorm and it was SO dirty. They hardly cleaned it. When they came and "cleaned," the sink top was still extremely dirty...so what did they do?! Also, the wifi is NOT reliable. It wasn't working properly when I was there and the receptionist said she didn't know how to fix it. She should have found someone who could fix it!!! It was very inconvenient. Also, the music in the common area and the bar next door is extremely loud, so good luck sleeping if you're near that side of the hostel. On top of this, the hostel common area is cramped and people would block the walkway with their chairs. This is annoying and should be prevented...Especially because it's kind of a fire hazard. Anyways, go here if you want to blaze, but that's about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MERVE DENIZ GULGOR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 MERVE DENIZ would recommend this property

Liked: Even the location is perfect, there is not much noise. The girl room is really clean with the respect of the travellers. breakfast is enough to start the day and everything worths how much you pay. so we had no problem and liked every minute we spend there.

Disliked: There wasnt anything i didnt like.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really near the center and price was so good for a student:)

Disliked: Bathroom was not so clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, price

Disliked: hygiene, breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Para ir com um grupo de amigos do melhor. Atenção que o micro-ondas não é no quarto, é na sala de convivio/recepção e para lá chegar tem que se atravessar a rua, nada de outro mundo. Tem supermecados perto, a ideia é ir ao supermecado comprar todos os dias, já que não existe frigorigico para comprar logo tudo no primeiro dia. Tem massas para duas pessoas a 3€ (recomendado) e saladas pelo mesmo preço que também marcham... O pequeno almoço é aceitavel para o que se paga, ovo cozido (dá para repetir) duas fatias de pão (manteiga/doçe) Leite, Chá e café à discrição!

Disliked: Para tomar banho de manha é complicado nos quartos com 18 pessoas. Com 18 pessoas o quarto é normal acordarem as 5 da manha com malta a chegar, mas a rapaziada até respeita e tenta fazer o minimo de barulho.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really nice the fact that the reception is a bar, with good atmosphere, as well as the place for breakfast.

Disliked: The breakfast is a little bit poor and should be more organized.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The review are honest. A place to sleep. Pretty clean no bugs no animals and a good location, just a three min walk from Dam Square. Breakfast is simple and. A good start to the day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

maria `saeki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm and welcoming,

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything - it's dirty, they have a mice problem, the bathrooms are filthy, etc.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

farizi pathi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013

Liked: cool lounge

Disliked: dirty.poor facilities.the bed not safe o sleep on.took 4 private room.the toilet was fine.bed terrible.no one could stand it.found better hostel the next day

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

WAI SENG SAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 WAI SENG would recommend this property

Liked: There are no mice when i was there. the toilet wasnt as dirty as described. The bedsheet was clean. everything was clean. toilet was in good condition. Only the floor of the dorm a little dirty. the lockers are usable but its just to old and rusty.

Disliked: the common place was always noisy with rock music although there were some classical music. the people are constantly smoking and taking cannabis in the afternoon. and the plugs... there is too little of them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: regulation

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012

Liked: Some of the staff were helpful, the free breakfast was ok, location was pretty good ( pretty close to central station) and the common are was big enough to fit a lot of people.

Disliked: The hostel was pretty dirty and the 20 bed dorm did not look like the pictures. The bathrooms were tiny and not cleaned very often and the only common area also doubled as the smoking room. I didn't mind that much but it was just annoying if you ever wanted a break from the weed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

lindsey jennings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012

Liked: I liked the location, and the people were nice. There were lockers in the room. They had cheap beer for sale in the lobby (although you couldn't bring your own in) and tequila shots for an hour and a half every night. the pillows were really comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that the lobby was a small room constantly filled with smoke. There was no kitchen to cook food in, and since I personally don't smoke it was annoying to have everything I owned smelling like smoke all the time. Plus a lot of the people int he hostel weren't really interested in doing much except for hanging out inthe hostel and smoking. It would have been nice if there were perhaps two separate rooms, or something. somwhere I could eat food or something. there was also a 10 euro deposit for your key and a 10 euro deposit for your locker key and a 5 euro deposit for your towel... the bathrooms smelled of urine, and I showered with my socks on because I felt dirty going in them. It was nasty. There was like dirt or something in my bed too. it wasn't really clean at all.