HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 45%

Location 93%

Safety 65%

Staff 66%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 45%

Location 93%

Safety 65%

Staff 66%

Value 59%

Showing 41-50 of 112 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Its a dirty place like most of Amsterdam, so it's not exclusive to this place. Small staircases and tiny bathrooms. That's just what you get in Amsterdam. Also places are always so expensive on the weekend.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in Central Amstedam

Disliked: The staff were very rude and unhelpful. The facility feels very old and musty.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Basic no frills hostel. Beds not bad... Got a duvet which was a treat! Hot shower. Spacious 6 bed room

Disliked: Took a while to be seen by check in staff who seemed more distracted by cooking in the back. Walls are a bit grimy. Apart from that all OK.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, friendly staffs, clean bed

Disliked: Toilet and bathroom smell a bit stink, no breakfast but free tea and coffee in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Reception was uninviting and dorms wee in a different build (not a huge problem). One of the cleaning guys was really rude to me for no reason. Shower was in shitty condition. No major problems just not a great hostel overall.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was really great! Close to the train station and the main areas so there was no need to get a tram pass. The rooms were big and the bunk beds were clean and sturdy. Very laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Only one toilet for the floor I was on. The beds don't have outlets, but there are a bunch of outlets on one wall. Bunk beds don't have a ladder or railings but this was no problem for me since I'm tall.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The dorms were really nice. Enough space. Clean. Nice atmosphere. Light. You feel very good.

Disliked: Facilities were small and not indicated.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was located very close to the city center.

Disliked: Some rooms didnt have enough lockers

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed on floor BI liked:-The common room was cool and a good place to meet people-The location was pretty good as it was really close to the train station, the anne frank house, and the red light district, but a bit of a walk from downtown.-There was a grocery store right down the street

Disliked: I didn't like:-The light in the shower didn't work and it didn't have any Windows, so there was no ventilation and you had to leave the door open a bit to see, or bring your phone in ti use as a flashlight, which isn't really safe for your phone.-also there was mold on the ceiling of it-gross.-They only serve coffee in the morning, would be nice if they served like, a bun or something too but maybe I'm just greedy. -I booked an all female room and was given a room with 20 people- mixed gender. I didn't care that much but was kind of a shock.-they say theyre age cap is 30 but there were definitely a couple older than 30 men staying in the same room as me.-WAY too much money for what you're getting. Look for another option that's cheaper and nicer if you can.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central location, super friendly staff, complimentary coffee.

Disliked: Pretty expensive for the quality. 40 euros a night is a lot for a place in such crappy condition -- water damage on the ceiling, horribly stinking water pipes and no soap at any of the sinks. One of the showers smelled so badly that it couldn't be used without holding your breath the whole time. Bed linens didn't feel clean -- sandy or dirty -- and my travel companion complained that his sheets felt damp upon arrival.

Check Availability