We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.9% Overall Rating

747 out of 1049 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2015)

jen richardson thinks…

"Basic no frills hostel. Beds not bad... Got a duvet which was a treat! Hot shower. Spacious 6 bed room"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.19 USD

Apartment 82.9% 11 reviews
Hotel Tamara
32.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 59.1% 252 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
30.71 USD

Hostel 74.3% 755 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
43.87 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.39 USD

Guesthouse 72.2% 153 reviews
Aroza Hostel
41.13 USD

Hostel 60.3% 65 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.9%

Overall Rating

747 out of 1049 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
68.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 606 of 753 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: the staff could have been more friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oly Darke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Oly would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone was helpful and friendly. The lobby was great for hanging out in, talking to other travellers (plus the music was really good)

Disliked: There wasn't any soap in our dorm bathroom but I had brought my own, there was also no hot water on my first day there but that was no fault of the hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just overall this was a very great experience. The whole hostel was very good. It might not have been the most clean place in the world, but really what are you expecting and I thought it did a really good job. The beds were absolutely amazing, more comfortable than my uni bed :) The whole stay was the epitome of gezellig

Disliked: IF I were to put anything, maybe it could have been a touch cleaner, but everything else was exactly what I was expecting.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sandra Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: The shower area was clean and it was centrally located.

Disliked: The beds were creaky, the light in our toilet wasn't working, staff members weren't very approachable or accessible, since we were staying in a separate building from the reception. The room we were in had a second door that couldn't be locked, and was poorly maintained.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing 'lobby'. like a cool bar.

Disliked: sheets were not very clean but it was fine

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013

Liked: close to the centre

Disliked: cleanliness

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: cleanliness and facilities

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ranjan Shrestha

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Ranjan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly behavior

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evangelia Kousounadi Knountsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Evangelia would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very good atmosphere, friendly staff, people from all over the world. It is clean, very cheap, offers breakfast that's included in the price, and it is in the centre of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The mices around and the private room without WC (it only had the shower).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Derek Heidewald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Safe reception office next to the police station. Reception area is also a smoking area. No outlets in the large mixed bedrooms, but plenty in the reception area.

Disliked: Reception area was in a different building a black away from where my room was.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: 16 bed dorm with only one toilet and one shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SULEYMAN CEM TOPALOGLU

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 SULEYMAN CEM would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Cleanless

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Milan Mishkovikj

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: evrething was Excellent

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free to come and go as you pleased. Bang in the middle of all thats going on. Lockers were great for all my stuff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super chill and relaxed atmosphere! very easy to meet buddies to adventure around the lovely city of Amsterdam. As soon as you walk in the door you're greeted with the wonderful smell of some ganja! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're not a fan of marijuana though.

Disliked: 2 toilets/ and 2 showers in our 20 bed dorm was a little inconvient at times, but worth it for the price! There is also a ridiculously steep staircase that was a bit funny to climb up with my huge backpack. Nothing too bad tho!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

WIll Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 WIll would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location and the guy working the reception most the time was a homie. Good place to blaze and hang out, also got cheap beer for sale.

Disliked: Was in the 16 person room i think, and it was pretty dirty. Unfortunate that one kid puked during the second night, and the bathroom was a bit of a disaster by the time we left

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Pamplin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location it was excellant for getting around Amsterdam. The lockers were really big and I could easily store my valuables inside. I also loved that Wi-Fi was avaible inside the rooms instead of only in the lobby. All staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: I dislike that people were allowed to smoke Marijuana in the lobby, I tried to advoid the lobby but I could still smell in not to mention eating breakfast in the lobby with the faint smell still there. I wish that had been in the information about the hostel so I could have advoided it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the centre, in girls room clean sheet, has his own atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were mostly satisfied with our stay at Bob's. Room was clean as did bathroom and toilet. I really liked comfortable and warm bed blanket I had.

Disliked: It might be a good idea to have a stool near every bed for added comfort.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay at :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty. there was graffiti and dirt on the walls. the beds and linens were very dirty as well. Also the beds did not have stairs to go up on the second one. I found weed tubes in my bed when i returned at night. the breakfast was like a joke. the offered just two slices of bread and a hard egg. they say they have free wifi but we could not use it. and the guy on reception insisted on not giving it to us. it is impossible to describe the sufferings we went though there. if you have an alternative do not choose this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: The lounge

Disliked: Everything else than the lounge.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Mouse droppings in my bed, the staff at reception were very rude and unhelpful - didn't help us navigate around Amterdam at all, the free breakfast was busy and crowded - had to eat out every morning, the main reception is way too dark, I stayed around the corner not in the main building - seperated from everyone it was horrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful and friendly and the place has a relaxed and quirky vibe. Sleeping area is warm, good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about it really