HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 50%

Location 90%

Safety 71%

Staff 66%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.18USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 50%

Location 90%

Safety 71%

Staff 66%

Value 61%

Showing 41-50 of 114 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was really great! Close to the train station and the main areas so there was no need to get a tram pass. The rooms were big and the bunk beds were clean and sturdy. Very laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Only one toilet for the floor I was on. The beds don't have outlets, but there are a bunch of outlets on one wall. Bunk beds don't have a ladder or railings but this was no problem for me since I'm tall.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The dorms were really nice. Enough space. Clean. Nice atmosphere. Light. You feel very good.

Disliked: Facilities were small and not indicated.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was located very close to the city center.

Disliked: Some rooms didnt have enough lockers

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed on floor BI liked:-The common room was cool and a good place to meet people-The location was pretty good as it was really close to the train station, the anne frank house, and the red light district, but a bit of a walk from downtown.-There was a grocery store right down the street

Disliked: I didn't like:-The light in the shower didn't work and it didn't have any Windows, so there was no ventilation and you had to leave the door open a bit to see, or bring your phone in ti use as a flashlight, which isn't really safe for your phone.-also there was mold on the ceiling of it-gross.-They only serve coffee in the morning, would be nice if they served like, a bun or something too but maybe I'm just greedy. -I booked an all female room and was given a room with 20 people- mixed gender. I didn't care that much but was kind of a shock.-they say theyre age cap is 30 but there were definitely a couple older than 30 men staying in the same room as me.-WAY too much money for what you're getting. Look for another option that's cheaper and nicer if you can.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central location, super friendly staff, complimentary coffee.

Disliked: Pretty expensive for the quality. 40 euros a night is a lot for a place in such crappy condition -- water damage on the ceiling, horribly stinking water pipes and no soap at any of the sinks. One of the showers smelled so badly that it couldn't be used without holding your breath the whole time. Bed linens didn't feel clean -- sandy or dirty -- and my travel companion complained that his sheets felt damp upon arrival.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Péssimo atendimento. Não recomendo, apenas válido pela localização.

Disliked: - atendimento grosseiro;- check-out pouco prático e complicado;

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Just near to station

Disliked: Staff is not at all friendly!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: + Rooms secured by key cards+ Bar in the Hostel+ central location

Disliked: - Not clean- Romm wasn't cleaned once during three days- Two plugs for eight beds- Six lockers for eight beds- Very cheep and loud beds- One of the staff was unhelpful

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, it's just in the middle of every important place. Near to red light district, coffe shops, museums, etc.

Disliked: We were in a 20 beds dorm, and the room just count with one place to charge celphones.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very close to the Dam square

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability