We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.6% Overall Rating

735 out of 1031 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

camilo arrieta thinks…

"Excellent location, it's just in the middle of every important place. Near to red light district, coffe shops, museums, etc."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.70 USD

Apartment 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.36 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 243 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
20.02 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
38.93 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.93 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 143 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.81 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

735 out of 1031 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 596 of 736 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Derek Heidewald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Safe reception office next to the police station. Reception area is also a smoking area. No outlets in the large mixed bedrooms, but plenty in the reception area.

Disliked: Reception area was in a different building a black away from where my room was.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: 16 bed dorm with only one toilet and one shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SULEYMAN CEM TOPALOGLU

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 SULEYMAN CEM would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Cleanless

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Milan Mishkovikj

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: evrething was Excellent

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free to come and go as you pleased. Bang in the middle of all thats going on. Lockers were great for all my stuff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super chill and relaxed atmosphere! very easy to meet buddies to adventure around the lovely city of Amsterdam. As soon as you walk in the door you're greeted with the wonderful smell of some ganja! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're not a fan of marijuana though.

Disliked: 2 toilets/ and 2 showers in our 20 bed dorm was a little inconvient at times, but worth it for the price! There is also a ridiculously steep staircase that was a bit funny to climb up with my huge backpack. Nothing too bad tho!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

WIll Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 WIll would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location and the guy working the reception most the time was a homie. Good place to blaze and hang out, also got cheap beer for sale.

Disliked: Was in the 16 person room i think, and it was pretty dirty. Unfortunate that one kid puked during the second night, and the bathroom was a bit of a disaster by the time we left

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Pamplin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location it was excellant for getting around Amsterdam. The lockers were really big and I could easily store my valuables inside. I also loved that Wi-Fi was avaible inside the rooms instead of only in the lobby. All staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: I dislike that people were allowed to smoke Marijuana in the lobby, I tried to advoid the lobby but I could still smell in not to mention eating breakfast in the lobby with the faint smell still there. I wish that had been in the information about the hostel so I could have advoided it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the centre, in girls room clean sheet, has his own atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were mostly satisfied with our stay at Bob's. Room was clean as did bathroom and toilet. I really liked comfortable and warm bed blanket I had.

Disliked: It might be a good idea to have a stool near every bed for added comfort.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay at :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty. there was graffiti and dirt on the walls. the beds and linens were very dirty as well. Also the beds did not have stairs to go up on the second one. I found weed tubes in my bed when i returned at night. the breakfast was like a joke. the offered just two slices of bread and a hard egg. they say they have free wifi but we could not use it. and the guy on reception insisted on not giving it to us. it is impossible to describe the sufferings we went though there. if you have an alternative do not choose this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: The lounge

Disliked: Everything else than the lounge.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Mouse droppings in my bed, the staff at reception were very rude and unhelpful - didn't help us navigate around Amterdam at all, the free breakfast was busy and crowded - had to eat out every morning, the main reception is way too dark, I stayed around the corner not in the main building - seperated from everyone it was horrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful and friendly and the place has a relaxed and quirky vibe. Sleeping area is warm, good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about it really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location, within walking distance to most sites.

Disliked: No soap in the bathrooms- make sure to bring your own. No towels are provided (can rent for 1 euro + 5 euro deposit fee). It is in Amsterdam, but the lounge is full of smoke and weed all the time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mohsin Khan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Mohsin would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, good place to meet other travellers and smoke weed. nice common area. overall a fun stay

Disliked: not the cleanest

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jordan Goodwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, clean comfortable beds, LOCATION WAS GREAT

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better but it was still quite satisfying.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Veronica Curran

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty and had an unpleasant odour. The breakfast area hadn't been cleaned from the night before when we got up and the floor was sticky with garbage. The breakfast was not great and the luggage room was disgusting.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: Proximity to Amsterdam Centraal. There is a tram stop right outside.

Disliked: This place is a complete mess. I was in the 16 girl dorm and it was SO dirty. They hardly cleaned it. When they came and "cleaned," the sink top was still extremely dirty...so what did they do?! Also, the wifi is NOT reliable. It wasn't working properly when I was there and the receptionist said she didn't know how to fix it. She should have found someone who could fix it!!! It was very inconvenient. Also, the music in the common area and the bar next door is extremely loud, so good luck sleeping if you're near that side of the hostel. On top of this, the hostel common area is cramped and people would block the walkway with their chairs. This is annoying and should be prevented...Especially because it's kind of a fire hazard. Anyways, go here if you want to blaze, but that's about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MERVE DENIZ GULGOR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 MERVE DENIZ would recommend this property

Liked: Even the location is perfect, there is not much noise. The girl room is really clean with the respect of the travellers. breakfast is enough to start the day and everything worths how much you pay. so we had no problem and liked every minute we spend there.

Disliked: There wasnt anything i didnt like.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really near the center and price was so good for a student:)

Disliked: Bathroom was not so clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, price

Disliked: hygiene, breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Para ir com um grupo de amigos do melhor. Atenção que o micro-ondas não é no quarto, é na sala de convivio/recepção e para lá chegar tem que se atravessar a rua, nada de outro mundo. Tem supermecados perto, a ideia é ir ao supermecado comprar todos os dias, já que não existe frigorigico para comprar logo tudo no primeiro dia. Tem massas para duas pessoas a 3€ (recomendado) e saladas pelo mesmo preço que também marcham... O pequeno almoço é aceitavel para o que se paga, ovo cozido (dá para repetir) duas fatias de pão (manteiga/doçe) Leite, Chá e café à discrição!

Disliked: Para tomar banho de manha é complicado nos quartos com 18 pessoas. Com 18 pessoas o quarto é normal acordarem as 5 da manha com malta a chegar, mas a rapaziada até respeita e tenta fazer o minimo de barulho.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really nice the fact that the reception is a bar, with good atmosphere, as well as the place for breakfast.

Disliked: The breakfast is a little bit poor and should be more organized.