HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

Showing 201-114 of 114 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff was really awesome! =) it's just a laid back hostel with a lot of people in the common area at all times and a supermarket just down the street(very suitable for the munchies :P)

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were extremely comfortable.

Disliked: The neighborhood was in a great location, however it was a little bit sketchy at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: was clean, close to centre and good atmosphere

Disliked: the breakfast was poor but good for what we spent on the room

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The chill out room at reception- you can sit and drink or smoke until they close at 3pm - good for meeting people, especially if you're travelling on your own. Cool decor too, just loads of stuff stuck all over the walls, looks like a proper hostel. Super comfy beds! Never had them that comfortable before!

Disliked: Only thing I really didn't like was the cleanliness.. From the reviews I was expecting it to be really bad but the day we arrived it was fine, but it took until the 4th day of our stay for the room to be cleaned again. I understand that this is the cheapest place in Amsterdam and maybe you get what you pay for, but it would just be so much better if it was at least done every second/third day - especially because the dorms are so big. The doors to the dorms don't close properly so it's easy for someone to forget to pull it tight leaving it open quite often

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Chilled, clean, close to everything.

Disliked: after a few days in amsterdam you may want to have a break from being in a room full of weed smoke... the only common room is always full of smoke.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is very good, the lockers are very big and a simple breakfast is included in the price.

Disliked: If you're staying at the hostel and want to reserve more nights from the reception, you can only do it very early in the morning before check-out time and only one night at a time. This is very weird. Also during one night when I was staying at the hostel, the owner came and woke everybody up (!) to ask about receipts or something... This seemed highly unprofessional and was very uncalled for, as getting sleep in a room with 15 other people is hard enough in itself.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location next to the shopping street was good.

Disliked: The room was very dirty on the ceiling and also on the corners. The beds don't smell very well like perfectly cleaned. Another problem was the door which was already broke in the past, it gives no confidence in our Hostel.Then the reception is not on the night open, we leaved Amsterdam at 6pm and nobody and nothing was for our help to give the keys back...

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convenient centre location, close to everything we needed, nice reception area.

Disliked: Room was more cramped than pictures show, due to misfortune ended up in the top room, so alot of stairs and high heat ruined any time spent in the room

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lots of baked people in the lobby area :P

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: amazing location

Disliked: all female dorms are sooo much cleaner than mixed...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability