HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 45%

Location 93%

Safety 65%

Staff 66%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 45%

Location 93%

Safety 65%

Staff 66%

Value 59%

Showing 181-112 of 112 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: regulation

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Some of the staff were helpful, the free breakfast was ok, location was pretty good ( pretty close to central station) and the common are was big enough to fit a lot of people.

Disliked: The hostel was pretty dirty and the 20 bed dorm did not look like the pictures. The bathrooms were tiny and not cleaned very often and the only common area also doubled as the smoking room. I didn't mind that much but it was just annoying if you ever wanted a break from the weed.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very well localizated

Disliked: Too underground;Staff is not friendly;The breakfast is not that good for the price that you have to pay

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, great smoking room. Bed was comfortable, what you want for 15euros. No problems what so ever, will happily stay in this hostel in the future.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a great place if you are in town to party, and want to meet a heap of young people who love to smoke, drink, and have a good time. They also have very comfy beds and great blankets and sheets! A rarity in hostels.

Disliked: Not a great place if you are keen on a quiet night's sleep! It is very, very busy and we were lucky to find somewhere to sit to enjoy our breakfast of an egg, toast and coffee.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Bob's Youth Hostel was in a brilliant location near the train station, and had a vibrant atmosphere. The bed's were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Noise continuing throughout the night/morning from nearby music. Bathrooms could have used more attention, and the floors needed sweeping/mopping.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the location, and the people were nice. There were lockers in the room. They had cheap beer for sale in the lobby (although you couldn't bring your own in) and tequila shots for an hour and a half every night. the pillows were really comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that the lobby was a small room constantly filled with smoke. There was no kitchen to cook food in, and since I personally don't smoke it was annoying to have everything I owned smelling like smoke all the time. Plus a lot of the people int he hostel weren't really interested in doing much except for hanging out inthe hostel and smoking. It would have been nice if there were perhaps two separate rooms, or something. somwhere I could eat food or something. there was also a 10 euro deposit for your key and a 10 euro deposit for your locker key and a 5 euro deposit for your towel... the bathrooms smelled of urine, and I showered with my socks on because I felt dirty going in them. It was nasty. There was like dirt or something in my bed too. it wasn't really clean at all.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff and guests were very friendly, the reception has a lounge for guests to relax which has a range of music on. The loaction of bob's is great as its close to everything i wanted to see.

Disliked: The vending machines were broken. Thats literally all!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is really good!!!

Disliked: I stayed in the 16 female dorm, and bed is near the toilet and shower, so I felt not good to stay there. And that room just only 3 plugs, one is next to the door, the other two are next to someone's bed, that is really unconvenient!!!!I spent 30 euro per night, that is really costy!!!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very atmospherical common room, veeery friendly staff, very good location! I felt safe and I had a good sleep.

Disliked: Maybe should be more often cleaned. Though I wasn't suprised.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability