HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 60%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 69%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.18USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 60%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 69%

Value 71%

Showing 141-150 of 160 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Free to come and go as you pleased. Bang in the middle of all thats going on. Lockers were great for all my stuff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: super chill and relaxed atmosphere! very easy to meet buddies to adventure around the lovely city of Amsterdam. As soon as you walk in the door you're greeted with the wonderful smell of some ganja! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're not a fan of marijuana though.

Disliked: 2 toilets/ and 2 showers in our 20 bed dorm was a little inconvient at times, but worth it for the price! There is also a ridiculously steep staircase that was a bit funny to climb up with my huge backpack. Nothing too bad tho!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pretty good location and the guy working the reception most the time was a homie. Good place to blaze and hang out, also got cheap beer for sale.

Disliked: Was in the 16 person room i think, and it was pretty dirty. Unfortunate that one kid puked during the second night, and the bathroom was a bit of a disaster by the time we left

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In the centre, in girls room clean sheet, has his own atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: amazing 'lobby'. like a cool bar.

Disliked: sheets were not very clean but it was fine

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location it was excellant for getting around Amsterdam. The lockers were really big and I could easily store my valuables inside. I also loved that Wi-Fi was avaible inside the rooms instead of only in the lobby. All staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: I dislike that people were allowed to smoke Marijuana in the lobby, I tried to advoid the lobby but I could still smell in not to mention eating breakfast in the lobby with the faint smell still there. I wish that had been in the information about the hostel so I could have advoided it.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were mostly satisfied with our stay at Bob's. Room was clean as did bathroom and toilet. I really liked comfortable and warm bed blanket I had.

Disliked: It might be a good idea to have a stool near every bed for added comfort.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Very nice place to stay at :)

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The lounge

Disliked: Everything else than the lounge.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty. there was graffiti and dirt on the walls. the beds and linens were very dirty as well. Also the beds did not have stairs to go up on the second one. I found weed tubes in my bed when i returned at night. the breakfast was like a joke. the offered just two slices of bread and a hard egg. they say they have free wifi but we could not use it. and the guy on reception insisted on not giving it to us. it is impossible to describe the sufferings we went though there. if you have an alternative do not choose this hostel.

Check Availability