HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

72.3% Overall Rating

712 out of 998 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

Fionnuala Bulman thinks…

"Great location close to the central station but directions could be clearer. Rooms were light and airy even in the middle of summer. Showers and toilets were mostly kept very clean. Lounge downstairs…"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
47.44 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 64.7% 225 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
22.77 USD

Hostel 74.9% 719 reviews
Damrak Inn
15.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
37.95 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
42.16 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 123 reviews
Aroza Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 69.0% 42 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

712 out of 998 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 583 of 703 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Lawrence

12 September 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the luxury suite which had its own living room, kitchen etc. - nice but quite expensive for what it was. Up the top of lots of very steep scary flights of stairs! Not particularly clean and windows didn't shut properly. Also very cold!Staff were friendly but slow, breakfast was included but just two slices of bread, jam and a hard-boiled egg!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tsz Yan Fiona Chow

10 September 2009 Tsz Yan Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: very good atmosphere, so Amsterdam!!!! but it is also a bit tooo noisy....very good location, near dam square.....n very easy to find from the train station!!! though simple breakfast and gotta leave the room from aruond 10-11am to afternoon...still i recommend u this hostel!!!

Disliked: Tsz Yan Fiona left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Seymour

08 September 2009 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Basis accom if you want somewhere to rest your head at night as it was in a great location, i personally didnt like having to walk thro a sea of smoke to enter the building (as this is where the main common room/reception was) but those into that it would be great! Also if you are placed on the lowest floor it is noisey til quite late with music , people talking outside the window and the trams!otherwise a nice friendly hostel!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice spacious 16 bed dorm room, with big lockers which were free. simple breakfast and friendly staff. Mellow place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marcio Carvalho

25 August 2009 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people

Disliked: Marcio left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay. Its nothing fancy, just a clean environment and laid back atmosphere. Its super close to the train station and right in the heart of downtown. Other places I stayed in Amsterdam would charge one price one night then increase it the next. Bob's was the same everyday and much cheaper than many other hostels in the area. I met many cool people just hanging out drinking the cheap beer in the lobby. Will definitely stay there next time I go to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joseph Groulx

14 August 2009 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the helpfulness of the staff, every shift change, I was pleasantly surprised by another helpful employee, I was wondering when they would run out of all the good ones! Haha, the staff was extremely flexible when I arrived after my scheduled check-in time. Since there were no availible lockers when I checked in around 23h00, the staff offered to store my laptop in their safe for the night. When I realized I had been given the wrong key to the room after the office was supposed to have closed, I headed back to the office building, which is not connected to the dorm I slept in, and the employees were still there, and gave me tke correct key, so I didn't have to hang outside for five hours.The room was clean, and the only reason the shower was ever dirty was when I was unable to wake up before five Spanish roommates. Dark hair everywhere. But that's not their fault.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melissa Cradock

10 August 2009 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than the reviews suggest, there is a cute little mousey running around.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jane Higgins

09 August 2009 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere are location, however a bit overwhelming if you walk in during breakfast time as it is very busy and the people are not very helpful

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lauren cowap

08 August 2009 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: great location, right near dam square

Disliked: lauren left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, free breakfast, good atmosphere in the common room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 August 2009

Liked: free breakfast. location. but overall not a good hostal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Wright

05 August 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and cheerfull...

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 July 2009

Liked: The location was the only good thing about Bob's.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

22 July 2009

Liked: very disappointed about this hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jussi Kaistinen

21 July 2009 Jussi would recommend this property

Liked: A place for a real traveller, if you're not looking for anything fancy but a traveller's hostel with the attitude, i recommend it.

Disliked: Jussi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marianne GREENWOOD

14 July 2009 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: the main room and the location

Disliked: Marianne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Bruno Cesar Christo da Cunha

11 July 2009

Liked: If you like mariunda is a perfect place ; is allow to use it in the reception: the security is terrible:::

Disliked: Bruno Cesar left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really clean and tidy. I like it when they say its mixed dorm, they still try to put the girls together.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere with good people at the pub.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We thought that Bob´s was quite expensive in relation to other hostels in other European cities. But the whole of Amsterdam is expensive! Good fun place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andre Macedo

03 July 2009 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful time @ bob's.

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Warren

02 July 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the laid back atmosphere and the staff was very friendly. Also, very good location!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cortellini Sabrina

30 June 2009 Cortellini would recommend this property

Liked: cool

Disliked: Cortellini left no negative feedback.