We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.8% Overall Rating

736 out of 1033 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2015)

ANTONIO MARCIO MENDONÇA DO CARMO thinks…

"Péssimo atendimento. Não recomendo, apenas válido pela localização."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.24 USD

Apartment 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 243 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
19.77 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
38.44 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.44 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 144 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.45 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
32.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

736 out of 1033 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 597 of 738 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room was a great place to meet people. Location was amazing - right in the center of everything! I also thought the continental breakfast was decent (eggs and toast).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere in the common room, with good music

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mariana Souza

31 January 2010 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Basic and nice place to stay!

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was nice, bathroom was clean. what else can you ask!?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 December 2009

Liked: cool paintings in the room. the stairs were crazy. quite dirty place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elyena Drysdale

03 December 2009 Elyena would recommend this property

Liked: so easy to get to and right in the heart of it all, great value for money!!

Disliked: Elyena left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sunbin Zhu

02 December 2009

Liked: Good location. I lived in a mixed room for 6 people, there is no toilet in the room, 3 small dorms share one tiny toilet. i cannot find a place to take bath in the whole building, maybe it is in another building. And the quilt is not folded well when i arrived, looks like someone else has slept in this bed. The sheet looks clean but old, somewhere broken.

Disliked: Sunbin left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Justin Morris

23 November 2009

Liked: Stayed in the second building around the corner with minimal atmosphere. Staff seemed annoyed to help me and was woken up and treated like cattle when 10:30am rolled around after I had paid for a second night earlier that morning.

Disliked: Justin left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to experience the real Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Boris Sulzberger

25 October 2009 Boris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people (staff + guests). Own locker and assigned beds. Good breakfast for that money.

Disliked: Boris left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 October 2009

Liked: I liked the big shower and the clean sheets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms are not the nicest but the atmosphere is very good at this hostel. Very good way of meeting people as there are always a lot of people relaxing in the common room as you can smoke weed in there. Very fun place to stay, probably made my stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: This is not for normal people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Lawrence

12 September 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the luxury suite which had its own living room, kitchen etc. - nice but quite expensive for what it was. Up the top of lots of very steep scary flights of stairs! Not particularly clean and windows didn't shut properly. Also very cold!Staff were friendly but slow, breakfast was included but just two slices of bread, jam and a hard-boiled egg!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tsz Yan Fiona Chow

10 September 2009 Tsz Yan Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: very good atmosphere, so Amsterdam!!!! but it is also a bit tooo noisy....very good location, near dam square.....n very easy to find from the train station!!! though simple breakfast and gotta leave the room from aruond 10-11am to afternoon...still i recommend u this hostel!!!

Disliked: Tsz Yan Fiona left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Seymour

08 September 2009 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Basis accom if you want somewhere to rest your head at night as it was in a great location, i personally didnt like having to walk thro a sea of smoke to enter the building (as this is where the main common room/reception was) but those into that it would be great! Also if you are placed on the lowest floor it is noisey til quite late with music , people talking outside the window and the trams!otherwise a nice friendly hostel!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice spacious 16 bed dorm room, with big lockers which were free. simple breakfast and friendly staff. Mellow place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marcio Carvalho

25 August 2009 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people

Disliked: Marcio left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay. Its nothing fancy, just a clean environment and laid back atmosphere. Its super close to the train station and right in the heart of downtown. Other places I stayed in Amsterdam would charge one price one night then increase it the next. Bob's was the same everyday and much cheaper than many other hostels in the area. I met many cool people just hanging out drinking the cheap beer in the lobby. Will definitely stay there next time I go to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joseph Groulx

14 August 2009 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the helpfulness of the staff, every shift change, I was pleasantly surprised by another helpful employee, I was wondering when they would run out of all the good ones! Haha, the staff was extremely flexible when I arrived after my scheduled check-in time. Since there were no availible lockers when I checked in around 23h00, the staff offered to store my laptop in their safe for the night. When I realized I had been given the wrong key to the room after the office was supposed to have closed, I headed back to the office building, which is not connected to the dorm I slept in, and the employees were still there, and gave me tke correct key, so I didn't have to hang outside for five hours.The room was clean, and the only reason the shower was ever dirty was when I was unable to wake up before five Spanish roommates. Dark hair everywhere. But that's not their fault.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melissa Cradock

10 August 2009 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than the reviews suggest, there is a cute little mousey running around.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jane Higgins

09 August 2009 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere are location, however a bit overwhelming if you walk in during breakfast time as it is very busy and the people are not very helpful

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lauren cowap

08 August 2009 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: great location, right near dam square

Disliked: lauren left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, free breakfast, good atmosphere in the common room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.