HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 60%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 69%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.18USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 60%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 69%

Value 71%

Showing 111-120 of 160 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location, the relaxed atmosphere, the free lockers and the bar/reception area (when it's open). Most of the staff are quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: -The showers are absolutely disgusting- stink of piss and mould and the drains in the shower and sinks are forever blocked. -There is not even a fan provided so the rooms are like saunas all through summer. -There is no common room to be in once the bar/reception shuts at 3am, nor is there a kitchen. Plus the hostel expects you to buy beer from them, they won't let you have your own- as though they are a bar- which they aren't, otherwise people who aren't guests would be allowed in there. Whatever you do make sure you don't get a room on the ground-floor, unless you are stoned and drunk you will not sleep a wink.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: What a great vibe and great people the relax room and the breakfast were really great and the place also

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and value for money are great.

Disliked: there is A LOT of smoking going on and there is no other place to hang out. Very basic services

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The shower was good even though there was only 1 for a dorm of 20 people.

Disliked: Firstly the place stinks thoughout. The dorm ended up being in another building entirely and reminded me of a crack house with heaps of juvenile graffiti on the walls. Beds and mattress were old + crap quality with no ladders for those on top. The floor was filthy and didn't get a proper sweep in years. I watched the cleaning staff do their thing in the morning, they spent about 10 mins changing sheets on the beds and left. The luggage storage is a joke.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like the hostel, the stuff is very friendly (except for and old indian guy that was kind of rude). The only problem that i think is that it was little bit dirty in the bathrooms (i mean for the price that i was paying for a mixed room). But the common area is nice, and you can always meet people there.

Disliked: It wasnt that clean.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Affordable/budget. Staff is fantastic. They were very generous, accommodating, helpful and cheerful.

Disliked: Hostel has the feeling of a cheap apartment rented by pot smoking college students. Severe lack of outlets in the rooms. Most people here are high, stoned, drunk, or some combination of the three. Likely due to the very young average age, a lack of respect for other people's property and space (no theft though). Check out is a mad scramble.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location with the coffee shop Abraxas just down the road from the hostel and the train station is really close to! It was nice that you could smoke in the lobby!

Disliked: The breakfast isn't fantastic, it's just an egg and some toast and if you get there late then there is hardly anything left! The stairs in the second building where a bit of a nuisance but only when carrying our massive backpacks! Oh and the beds where kinda scary, we were in the second building and I was on the top bunk really high up with no bars on the side of the bed and no ladder, so you had to climb up somehow! It was pretty entertaining after being out though! Otherwise it was pretty cool!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: this is the best place for young travellers looking for a cheap and fun stay in dam! The reception area is so good to smoke in and the beds are surprisingly comfy! 100% recommend this to anyone!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well located. Regular staff are really friendly (the cleaners were not so much - who I think are related to the owner somehow). Good for meeting people which is easy anywhere in Amsterdam. Has all the basic things you need really.

Disliked: It is very basic so don't expect too much. For example, in my dorm room of 16 we had one powerpoint from which to charge things. And the bathroom seemed like it hadnt been cleaned in ages but wear thongs and don't think too much about it and its all good.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, lobby bar is a good place to chill out.

Disliked: They have a dorm in a completely separate building on a different street.lots of hair and dirt on the floor.but still totally doable.and great breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability