We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.8% Overall Rating

736 out of 1033 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2015)

ANTONIO MARCIO MENDONÇA DO CARMO thinks…

"Péssimo atendimento. Não recomendo, apenas válido pela localização."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.02 USD

Apartment 82.9% 11 reviews
Hotel Tamara
27.84 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 243 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
19.65 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Damrak Inn
27.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
43.66 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.21 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 144 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.29 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

736 out of 1033 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 597 of 738 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: All! If you don't smoke weed this place is not for you!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty in places

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011

Liked: They had lockers that you could use and the shower was really hot.

Disliked: At the third floor. Not very helpful at reception initially but had different person who was more helpful next time. Didn't realise we needed 20 euros deposit for key and locker.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cool lounge was great for meeting new people.

Disliked: The toilet and the bathing room where old and kind of dirty.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

RO-LING YO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

31 March 2011

Liked: It is near the central station and the dam in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The shower was really awful. There was no hot water. Besides, the bed was uncomfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sewoong moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 sewoong would recommend this property

Liked: Room was quite.

Disliked: The wifi was available only in th lobby and it was not free.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Blair Johnson

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2011

Liked: Comfy beds and the location was pretty good.

Disliked: The staff are rude and disrespectful. One morning I had one of them knocking on the shower door screaming at me to get out. Another morning they woke us up at 11am and told us bluntly to get out of the room as they're cleaning. I will advise everyone I know to avoid this place, don't give them your money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Wilbourn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 February 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, great staff, safe and very welcoming to foreigners.

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kristian Brookes

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Central and secure !

Disliked: Bit boring, old and Dull ! Opens onto street pavement , no outside seating, no bar. No communal area, no proper food or catering for guests !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, smoking room, nice people.

Disliked: noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Hartley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean dorm rooms, cleaned every day. Great location, tasty breakfast of boiled eggs and toast.

Disliked: Dont stay here if you're uncomfortable around stoned men, there were some odd character. But all completely safe and fun.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

24 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: too expensive for 20 eu., too weed in everyplace and disrupted

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew norman

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: central to everything, lovely amtosphere and charaters to meet, friendly as you can imagine staff.

Disliked: the amount of stairs!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big locker. Convenient location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and cozy, spacious rooms, cheap price. And an awesome reception/lounge area

Disliked: Breakfast was toast and a boiled egg, wouldn't have minded some choice

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010

Liked: their entry-way/ reception is the cafe/ smoking area (cigarettes outside, boo)

Disliked: the rooms, the bed, the signs warning you about keeping anything out because of the rats and mice... street-side bed... etc...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, excellent location and price..chill

Disliked: couldn't close the window..could be more light in room..but -> these are peace of cake.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well located. Just a few minutes walking from everywhere! It's got a common area where you can meet lots of people. It looks a little bit doggy, but stuff are friendly and it looked safe.

Disliked: It's a little bit expensive in my opinion, but it was the cheapest hostel I found right in the city center, so I can't really complain :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James Morris

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: This was the coolest place ive ever stayed in my life. So filled with interesting people, i felt like was in a jim jarmusch movie. And yes, i did just reference jim jarmusch.

Disliked: I couldnt figure out the toilets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location. Good Lockers, people staying there were friendly; so was the staff.Guest's were considerate when one was trying to sleep, that was nice.You can smoke weed in the common room, but not in the dorms - that worked out well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010

Liked: Close to the centre, meant the place was packed. Everything was badly organized. They would not let us check in because the rooms were being cleaned, then everyone lined up to check in at the same time which took over an hour. When we got to the room, we realized we were given the wrong key, and had to go back to reception, which was in a building on a different street. When we returned to the room, the cleaning staff asked us to leave because they hadn't gotten to our room yet. When we returned, the room was still filthy, the sheets had not been changed and the floor was not swept.

Disliked: Everything other than the location was bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Matheus Silveira

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2010 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people there =D

Disliked: bedrooms not that clean =P

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2010

Liked: Lockers in the rooms and key-code on the building's door.

Disliked: The common room is full of stoners (yes, it's Amsterdam), but it'd be nice to have somewhere else to relax that's not full of smoke and half-dead people. As a result, we spent a lot of time in the dorm or out walking the streets aimlessly. The bathrooms were pretty gross, as was the common room itself.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: very small, not very clean. breakfast is very poor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katy Rengel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2010 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: You can smoke in the reception, the free breakfast was really good and the staff were chilled out. Beds were pretty comfortable

Disliked: Make sure you lock all valuables away and you backpack/suitcase! i had clothes stolen from my bag.