We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

72.3% Overall Rating

712 out of 998 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

Fionnuala Bulman thinks…

"Great location close to the central station but directions could be clearer. Rooms were light and airy even in the middle of summer. Showers and toilets were mostly kept very clean. Lounge downstairs…"

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
37.32 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Tamara
31.56 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 226 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
13.92 USD

Hostel 74.9% 719 reviews
Damrak Inn
24.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
25.30 USD

Apartment 76.7% 21 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
42.16 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 124 reviews
Aroza Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 69.0% 42 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

712 out of 998 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 583 of 703 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and cozy, spacious rooms, cheap price. And an awesome reception/lounge area

Disliked: Breakfast was toast and a boiled egg, wouldn't have minded some choice

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010

Liked: their entry-way/ reception is the cafe/ smoking area (cigarettes outside, boo)

Disliked: the rooms, the bed, the signs warning you about keeping anything out because of the rats and mice... street-side bed... etc...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, excellent location and price..chill

Disliked: couldn't close the window..could be more light in room..but -> these are peace of cake.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well located. Just a few minutes walking from everywhere! It's got a common area where you can meet lots of people. It looks a little bit doggy, but stuff are friendly and it looked safe.

Disliked: It's a little bit expensive in my opinion, but it was the cheapest hostel I found right in the city center, so I can't really complain :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James Morris

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: This was the coolest place ive ever stayed in my life. So filled with interesting people, i felt like was in a jim jarmusch movie. And yes, i did just reference jim jarmusch.

Disliked: I couldnt figure out the toilets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location. Good Lockers, people staying there were friendly; so was the staff.Guest's were considerate when one was trying to sleep, that was nice.You can smoke weed in the common room, but not in the dorms - that worked out well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010

Liked: Close to the centre, meant the place was packed. Everything was badly organized. They would not let us check in because the rooms were being cleaned, then everyone lined up to check in at the same time which took over an hour. When we got to the room, we realized we were given the wrong key, and had to go back to reception, which was in a building on a different street. When we returned to the room, the cleaning staff asked us to leave because they hadn't gotten to our room yet. When we returned, the room was still filthy, the sheets had not been changed and the floor was not swept.

Disliked: Everything other than the location was bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Matheus Silveira

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2010 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people there =D

Disliked: bedrooms not that clean =P

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2010

Liked: Lockers in the rooms and key-code on the building's door.

Disliked: The common room is full of stoners (yes, it's Amsterdam), but it'd be nice to have somewhere else to relax that's not full of smoke and half-dead people. As a result, we spent a lot of time in the dorm or out walking the streets aimlessly. The bathrooms were pretty gross, as was the common room itself.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: very small, not very clean. breakfast is very poor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katy Rengel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2010 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: You can smoke in the reception, the free breakfast was really good and the staff were chilled out. Beds were pretty comfortable

Disliked: Make sure you lock all valuables away and you backpack/suitcase! i had clothes stolen from my bag.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vida Krt

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2010 Vida would recommend this property

Liked: It's a perfect place to meet new people especially for young people.It isn't a 5 star hotel but a nice, friendly place, with kind stuff and perfect atmosphere!

Disliked: I personally think that the cleaning workers are a bit rude, but maybe it was just us at the wrong time on the wrong place:)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

22 July 2010

Liked: It was one of the few hostels that you could stay in for just one night, many of the others you had to book for min. 3 nights. It was the cheapest one when we booked, 22 euros each for one night. The location was great, but that was really the only positiv thing about this hostel. The staff was friendly enough. It was also good that breakfast was included in the price.

Disliked: The hostel was old, not very well maintained, and dirty as hell! You could really sense that it was a teenage hostel and that the staff was young themselves. So if you are more than 20 years old and not completly wasted throughout your stay, you would properly feel disapointed. Also it would be nice if they could have just a few 2 person beds.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julian Farmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 July 2010 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Lockable door to the dorm (it was a 4-bed dorm rather than a 16-bed one that was advertised - the girl in reception said they don't have any 16-bed dorms). Lockers in the rooms, with built in locks. It's worth mentioning that you need to pay a deposit for the room key, and for the locker key - it's €10 for each key you get.There's a free luggage room, which we made good use of - this was particularly useful as the hostel is just down the road from the train station.Amsterdam is fairly easy to walk your way around, and we didn't really end up using the trams.

Disliked: The rooms were very warm, and difficult to sleep in because of that at first. We did get used to it, but even a cheap fan would have been appreciated. There was free internet in the lounge, but there were only two computers and they were occupied most of the time. We just used an internet cafe down the road.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Juan David Rodriguez Giraldo

13 June 2010

Liked: I only liked the fact that is relative close to some tourist attractions.

Disliked: Juan David left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Melissa Burkart

08 June 2010 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: the people, the style, the atmosphere, the paintings, the location

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 May 2010

Liked: the hostel was in a really great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located really centrally, but the directions to get there were a bit difficult to understand. The ppl were lovely and the breakfast was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sam Hansen

13 May 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Booked a 16 bed and got put in a 4 thats a plus. Good location walking distance to everything. staff were helpful cool place

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, helpful, good location, brekfast for free:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is safe and a bit away from the Damrak, so it's good! It won't be so noise at night time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: /

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.