We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

70.9% Overall Rating

753 out of 1061 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

"Bob's has a great location and a cheap price. The staff is really helpful and friendly and they have decent offers, including free coffee and tea. The beds are comfortable but that's where the good things end."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
37.17 USD

Apartment 85.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Tamara
31.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.4% 260 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
31.54 USD

Hostel 73.8% 758 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
39.43 USD

Apartment 79.2% 24 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
39.43 USD

Guesthouse 75.1% 161 reviews
Aroza Hostel
42.24 USD

Hostel 57.8% 66 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.9%

Overall Rating

753 out of 1061 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 616 of 765 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephen Carty

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 September 2011

Liked: NOT ALOT ACTUALLY,CANT,APART FROM PRICE,COMMEND ANYTHING.

Disliked: We were staying around the corner,next to The Doors and found the stairs to be very steep and frankly dangerous,shower room had exstensive damp on the ceiling,generally the place came over as grubby.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Graeme Mowat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: The beds, although quite small, were really comfortable. Only problem is the top bunk lacks ladders. The entrance to the hostel is very relaxed and is where the majority of your time will be. It's got great music and it's easy to meet new people. If you dont like smoking weed, or the smell, this place isn't for you.

Disliked: The toilets and shower facility weren't as clean as they could be. The staff can be either really helpful, or quite rude. The breakfast shouldn't even be called a breakfast. Two bits of bread and a boiled egg, that was cold.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Amsterdam atmosphere, you can smoke weed at the bar. Clean simple large rooms.

Disliked: If you don´t like the smell of the weed this is not the right place for you. First night they didn´t have free lockers in our room, the next night we had a locker far from our bed. Bad beds - very soft mattresses. Terrible looking but working shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

aimee mccartan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 aimee would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere in the reception was really welcoming. The location was really good, close to alot of things.

Disliked: not much

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Filipe Saraiva Marques

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2011

Liked: Nice location. Friendly staff. If the purpose is just to have a place to sleep, works perfectly, since is well located in the city center.

Disliked: If you expect to stay in the Hostel and relax some time during the day, is not the best hostel to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special just good

Disliked: there are no electrical plugs to charge our camera or mobile

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amadeus müller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 amadeus would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was very cool everyone was very relaxed

Disliked: small room and beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge is great, the staff is friendly. The location is great very close to shopping streets&coffeeshops. The price is cheap. The location is the key.

Disliked: The shower was covered with mold all over and dirty. They don't give you the lockers just next to your bed, you have to access your bag near some guys head trying not to wake him up. The kitchen is crowded and not very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of Amsterdam, Some good locations very very close by.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good

Disliked: It was good

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: the location was fantastic, and it was very international, so nice for meeting people. If you are planning to smoke a ton of weed, this might be nice for you because the lobby is a coffeeshop.

Disliked: Felt like a hostel run by potheads. If you do not like a smoke-filled common space at all times, you'll have to either stay in your room or go elsewhere. There was very minimal staffing, so when I had a problem, like someone being in my bed that I'd reserved, the person at the front desk could do nothing about it because he had to run the front desk and there was no help. Overall, very unclean with almost no facilities. Honestly, a fellow traveler and I joked that it felt like camping, which it did. I spent all summer in a tent in the woods and felt like I often had as many amenities as at Bob's Youth Hostel. However, if you are just looking for a bed (not really a towel or shower, some running water) and are willing to rough it, this is a very cheap place to stay.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: Terrible

Disliked: Very bad, dirty and strange

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Konstantin Ivanov

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Konstantin would recommend this property

Liked: + hostel is in the center of Town, nearest to Dam Square + you can come anytime you want + Including breakfast (with toaster :))

Disliked: - very few electic sokets - we have only one in 8 bed-room. - no shelves - i had to put my phone on the floor for charging - my girl slept on squeaking bed - it was noisy for her and others - no one pegs in the room or in bathroom, that is very unconfortable

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yiwei Darren Tan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Reception smells of weed all the freaking time. If you're sleeping in, be prepared to be awakened by noisy cleaning staff. Room is cramped and not very clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere they provide, maybe it is because its in amsterdam or whatever but the atmosphere is really nice

Disliked: that the place is divided into 2 buildings and the second building has toooo many stairs, specially if you are in L1 or L2 because when stonned its very difficult climbing up those stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gediminas Strelciunas

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Gediminas would recommend this property

Liked: many stairs

Disliked: cleaners

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tucker Ida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Tucker would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere,really relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LAURENT PAING

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 LAURENT would recommend this property

Liked: The youth hostel is located in the city center so it's really nice to enjoy the stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The wireless access because there was only one computer so when the hotel is full could be a problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Destiny Ziebol

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 June 2011 Destiny would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the reception room, it had a lot of character (and you are allowed to smoke there). They had two computers set up that were free to use, and free breakfast. The location was pretty good. We were put into a six bed room instead of the 12 bed room we signed up for. The shower and sink attached to our room was nice.

Disliked: Half the time there was no hot water, and it could defiantly be cleaner. The bathroom was pretty jank and had a hole in the ceiling. Despite this, I would still recommend this hostel, with the understanding that it's extremely difficult to find a place to stay in Amsterdam, and the ability to prolong your stay at Bobs makes it a good choice in case you have an emergency and need to stay longer.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: All! If you don't smoke weed this place is not for you!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty in places

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011

Liked: They had lockers that you could use and the shower was really hot.

Disliked: At the third floor. Not very helpful at reception initially but had different person who was more helpful next time. Didn't realise we needed 20 euros deposit for key and locker.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cool lounge was great for meeting new people.

Disliked: The toilet and the bathing room where old and kind of dirty.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

RO-LING YO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

31 March 2011

Liked: It is near the central station and the dam in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The shower was really awful. There was no hot water. Besides, the bed was uncomfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sewoong moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 sewoong would recommend this property

Liked: Room was quite.

Disliked: The wifi was available only in th lobby and it was not free.