We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SG

69.8% Overall Rating

736 out of 1033 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2015)

ANTONIO MARCIO MENDONÇA DO CARMO thinks…

"Péssimo atendimento. Não recomendo, apenas válido pela localização."

Read all Bob's Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking. Please note that: - We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation. - We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old. - We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel. Please note that if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the money in advance. For any questions about this policy please send us an email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Tulipana Residence
36.24 USD

Apartment 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 243 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
19.77 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
38.44 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
38.44 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 144 reviews
Aroza Hostel
27.45 USD

Hostel 59.3% 59 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
32.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

736 out of 1033 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bob's Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 597 of 738 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Iria Losada Docampo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Iria would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. Here you can meet many people. Alsa cause you can smoke in the common room, so you can chat and be confortable.. The breakfast, it is simple but nice

Disliked: The chekni time, they are really strict, you can´t go in even if it´s 13:55even just to take a shower. The reception issmall and in weekend you can have some problems to get a place for breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, good location and cool decorations in the rooms

Disliked: The bathroom we used could need some renovation

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, meeting nice + interesting people from everywhere

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lovde that it hade some charming details, like: the floor was not straigt and the doors wasn´t verry big so you had do bend so you don´t hit your head. small but verry quit! LOVE the bathtub!!

Disliked: can´t come up with anything bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011

Liked: The location was one of the only good things about this hostel!

Disliked: The beds are broken, there is no ladder to the top bunk so you have to climb! My door didnt lock so having a key was pointless!! My room was on the very top floor, with no elevators and a very, very narrow staircase! AND no free Wifi! - Very expensive hostel for what you get.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 September 2011

Liked: I liked the location .......

Disliked: very durty !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephen Carty

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 September 2011

Liked: NOT ALOT ACTUALLY,CANT,APART FROM PRICE,COMMEND ANYTHING.

Disliked: We were staying around the corner,next to The Doors and found the stairs to be very steep and frankly dangerous,shower room had exstensive damp on the ceiling,generally the place came over as grubby.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Graeme Mowat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: The beds, although quite small, were really comfortable. Only problem is the top bunk lacks ladders. The entrance to the hostel is very relaxed and is where the majority of your time will be. It's got great music and it's easy to meet new people. If you dont like smoking weed, or the smell, this place isn't for you.

Disliked: The toilets and shower facility weren't as clean as they could be. The staff can be either really helpful, or quite rude. The breakfast shouldn't even be called a breakfast. Two bits of bread and a boiled egg, that was cold.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Amsterdam atmosphere, you can smoke weed at the bar. Clean simple large rooms.

Disliked: If you don´t like the smell of the weed this is not the right place for you. First night they didn´t have free lockers in our room, the next night we had a locker far from our bed. Bad beds - very soft mattresses. Terrible looking but working shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

aimee mccartan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 aimee would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere in the reception was really welcoming. The location was really good, close to alot of things.

Disliked: not much

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Filipe Saraiva Marques

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2011

Liked: Nice location. Friendly staff. If the purpose is just to have a place to sleep, works perfectly, since is well located in the city center.

Disliked: If you expect to stay in the Hostel and relax some time during the day, is not the best hostel to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special just good

Disliked: there are no electrical plugs to charge our camera or mobile

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amadeus müller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 amadeus would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was very cool everyone was very relaxed

Disliked: small room and beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge is great, the staff is friendly. The location is great very close to shopping streets&coffeeshops. The price is cheap. The location is the key.

Disliked: The shower was covered with mold all over and dirty. They don't give you the lockers just next to your bed, you have to access your bag near some guys head trying not to wake him up. The kitchen is crowded and not very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of Amsterdam, Some good locations very very close by.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good

Disliked: It was good

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: the location was fantastic, and it was very international, so nice for meeting people. If you are planning to smoke a ton of weed, this might be nice for you because the lobby is a coffeeshop.

Disliked: Felt like a hostel run by potheads. If you do not like a smoke-filled common space at all times, you'll have to either stay in your room or go elsewhere. There was very minimal staffing, so when I had a problem, like someone being in my bed that I'd reserved, the person at the front desk could do nothing about it because he had to run the front desk and there was no help. Overall, very unclean with almost no facilities. Honestly, a fellow traveler and I joked that it felt like camping, which it did. I spent all summer in a tent in the woods and felt like I often had as many amenities as at Bob's Youth Hostel. However, if you are just looking for a bed (not really a towel or shower, some running water) and are willing to rough it, this is a very cheap place to stay.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: Terrible

Disliked: Very bad, dirty and strange

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Konstantin Ivanov

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Konstantin would recommend this property

Liked: + hostel is in the center of Town, nearest to Dam Square + you can come anytime you want + Including breakfast (with toaster :))

Disliked: - very few electic sokets - we have only one in 8 bed-room. - no shelves - i had to put my phone on the floor for charging - my girl slept on squeaking bed - it was noisy for her and others - no one pegs in the room or in bathroom, that is very unconfortable

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yiwei Darren Tan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Reception smells of weed all the freaking time. If you're sleeping in, be prepared to be awakened by noisy cleaning staff. Room is cramped and not very clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere they provide, maybe it is because its in amsterdam or whatever but the atmosphere is really nice

Disliked: that the place is divided into 2 buildings and the second building has toooo many stairs, specially if you are in L1 or L2 because when stonned its very difficult climbing up those stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gediminas Strelciunas

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Gediminas would recommend this property

Liked: many stairs

Disliked: cleaners

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tucker Ida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Tucker would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere,really relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LAURENT PAING

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 LAURENT would recommend this property

Liked: The youth hostel is located in the city center so it's really nice to enjoy the stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The wireless access because there was only one computer so when the hotel is full could be a problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Destiny Ziebol

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 June 2011 Destiny would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the reception room, it had a lot of character (and you are allowed to smoke there). They had two computers set up that were free to use, and free breakfast. The location was pretty good. We were put into a six bed room instead of the 12 bed room we signed up for. The shower and sink attached to our room was nice.

Disliked: Half the time there was no hot water, and it could defiantly be cleaner. The bathroom was pretty jank and had a hole in the ceiling. Despite this, I would still recommend this hostel, with the understanding that it's extremely difficult to find a place to stay in Amsterdam, and the ability to prolong your stay at Bobs makes it a good choice in case you have an emergency and need to stay longer.