HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bob's Youth Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Bob's Youth Hostel needs you to state an arrival time when booking. Failing to do this may incur in cancellation of your booking.

Please note that:
- We have a cancellation policy of 48-hours. If you cancel too late or if you don't show up we charge you the first night of the reservation.
- We have age restrictions; we can not accept people under 18 or above 30 years old.
- We accept cash only, so please remember this when you come over to the hostel.

Please note that if your booking is for a group of 10 + people or if your payment exceeds a 1000 euros we will ask you to transfer the balance due in advance. For any questions about this policy
please send us an email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 58%

Showing 91-100 of 113 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location mostly, otherwise there wasn't anything else special

Disliked: I stayed in the second building behind the main bobs youth hostel. Just a basic building, nothing special or particularly bad except the wifi didn't work at all in this building. Found this inconvenient especially because I was saying alone in a room of 20 so was hard to contact friends and had no way of contacting anyone in case of an emergency.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The facility was way above my expectations. I stayed at female room and i felt secure. The room and the restroom part were clean for a room for 16 girls. It is good to have an age restriction, it creates better atmosphere for young people.

Disliked: The beds were so uncomfortable, i felt like i was lying on a floor. Also majority of the locks of dress boxes were broken. In the bathroom there was not any soap.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, friendly staff, brilliant common room

Disliked: No wifi, due to rennovation

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Dorm room was pretty clean and tidy and beds were new. Staff were helpful and friendly and gave us a free beer to compensate for the common room being fixed up and the lack of breakfast. Location is awesome- very close to the central station and everything else you could want!

Disliked: The photos make it look like a really cool place with loads of graffiti and good vibes, in actual fact it is pretty cramped and the walls were pretty much blank when we were there, which was disappointing. We stayed in the all girls room which was nice, new beds and it was clean, however only 1 toilet and 1 shower between 16 girls meant there was a few issues! Don't think the toilet/shower was cleaned in the 4 days we stayed! Also I booked to stay because of the free breakfast, although when we arrived they said they had just stopped serving this.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: The bedsheets were dirty, the bathroom was disgusting, heating was not working properly, breakfast very poor

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, very close to centre (2min wall to dam square), and for one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam I thought it was good value.

Disliked: My bed was located close to the toilet/bathroom so when I wanted to get my locker out from under th bed it was very squishy. The room also got pretty hot, particularly on the top bunk (I stayed in winter so wasn't fussed). The wifi isn't great from the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice, kind and helpful personal, especially Emma. Location is good. Just in 7 minutes walking from central station and situated in center. Value for money was good. more than this brekfast was included.

Disliked: it would be better if the hostel management updated the interior and paid an attention to cleanliness.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was so dirty it was disgusting!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, extremely cheap and very close to everything.

Disliked: Not the most attractive building but what do you expect for the price?

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly people which made it feel safe. In the centre so easy to travel round the city.

Disliked: Didn't offer much food wise and people wake you up occasionally as they come in.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability