HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

73.9% Overall Rating

142 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

Clara Price thinks…

"This hostel is in a perfect location and decorated a bit quirky! It has a fridge, microwave, kettle and tea and coffee available. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The showers are…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
19.68 USD

Hostel 67.9% 501 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
60.40 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
23.62 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.12 USD

Hostel 69.9% 905 reviews
Golden Bear
38.73 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.4% 5 reviews
International Budget Hostel
23.62 USD

Hostel 70.4% 211 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
28.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 1597 reviews
Quentin Hotel
48.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

142 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Clara Price

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a perfect location and decorated a bit quirky! It has a fridge, microwave, kettle and tea and coffee available. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The showers are powerful and excellent. The rooms are bathrooms are clean (or as clean as they can be for a room shared by 12 travellers!)

Disliked: The hot water tap in the room I stayed did not work. I'm also a bit concerned about the system they use to keep belongings safe as on the last day I went to pick up my passport which had been taped to my friends and it was no longer attached! After a few minutes and a heart attack later, it was found once bags etc had been cleated out of the way. I also don't like that they ask for 3 euros to hold your bags in the day once you've checked out (and this isn't advertised so you get an angry staff member asking for money when you're trying to leave and don't have 3 euros to spare!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario Gutierrez

Alone

City break

29 August 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: noisy street

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucas Holmberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for location, nice staff

Disliked: No

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SAM OH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 SAM would recommend this property

Liked: Basically located in a very strategically location with many coffeeshop and club around. It is quite clean.

Disliked: The counter staff was not very well trained in customer service. There was no hot water and he just leave a note on the desk and did nothing about it after that. There was no locker.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Steep stairs, safety issue

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Akilah Blackett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2014 Akilah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. I had fallen down some stairs while shopping and when I got in, the overnight guy, Mohammed, gave me a cooled can to put on it to stop the swelling. I also told him I had to catch my coach in the morning. When he saw that I had not come down he went to wake me up so I didnt miss my coach. Amazing service!! The location is amazing! Walked everywhere, saved a lot of money as this location is in the middle of everything. The rooms are clean and big enough with awesome windows that open up so there's air flowing through the place. Although it is in the middle of a really busy area, I was super happy that the rooms face the back of the hostel so the noise from outside does not get in. I had a really good stay and the large rooms are perfect for meeting people if traveling alone.

Disliked: Akilah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything friendly staff free wifi

Disliked: Nothing was really good better Than I expected

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Brittany Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014

Liked: The walls were fun and colorful, decently clean, beds were okay. Some pretty good restaurants and a coffee shop right by them

Disliked: The shower just seemed gross. Honestly it was probably just the grout that was stained or old but I still felt a little grossed out.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014

Liked: Computer access and good wifi connection, decent facilities for preparing food.

Disliked: Staff member on reception was quite ignorant on arrival, location wasn't ideal - 30-40 minute walk to Dam Square, shower and toilet was quite unclean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ivan Getmanov

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap enough for this location, helpful staff, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Selim Ozan Çekçi

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 July 2014 Selim Ozan would recommend this property

Liked: It was at the best location + it was very cheap when you consider service. If I go to Amsterdam again I will stay here again.

Disliked: I don't see a negative side of this stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gemma Nolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Very sociable hostel where it is easy to meet people, especially if you are a lone traveller. Good location and interesting decor. I was expecting a disaster after some of the reviews I read, but all in all it's not bad and I had no problems.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit wet because of the shower but not a huge problem. The lack of lockers to store bags and clothes is a bit annoying especially if you're in a top bunk.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siarhei Lazarenka

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Siarhei would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stuff! real good people, always attentive and helpful!

Disliked: The location - the whole street is packed with clubs and bars, so it's rather noisy through the night, no sleep till 6 in the morning. well for some people that would be a plus!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was in a lively part of Amsterdam and not too far from the main attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bo Kyung Jun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Bo Kyung would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sedat E?im

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Sedat would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms are very small for 12 people.breakfast is just coffea , tea , bread and jam

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pb&j sandwiches in the morning. staff was very friendly

Disliked: no lockers in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsai Yang Kang

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 May 2014 Tsai Yang would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harry Oneill

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 April 2014 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: The location is exactly where I like to be in Amsterdam. Its enough away from the square and close enough for your hpliday base...

Disliked: Harry left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Did not facilitate mingling between guests. Many older travelers were staying here and if I had known that I would have booked a hostel with younger clientele since I am traveling alone and was hoping to meet people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lotte Ysebaert

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Lotte would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. We booked a shared room but got a private room for the same price. They did everything to make our stay comfortable. The hostel has a very good location. Great price/quality.

Disliked: Lotte left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrick Brotherston

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: It had a relaxing environment and it was also very secure.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luiz García

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 April 2014 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Leidseplein was perfect located in à amazing square with all the bars and coffeeshops", the staff is always kind and very helpfull the hostel is nice decorated?

Disliked: Luiz left no negative feedback.