We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

71.7% Overall Rating

160 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2015)

William Cusator thinks…

"As soon as you walk out the door you are among many restaurants and not even a block from the start of a lot of shops! There is beverages and snacks available for purchase. Bathroom in the rooms.…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September 2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
21.96 USD

Hostel 61.5% 508 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
36.61 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
40.35 USD

Hostel 66.4% 81 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
10.97 USD

Hostel 68.8% 928 reviews
Golden Bear
48.87 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 84.0% 10 reviews
International Budget Hostel
34.78 USD

Hostel 71.5% 215 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
76.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Marnix City Centre
40.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.0% 1607 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

160 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 223 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura McCambridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2015

Liked: Beds were okay

Disliked: Staff were not very helpful. They booked two people into the same bed and told both people separately to just "stay there" without actually sorting it out. Luckily one of the guys stayed out all night. When we went to check in we were an hour early and the staff put our bags just in the common area, not locked away (which every other hostel do). The floor in the bathroom were very dirty too!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

William Cusator

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 William would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as you walk out the door you are among many restaurants and not even a block from the start of a lot of shops! There is beverages and snacks available for purchase. Bathroom in the rooms. Nice common area to socialize (even if it's with the cat)

Disliked: Very pricey. Wifi only sometimes worked in rooms for myself. If you're a lite sleeper keep in mind that Hostel is right above a few bars so music and crowds will be loud until after 4am

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew burbridge

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2015 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Breakfast was offered I enjoyed the firm bed.

Disliked: Beds weren't numbered, but no one I room seemed to mind.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Garrett Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2015 Garrett would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful and the location is great for cheap food and getting anywhere on bike.

Disliked: Amount of people per room can get annoying

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Anthony Birt

Alone

City break

23 May 2015

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: The staff particularly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emmanuel Ascencio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 April 2015 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a central area, including bars, restaurants and just a few minutes walk from the main station

Disliked: the cost but its relative to de place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ahmad rafiq

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 April 2015 ahmad would recommend this property

Liked: very good money value

Disliked: ahmad left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mr Derek Thomas mccaffrey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 April 2015 Mr Derek Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Warm rooms, Nice friendly staff.

Disliked: Very noise location.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015

Liked: Location was solid.

Disliked: Wifi was terrible, staff was not helpful, and room did not seem too clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was relatively close to all the main attractions.

Disliked: There were no lockers to store valuable items so you had to carry them with you all day. The room that we stayed in, the shower drain was broken/had issues and didn't drain properly

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015

Liked: Nothing at all. Avoid.

Disliked: All the negatives were as follows: * After paying for the rooms, when you go to check in, you expect to at least one room key. But this hostel charged an extra 10€ per keys. * Later that night, a late traveller checked in, and was charged 150€ even though he was told it was 100 including taxes on the phone earlier in the day, so you can only assume the nightshift guy pocketed the money. * Also the nightshift guy with black hair and a black beard was super sleezy and disrespectful towards other women. I heard him call one of the girls a "s*ut", which is no way to treat guests. * Finally they were very strict on bringing guests back. Strictly no guests allowed at any time of the day, which is quite a silly rule but it was heavily enforced. If you try and bring any friends back, they will kick you out immediately. * Lastly there was a mouse in our room on the last night we stayed there. I would genuinely not stay here again and recommend everyone to look elsewhere. It may be cheap but it's really not worth it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015

Liked: The location is one of the best.

Disliked: Mice, and the answer was "someone brought food to your floor than, what can I do.. There is mice where you came from aswell, I've been there.."

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koen Dieleman

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2015 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap prices and very friendly staff

Disliked: My matress was worn out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Cheapest place we could find in this area and was great value for money. I personally think the free breakfast was awesome. Yes there isn't a toaster but free peanut butter and jelly sandwiches isn't something to complain about. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: No stairs or ladder to the top bunk? Not great for small people.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 September 2014

Liked: The hostel is good if you are stoned or drunk during the whole duration of your stay. It is exclusively a party hostel and in a good location for that. Otherwise or if you want to sleep etc, i highly recommend not to stay in this hostel. It is also disgustingly unclean. But for simply partying i guess its good!

Disliked: unhygienic showers, staff that were friendly but so stoned 24/7, i couldn't even understand them. It's also next to a nightclub so its almost impossible to sleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Raphael de Sousa

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 September 2014 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It's around 300 m from Van Gogh's museum.

Disliked: Raphael left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2014

Liked: Wifi and coffee included.

Disliked: It said breakfast included. Breakfast turned out to be white bread, un toasted, there is no bread toaster anywhere, and if you are feeling adventurous, you can use the peanut butter on the table. Otherwise just go with salt. The rooms couldnt be any dirtier or noisier if they tried, right next to a party street. I paid 85 euro for 2 nights and i found that way overpriced.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Clara Price

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a perfect location and decorated a bit quirky! It has a fridge, microwave, kettle and tea and coffee available. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The showers are powerful and excellent. The rooms are bathrooms are clean (or as clean as they can be for a room shared by 12 travellers!)

Disliked: The hot water tap in the room I stayed did not work. I'm also a bit concerned about the system they use to keep belongings safe as on the last day I went to pick up my passport which had been taped to my friends and it was no longer attached! After a few minutes and a heart attack later, it was found once bags etc had been cleated out of the way. I also don't like that they ask for 3 euros to hold your bags in the day once you've checked out (and this isn't advertised so you get an angry staff member asking for money when you're trying to leave and don't have 3 euros to spare!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario Gutierrez

Alone

City break

29 August 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: noisy street

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucas Holmberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for location, nice staff

Disliked: No

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SAM OH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 SAM would recommend this property

Liked: Basically located in a very strategically location with many coffeeshop and club around. It is quite clean.

Disliked: The counter staff was not very well trained in customer service. There was no hot water and he just leave a note on the desk and did nothing about it after that. There was no locker.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Steep stairs, safety issue