HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

70.3% Overall Rating

122 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Luiz García thinks…

"Hostel Leidseplein was perfect located in à amazing square with all the bars and coffeeshops", the staff is always kind and very helpfull the hostel is nice decorated?"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
27.60 USD

Hostel 74.5% 488 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
63.50 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 233 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
23.45 USD

Hostel 68.3% 63 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.79 USD

Hostel 68.7% 883 reviews
Golden Bear
54.53 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
International Budget Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel 72.2% 207 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 1589 reviews
Quentin Hotel
57.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

122 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 166 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrick Brotherston

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: It had a relaxing environment and it was also very secure.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luiz García

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 April 2014 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Leidseplein was perfect located in à amazing square with all the bars and coffeeshops", the staff is always kind and very helpfull the hostel is nice decorated?

Disliked: Luiz left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muhammad Luqman Hakimi Biin Lupiamir

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Muhammad Luqman Hakimi would recommend this property

Liked: I want to win a stay in this hotel because it's near to the central, cheap and easy, their staffs are friendly and most important comfortable. Thanks.

Disliked: Muhammad Luqman Hakimi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The character of it was nice atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Plunett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: staff where class, good atmosphere and close to really good clubs

Disliked: N/A

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014

Liked: Nothing, really!

Disliked: The common area is so small, and is always crowded by friends of the hostel staff. The rooms, the bathroom, the beds, the linen, the common area, everything is so dirty, at our room we even had cigarette butts on the floor and the beds had some garbage, the bathroom is literaly IN the room and it smells really bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the 24-h accessebility and the free coffee and tea are perfect.

Disliked: The € 3,- luggare storage price, but with € 9,- a night in Amsterdam at such a location no-one should be complaining.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty close to centre of Amsterdamm; cheap

Disliked: little dirty; pretty loud in the neighborhood

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niket Doshi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Niket would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to the local attractions, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, I amsterdam park, Bulldog coffee shop, and several clubs. There is something or the other going on whole day.

Disliked: Frankly speaking, nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filippo Poiani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: i really like to stay in this hotel, the staff is very kind and available, good place.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right on Leidse, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing. Honestly, the value they give for the price and location, there is really nothing to complain about. The building is old, but they make the most, and the best, fo what they have

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean room (4 person), very close to everything (especially nightlife). i wouldn't recommend it to people who aren't there for nightlife, but it was a good time.

Disliked: *no lockers in rooms- while I felt comfortable enough with my roommates, it could have been a big problem. *tiny bathroom *food around this area is VERY expensive, beware/prepare

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Didn't get the room I paid for, got moved 3 times in 4 days. Wasn't able to get any sort of refund as the manager was never around... conveniently

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Victoria Porell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the tram.

Disliked: Everything. It is lound, rowdy party hostel. It was flithy in the rooms and everywhere. I never felt safe with all of the wasted guys coming in an out. The bathroom in our room didn't even work and we had to use the one in the lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott lewis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location , staff friendly and helpfull ,great atmosphere!!

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Gym and underground cinema were a surprise and made the stay more enjoyable in the evenings. Continental breakfast was a treat with selections of cheeses, cold meats and juice. Exellent location close to the major attractions. Tram dropped me off right outside the hostel. The staff kindly organise activities at night in the common area

Disliked: The sauna and steamroom were not working during my stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location with lots to offer around it.

Disliked: Perhaps a little pricey.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Trevor Titley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: Location was ideal

Disliked: I have never encountered a place with such poor management. I was never treated in my years of traveling with such disrespect. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Staff looked like they were at the coffee shop for too long before checking into work. Accused me of lying on a clerical error their part and kicked me and my friend out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location- right in the heart of the Leidseplein area where there are dozens of bars and restaurants with tourists and locals alike. For young travelers (we were three from ages 20-25) this was a perfect location and easy to see the city and go out at night.

Disliked: It's not a dealbreaker, but the room literally looks out on one of the loudest bars in history which stays open until 3 or 4 every night. We didn't mind because we actually went to the bar (if you can't beat them, join them) but it was sometimes hard to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location for nightlife

Disliked: can be loud at night

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: Nothing to like.

Disliked: Staff are super unfriendly and unhelpful. They made me wait like 45 minutes to check in, and don't even try to ask them any questions. Beds are uncomfortable, and there are no ladders or safety railings for the top bunks. Internet is really low quality. No locker facilities, so have fun carrying all your valuables around. Don't stay here, especially if its for more than one night!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and good location

Disliked: Occasional moldy bread at breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Mariano Arias

Alone

Relaxation/spa

27 July 2013 Agustin Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, is perfect because it is in the centre of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacopo giannelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 jacopo would recommend this property

Liked: cool and nice

Disliked: jacopo left no negative feedback.