HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

72.8% Overall Rating

139 out of 199 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Akilah Blackett thinks…

"The staff was amazing. I had fallen down some stairs while shopping and when I got in, the overnight guy, Mohammed, gave me a cooled can to put on it to stop the swelling. I also told him I had to…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
26.58 USD

Hostel 67.9% 501 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
61.16 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
26.58 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.28 USD

Hostel 68.3% 902 reviews
Golden Bear
42.55 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.4% 5 reviews
International Budget Hostel
37.22 USD

Hostel 71.3% 209 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
33.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 1597 reviews
Quentin Hotel
57.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

139 out of 199 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 189 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Steep stairs, safety issue

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Akilah Blackett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2014 Akilah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. I had fallen down some stairs while shopping and when I got in, the overnight guy, Mohammed, gave me a cooled can to put on it to stop the swelling. I also told him I had to catch my coach in the morning. When he saw that I had not come down he went to wake me up so I didnt miss my coach. Amazing service!! The location is amazing! Walked everywhere, saved a lot of money as this location is in the middle of everything. The rooms are clean and big enough with awesome windows that open up so there's air flowing through the place. Although it is in the middle of a really busy area, I was super happy that the rooms face the back of the hostel so the noise from outside does not get in. I had a really good stay and the large rooms are perfect for meeting people if traveling alone.

Disliked: Akilah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything friendly staff free wifi

Disliked: Nothing was really good better Than I expected

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Brittany Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014

Liked: The walls were fun and colorful, decently clean, beds were okay. Some pretty good restaurants and a coffee shop right by them

Disliked: The shower just seemed gross. Honestly it was probably just the grout that was stained or old but I still felt a little grossed out.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014

Liked: Computer access and good wifi connection, decent facilities for preparing food.

Disliked: Staff member on reception was quite ignorant on arrival, location wasn't ideal - 30-40 minute walk to Dam Square, shower and toilet was quite unclean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ivan Getmanov

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap enough for this location, helpful staff, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Selim Ozan Çekçi

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 July 2014 Selim Ozan would recommend this property

Liked: It was at the best location + it was very cheap when you consider service. If I go to Amsterdam again I will stay here again.

Disliked: I don't see a negative side of this stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gemma Nolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Very sociable hostel where it is easy to meet people, especially if you are a lone traveller. Good location and interesting decor. I was expecting a disaster after some of the reviews I read, but all in all it's not bad and I had no problems.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit wet because of the shower but not a huge problem. The lack of lockers to store bags and clothes is a bit annoying especially if you're in a top bunk.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siarhei Lazarenka

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Siarhei would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stuff! real good people, always attentive and helpful!

Disliked: The location - the whole street is packed with clubs and bars, so it's rather noisy through the night, no sleep till 6 in the morning. well for some people that would be a plus!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was in a lively part of Amsterdam and not too far from the main attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bo Kyung Jun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Bo Kyung would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sedat E?im

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Sedat would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms are very small for 12 people.breakfast is just coffea , tea , bread and jam

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pb&j sandwiches in the morning. staff was very friendly

Disliked: no lockers in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsai Yang Kang

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 May 2014 Tsai Yang would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harry Oneill

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 April 2014 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: The location is exactly where I like to be in Amsterdam. Its enough away from the square and close enough for your hpliday base...

Disliked: Harry left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Did not facilitate mingling between guests. Many older travelers were staying here and if I had known that I would have booked a hostel with younger clientele since I am traveling alone and was hoping to meet people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lotte Ysebaert

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Lotte would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. We booked a shared room but got a private room for the same price. They did everything to make our stay comfortable. The hostel has a very good location. Great price/quality.

Disliked: Lotte left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrick Brotherston

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: It had a relaxing environment and it was also very secure.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luiz García

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 April 2014 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Leidseplein was perfect located in à amazing square with all the bars and coffeeshops", the staff is always kind and very helpfull the hostel is nice decorated?

Disliked: Luiz left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muhammad Luqman Hakimi Biin Lupiamir

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Muhammad Luqman Hakimi would recommend this property

Liked: I want to win a stay in this hotel because it's near to the central, cheap and easy, their staffs are friendly and most important comfortable. Thanks.

Disliked: Muhammad Luqman Hakimi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The character of it was nice atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Plunett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: staff where class, good atmosphere and close to really good clubs

Disliked: N/A

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014

Liked: Nothing, really!

Disliked: The common area is so small, and is always crowded by friends of the hostel staff. The rooms, the bathroom, the beds, the linen, the common area, everything is so dirty, at our room we even had cigarette butts on the floor and the beds had some garbage, the bathroom is literaly IN the room and it smells really bad.