We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

69.5% Overall Rating

153 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/09/2014)

"Great location. Cheapest place we could find in this area and was great value for money. I personally think the free breakfast was awesome. Yes there isn't a toaster but free peanut butter and jelly sandwiches isn't…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September 2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
19.43 USD

Hostel 64.0% 505 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
36.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
16.19 USD

Hostel 64.9% 78 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
10.79 USD

Hostel 68.1% 919 reviews
Golden Bear
31.86 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 80.0% 8 reviews
International Budget Hostel
16.19 USD

Hostel 71.1% 214 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
269.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Marnix City Centre
21.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.3% 1599 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

153 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 212 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Gym and underground cinema were a surprise and made the stay more enjoyable in the evenings. Continental breakfast was a treat with selections of cheeses, cold meats and juice. Exellent location close to the major attractions. Tram dropped me off right outside the hostel. The staff kindly organise activities at night in the common area

Disliked: The sauna and steamroom were not working during my stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location with lots to offer around it.

Disliked: Perhaps a little pricey.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Trevor Titley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: Location was ideal

Disliked: I have never encountered a place with such poor management. I was never treated in my years of traveling with such disrespect. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Staff looked like they were at the coffee shop for too long before checking into work. Accused me of lying on a clerical error their part and kicked me and my friend out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location- right in the heart of the Leidseplein area where there are dozens of bars and restaurants with tourists and locals alike. For young travelers (we were three from ages 20-25) this was a perfect location and easy to see the city and go out at night.

Disliked: It's not a dealbreaker, but the room literally looks out on one of the loudest bars in history which stays open until 3 or 4 every night. We didn't mind because we actually went to the bar (if you can't beat them, join them) but it was sometimes hard to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location for nightlife

Disliked: can be loud at night

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: Nothing to like.

Disliked: Staff are super unfriendly and unhelpful. They made me wait like 45 minutes to check in, and don't even try to ask them any questions. Beds are uncomfortable, and there are no ladders or safety railings for the top bunks. Internet is really low quality. No locker facilities, so have fun carrying all your valuables around. Don't stay here, especially if its for more than one night!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and good location

Disliked: Occasional moldy bread at breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Mariano Arias

Alone

Relaxation/spa

27 July 2013 Agustin Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, is perfect because it is in the centre of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacopo giannelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 jacopo would recommend this property

Liked: cool and nice

Disliked: jacopo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cihan Uzunoglu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Cihan would recommend this property

Liked: locatíon and staff

Disliked: cleaness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Gastelum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and great location

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rene Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff. Close to good restaurants and good places. The staff helped me out several times and were very friendly at all times. I definately recommend it.

Disliked: Rene left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Noe Torres

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2013

Liked: The hostel is very expensive for all that offer No clean and bad areas. Necessary renovation

Disliked: All the ambiences. No clean

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

John Rohde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Location was convenient during the day, however it is impossible to sleep due to street noise.

Disliked: Don't stay here if you expect to eat, sleep, or shower. Eat: We went down to the common area during the breakfast time to find a bunch of confused guests. When we inquired about breakfast, the manager swore at the group and threw a loaf of moldy bread on the table. Disgusting. Sleep: The street outside the hostel is a huge nightspot. There is loud music and partying well until 4am every day. Then, as soon as that is over the garbage trucks arrive to sweep away the refuse and bodies left behind. It is simply impossible to sleep in the hostel rooms. Shower: The bathroom is somewhat recessed and there is no drain. Consequently, the bathroom was a constant pool of dirty water. This was the most disgusting bathroom I have ever seen at a hostel. To top it all off, they lost the keys to our room and instead of any independence, we had to ask to be let in our room during our stay. 0/10.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Moran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Literally next to the Bulldog Cafe and other popular coffeeshops and bars. Very lively place if you're into the party scene. Hostel was nice, common room was big. Rooms were clean and toilets were good. Would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay somewhere lively in Amsterdam. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Above a club got no sleep, bathroom has about 20 different diseases in it is badly maintained and included breakfast is a sad excuse for rat food consisting of bread and no toaster. Staff are spaced out and have no idea what is going on in terms of organisation of bookings etc. I hope they go out of business or at least half the price per night

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: I liked leaving

Disliked: The rooms were dirty. The bathrooms were disgusting. The clubs nearby kept going to 5am. They served mouldy bread for breakfast. No toaster.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: We met several interesting and friendly people while staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty, with mold in the shower, and a toilet seat that wasn't attached to the toilet. Also, during our stay, when we saw the staff changing the sheets on another bed in our dorm, they changed the top sheet, but not the bottom one.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Geoffrey Taber

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The location is both good and bad, close to lots of bars and restaurants, the street is pretty noisy until bout 4am if you actually want to sleep

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Situated right above a bar- so if you're looking for a quiet nights sleep its not possible. Hostel isnt very good at organising activities for their customers yet really convince you not to do other night activities because theyre dangerous.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ben Kitching

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and although basic the dorms were what you expect from a hostel.

Disliked: We were overcharged by 20 euros on check in.. The rooms are very hot in the summer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot Christou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and quiet.

Disliked: Elliot left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was chillin, nice to meet mad chill people too

Disliked: Loud in the room we had, as the party is literally right outside the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Downing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all Amsterdams best attractions: nightclubs, casino, van gogh museum, great restaurants, supermarket, vondelpark, hard rock cafe and everything else u might wanna do in the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they keep the place very well maintained, they're also very knowledgeable about the city.

Disliked: this place is awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberts Murnieks

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Roberts would recommend this property

Liked: Location ir really good Apartment s are clean and safety Best prices Best people's

Disliked: Im in Amsterdam I like everything :)