HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

71.3% Overall Rating

121 out of 175 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Luiz García thinks…

"Hostel Leidseplein was perfect located in à amazing square with all the bars and coffeeshops", the staff is always kind and very helpfull the hostel is nice decorated?"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
30.39 USD

Hostel 74.5% 488 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
63.58 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 232 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
24.87 USD

Hostel 68.3% 63 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.81 USD

Hostel 68.7% 883 reviews
Golden Bear
51.14 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
International Budget Hostel
27.63 USD

Hostel 72.2% 207 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
41.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 1588 reviews
Quentin Hotel
64.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.3%

Overall Rating

121 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
69.6%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricky Veronica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING location , very nice helpful staf members and clean hostel .

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dimitrios Kentrotis - Zinelis

Alone

Business / conference

29 April 2013 Dimitrios would recommend this property

Liked: w

Disliked: w

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi, hot water, very close to Square.

Disliked: Breakfast was weak

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Inaiacy Souto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Inaiacy would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location and good price.

Disliked: The Hostel is OK. The shower of the dorm bathroom was not exactly clean, the room smells a little bad. They have no lockers but there's a luggage room, my luggage stayed there and I had no problems.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2013

Liked: Good location Friendly receptionist

Disliked: Our room was not ready when we arrived despite it being 1630 The cancellation policy on our email was incorrect and the hostel had to be prompted by phone to respond to my emails The shelf by my bed was not cleaned and was left with decaying food and rubbish Poor facilities generally

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nathan Ortiz Klassmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and well located

Disliked: Breakfast really simple(bread, butter, cofee). No lockers in the room, not cleaned very often, wi-fi signal weak in many spots.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly stuff!

Disliked: our bathroom was a little dirty and although me and my friends stayed just for 2 nights we had to change rooms in the morning :/ don't know why

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan rush

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 susan would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great central location to everything transport, fun places, great coffee shop loved Rookies on the same street. Staff great and very helpful even carried my bags up the stairs. I will be back again. Thanks.

Disliked: Not much really I had an enjoyable stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access

Disliked: steep stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abbie Haines

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Abbie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful at giving you advice on where to go and what's worth doing in the area. Fairly comfortable beds and clean rooms.

Disliked: Could have been a bigger lougne and a better equipped kitchen (a toaster)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aaron Wallace

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, comfortable beds, good water pressure, free breakfast.

Disliked: The shower was pretty haggard, but that's expected with twelve people using it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing and the staff was very friendly

Disliked: The toilets were not so clean; it can be too noise to sleep; they dont have lockers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jenni Priestley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Jenni would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this Hostel with 7 friends. We had a dorm on the top floor which was clean and tidy. We arrived early and we were allowed to leave our bags whilst we went to have lunch and explore. At 2pm we checked in and the man with glasses behind the desk was very helpful, giving us directions and useful information about the area and the trams. It was perfect for the large group of us as we stayed out late so the 24 hour reception was great.

Disliked: There wasn't anything that we personally dialiked about the property however you should probably know that if you're wanting good nights sleep then i'd take ear plugs as there are loud bars on the street outside.- this didn't bother us as we were out late anyway. Also the breakfast is simply bread with jam and peanut butter- but we said, you get what you pay for!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shereen Sally

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 March 2013 Shereen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Shereen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Szyma

Alone

City break

01 March 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing and very, very, very helpful staff! Thank you! Everything was great. Very cIean, good location, comfortable stay. I will choose the same hostel next time for sure.

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff

Disliked: the facilitties need updating and building work need to be do (electrics)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location - within 10minutes walk of everything (anne frank, museumplein, dam square)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Corten

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 February 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place for those looking for a good time and conviviality. I stayed two days longer and always felt welcome.

Disliked: If you look for a quiet place maybe there are better options.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 February 2013

Liked: Very good price, wifi works, nice staff. We were three in the 12 person room, that was comfortable.

Disliked: Disco music from some close house nearly whole night. Window that cant be closed in the room. No possibiity even to sit in the bottom bunk bed.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 February 2013

Liked: There is a nice cat

Disliked: It is across the street from a late night bar so you won't sleep before 5am. Only sheets are changed on the beds when someone leaves, the stairwells stink. There are no lockers. Sink was blocked in the bathroom for the whole 3nights I stayed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Neill Cronin

With a large group / tour

City break

30 January 2013 Neill would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, staff we're nice and I like the large rooms

Disliked: Bit disorganised, not the cleanest

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: people in the dorm but it is not up to the hostel ")

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful and you have access to free wi-fi in most of the property.

Disliked: There is only one shower and one toilet between twenty people, this leaves you waiting for a long time or that once you're in someone has used the shower as a toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASLI ATES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 ASLI would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is in a perfect location, close to bars and clubs , staff are really helpfull and friendly , good place to meet people and have fun

Disliked: ASLI left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and personable. They hosted as though you were a guest in their house.

Disliked: The shower room/ toilet area could use improvement.