HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein Amsterdam Hostel

Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 60%

Location 90%

Safety 72%

Staff 74%

Value 67%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Prices do not include a 5.5% city tax, which shall be added to your balance upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 60%

Location 90%

Safety 72%

Staff 74%

Value 67%

Showing 21-30 of 71 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location, Warm rooms, Nice friendly staff.

Disliked: Very noise location.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was solid.

Disliked: Wifi was terrible, staff was not helpful, and room did not seem too clean.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was relatively close to all the main attractions.

Disliked: There were no lockers to store valuable items so you had to carry them with you all day. The room that we stayed in, the shower drain was broken/had issues and didn't drain properly

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is one of the best.

Disliked: Mice, and the answer was "someone brought food to your floor than, what can I do.. There is mice where you came from aswell, I've been there.."

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing at all. Avoid.

Disliked: All the negatives were as follows:* After paying for the rooms, when you go to check in, you expect to at least one room key. But this hostel charged an extra 10€ per keys.* Later that night, a late traveller checked in, and was charged 150€ even though he was told it was 100 including taxes on the phone earlier in the day, so you can only assume the nightshift guy pocketed the money.* Also the nightshift guy with black hair and a black beard was super sleezy and disrespectful towards other women. I heard him call one of the girls a "s*ut", which is no way to treat guests.* Finally they were very strict on bringing guests back. Strictly no guests allowed at any time of the day, which is quite a silly rule but it was heavily enforced. If you try and bring any friends back, they will kick you out immediately.* Lastly there was a mouse in our room on the last night we stayed there.I would genuinely not stay here again and recommend everyone to look elsewhere. It may be cheap but it's really not worth it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Cheap prices and very friendly staff

Disliked: My matress was worn out

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Cheapest place we could find in this area and was great value for money. I personally think the free breakfast was awesome. Yes there isn't a toaster but free peanut butter and jelly sandwiches isn't something to complain about. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: No stairs or ladder to the top bunk? Not great for small people.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel is good if you are stoned or drunk during the whole duration of your stay. It is exclusively a party hostel and in a good location for that. Otherwise or if you want to sleep etc, i highly recommend not to stay in this hostel. It is also disgustingly unclean. But for simply partying i guess its good!

Disliked: unhygienic showers, staff that were friendly but so stoned 24/7, i couldn't even understand them. It's also next to a nightclub so its almost impossible to sleep.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Wifi and coffee included.

Disliked: It said breakfast included. Breakfast turned out to be white bread, un toasted, there is no bread toaster anywhere, and if you are feeling adventurous, you can use the peanut butter on the table. Otherwise just go with salt. The rooms couldnt be any dirtier or noisier if they tried, right next to a party street. I paid 85 euro for 2 nights and i found that way overpriced.

Check Availability