HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

75.7% Overall Rating

136 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Akilah Blackett thinks…

"The staff was amazing. I had fallen down some stairs while shopping and when I got in, the overnight guy, Mohammed, gave me a cooled can to put on it to stop the swelling. I also told him I had to…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
33.46 USD

Hostel 72.3% 497 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
61.60 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
38.83 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.38 USD

Hostel 68.3% 902 reviews
Golden Bear
42.85 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 85.0% 4 reviews
International Budget Hostel
38.50 USD

Hostel 71.3% 209 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
40.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.5% 1594 reviews
Quentin Hotel
49.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.7%

Overall Rating

136 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Geoffrey Taber

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The location is both good and bad, close to lots of bars and restaurants, the street is pretty noisy until bout 4am if you actually want to sleep

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Situated right above a bar- so if you're looking for a quiet nights sleep its not possible. Hostel isnt very good at organising activities for their customers yet really convince you not to do other night activities because theyre dangerous.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ben Kitching

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and although basic the dorms were what you expect from a hostel.

Disliked: We were overcharged by 20 euros on check in.. The rooms are very hot in the summer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot Christou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and quiet.

Disliked: Elliot left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was chillin, nice to meet mad chill people too

Disliked: Loud in the room we had, as the party is literally right outside the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Downing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all Amsterdams best attractions: nightclubs, casino, van gogh museum, great restaurants, supermarket, vondelpark, hard rock cafe and everything else u might wanna do in the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they keep the place very well maintained, they're also very knowledgeable about the city.

Disliked: this place is awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberts Murnieks

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Roberts would recommend this property

Liked: Location ir really good Apartment s are clean and safety Best prices Best people's

Disliked: Im in Amsterdam I like everything :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, friendly and helpful at the reception.. rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Not the most central in Amsterdam but still in a good location. Bathroom wasn't the cleanest but was probably due to the volume of guests in the room.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2013

Liked: close to tram stop

Disliked: unclean, very noisy location, room too hot to sleep, no lockers in room, poor and unclean facilities , only female in a dorm which was meant to be mixed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a prime location next to an array of bars and restaurants. I would recommend this hostel for people who enjoy a good night out and isn't bothered about loud music from the bars literally outsideyour window all night long. Didn't bother me personally, although the music is repetitive! The staff were extremely helpful; after a bad trip on some local Amsterdam mushrooms and weed and thinking I was about to die, I decided to projectile vomit all over the dorm room floor. The staff were very reassuring apparently and even joked in the morning about it. They happily cleaned up the sick with a smile on their face and made me feel a whole lot better about the experience! Met some brilliant people at this hostel and its no more than a ten minute walk to the Anne Frank museum and the red light district. Would definitely come back!

Disliked: The dorm was very hot despite it being freezing outside and due to the lack of air con etc you have to open a window, thus making it even more difficult to sleep because of the music... alcohol helps! The shower was more of a dribble than anything else but it was good enough for the few days I was there. No major problems.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Doyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and spacious enough and the bathrooms were nice. The staff was friendly and the location is great right near the musuems and vogel park which is very nice. Its a great value for the money. The breakfast included is only toast and coffee, but that seems pretty standard

Disliked: The first night of my stay the room was not finished being clean so there was no toilet paper or sheets on bed or pillow. I could have asked them to change it but I am very easy going and did not bother me. But the next night everything was clean and the room looked great, so I am guessing that was a one time occurence. I still recommend staying here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of Amsterdam, next to so many bars, clubs and coffeeshops. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff, free breakfast and nice rooms! I really enjoyed my stay, thank you

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is placed very central in the part of Amsterdam called Leidseplein. You find bars, clubs and restaurants around you. Great for young people who like to party!

Disliked: They don't accept credti cards for paying the rest of the bill in hostel. You must pay cash! The Central Station is about 2,5 km away (easy reachable by tram).

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Toilet and shower were unseparated. Too expensive. We could have booked a hotel for the same price.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: The staff were pretty nice, except for the night guy he was rude and short with everyone

Disliked: Wow where do I even start. It was dirty, they packed what should have been a 6 or 8 person room with 10 beds, the two extra beds were in the middle of the floor as a bunk bed, the top bunk was tiny and had no railings so you constantly felt like you were going to fall off while you were sleeping. They charge you to leave your bags at reception and I constantly felt like they were trying to nickel and dime us for everything. Check about is early and check in is late. There was mold in the bathrooms and I woke up feeling sick every morning. Their prices seemed to be all over the place and I'm pretty sure I overpaid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricky Veronica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING location , very nice helpful staf members and clean hostel .

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dimitrios Kentrotis - Zinelis

Alone

Business / conference

29 April 2013 Dimitrios would recommend this property

Liked: w

Disliked: w

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi, hot water, very close to Square.

Disliked: Breakfast was weak

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Inaiacy Souto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Inaiacy would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location and good price.

Disliked: The Hostel is OK. The shower of the dorm bathroom was not exactly clean, the room smells a little bad. They have no lockers but there's a luggage room, my luggage stayed there and I had no problems.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2013

Liked: Good location Friendly receptionist

Disliked: Our room was not ready when we arrived despite it being 1630 The cancellation policy on our email was incorrect and the hostel had to be prompted by phone to respond to my emails The shelf by my bed was not cleaned and was left with decaying food and rubbish Poor facilities generally

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nathan Ortiz Klassmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and well located

Disliked: Breakfast really simple(bread, butter, cofee). No lockers in the room, not cleaned very often, wi-fi signal weak in many spots.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly stuff!

Disliked: our bathroom was a little dirty and although me and my friends stayed just for 2 nights we had to change rooms in the morning :/ don't know why

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan rush

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 susan would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great central location to everything transport, fun places, great coffee shop loved Rookies on the same street. Staff great and very helpful even carried my bags up the stairs. I will be back again. Thanks.

Disliked: Not much really I had an enjoyable stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access

Disliked: steep stairs