HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein Amsterdam Hostel

Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 63%

Location 94%

Safety 79%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 63%

Location 94%

Safety 79%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

Showing 21-30 of 98 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Cheap prices and very friendly staff

Disliked: My matress was worn out

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Cheapest place we could find in this area and was great value for money. I personally think the free breakfast was awesome. Yes there isn't a toaster but free peanut butter and jelly sandwiches isn't something to complain about. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: No stairs or ladder to the top bunk? Not great for small people.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel is good if you are stoned or drunk during the whole duration of your stay. It is exclusively a party hostel and in a good location for that. Otherwise or if you want to sleep etc, i highly recommend not to stay in this hostel. It is also disgustingly unclean. But for simply partying i guess its good!

Disliked: unhygienic showers, staff that were friendly but so stoned 24/7, i couldn't even understand them. It's also next to a nightclub so its almost impossible to sleep.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Wifi and coffee included.

Disliked: It said breakfast included. Breakfast turned out to be white bread, un toasted, there is no bread toaster anywhere, and if you are feeling adventurous, you can use the peanut butter on the table. Otherwise just go with salt. The rooms couldnt be any dirtier or noisier if they tried, right next to a party street. I paid 85 euro for 2 nights and i found that way overpriced.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The location. It's around 300 m from Van Gogh's museum.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: noisy street

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is in a perfect location and decorated a bit quirky! It has a fridge, microwave, kettle and tea and coffee available. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The showers are powerful and excellent. The rooms are bathrooms are clean (or as clean as they can be for a room shared by 12 travellers!)

Disliked: The hot water tap in the room I stayed did not work.I'm also a bit concerned about the system they use to keep belongings safe as on the last day I went to pick up my passport which had been taped to my friends and it was no longer attached! After a few minutes and a heart attack later, it was found once bags etc had been cleated out of the way. I also don't like that they ask for 3 euros to hold your bags in the day once you've checked out (and this isn't advertised so you get an angry staff member asking for money when you're trying to leave and don't have 3 euros to spare!)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect for location, nice staff

Disliked: No

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Basically located in a very strategically location with many coffeeshop and club around. It is quite clean.

Disliked: The counter staff was not very well trained in customer service. There was no hot water and he just leave a note on the desk and did nothing about it after that. There was no locker.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability