HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

75.7% Overall Rating

136 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Akilah Blackett thinks…

"The staff was amazing. I had fallen down some stairs while shopping and when I got in, the overnight guy, Mohammed, gave me a cooled can to put on it to stop the swelling. I also told him I had to…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
33.48 USD

Hostel 72.3% 497 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
61.63 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
38.85 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.38 USD

Hostel 68.3% 902 reviews
Golden Bear
32.82 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 85.0% 4 reviews
International Budget Hostel
38.52 USD

Hostel 71.3% 209 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
40.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.5% 1594 reviews
Quentin Hotel
46.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.7%

Overall Rating

136 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niket Doshi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Niket would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to the local attractions, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, I amsterdam park, Bulldog coffee shop, and several clubs. There is something or the other going on whole day.

Disliked: Frankly speaking, nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filippo Poiani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: i really like to stay in this hotel, the staff is very kind and available, good place.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right on Leidse, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing. Honestly, the value they give for the price and location, there is really nothing to complain about. The building is old, but they make the most, and the best, fo what they have

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean room (4 person), very close to everything (especially nightlife). i wouldn't recommend it to people who aren't there for nightlife, but it was a good time.

Disliked: *no lockers in rooms- while I felt comfortable enough with my roommates, it could have been a big problem. *tiny bathroom *food around this area is VERY expensive, beware/prepare

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Didn't get the room I paid for, got moved 3 times in 4 days. Wasn't able to get any sort of refund as the manager was never around... conveniently

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Victoria Porell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the tram.

Disliked: Everything. It is lound, rowdy party hostel. It was flithy in the rooms and everywhere. I never felt safe with all of the wasted guys coming in an out. The bathroom in our room didn't even work and we had to use the one in the lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott lewis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location , staff friendly and helpfull ,great atmosphere!!

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Gym and underground cinema were a surprise and made the stay more enjoyable in the evenings. Continental breakfast was a treat with selections of cheeses, cold meats and juice. Exellent location close to the major attractions. Tram dropped me off right outside the hostel. The staff kindly organise activities at night in the common area

Disliked: The sauna and steamroom were not working during my stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location with lots to offer around it.

Disliked: Perhaps a little pricey.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Trevor Titley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: Location was ideal

Disliked: I have never encountered a place with such poor management. I was never treated in my years of traveling with such disrespect. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Staff looked like they were at the coffee shop for too long before checking into work. Accused me of lying on a clerical error their part and kicked me and my friend out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location- right in the heart of the Leidseplein area where there are dozens of bars and restaurants with tourists and locals alike. For young travelers (we were three from ages 20-25) this was a perfect location and easy to see the city and go out at night.

Disliked: It's not a dealbreaker, but the room literally looks out on one of the loudest bars in history which stays open until 3 or 4 every night. We didn't mind because we actually went to the bar (if you can't beat them, join them) but it was sometimes hard to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location for nightlife

Disliked: can be loud at night

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: Nothing to like.

Disliked: Staff are super unfriendly and unhelpful. They made me wait like 45 minutes to check in, and don't even try to ask them any questions. Beds are uncomfortable, and there are no ladders or safety railings for the top bunks. Internet is really low quality. No locker facilities, so have fun carrying all your valuables around. Don't stay here, especially if its for more than one night!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and good location

Disliked: Occasional moldy bread at breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Mariano Arias

Alone

Relaxation/spa

27 July 2013 Agustin Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, is perfect because it is in the centre of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacopo giannelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 jacopo would recommend this property

Liked: cool and nice

Disliked: jacopo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cihan Uzunoglu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Cihan would recommend this property

Liked: locatíon and staff

Disliked: cleaness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Gastelum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and great location

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rene Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff. Close to good restaurants and good places. The staff helped me out several times and were very friendly at all times. I definately recommend it.

Disliked: Rene left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Noe Torres

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2013

Liked: The hostel is very expensive for all that offer No clean and bad areas. Necessary renovation

Disliked: All the ambiences. No clean

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

John Rohde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Location was convenient during the day, however it is impossible to sleep due to street noise.

Disliked: Don't stay here if you expect to eat, sleep, or shower. Eat: We went down to the common area during the breakfast time to find a bunch of confused guests. When we inquired about breakfast, the manager swore at the group and threw a loaf of moldy bread on the table. Disgusting. Sleep: The street outside the hostel is a huge nightspot. There is loud music and partying well until 4am every day. Then, as soon as that is over the garbage trucks arrive to sweep away the refuse and bodies left behind. It is simply impossible to sleep in the hostel rooms. Shower: The bathroom is somewhat recessed and there is no drain. Consequently, the bathroom was a constant pool of dirty water. This was the most disgusting bathroom I have ever seen at a hostel. To top it all off, they lost the keys to our room and instead of any independence, we had to ask to be let in our room during our stay. 0/10.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Moran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Literally next to the Bulldog Cafe and other popular coffeeshops and bars. Very lively place if you're into the party scene. Hostel was nice, common room was big. Rooms were clean and toilets were good. Would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay somewhere lively in Amsterdam. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Above a club got no sleep, bathroom has about 20 different diseases in it is badly maintained and included breakfast is a sad excuse for rat food consisting of bread and no toaster. Staff are spaced out and have no idea what is going on in terms of organisation of bookings etc. I hope they go out of business or at least half the price per night

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: I liked leaving

Disliked: The rooms were dirty. The bathrooms were disgusting. The clubs nearby kept going to 5am. They served mouldy bread for breakfast. No toaster.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: We met several interesting and friendly people while staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty, with mold in the shower, and a toilet seat that wasn't attached to the toilet. Also, during our stay, when we saw the staff changing the sheets on another bed in our dorm, they changed the top sheet, but not the bottom one.