HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Hostel | Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 PW

70.3% Overall Rating

122 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Luiz García thinks…

"Hostel Leidseplein was perfect located in à amazing square with all the bars and coffeeshops", the staff is always kind and very helpfull the hostel is nice decorated?"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices do not include 5.5% city tax and cancellations must occur 72 hours before the check-in time. Groups (more than six persons) must cancel two weeks before check- in time. We ask authorization on the given credit card, we will CANCEL the booking if we don’t get authorization on the given credit card. Contact us if you are going to be late for check in!!. Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
27.65 USD

Hostel 74.5% 488 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
63.63 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 233 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
23.50 USD

Hostel 68.3% 63 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.82 USD

Hostel 68.7% 883 reviews
Golden Bear
51.18 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
International Budget Hostel
27.65 USD

Hostel 72.2% 207 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
41.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 1588 reviews
Quentin Hotel
64.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

122 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cihan Uzunoglu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Cihan would recommend this property

Liked: locatíon and staff

Disliked: cleaness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Gastelum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and great location

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rene Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff. Close to good restaurants and good places. The staff helped me out several times and were very friendly at all times. I definately recommend it.

Disliked: Rene left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Noe Torres

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2013

Liked: The hostel is very expensive for all that offer No clean and bad areas. Necessary renovation

Disliked: All the ambiences. No clean

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

John Rohde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Location was convenient during the day, however it is impossible to sleep due to street noise.

Disliked: Don't stay here if you expect to eat, sleep, or shower. Eat: We went down to the common area during the breakfast time to find a bunch of confused guests. When we inquired about breakfast, the manager swore at the group and threw a loaf of moldy bread on the table. Disgusting. Sleep: The street outside the hostel is a huge nightspot. There is loud music and partying well until 4am every day. Then, as soon as that is over the garbage trucks arrive to sweep away the refuse and bodies left behind. It is simply impossible to sleep in the hostel rooms. Shower: The bathroom is somewhat recessed and there is no drain. Consequently, the bathroom was a constant pool of dirty water. This was the most disgusting bathroom I have ever seen at a hostel. To top it all off, they lost the keys to our room and instead of any independence, we had to ask to be let in our room during our stay. 0/10.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Moran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Literally next to the Bulldog Cafe and other popular coffeeshops and bars. Very lively place if you're into the party scene. Hostel was nice, common room was big. Rooms were clean and toilets were good. Would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay somewhere lively in Amsterdam. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Above a club got no sleep, bathroom has about 20 different diseases in it is badly maintained and included breakfast is a sad excuse for rat food consisting of bread and no toaster. Staff are spaced out and have no idea what is going on in terms of organisation of bookings etc. I hope they go out of business or at least half the price per night

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: I liked leaving

Disliked: The rooms were dirty. The bathrooms were disgusting. The clubs nearby kept going to 5am. They served mouldy bread for breakfast. No toaster.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: We met several interesting and friendly people while staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty, with mold in the shower, and a toilet seat that wasn't attached to the toilet. Also, during our stay, when we saw the staff changing the sheets on another bed in our dorm, they changed the top sheet, but not the bottom one.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Geoffrey Taber

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The location is both good and bad, close to lots of bars and restaurants, the street is pretty noisy until bout 4am if you actually want to sleep

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Situated right above a bar- so if you're looking for a quiet nights sleep its not possible. Hostel isnt very good at organising activities for their customers yet really convince you not to do other night activities because theyre dangerous.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ben Kitching

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and although basic the dorms were what you expect from a hostel.

Disliked: We were overcharged by 20 euros on check in.. The rooms are very hot in the summer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot Christou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and quiet.

Disliked: Elliot left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was chillin, nice to meet mad chill people too

Disliked: Loud in the room we had, as the party is literally right outside the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Downing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all Amsterdams best attractions: nightclubs, casino, van gogh museum, great restaurants, supermarket, vondelpark, hard rock cafe and everything else u might wanna do in the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they keep the place very well maintained, they're also very knowledgeable about the city.

Disliked: this place is awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberts Murnieks

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Roberts would recommend this property

Liked: Location ir really good Apartment s are clean and safety Best prices Best people's

Disliked: Im in Amsterdam I like everything :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, friendly and helpful at the reception.. rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Not the most central in Amsterdam but still in a good location. Bathroom wasn't the cleanest but was probably due to the volume of guests in the room.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2013

Liked: close to tram stop

Disliked: unclean, very noisy location, room too hot to sleep, no lockers in room, poor and unclean facilities , only female in a dorm which was meant to be mixed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a prime location next to an array of bars and restaurants. I would recommend this hostel for people who enjoy a good night out and isn't bothered about loud music from the bars literally outsideyour window all night long. Didn't bother me personally, although the music is repetitive! The staff were extremely helpful; after a bad trip on some local Amsterdam mushrooms and weed and thinking I was about to die, I decided to projectile vomit all over the dorm room floor. The staff were very reassuring apparently and even joked in the morning about it. They happily cleaned up the sick with a smile on their face and made me feel a whole lot better about the experience! Met some brilliant people at this hostel and its no more than a ten minute walk to the Anne Frank museum and the red light district. Would definitely come back!

Disliked: The dorm was very hot despite it being freezing outside and due to the lack of air con etc you have to open a window, thus making it even more difficult to sleep because of the music... alcohol helps! The shower was more of a dribble than anything else but it was good enough for the few days I was there. No major problems.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Doyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and spacious enough and the bathrooms were nice. The staff was friendly and the location is great right near the musuems and vogel park which is very nice. Its a great value for the money. The breakfast included is only toast and coffee, but that seems pretty standard

Disliked: The first night of my stay the room was not finished being clean so there was no toilet paper or sheets on bed or pillow. I could have asked them to change it but I am very easy going and did not bother me. But the next night everything was clean and the room looked great, so I am guessing that was a one time occurence. I still recommend staying here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of Amsterdam, next to so many bars, clubs and coffeeshops. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff, free breakfast and nice rooms! I really enjoyed my stay, thank you

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is placed very central in the part of Amsterdam called Leidseplein. You find bars, clubs and restaurants around you. Great for young people who like to party!

Disliked: They don't accept credti cards for paying the rest of the bill in hostel. You must pay cash! The Central Station is about 2,5 km away (easy reachable by tram).

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Toilet and shower were unseparated. Too expensive. We could have booked a hotel for the same price.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: The staff were pretty nice, except for the night guy he was rude and short with everyone

Disliked: Wow where do I even start. It was dirty, they packed what should have been a 6 or 8 person room with 10 beds, the two extra beds were in the middle of the floor as a bunk bed, the top bunk was tiny and had no railings so you constantly felt like you were going to fall off while you were sleeping. They charge you to leave your bags at reception and I constantly felt like they were trying to nickel and dime us for everything. Check about is early and check in is late. There was mold in the bathrooms and I woke up feeling sick every morning. Their prices seemed to be all over the place and I'm pretty sure I overpaid.