We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

87.5% Overall Rating

276 out of 292 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

Arisa Okuhama thinks…

"To be honest, I was surprised because they're very clean! And i was happy free coffee and tea."

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.49
  • Towel USD 5.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
29.74 USD

Hostel 83.3% 32 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
38.40 USD

Hostel 75.4% 516 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
32.92 USD

Hostel 59.0% 98 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
31.83 USD

Hostel 84.2% 728 reviews
Hotel Flipper
38.28 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.0% 338 reviews
Centraal Hostel
26.34 USD

Hostel 68.9% 240 reviews
Hotel Max
33.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Lucky Lake Hostel
34.02 USD

Hostel 91.7% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

276 out of 292 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 286 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super safe, it's located on the 4th floor of a building which has a 24 hour doorman who watches who comes and goes. The hostel is really clean and the beds are SO comfortable. The rooms are themed and decorated beautifully. It was a nice break from staying in grungy hostels. Big lounge area with TV and heaps of DVDs to watch.

Disliked: REALLY far away from the center - takes about 30mins or MORE to get into downtown Amsterdam. AVOID taking cabs at all costs - they are ridiculously expensive because the hostel is so far away. The metro stops running early, and while there is a night bus is runs something like every hour and is really sketchy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Dobbs

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: So precious! Perfect for an all girls trip! Clean, safe and right next to the stadium!

Disliked: In a slightly sketchy area but we were just three young girls and we were fine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

No first name Rahmadiyanti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 No first name would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is (almost) perfect! I love it! The room is quite spacious, and we get free lock. Toilet and bathroom are very-very nice and very girlie. For example the toilets they designed with different theme. I tried all the toilet (hello kitty, new york, The staffs are warm and friendly. They also have common room that very nice. TV with dvd (many intereting film!), free internet. And the wifi connection is accessible in the room (which is I found rarely in other hostels). It's very safe, because it's only woman/girl who could stay here. And you must registry every enter and out in the security post downstairs. The location maybe is not perfect, but it's only 2 stops from Schiphol airport, and 3 or 4 stops from Amsterdam centraal. So, it's not bother us. The location is also near Lidl, cheap supermarket, some cafe and restaurant. Great value! Highly reccommended!!

Disliked: Nothing :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were so good. Very clean, especially the toilets spacious enough for girls to make up or other things. Staffs were friendly. Quite safe, my friend left her phone there and when we came back, the reception kept it in the safety box & gave it back to her, appreciate that. Location not in the centre but easy to access using metro.

Disliked: Pillows not so comfortable but acceptable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: All female, stylish, clean friendly

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Paul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It was the best hostel I have every stayed at. Never has a hostel been so warm and welcoming. The whole place is cleaner than many hotels I have stayed in, even the bathroom was spotless! Speaking of bathrooms, they could have left them all as drab standard white, but instead the owner has given each homely feel and a different theme. As an example one toilet is a hello kitty toilet, another the new york toilet, and all of them are very very clean! Enough about the fabulous loo's. The only small downside is the location. To be honest I was living in London before I went to Amsterdam, and it took me longer to get to central London than Amsterdam. It is not in the middle of the city though. I could guess that if you planned on partying every night you were there it might be better to stay in the city. For me though the location was great, went into the city in the morning and came back at night (let me clarify it was still only about 15-20 minutes to the city by train). It is also only 2 stops from the airport, so it made my departure the next day super easy. Everyone I meet there, employee or guest, was super nice and friendly. Any and all of my questions were answered honestly and accurately. I didn't have the breakfast, but it really did look like they took great pride and care in making it. I always felt very safe, they even give you a lock and a locker to use for free. All in all a highly recommended hostel, any slight inconvience caused by location is certainly made up for by the hostel and its staff. GREAT value for price, a must stay.

Disliked: The location wasn't perfect, but did not hamper my plans in any way.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NurShuada Azman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 NurShuada would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and characteristic of each rooms and toilet even!

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelle Dias

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Marcelle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was the best hostel I have stayed in. Big lounge room, with tv and a desk computer, kitchen, clean and big bathrooms and toilets. Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The only thing it is a little bit far from the city center. But the metro station is only 5 minutes away!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chiew chin ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 chiew chin would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly staff

Disliked: abit far from city centre.. but is easy to reach by metro

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xizhu zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 xizhu would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel! Clean sheet and friendly staff! Highly recommended.

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were so big and gorgeous, even a little balcony outside. the showers were amazing, clean bathrooms and the beds were amazing! stayed in plenty of hostels before this is one of the best and cheapest.

Disliked: if you are going to amsterdam to party i would only recommend this place at the end of your stay, although close to the train station and easy to get into the centre you are missing the atmosphere that is amsterdam nightlife. the area seemed very industrial, great for a proper traveller not if your there for a party

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and the facilities

Disliked: kind of a long way to the city center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lola Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Lola would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good. Liked it

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Bachurina

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The big room with the screen and movies. Very "girly" atmosphere

Disliked: If you want to explore the center of amsterdam, you need to use transport

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: It was too far from the centre, and it is located in some sort of business area where theres nothing but buildings around. Boring. It was about 10 mins on the metro to the centre (where you wanna be). Last metro is at 12,30am so if you want to stay out and party you hv to catch a taxi back or... pay a night in some hostel to crash! Internet was free but... the girls had no common sense and spent too many time on it. I only got to use it once. Most of the time it was busy or, not working!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Catherine O'Leary

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012

Liked: Clean, quiet, nice common room, nice decorations, friendly staff

Disliked: The internet didn't work and there was only one computer, a lack of atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Women only.

Disliked: Far away from Amsterdam.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Chronopoulou

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: a home away from home. it is so clean you could eat on the floor! super confy beds, great dvd collection and no noises from streets or rude travelers.

Disliked: I can hardly think of anything I didn't like...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly atmosphere at the hostel - chilling on the comfortable couch, the wide selection of DVDs and one of the friendliest hostel owners I've ever met. It's also a great place for female backpackers traveling alone to meet other people and even some travel buddies. Also, excellent location! Very easy to find.

Disliked: Although easy to find, it's a little far from the central train station. I also find that the kitchen is a little small. It can get crowded during busy dinner time. Also, please skip the breakfast - for the price, you can get something better at the nearby KFC.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful! It was raining and they even offered umbrellas to lend. The room was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Although they offer a kitchen for self-service the fridge is so full that it's alsmost impossible to store something in there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PJ Burns

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 PJ would recommend this property

Liked: It's really clean and the rooms were very nice, bright, and well-decorated. Each one had a small balcony that adjoined to the room next to it. There were plenty of showers and toilets, all of which were really clean. The location was great for us - about a 10 minute metro ride into the centre, and Hostelle itself is about a 2 minute walk from the metro stop (through a populated and safe shopping centre).

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ella Hearn

Alone

City break

22 August 2012 ella would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, attractive, Lovely staff, friendly atmosphere, close to Metro and city centre...excellent!

Disliked: ella left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: breakfast not included,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really was amazing, the owner had an incredible attention to detail and it was such a beautiful use of space. It was close to the railway station and the best directions we came across! There was really quirky things about it, a great use of outdoor space with hammocks and chairs etc. Also a very modern kitchen with storage space, lots of DVDs and books, free internet and wonderfully decorated rooms.

Disliked: "Breakfast" was 5 euros for a stale croissant and a refund was refused but we did get a burnt bread roll. Such a beautiful property though, my advice would be to just buy breakfast! Also the windows in the rooms are very small and there is no air con so we had to sleep with the window open with light clothing and no covers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudia castillo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 claudia would recommend this property

Liked: the girly decor nice staff you can purchase tickets to some attractions there they have laundry service for 5euros close to the metro

Disliked: -they need to add more electrical outlets/pulg-ins to the rooms. although it's close to the metro, it's about 15-20 ride to central station, but it's ok not a big deal