HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostelle - Female Only Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Bijlmerplein 395, 1102DK Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 72%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 72%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 83%

Showing 41-50 of 219 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean safe environment for lone travellers. Stylishly decorated and easy directions make it simple to get to and from the Bilmjer Arena station. Staff very friendly and helpful, lots of shops in the area including discount clothes and a couple of supermarkets. Handy swap shop for items no longer needed, film night every Friday for those staying in.

Disliked: Location was about half an hour door to centraal station but that didn't bother me at all, I went out one night and returned about 10pm, I'm not rue I would want to rerun much later than that as area very quiet after the shops close.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very safe with a great community atmosphere!

Disliked: Had some trouble checking in since I got there at 11 and the staff leaves around 9p.m. Got an earful the next morning for sleeping in the wrong bed and not checking in despite having booked and signaled my late arrival ahead of time. There were 3 other girls who came in late as well and had to find a room that was unlocked to sleep in. Also, book the 6 person room instead of the 8 person to avoid terribly uncomfortable beds, no balcony and stuffy overcrowded space.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I liked that it was all women.

Disliked: It was in a questionable area.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's not the cheapest hostel, but the cute factor and design/character definitely trumphs. Every room and even each toilet stall has a theme. The first night we got there, a group of little groups 8-12 yrs old were sitting on the couch in the common area watching Despicable Me, and it was adorable. We were pretty wary of the security, but we were pleasantly surprised. They placed the 6 of us in the same 6-persons room, which we were glad for. We did confirm this beforehand. There is a locker at the bottom of the bunk beds for you to lock your stuff, and you can get a lock from reception. The hostel is in an low-income area, and groceries were cheap. There are probably thefts in the area, as we were required to lock our bags before entering the grocery store. However, we did not meet any overly sketchy/shady people. The kitchen was kept pretty clean, and this is thanks to the staff. You are supposed to clean your own dishes, but not everyone follows through. There is free food left behind from other travellers, so look around before buying your groceries.The beds were clean and comfortable, and there were no bed bugs. They were even better than some of the lower grade hotels we stayed at in Europe. Staff was friendly. We diidn't have the 5-euros breakfast, but there was quite a variety, including croissants, ham, cheese, eggs, pancakes, and toast. Overall, Hostelle offers what it promises.

Disliked: The main thing I disliked was that I had a few cold showers, although this is expected in a hostel, especially during busy times. Our room had one main hanging lamp and two smaller lamps, but the room was quite dark. Also, one night, the staff walk into our room to see if we had an extra lamp, but didn't knock beforehand, and I was in the middle of changing. I found that to be kind of rude. The place was slightly hard to find. We didn't get lost, but we took a sketchier route because we got thrown off by the construction in front of Bijlmer ArenA. Lastly, one of the bunk beds was very squeaky, which woke people up whenever we moved. However, the other beds were fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its as a young and fun atmosphere, very clean

Disliked: nothing I REALLY LIKE IT

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: İt was clean and just for the girls.

Disliked: İnternet was too weak

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: So pretty decorated hostel. So feminine! The building is more like for the office so it has quite large space and open for hostel. Ladies of this hostel are very good people. Especially the owner, she is full of happiness. Convenient location(there are many local shops down the street, train goes to the centre are very often, the airport bus is leaving from near even over the night.) Very relaxing unlike those hostels located in the centre of noisy Amsterdam.

Disliked: The direction is quite exact so if you follow the direction with good attention it would be no problem. But if you are not good with geographical sense like me maybe it would take time a bit to get there.The bedroom(I stayed in the 4people dorm) was quite small and the bed was quite squeaky. So you cant avoid waking others up when you are leaving in the early morning.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great concept in decoration, geared to female interests, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower area always very wet. Soap decanters and paper towels in washroom and showers would be helpful. Towels in washroom unhygienic.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is the cutest hostel I have seen so far! The ambiance and decor are so bright and appealing to women. The bedrooms are gorgeous, complete with chandeliers, and the bathrooms were great and never crowded. I had never stayed in an all-female hostel before and didn't know what to expect, but Hostelle set the bar. It was like a woman's dream—everything was pretty, the chick flick movie collection was unbeatable, the kitchen was organized and stocked with tea and coffee, and the women who worked there were super helpful about everything. The beds are really comfortable too. The location is pretty close to a train and all of the attractions in Amsterdam—bars, museums, etc.—are very easily assessed by subway, tram or bus.

Disliked: The wifi was really sucky.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and enough bathroom, large dorm.

Disliked: Direction is not clear, i passed the building on the first day.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability