HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostelle - Female Only Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 74%

Safety 94%

Staff 82%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.98USD
  • Towel 5.98USD

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 74%

Safety 94%

Staff 82%

Value 90%

Showing 41-50 of 87 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's not the cheapest hostel, but the cute factor and design/character definitely trumphs. Every room and even each toilet stall has a theme. The first night we got there, a group of little groups 8-12 yrs old were sitting on the couch in the common area watching Despicable Me, and it was adorable. We were pretty wary of the security, but we were pleasantly surprised. They placed the 6 of us in the same 6-persons room, which we were glad for. We did confirm this beforehand. There is a locker at the bottom of the bunk beds for you to lock your stuff, and you can get a lock from reception. The hostel is in an low-income area, and groceries were cheap. There are probably thefts in the area, as we were required to lock our bags before entering the grocery store. However, we did not meet any overly sketchy/shady people. The kitchen was kept pretty clean, and this is thanks to the staff. You are supposed to clean your own dishes, but not everyone follows through. There is free food left behind from other travellers, so look around before buying your groceries.The beds were clean and comfortable, and there were no bed bugs. They were even better than some of the lower grade hotels we stayed at in Europe. Staff was friendly. We diidn't have the 5-euros breakfast, but there was quite a variety, including croissants, ham, cheese, eggs, pancakes, and toast. Overall, Hostelle offers what it promises.

Disliked: The main thing I disliked was that I had a few cold showers, although this is expected in a hostel, especially during busy times. Our room had one main hanging lamp and two smaller lamps, but the room was quite dark. Also, one night, the staff walk into our room to see if we had an extra lamp, but didn't knock beforehand, and I was in the middle of changing. I found that to be kind of rude. The place was slightly hard to find. We didn't get lost, but we took a sketchier route because we got thrown off by the construction in front of Bijlmer ArenA. Lastly, one of the bunk beds was very squeaky, which woke people up whenever we moved. However, the other beds were fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its as a young and fun atmosphere, very clean

Disliked: nothing I REALLY LIKE IT

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: İt was clean and just for the girls.

Disliked: İnternet was too weak

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: So pretty decorated hostel. So feminine! The building is more like for the office so it has quite large space and open for hostel. Ladies of this hostel are very good people. Especially the owner, she is full of happiness. Convenient location(there are many local shops down the street, train goes to the centre are very often, the airport bus is leaving from near even over the night.) Very relaxing unlike those hostels located in the centre of noisy Amsterdam.

Disliked: The direction is quite exact so if you follow the direction with good attention it would be no problem. But if you are not good with geographical sense like me maybe it would take time a bit to get there.The bedroom(I stayed in the 4people dorm) was quite small and the bed was quite squeaky. So you cant avoid waking others up when you are leaving in the early morning.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great concept in decoration, geared to female interests, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower area always very wet. Soap decanters and paper towels in washroom and showers would be helpful. Towels in washroom unhygienic.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is the cutest hostel I have seen so far! The ambiance and decor are so bright and appealing to women. The bedrooms are gorgeous, complete with chandeliers, and the bathrooms were great and never crowded. I had never stayed in an all-female hostel before and didn't know what to expect, but Hostelle set the bar. It was like a woman's dream—everything was pretty, the chick flick movie collection was unbeatable, the kitchen was organized and stocked with tea and coffee, and the women who worked there were super helpful about everything. The beds are really comfortable too. The location is pretty close to a train and all of the attractions in Amsterdam—bars, museums, etc.—are very easily assessed by subway, tram or bus.

Disliked: The wifi was really sucky.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and enough bathroom, large dorm.

Disliked: Direction is not clear, i passed the building on the first day.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff, very clean and good value for money. Very spacious rooms.

Disliked: Insufficient storage. Very small locker, in which I found something that looked suspiciously like rat poop.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely staff and nice and quiet for a good night sleep.

Disliked: Really quite far out of the centre and in an office type warehouse so not very traditional!!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All the girls were young and extremely friendly. A lounge and public area where everyone would hang out.

Disliked: Far away from the central of Amsterdam but right next to a train station so not too much of a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability