We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

89.4% Overall Rating

261 out of 276 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2014)

Evelin Kaur thinks…

"I liked it a lot. It is very spacious an has nice interior design. The location is not that bad, if you are willing to travel a bit by metro. The breakfast is 5€ and for that money I think it´s ok,…"

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33
  • Towel USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
12.64 USD

Hostel 68.6% 479 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 65.8% 78 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
20.87 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Hotel Flipper
28.18 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Centraal Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Hotel Max
29.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lucky Lake Hostel
32.89 USD

Hostel 91.2% 245 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

261 out of 276 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 269 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marta Mancini

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, it's very cosy and you feel like you are at your own place. Bedrooms are big enough for the people who are supposed to sleep there and there are small lockers for everyone. The living room is big and you can spend your time there watching one of the many movies they have with the other guests. The kitchen is small, but equipped and there is the possibility to use microwave and fridge. Bathrooms are clean. Receptionists are really nice!

Disliked: Instructions to get to the hotel are pretty clear, but it's not so clear which building the hostel is in. Beds box springs makes an annoying noise during the night when people move inside the bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how relaxing the place was and I felt like I was staying in a hotel rather. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the atmosphere was lovely. It was exactly what I was looking for!

Disliked: We didn't have a lamp just an overhead light which we didn't use so we wouldn't bother our roommates. A lamp was later provided but it should come standard with the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Núbia Cruz

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 November 2012 Núbia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the Hostelle!! Beautiful rooms, people friendly and very security! Its far to the centre but its near the Centraal Station, about 5 stations that mean station the Amsterdan. The prices are very good too!!!

Disliked: I don´t have anything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Petra Holubova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was really nice decorated, clean, 6 dormitories are ok, furniture was new and staff friendly

Disliked: be prepared that some girls may watch Britney Spears movies:))

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, bathrooms and showers. Reliable hot water. Nice staff.

Disliked: Lockers were ok, could be more secure though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is beautiful. Feels like a hotel not a hostel. The staff were so friendly and security is great with 24/7 ground floor reception. It's impeccably clean and spacious. Facilities are great: new and the interior design is very young, cool and girly. And I only paid €10.80.. bargain! Nice hot showers, great selection of DVDs, books and magazines. Can't wait to go back!

Disliked: Nothing.. best hostel I've ever stayed at.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leena Putkonen

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 November 2012 Leena would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely designed, cosy common room, very helpful, professional personnel.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the city centre, but if I were to travel with female friends, I'd still consider staying here. Mostly problematic in the evening when metro stops running, although there are night buses too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV and lounge area...very nice. Great kitchen and vibe to the whole place.

Disliked: Staff wont always has helpful as i would have liked or expected. Breakfest was over priced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rylee Magee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Rylee would recommend this property

Liked: This is the nicest hostel i have ever stayed in. The bathrooms were not only clean and spacious but they were even nicely decorated. I felt that i was a guest in someones home rather than a hostel. We wanted something safe to stay in Amsterdam and found this all female one and took it as our best bet. It is a ways outside the main city but they have easy and cheap public transportation that gets you there in about ten minutes. It is also a safe area of the city right next to the mall and arena. They are in the top floor of a building that has its own security gaurd and you have to sign in when you come and go. Nothing made me feel safer. The girls in my room were very nice and I didnt feel I needed to use the locker locks they gave us at no extra charge. Finally, the rooms were individually locked and nice and clean with the most comfortable beds and warm blanket I have used all trip. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Disliked: They didnt have a check in time listed on the website so when we got there at 11 am we assumed we would be fine to get into our room but they wouldnt be done until 1, it would be nice if they advertised that. But they let us pay and store our stuff and the staff was very good to us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -very clean -modern interieur -seemed quite safe

Disliked: -wifi in our room was really bad -I couldn't move an inch on my bed without it squeaking -not enough power sockets in our 8-bed dorm -it's close to a station which makes it possible to get to the city center in 20 min which is cool, but there's no metro from the city after 24h which makes it hard to discover the Amsterdam nightlife

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so clean and comfortable, definitely the nicest hostel I have been to. It had a kitchen and clean showers, and lits of sinks and plug ins in the bathrooms. The owner is really friendly and so are the staff.

Disliked: It would be nice if breakfast was included, what you get for 5€ isn't worth it. The directions for getting there are faulty. Forget about crossing the bike path, it just means make sure you are on the right side of the road, and instead of turning right right after the overpass, go under the overpass, past the library and go through the first gate you see on the right, there is a sign in the yard and it says Hostelle at the top. I hope this helps as I was really lost. Another thing that would have helped is being told that train 54 doesn't run after 8 from Sunday to Thursday. You need to take another train that connects to 50.....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy, and safe. Also adorable decorations and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: It was far away from the city center and hard to find, so we had to pay for a taxi to get us there. If we had tried to walk there, we would have never found it because it is in an unmarked building!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DR ROHIT GOYAL

Alone

Business / conference

07 October 2012 DR ROHIT would recommend this property

Liked: Its Ambience

Disliked: Its Locker...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was super clean- the kitchen, the bathrooms, the rooms. Also, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was difficult to find the hostel at first.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nicely done up spacious common area, the whole place is full of character!!The atmosphere is very cozy, like your own house, really!!

Disliked: I'd prefer to have more power sockets in the room (only 2 for 4 person room, and it's hiding at a corner) and maybe a small study lamp on the bed. and Yes, maybe mirror in the room too :) The shower needs proper partitions so that at least there would be a dry area to put on clothes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Kubatova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Our sty was amazing! We loved the friendliness of the stuff, the place looks amazing, it is stylish, you have everythink you need there - bathroom, hair dryers, kitchen, microwave, fridge, oven, washing maschine.... internet... everything! really cool place!

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super safe, it's located on the 4th floor of a building which has a 24 hour doorman who watches who comes and goes. The hostel is really clean and the beds are SO comfortable. The rooms are themed and decorated beautifully. It was a nice break from staying in grungy hostels. Big lounge area with TV and heaps of DVDs to watch.

Disliked: REALLY far away from the center - takes about 30mins or MORE to get into downtown Amsterdam. AVOID taking cabs at all costs - they are ridiculously expensive because the hostel is so far away. The metro stops running early, and while there is a night bus is runs something like every hour and is really sketchy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Dobbs

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: So precious! Perfect for an all girls trip! Clean, safe and right next to the stadium!

Disliked: In a slightly sketchy area but we were just three young girls and we were fine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

No first name Rahmadiyanti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 No first name would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is (almost) perfect! I love it! The room is quite spacious, and we get free lock. Toilet and bathroom are very-very nice and very girlie. For example the toilets they designed with different theme. I tried all the toilet (hello kitty, new york, The staffs are warm and friendly. They also have common room that very nice. TV with dvd (many intereting film!), free internet. And the wifi connection is accessible in the room (which is I found rarely in other hostels). It's very safe, because it's only woman/girl who could stay here. And you must registry every enter and out in the security post downstairs. The location maybe is not perfect, but it's only 2 stops from Schiphol airport, and 3 or 4 stops from Amsterdam centraal. So, it's not bother us. The location is also near Lidl, cheap supermarket, some cafe and restaurant. Great value! Highly reccommended!!

Disliked: Nothing :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were so good. Very clean, especially the toilets spacious enough for girls to make up or other things. Staffs were friendly. Quite safe, my friend left her phone there and when we came back, the reception kept it in the safety box & gave it back to her, appreciate that. Location not in the centre but easy to access using metro.

Disliked: Pillows not so comfortable but acceptable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: All female, stylish, clean friendly

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Paul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It was the best hostel I have every stayed at. Never has a hostel been so warm and welcoming. The whole place is cleaner than many hotels I have stayed in, even the bathroom was spotless! Speaking of bathrooms, they could have left them all as drab standard white, but instead the owner has given each homely feel and a different theme. As an example one toilet is a hello kitty toilet, another the new york toilet, and all of them are very very clean! Enough about the fabulous loo's. The only small downside is the location. To be honest I was living in London before I went to Amsterdam, and it took me longer to get to central London than Amsterdam. It is not in the middle of the city though. I could guess that if you planned on partying every night you were there it might be better to stay in the city. For me though the location was great, went into the city in the morning and came back at night (let me clarify it was still only about 15-20 minutes to the city by train). It is also only 2 stops from the airport, so it made my departure the next day super easy. Everyone I meet there, employee or guest, was super nice and friendly. Any and all of my questions were answered honestly and accurately. I didn't have the breakfast, but it really did look like they took great pride and care in making it. I always felt very safe, they even give you a lock and a locker to use for free. All in all a highly recommended hostel, any slight inconvience caused by location is certainly made up for by the hostel and its staff. GREAT value for price, a must stay.

Disliked: The location wasn't perfect, but did not hamper my plans in any way.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NurShuada Azman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 NurShuada would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and characteristic of each rooms and toilet even!

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelle Dias

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Marcelle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was the best hostel I have stayed in. Big lounge room, with tv and a desk computer, kitchen, clean and big bathrooms and toilets. Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The only thing it is a little bit far from the city center. But the metro station is only 5 minutes away!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chiew chin ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 chiew chin would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly staff

Disliked: abit far from city centre.. but is easy to reach by metro