We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

87.5% Overall Rating

276 out of 292 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

Arisa Okuhama thinks…

"To be honest, I was surprised because they're very clean! And i was happy free coffee and tea."

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.52
  • Towel USD 5.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
26.72 USD

Hostel 84.8% 30 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
19.32 USD

Hostel 75.4% 515 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
33.13 USD

Hostel 59.0% 98 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
32.02 USD

Hostel 84.2% 728 reviews
Hotel Flipper
29.57 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.0% 338 reviews
Centraal Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 69.7% 238 reviews
Hotel Max
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Lucky Lake Hostel
34.23 USD

Hostel 91.7% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

276 out of 292 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 285 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was at home. Very clean shower were awesome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe atmosphere with a comfortable lounge with a ton of DVDs! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Annoyingly far from the city center--you have to take a metro or train to get to Centraal Station because you're in this weird area beside the arena that gets pretty ugly if there's a game. Once you get in from a day out in the city, you never really feel like going back out for a night out because it's just such a pain in the neck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresia Lundsgaard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2013 Teresia would recommend this property

Liked: Over all great hostel, clean and cozy!

Disliked: If anything, the length of the beds were a bit short for people above 170cm and the fact that a zink in one of the bathrooms kept flooding.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hui Hong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Hui would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, friendly,handy,safe,clean

Disliked: location is handy by public transport, however travelling fare is kind of costly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petra Kova?ec

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Thumbs up!

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's all girls only

Disliked: It is not in a central location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is clean, friendly and a welcome break from other hostel's. Would highly recommend staying there, even though it's a little way out. What it lacks in location it makes up for in cleanliness and atmosphere!

Disliked: The location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yujia du

Alone

City break

08 April 2013 yujia would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect hostel, everything was so nice and sweet

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had very tasteful and fun decorations. The staff were polite and helpful, and the rooms were clean and had lockers with a lock provided.

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: Warm rooms, hot showers,computer free,TV and all women

Disliked: Lack of supplies for paid breakfast, and inadequate reply to breakfast question, also breakfast were so late didn`t fit early schedule. Shower wall (both sides) loose. No bedside table or bed lamps.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere, staff was great, comfortable bed, the place was clean and nicely furnished.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the town center. 15-20 min metro ride. I did not mind the area, good cheap ethnic food with friendly locals. I would not recommend walking home alone from the Metro late at night, could possibly be unsafe. And most of the travelers whom stayed there were probably not much older then 19 or 20. It was all fairly girly and the squealing was annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice room, friendly stuff, really good for one-night stay.

Disliked: A bit harder to find the entrance but manageable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so nice and helpful. I was able to store food in the kitchen which is unlike many hostel. The staff had a great aray of things to do in the city and a great movie collection in the hostel. Best hostel I have ever stayed at and if I return to Amsterdam I will glladly stay there again!

Disliked: The private bathroom shower flooded.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: security, really nice beds, super helpful staff.

Disliked: Cons: distance from city center... you really do need to take the 20 minute metro ride to do anything. Also, be aware that the atmosphere here is MUCH different than the hostels in the city center. It seems like nobody who was staying here went out after dinner and the whole place was always very quiet. This is not the place for you if you're looking to get the Amsterdam party experience. That being said, it was very appropriate for ladies looking for a low-key and pg-13 rated experience of the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is one of the best hostel I have ever seen. The staff are very helpful. The living standard is good too. The hostel is like a home for girls.

Disliked: The heat water is not stable. I have to wait for 30 minutes to get hot water for bathing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated the friendliness of the staff. The hostel was also quite clean and well kept.

Disliked: I felt a bit like in a sorority house at times (all uni-type young girls there). Also, the beds are quite small (I'm 5.9 and my feet were banging at the end of the bed), and there was no hot water in the showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Selina Wendt

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Selina would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish, friendly and cosy; I really felt at home during my stay in Hostelle. I love that you can watch DVDs if you feel like winding down from the city and there's a small and well equipped kitchen attached to the main lounge/common room area as well as free wireless and a computer with free net access. It's probably the most secure hostel I've been to (if I were a parent, I'd know my daughters are in a safe place in the city of sin!) and nice and warm which was just what I needed from the cokd spell a few days ago.

Disliked: I would recommend this place to most of my friends however, most of the people staying there were a lot younger than me (I'm 29), so this may put older travelers off, but is great for late teens to early twenties. This isn't so much a bad thing.... It just depends on what you're looking for. The location could put people off. It's a 10 minute walk from a station around 15 minutes from Centraal. The area feels quiet late at night and I'm not sure how safe it is (but didn't have any trouble). The bunkbeds in my room didn't feel safe. The ladder was a pain in the backside and it was also very squeaky. Other than that, it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just loved everything in this hostel, will recommend it to everyone :)

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is near a commercial center, there are a lot of services.

Disliked: The location is not so safe if you come back in the night...the quarter is full of people not so nice...Is quite far from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: difficult to find

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Charles

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that you had a code to get into your room & that they provided a locker for you to store your luggage in. The area it is located in was very nice. Get wifi signal in your room even if its very low connection!

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were not always hot

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homey and it was decorated so cute! It was very clean and everyone was very nice! We had Wifi in our rooms and in the reception area, the bed was even more comfortable than my bed in my flat in London (where I am currently studying abroad). This hostel exceeded my expectations in every way and I would definitely recommend this place, especially for the price!! AMAZING!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful and safe place

Disliked: it was a little bit hard to find but if the walking directions from the Metro are updated a little more clealry it's quite easy since it's a straight walk

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever been. Unique design, everything clean, super limitless free internet, Big Tv with a big base of DVDs. Library, magazines on the shelves.Helpful and friendly staff. Secure, safe, next to metro station. next to liddl.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This a really nicely decorated hostel. It's unbelievably clean. And the location was good too. I don't know why other reviewers said of was hard to find. It was so easy. Just go through the green fence right next to the library.

Disliked: I think the hostel could have made more of an effort to bring guests together through activities, which other hostels do really well. It really helps with the atmosphere. At the moment it might not be the best place for a solo traveller wanting to meet people. Just something to consider.