We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

85.3% Overall Rating

283 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

"Clean hostel and its very easy to go to the center by bike or metro. Very safe area."

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.61
  • Towel USD 5.61

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
24.48 USD

Hostel 75.4% 50 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
15.71 USD

Hostel 73.7% 526 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
33.65 USD

Hostel 58.1% 105 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
29.73 USD

Hostel 84.5% 731 reviews
Hotel Flipper
31.62 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.0% 338 reviews
Centraal Hostel
23.56 USD

Hostel 70.6% 244 reviews
Hotel Max
36.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Lucky Lake Hostel
31.41 USD

Hostel 92.0% 247 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

283 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 294 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shuang Liang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Shuang would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean, neat and relaxing

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's for female travellers only so I felt safer and more relaxed. It's very convenient for Schipol airport on the train- 15 minutes costing Euros 8.40 return. The Metro and train station are together and only 6 minutes walk away. A few fast food shops and a Lidl nearby. You could cook in the hostel though the kitchen was very tiny and the fridge was full of stuff.

Disliked: Nothing except one of the washbasin was partially blocked so water drained away slowly but there are at least 3 other toilets and 3 shower rooms to share.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Hetrovicz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This place was super feminine and cute! After walking around all day I would come back here and watch a movie with like 12-15 other girls on the big couch or the surrounding tables while snacking or chatting. It was really comfortable and the price was great for Amsterdam's expensive standards. The rooms were all adorable with their decorations -- the Hello Kitty bathroom stall made me laugh. I loved that it was right next to a shopping center with a Lidl so that I could grab apples or a sandwich or anything! Since the hostel is right near the Amsterdam ArenA, one night during my stay I actually heard Muse playing there and all of the voices singing - it was incredible! :)

Disliked: The hostel was in a bit of an "interesting" neighborhood. Everything was fine during the day, but since I was traveling alone, I decided not to wander at night. Otherwise, no complaints - very happy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Ying Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Wai Ying would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really cosy. Friendly staff. Nice and stylish common area. Clean kitchen with everything you need for cooking. One of the best hostel that i've ever lived. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The hostel is a bit far away from the city centre. Have to take 15 minutes metro to get to the central station.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and it was nice to be with other women travelers. The rooms are spacious and the very clean. They had the most comfortable beds. Free wifi is a plus

Disliked: Although the staff was very nice, they were not too knowledgeable about tourist information. Like the other reviewers have mentioned, the biggest con is the location. It is a 20 minute metro ride from the city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the train. Was very chilled and relaxed. Staff über friendly. Clean. Quiet.

Disliked: Our phone charger was removed from our room. Still hoping it turns up elsewhere in the future. And someone ate a banana which was labelled correctly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was at home. Very clean shower were awesome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe atmosphere with a comfortable lounge with a ton of DVDs! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Annoyingly far from the city center--you have to take a metro or train to get to Centraal Station because you're in this weird area beside the arena that gets pretty ugly if there's a game. Once you get in from a day out in the city, you never really feel like going back out for a night out because it's just such a pain in the neck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresia Lundsgaard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2013 Teresia would recommend this property

Liked: Over all great hostel, clean and cozy!

Disliked: If anything, the length of the beds were a bit short for people above 170cm and the fact that a zink in one of the bathrooms kept flooding.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hui Hong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Hui would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, friendly,handy,safe,clean

Disliked: location is handy by public transport, however travelling fare is kind of costly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petra Kova?ec

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Thumbs up!

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's all girls only

Disliked: It is not in a central location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is clean, friendly and a welcome break from other hostel's. Would highly recommend staying there, even though it's a little way out. What it lacks in location it makes up for in cleanliness and atmosphere!

Disliked: The location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yujia du

Alone

City break

08 April 2013 yujia would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect hostel, everything was so nice and sweet

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had very tasteful and fun decorations. The staff were polite and helpful, and the rooms were clean and had lockers with a lock provided.

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: Warm rooms, hot showers,computer free,TV and all women

Disliked: Lack of supplies for paid breakfast, and inadequate reply to breakfast question, also breakfast were so late didn`t fit early schedule. Shower wall (both sides) loose. No bedside table or bed lamps.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere, staff was great, comfortable bed, the place was clean and nicely furnished.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the town center. 15-20 min metro ride. I did not mind the area, good cheap ethnic food with friendly locals. I would not recommend walking home alone from the Metro late at night, could possibly be unsafe. And most of the travelers whom stayed there were probably not much older then 19 or 20. It was all fairly girly and the squealing was annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice room, friendly stuff, really good for one-night stay.

Disliked: A bit harder to find the entrance but manageable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so nice and helpful. I was able to store food in the kitchen which is unlike many hostel. The staff had a great aray of things to do in the city and a great movie collection in the hostel. Best hostel I have ever stayed at and if I return to Amsterdam I will glladly stay there again!

Disliked: The private bathroom shower flooded.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: security, really nice beds, super helpful staff.

Disliked: Cons: distance from city center... you really do need to take the 20 minute metro ride to do anything. Also, be aware that the atmosphere here is MUCH different than the hostels in the city center. It seems like nobody who was staying here went out after dinner and the whole place was always very quiet. This is not the place for you if you're looking to get the Amsterdam party experience. That being said, it was very appropriate for ladies looking for a low-key and pg-13 rated experience of the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is one of the best hostel I have ever seen. The staff are very helpful. The living standard is good too. The hostel is like a home for girls.

Disliked: The heat water is not stable. I have to wait for 30 minutes to get hot water for bathing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated the friendliness of the staff. The hostel was also quite clean and well kept.

Disliked: I felt a bit like in a sorority house at times (all uni-type young girls there). Also, the beds are quite small (I'm 5.9 and my feet were banging at the end of the bed), and there was no hot water in the showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Selina Wendt

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Selina would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish, friendly and cosy; I really felt at home during my stay in Hostelle. I love that you can watch DVDs if you feel like winding down from the city and there's a small and well equipped kitchen attached to the main lounge/common room area as well as free wireless and a computer with free net access. It's probably the most secure hostel I've been to (if I were a parent, I'd know my daughters are in a safe place in the city of sin!) and nice and warm which was just what I needed from the cokd spell a few days ago.

Disliked: I would recommend this place to most of my friends however, most of the people staying there were a lot younger than me (I'm 29), so this may put older travelers off, but is great for late teens to early twenties. This isn't so much a bad thing.... It just depends on what you're looking for. The location could put people off. It's a 10 minute walk from a station around 15 minutes from Centraal. The area feels quiet late at night and I'm not sure how safe it is (but didn't have any trouble). The bunkbeds in my room didn't feel safe. The ladder was a pain in the backside and it was also very squeaky. Other than that, it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just loved everything in this hostel, will recommend it to everyone :)

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is near a commercial center, there are a lot of services.

Disliked: The location is not so safe if you come back in the night...the quarter is full of people not so nice...Is quite far from the center.