HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

87.8% Overall Rating

234 out of 248 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Sandra Martin thinks…

"Great concept in decoration, geared to female interests, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff."

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.90
  • Towel USD 6.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
17.26 USD

Hostel 77.0% 422 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Oosterpark
27.61 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.68 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
33.55 USD

Hostel 81.0% 689 reviews
Hotel Flipper
33.13 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.0% 323 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.65 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Hotel Max
46.08 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

234 out of 248 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 238 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: Warm rooms, hot showers,computer free,TV and all women

Disliked: Lack of supplies for paid breakfast, and inadequate reply to breakfast question, also breakfast were so late didn`t fit early schedule. Shower wall (both sides) loose. No bedside table or bed lamps.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere, staff was great, comfortable bed, the place was clean and nicely furnished.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the town center. 15-20 min metro ride. I did not mind the area, good cheap ethnic food with friendly locals. I would not recommend walking home alone from the Metro late at night, could possibly be unsafe. And most of the travelers whom stayed there were probably not much older then 19 or 20. It was all fairly girly and the squealing was annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice room, friendly stuff, really good for one-night stay.

Disliked: A bit harder to find the entrance but manageable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so nice and helpful. I was able to store food in the kitchen which is unlike many hostel. The staff had a great aray of things to do in the city and a great movie collection in the hostel. Best hostel I have ever stayed at and if I return to Amsterdam I will glladly stay there again!

Disliked: The private bathroom shower flooded.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: security, really nice beds, super helpful staff.

Disliked: Cons: distance from city center... you really do need to take the 20 minute metro ride to do anything. Also, be aware that the atmosphere here is MUCH different than the hostels in the city center. It seems like nobody who was staying here went out after dinner and the whole place was always very quiet. This is not the place for you if you're looking to get the Amsterdam party experience. That being said, it was very appropriate for ladies looking for a low-key and pg-13 rated experience of the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is one of the best hostel I have ever seen. The staff are very helpful. The living standard is good too. The hostel is like a home for girls.

Disliked: The heat water is not stable. I have to wait for 30 minutes to get hot water for bathing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated the friendliness of the staff. The hostel was also quite clean and well kept.

Disliked: I felt a bit like in a sorority house at times (all uni-type young girls there). Also, the beds are quite small (I'm 5.9 and my feet were banging at the end of the bed), and there was no hot water in the showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Selina Wendt

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Selina would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish, friendly and cosy; I really felt at home during my stay in Hostelle. I love that you can watch DVDs if you feel like winding down from the city and there's a small and well equipped kitchen attached to the main lounge/common room area as well as free wireless and a computer with free net access. It's probably the most secure hostel I've been to (if I were a parent, I'd know my daughters are in a safe place in the city of sin!) and nice and warm which was just what I needed from the cokd spell a few days ago.

Disliked: I would recommend this place to most of my friends however, most of the people staying there were a lot younger than me (I'm 29), so this may put older travelers off, but is great for late teens to early twenties. This isn't so much a bad thing.... It just depends on what you're looking for. The location could put people off. It's a 10 minute walk from a station around 15 minutes from Centraal. The area feels quiet late at night and I'm not sure how safe it is (but didn't have any trouble). The bunkbeds in my room didn't feel safe. The ladder was a pain in the backside and it was also very squeaky. Other than that, it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just loved everything in this hostel, will recommend it to everyone :)

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is near a commercial center, there are a lot of services.

Disliked: The location is not so safe if you come back in the night...the quarter is full of people not so nice...Is quite far from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: difficult to find

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Charles

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that you had a code to get into your room & that they provided a locker for you to store your luggage in. The area it is located in was very nice. Get wifi signal in your room even if its very low connection!

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were not always hot

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homey and it was decorated so cute! It was very clean and everyone was very nice! We had Wifi in our rooms and in the reception area, the bed was even more comfortable than my bed in my flat in London (where I am currently studying abroad). This hostel exceeded my expectations in every way and I would definitely recommend this place, especially for the price!! AMAZING!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful and safe place

Disliked: it was a little bit hard to find but if the walking directions from the Metro are updated a little more clealry it's quite easy since it's a straight walk

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever been. Unique design, everything clean, super limitless free internet, Big Tv with a big base of DVDs. Library, magazines on the shelves.Helpful and friendly staff. Secure, safe, next to metro station. next to liddl.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This a really nicely decorated hostel. It's unbelievably clean. And the location was good too. I don't know why other reviewers said of was hard to find. It was so easy. Just go through the green fence right next to the library.

Disliked: I think the hostel could have made more of an effort to bring guests together through activities, which other hostels do really well. It really helps with the atmosphere. At the moment it might not be the best place for a solo traveller wanting to meet people. Just something to consider.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You feel really secure in Hostelle. Staff is so kind and they give importance to cleaning- as we all wish. To stay only with girls creates warm atmosphere in hostel. There's a common kitchen and area that you can watch movies from a huge dvd collection. It feels like you are at home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Sari

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Great proximity to the Arena, 24 hr service (i was logging in on 2am)

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Megan Cockroft

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big, clean rooms. Great kitchen facilities and communal area. Helpful staff!!

Disliked: It is a wee bit out of town but only 15 minutes on the metro to Central Station so easy to get to.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peta Simmons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Peta would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to relax. There are a lot of great films to watch in the comfy lounge area, a free computer, a kitchen and the whole place is very warm, clean and homely. If you want some down-time and want to see museums this is the perfect place to go.

Disliked: Unfortunately it is far from the city centre, and is in a very unattractive part of town. Public transport is so expensive in Amsterdam that unless your aim is to see mostly museums and relax at the hostel, this is not the place to stay. In winter it was also completely deserted so it was very difficult to meet people, but I'm sure there would be many more in the Summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raechel Wenlock

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 Raechel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with lots of girly home comforts! I travelled alone and enjoyed the atmosphere that Hostelle offered. A great place to relax at the end of a day's sightseeing and to swap stories with your fellow travellers. I would definitely recommend hostelle to any girls wanting a good hostel in Amsterdam.

Disliked: For me there were no real downsides to this hostel. Other reviewers claim it is hard to find, but I found it easily simply by following the directions provided. The hostel is out of the city centre, but in a nice area and only a short train ride away from the main tourist sites.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chang Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Chang would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice hostel .with low money you can still live in a good hostel .

Disliked: It is a little far from the city center,but the transportation is good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elcin Cetin

Alone

City break

25 November 2012 Elcin would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so cute, clean and friendly..i felt so comfortable and i highly recommend this place if you travel alone or with your girlfriends

Disliked: Location may seem a bit far from city center but by train, it is very easy and convenient to go to the city center in 15 min, so no big deal at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and beautiful facilities. Pretty hostel!!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bríde harkin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 bríde would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything! very cosy, nicely decorated, relaxed, nice staff, clean, kitchen, good showers and toilets, free internet (including a main computer). theres a lidl nearby, and shops for basics and a few cafes (not really suitable for vegetarians tho) and a very fancy cinema and large area with bars etc. very close to the train

Disliked: the directions were good on the hostelle site but the last part of finding it, i found it by luck because there isnt a good sign outside. also there is no electrical socket beside the bed, only at the back of the room so charging my phone didnt feel as secure but this is common in other places too. as a lone female traveller i didnt feel very secure in the area after 9pm.