We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

89.8% Overall Rating

268 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

Arisa Okuhama thinks…

"To be honest, I was surprised because they're very clean! And i was happy free coffee and tea."

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.50
  • Towel USD 5.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
25.51 USD

Hostel 86.6% 13 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
11.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 505 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
33.02 USD

Hostel 61.6% 97 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
23.67 USD

Hostel 83.4% 725 reviews
Hotel Flipper
23.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.6% 337 reviews
Centraal Hostel
27.52 USD

Hostel 66.7% 234 reviews
Hotel Max
27.52 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lucky Lake Hostel
30.82 USD

Hostel 91.7% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

268 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 276 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amie Gagnon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: This property was lovely. The directions are accurate, which was nice. It's very close to a stadium, which is where a lot of events happen, though none that I knew of while I stayed there. The rooms each had slightly different themes, and they were all really nicely decorated, with a small balcony outside. It's a bit outside of the city, but there are plenty of shops and a grocery store very close by. If there was a kitchen, I didn't use it, but they do serve breakfast for an extra price, as well as free SIM cards available if you need one, knowledgeable staff and tickets available at the hostel for a variety of things in Amsterdam. Centraal isn't too many stops from the stop for the hostel. The toilets were fine, though there were only three stalls and one sink for at least part of the floor. The showers were nice, both were clean. :) One staff member in particular, who I do not remember the name of, kept me company on my last day while I was killing time: she was extremely friendly and accomodating, and helped me a lot with my questions and things. I wish I had gotten her name, but she was amazing and extremely nice, and she made that day pretty awesome for me. :D Wifi in the rooms as well, though it's obviously strongest in the common room, which was very cool itself, with a flat-screen television, a book exchange, and a dvd collection. Also a computer for use if needed.

Disliked: Possibly just how few toilets there were, though there wasn't ever really an issue with them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very modern and great interior. The staff are extremely helpful~ they lent me a tourist book, give directions, recommendations and when one of our party was ill they got medicines for her and were very worried. They clearly care about their customers. Nice mix of people as well. The hostel is located near a main train/metro station and very accessible.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, the only thing I would suggest is slightly clearer instructions on how to get there. Maybe a few signs pointing the way would be helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mellisa Chitty

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Mellisa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Best so far. Clean tidy. Safe very friendly.

Disliked: Mellisa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The whole concept is nice and the staff was very helpful

Disliked: My room was very small and hot because of the weather, but also because we could not open the window, even partially. They put a fan on but it really worked on one corner of the room. The room was basically a corridor with 2 bunkbeds, so the space was very limited and the lockers are not big enough for luggage only valuables

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irna Anguiano

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 July 2013 Irna would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration, cleanless, female athmosphere, supermarket near by.

Disliked: A bit far from city center, neighborhood might be a little weird :S but still safe. A bike rental in the hostel could be nice.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

18 July 2013

Liked: nice design, friendly staff

Disliked: - awful location, it costs more than 4€ per day to get to the city centre and takes 30mins, difficult to impossible to get back after midnight - bathrooms and toilets are often very dirty, clogged up sinks were neither cleaned nor fixed within 2 weeks - bathroom lights haven't been fixed for over 2 weeks, leaving one bathroom completely dark and thus unusable - internet is limited to those rooms close to the reception area - bunk beds are very unstable and it's difficult to dangerous to get on the upper bed - small rooms, little space for bags or suitcases - no keys needed to get into the hostel at any time, nobody at reception after 10pm - everybody could walk in, thus very insecure - breakfast from 8.30 am, way too late for those travelling through (not to mention too expensive) - laundry 5€ and not even a drying rack available

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really friendly and I got to talk to many interesting people.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the center, but I have seen worse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirstin Benade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kirstin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely lovely. Gave me great instructions on how to get to various places. Always happy to have a chat with you if you were sitting in the reception area.

Disliked: Not much. Could put slightly brighter lights in the rooms and kitchen. That's really the only suggestion I have. I loved staying at Hostelle!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Milne

Alone

Events / festivals

16 July 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It looks amazing, really modern and fresh, lovely rooms with only 4 beds and exceptionally clean. Very helpful, patient staff

Disliked: It is very far from the centre, fine when you are coming from the airport as you can go straight there, but if you wanted to see more of Amsterdam it takes a while on the metro and then bus to get in. No staff on duty in the evening although the caretaker for the whole building downstairs was more than helpful :-) and knew I was arriving

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, communal area and kitchen. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Bit far out of town, took 30 minutes on public transport. Only downside

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: girls allowed only

Disliked: nobody cares about noices at the corridor. some ladies were super loud and stuff did not wish to tell them to be quite. no respect for guests whowanted to sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel once your in it, feels very safe and ha a relaxed atmosphere. Very clean. Comfy beds!

Disliked: The location of the hostel is pretty far out and we found out that the area isn't a very safe one. We didn't run into any trouble though. The breakfast wasn't really value for money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It provides privacy and security. And the staffs are all friendly and smile to us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely decorated interior, friendly staff, well accessible by metro, lockers with keys provided.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013

Liked: In general the place was clean.

Disliked: The internet connection wasn't working properly. I've informed then one day and then the other still the same. I didn't like the lockers, they were very small and fragile.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shuang Liang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Shuang would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean, neat and relaxing

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's for female travellers only so I felt safer and more relaxed. It's very convenient for Schipol airport on the train- 15 minutes costing Euros 8.40 return. The Metro and train station are together and only 6 minutes walk away. A few fast food shops and a Lidl nearby. You could cook in the hostel though the kitchen was very tiny and the fridge was full of stuff.

Disliked: Nothing except one of the washbasin was partially blocked so water drained away slowly but there are at least 3 other toilets and 3 shower rooms to share.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Hetrovicz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This place was super feminine and cute! After walking around all day I would come back here and watch a movie with like 12-15 other girls on the big couch or the surrounding tables while snacking or chatting. It was really comfortable and the price was great for Amsterdam's expensive standards. The rooms were all adorable with their decorations -- the Hello Kitty bathroom stall made me laugh. I loved that it was right next to a shopping center with a Lidl so that I could grab apples or a sandwich or anything! Since the hostel is right near the Amsterdam ArenA, one night during my stay I actually heard Muse playing there and all of the voices singing - it was incredible! :)

Disliked: The hostel was in a bit of an "interesting" neighborhood. Everything was fine during the day, but since I was traveling alone, I decided not to wander at night. Otherwise, no complaints - very happy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Ying Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Wai Ying would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really cosy. Friendly staff. Nice and stylish common area. Clean kitchen with everything you need for cooking. One of the best hostel that i've ever lived. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The hostel is a bit far away from the city centre. Have to take 15 minutes metro to get to the central station.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and it was nice to be with other women travelers. The rooms are spacious and the very clean. They had the most comfortable beds. Free wifi is a plus

Disliked: Although the staff was very nice, they were not too knowledgeable about tourist information. Like the other reviewers have mentioned, the biggest con is the location. It is a 20 minute metro ride from the city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the train. Was very chilled and relaxed. Staff über friendly. Clean. Quiet.

Disliked: Our phone charger was removed from our room. Still hoping it turns up elsewhere in the future. And someone ate a banana which was labelled correctly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was at home. Very clean shower were awesome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe atmosphere with a comfortable lounge with a ton of DVDs! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Annoyingly far from the city center--you have to take a metro or train to get to Centraal Station because you're in this weird area beside the arena that gets pretty ugly if there's a game. Once you get in from a day out in the city, you never really feel like going back out for a night out because it's just such a pain in the neck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresia Lundsgaard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2013 Teresia would recommend this property

Liked: Over all great hostel, clean and cozy!

Disliked: If anything, the length of the beds were a bit short for people above 170cm and the fact that a zink in one of the bathrooms kept flooding.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hui Hong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Hui would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, friendly,handy,safe,clean

Disliked: location is handy by public transport, however travelling fare is kind of costly.