We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelle Female Hostel

Hostel | Frankemaheerd 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1102 AN

89.8% Overall Rating

268 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

Arisa Okuhama thinks…

"To be honest, I was surprised because they're very clean! And i was happy free coffee and tea."

Read all Hostelle Female Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.50
  • Towel USD 5.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Female only Hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
25.51 USD

Hostel 86.6% 13 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
11.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 505 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
33.02 USD

Hostel 61.6% 97 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
23.67 USD

Hostel 83.4% 725 reviews
Hotel Flipper
23.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.6% 337 reviews
Centraal Hostel
27.52 USD

Hostel 66.7% 234 reviews
Hotel Max
27.52 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lucky Lake Hostel
30.82 USD

Hostel 91.7% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

268 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelle Female Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 276 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was all women.

Disliked: It was in a questionable area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yuki abe

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 April 2014 yuki would recommend this property

Liked: So pretty decorated hostel. So feminine! The building is more like for the office so it has quite large space and open for hostel. Ladies of this hostel are very good people. Especially the owner, she is full of happiness. Convenient location(there are many local shops down the street, train goes to the centre are very often, the airport bus is leaving from near even over the night.) Very relaxing unlike those hostels located in the centre of noisy Amsterdam.

Disliked: The direction is quite exact so if you follow the direction with good attention it would be no problem. But if you are not good with geographical sense like me maybe it would take time a bit to get there. The bedroom(I stayed in the 4people dorm) was quite small and the bed was quite squeaky. So you cant avoid waking others up when you are leaving in the early morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

almog lang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 almog would recommend this property

Liked: its as a young and fun atmosphere, very clean

Disliked: nothing I REALLY LIKE IT

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Whitney Teal

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cutest hostel I have seen so far! The ambiance and decor are so bright and appealing to women. The bedrooms are gorgeous, complete with chandeliers, and the bathrooms were great and never crowded. I had never stayed in an all-female hostel before and didn't know what to expect, but Hostelle set the bar. It was like a woman's dream—everything was pretty, the chick flick movie collection was unbeatable, the kitchen was organized and stocked with tea and coffee, and the women who worked there were super helpful about everything. The beds are really comfortable too. The location is pretty close to a train and all of the attractions in Amsterdam—bars, museums, etc.—are very easily assessed by subway, tram or bus.

Disliked: The wifi was really sucky.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: İt was clean and just for the girls.

Disliked: İnternet was too weak

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sandra Martin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great concept in decoration, geared to female interests, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower area always very wet. Soap decanters and paper towels in washroom and showers would be helpful. Towels in washroom unhygienic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and enough bathroom, large dorm.

Disliked: Direction is not clear, i passed the building on the first day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hye mi kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 hye mi would recommend this property

Liked: 깨끗하고 안전한 위치!

Disliked: 중앙역에서 걸어갈수 없기에 따로 시내교통티켓이 필요하다

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very clean and good value for money. Very spacious rooms.

Disliked: Insufficient storage. Very small locker, in which I found something that looked suspiciously like rat poop.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

susan byrne

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 susan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and nice and quiet for a good night sleep.

Disliked: Really quite far out of the centre and in an office type warehouse so not very traditional!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the girls were young and extremely friendly. A lounge and public area where everyone would hang out.

Disliked: Far away from the central of Amsterdam but right next to a train station so not too much of a problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt very homey, comfortable, and welcoming.

Disliked: There was a woman in my room that moved my belongings around, physically shook me awake several times a night, and followed a friend and I around the hostel. She was much older (~50/60) and this was uncomfortable for us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful. They were very helpful and kind.

Disliked: I wished the changing areas in the showers were bigger.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ellie robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Female atmosphere was cute and cosy

Disliked: Quite fair from centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Hostel! Takes about 30 mins to get into the centre but it's super easy to get to. Also the night bus 355 (I think) stops just by the hostel which is super useful. The staff are also super nice and helpful. The hostel is very clean :) Would definitely recommend it and stay there again!. It is also super good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Natalia Nugraheni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: since it's a place only for women so i felt more comfortable and i like the facilities too..

Disliked: the hot water will be turn off at 10 p.m. so when i came late, i got a cold water for shower. the location on one side is nice because it's not crowded and had a nice atmosphere but on the other side it's just quite far from city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tammi LeShore

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Tammi would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff are courteous, knowledgeable, and willing to go the extra mile without being unauthentic. Due to a mix-up, I booked a stay here for myself and my 10-year-old daughter. What I didn't realize is that children under 18 are not allowed. The owner pulled me to the side, informed me of this and not only allowed us to stay, but made our stay more than welcoming. The dormitory in which we stayed was small but more than sufficient.

Disliked: My only "complaint" would be the very squeaky door for dorm room 4; whenever you enter, it makes the most obnoxious whiny noise (at 3 in the afternoon you can ignore the noise, at 4 in the morning when you're trying to sleep though, it's pretty hard to ignore). Nevertheless, this is easily remedied and waking up to beautiful wall decor and a glass chandelier will mute out the creak. Thank you Hostelle for making my stay enjoyable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tiina Lankinen

Alone

City break

12 February 2014 Tiina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and eager to help me. Peaceful atmosphere, nice place to stay. Cheap supermarket next door, close to the train/metro/bus station.

Disliked: Kitchen is really small and doesn't have enough space for storing your food. Also the dining area is very narrow. Breakfast is not worth of the price. Hard - but not impossible, you can catch quite expensive bus - to get back from the city center at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that this hostel was nice and clean. Beautifully catered for the travelling woman

Disliked: Only downside being its location from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasha Love

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: It has a warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere which feels a lot like home. Perfect to come back to after a busy day out and about in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nana Ishihara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 November 2013 Nana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean & felt safe. They had plenty of showers and bathrooms so there was never a wait. The kitchen was very nice. The living room/lobby area was spacious & they had a ton of movies you could watch.

Disliked: It was a bit far away from the city center & it's about a 10-15 walk to the train station.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2013

Liked: Athmosphere

Disliked: They have had mice at the time I've been there. They have destroyed my luggage over night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Di Donato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was adorable :)

Disliked: Nothing really! Maybe the location to the centre but there was a shopping mall right outside with a lidl so no real issue. Just 15 mins in the subway to central station.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, safe, and pleasant. Everything is in working order.

Disliked: It is a bit outside the city, but easily accessible by metro. It was a bit hard to find, but there are good instructions and pictures indicating how to get to the hostel from the train station on the website.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful! I wish I could have stayed there for weeks on end.

Disliked: The location was a bit out of the way, but I never felt unsafe.