HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West Amsterdam Hostel

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 79%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.60USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.

Check-in from 15:00
Check out 10:00
Cancellation policy is 24 hrs in advance

We accept payment by VISA, MASTER, EC Maestro, Cash, Transfer.

Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

27.04.2016 - 01.05.2016
08.09.2016 - 13.09.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation.
In case of cancellation from 0-21 days prior arrival we do also charge the credit card with 100 % of the whole amount. The credit card will be charged 20 prior arrival and the amount is not refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

09.02.2016 - 13.02.2016
25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.04.2016 - 08.04.2016
13.05.2016 - 17.05.2016

0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation.
In case of cancellation from 0-6 days prior arrival we do also charge the credit card with 100 % of the whole amount. The credit card will be charged 6 prior arrival and the amount is not refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

****************

For bookings of several beds in dorms, we do not guarantee accommodation in the same room.


BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE

cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon
total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A
reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the
agreed-upon total price applies.

- 5% City tax (is displayed on the confirmation email in total amount)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 79%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 172 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: the Helpfulness of the stuff and location between city center and airport

Disliked: luggage room so easy any body could take what ever he want's once he has the luggage paper

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Near to the station, clean atmosphere and other room-mates are friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Near to train station

Disliked: No cages or restaurants around the area . Difficult to find food Kitchen not well equipped .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Sloterdijk or City West is a great location only few minutes from Amsterdam central by train and is a major junction to get a train to other parts of the Netherlands. Comfortable clean beds, shower gel/towels/hairdryer provided. Rooms modern and clean and plenty of space. Nice bar to relax in. great staff. My second time I stayed here would also recommend the Meininger in Berlin-Prenzlaurberg.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very clean and right next to train station.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Scam, the location is NOT near central station as it was described, i had to pay €100 for another location near the central station

Disliked: Scam, the location is NOT near central station as it was described, i had to pay €100 for another location near the central station

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Good

Disliked: Botina

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We appreciate it a lot and we wish you alle the best! Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing around the hostel, just a small supermarket and a train station

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thanks for your nice review. We would be happy to see you back in one of our hotels another time again.

All the best,

Meininger team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was a bit pricy.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: That instead of a seven bedroom they give you a 3 person bedroom and they have a guest kitchen.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't clean. There wasn't much of an atmosphere that I got here. I feel like other hostels have much better activities and space.


The property's response is

It looked clean but wasn't actually clean.

Check Availability