We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Hostel | Orlyplein 1 - 67, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1043

83.8% Overall Rating

328 out of 357 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"The facilities are top notch. Everything in the room was very nice and modern and clean. I had a single room for myself and it was basically a tiny hotel room.."

Read all MEININGER Amsterdam City West reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE CXL 7 Rooms: Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. CXL 21 Rooms: Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival: a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full. Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival. 2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies. The parking spaces are subject to availability and it is not possible to make reservations for this.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Slotania
19.15 USD

Hostel 69.1% 2051 reviews
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
47.87 USD

Hotel 82.9% 3 reviews
Shelter Jordan
36.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Floating Hostel
84.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Mosaic
73.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Budget Hostel Princess
19.15 USD

Hostel 62.6% 33 reviews
Hotel Blyss
56.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
33.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

328 out of 357 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Amsterdam City West'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 226 of 349 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana lucia vargas sandoval

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

03 September 2015 ana lucia would recommend this property

Liked: awesome for the price! it's like a hotel!

Disliked: ana lucia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Room, clean Bathroom People and Service are very handsome and friendly

Disliked: No window to open in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015

Liked: The facilities are top notch. Everything in the room was very nice and modern and clean. I had a single room for myself and it was basically a tiny hotel room..

Disliked: Make no mistake - this is a hotel, not a hostel. I'm guessing it would be a good place if you were traveling in a group, but it's not a good place for solo travelers. It's very difficult to meet people here. If you are looking to meet people, I wouldn't recommend this place at all. If you aren't, it's definitely a solid choice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 깨끗한 방,매일 청소,에어컨

Disliked: 샤워부스 물내림이 느림

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Brais Sioui

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2015 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: The staff do want to help

Disliked: It's a little bit far from the city centre

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015

Liked: It was close to the bus stop

Disliked: A lot, mostly staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Anthony

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: it is so cool inside.. they have a good ventilation system

Disliked: little cramp and crowded

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Calum Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2015 Calum would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, easy access transport and very safe. Even ordered pizza for us.

Disliked: It isn't in the centre but still close

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rishika Rupam

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2015 Rishika would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable. Great breakfast.

Disliked: My family and I requested to be put in the same room, but this was not fulfilled as they had the wrong information that I requested for a female only dorm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siddharth Priya

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Siddharth would recommend this property

Liked: Well maintained.

Disliked: Siddharth left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lynessa Austen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2015 Lynessa would recommend this property

Liked: Becaus I was unable. To use. A top bunk in my 6bed room due to difficulty in climbing up and down the reception staff did their utmost to find me a non-bunk bed for each of my 3 nights their though the task was not easy for them. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: Some of the guests were poor in manners and rowdy and rude children were not well supervised by those in their charge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was definitely a hotel not a hostel, which meant it was very nice and clean and looked great, but also that it was harder to meet people. If you're looking for the real hostel experience, book elsewhere. If you are looking for a nice, modern hotel, book here. Right beside a big train station that gets to the center of town in about 10 minutes--very convenient.

Disliked: Don't plan to do any laundry! The whole building has one washer and one dryer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Weller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2015 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and convenient for transit and bicycles. The staff were very helpful with all my queries!

Disliked: The common area could have had more character and some comfy couches. A few of us were looking for games one night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Emilie Holland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2015 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, fun atmosphere, great pool / rooftop

Disliked: Dirty facilities, hot rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean great location only one train stop from central station good atmosphere nice place

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015

Liked: Breakfast very good, friendly service.

Disliked: Horrible price for a coffin-like single room (88,00€!!!). This should not be allowed. If I had known the size of this extremely expensive single room, I would definitely NOT have booked Meininger. In addition: I had to bring my own towels. Remember: The teachers are the ones that book a hostel for a large group (in my case 26 students!).. and have to pay more than double of the amount students pay. Is this good marketing? On arrival times of several groups (Monday afternoon esp.) reception is overcrowded, staff can't manage. It's simply annoying to have to wait for almost 2 hours - esp. with a large group.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Potter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely accommodating and helped out with every problem we had! The tram ride in, whilst slightly long (10 mins top), was very simple and took us straight to Vondlepark and the Rijksmusuem! The beds and rooms were really clean and the train station next door! Over all I'd say it's a perfect place to stay for a casual break to Amsterdam with friends or family!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Wong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: We had a 4-bed with a bathroom and were so surprised - it was HUGE! And very new. The bathroom was massive and very clean. Definitely the nicest hostel we have stayed in on our trip to Europe. The linens were nice and the beds were comfy, AND there are lights and plugs for every bed with USB ports - awesome. We didn't buy breakfast but it looked like a nice spread. Wifi was great for the most part and reached our room on the 3rd floor, but the place is massive so I'm sure they have good reception everywhere.

Disliked: Location was outside of the center but it's right beside Sloterdijk station and Amsterdam is so easy to get around that it wasn't a big deal. It was one train stop from Centraal station or a >20 minute bus ride, and from there you can literally walk (or bike) anywhere. The hostel only had one washer and dryer for the whole place, which is kind of odd considering its size.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and polite. Some of the best hostel staff I've interacted with. The hotel also has new and clean grounds.

Disliked: The location is not ideal. You must take a 30 bus or tram ride to reach anything you'd like to see during your trip. There are no supermarkets nearby and only one restaurant and Starbucks. The property houses a lot of guests and there is not a lot of common space considering the number of guests.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, very clean. Breakfast was brilliant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Bashaar Gorgees

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015 Bashaar would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing. Would I stay here again? Yes I would.

Disliked: Wanted to extend my stay by one night, took me 3 different visits to the desk. Apparently, they're busy or doing some admin tasks and to come back later. Place is generally clean, except for the room floors, they don't seem to be mopped or cleaned regularly, some surface tops had same problem - dusty.. I stayed in two different rooms and both had same problem.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and fresh everything looked new!

Disliked: It was quite far from the city centre which was annoying after 12am as trams stopped.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aaron Sather

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2015 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Only issue was the constant snoring of a bunkmate, but you can't prevent that :)

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really fantastic hostel stay experience. I like this hostel so much, it's really modern, clean, functional. Every staff which I met is so kind, the location is also good, by walking two minutes to the nearest train station and metro station, you can get reach the city center really fast through metro or train without any problem. Anyway, I will still choose to stay here again when visiting Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Horsburgh

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: spotlessly clean and fresh. it looks like a brand new hotel. the breakfast was amazing, so much on offer and work paying a bit extra for. its not central but u only have to go one stop on the train so its not so bad

Disliked: didnt dislike anything i had a great stay here. one of the best hostels iv been to

The property's response is...