HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Hostel | Orlyplein 1 - 67, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1043

85.1% Overall Rating

219 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

"The bathroom in the single room was nice. I liked the separation of shower and bathroom in the dorm room. i also liked the TV."

Read all MEININGER Amsterdam City West reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE

CXL 7 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.
Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.
The parking spaces are subject to availability and it is not possible to make reservations for this.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Slotania
25.70 USD

Hostel 71.9% 1944 reviews
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
135.26 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Floating Hostel
67.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pouwel Jonas
27.05 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Mosaic
338.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.96 USD

Guesthouse 49.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Abba
45.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 12 reviews
Hotel Blyss
52.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

218 out of 236 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Amsterdam City West'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 230 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Alexander

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and character Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, new, good facilities.

Disliked: slightly far from city centre

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Esmay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and newly updated with friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Gabrielle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom in the single room was nice. I liked the separation of shower and bathroom in the dorm room. i also liked the TV.

Disliked: Single room was too small, no wifi, not much variety at breakfast, left a pair of cheap shorts in my single room before swapping over to a dorm and nobody bothered to let me know. So cleaners either threw away or stole. Location was too far for price, Construction work on the walk to the hotel, too many young people, not enough free facilities like towels in dorm room, no lounging area, no free computers, no food for dinner, no closeby supermarket. Not enough channels on TV-sometimes remote didn't work.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Views

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasan Ansari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Sasan would recommend this property

Liked: great chain. will pick it over others when they are in a city I am going to.

Disliked: Sasan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2014

Liked: I liked that it was clean and spacious.

Disliked: It was too expensive for the location and the services offered. For that price, there should really be breakfast included and exceptional service. It was more expensive than many of the hostels closer into town. Furthermore, I made a mistake on my initial booking, and when I emailed to point out the mistake within 24 hours and request that my penalty be reduced since I had booked so recently, there was no compensation on the part of the hostel. Other properties have been more accommodating and this seems like poor business policy.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is clean, staff are nice. The bedroom is pretty good, big, clean... The bathroom is good

Disliked: Everything good

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is new, modern and clean. While essentially a hotel, there's also a hostel atmosphere in parts - the best of both worlds. Without exception, staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The property is just outside Amsterdam. While it's a cheap and simple five-minute train ride to Amsterdam Centraal (24-hour trains) it's a little away from the action and there's little atmosphere day or night.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Galletti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel it was a nice change of pace in between our hostel stays across Europe.

Disliked: Breakfast should have been included and not cost extra.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: No one around, pretty lonely

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

odafe okweni

Alone

Business / conference

03 June 2014 odafe would recommend this property

Liked: beds good.. toilets bathroom very clean...clean air..friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great with easy access to the airport and city centre. The property is very tidy and well staffed, and the facilities are very good. The reception is 24/7 which is ideal for providing assistance to guests who go onto party late nights.

Disliked: My bed was not sorted before my arrival.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Magdalena Correa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked cleanliness. The staff is very worried about that matter. Also the breakfast is a must have. It's a very varied buffet. Also they have a safe but you have to pay.

Disliked: Location is very bad. Nothing interesting in the surroundings, not even a supermarket. It's the classical industrial neighbourhood full of hotels and with a big motorway as a landscape. Nevertheless I knew beforehand this situation because it was properly described through others'sreviews on hostelbookers so I decided t stay here anyway.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms - like a hotel. Excellent showers. Extensive kitchen and washing facilities. The breakfast is 5.90 which I thought was expensive but from what I saw it looked quite good.

Disliked: Location - easy train ride but not walking distance to city centre.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tammy McMannon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Tammy would recommend this property

Liked: Classified as hostel... We had a private room with a bunk bed and 2 twin beds to form a big bed. Bathroom was private, also. Sink, toilet, and shower all separate. Towels were provided, cheap hand and body soap also provided. Can fit 4 people in this room. Children friendly, no age limit. About 3 miles away from the center, but it is right next to train station. Parking was available, but only until 0900 the next day. Not sure how parking works if you stay more than 1 night. Nice bar downstairs with chairs and sofas to lounge. Goose all table and TVs also in that area. Also the same area they have breakfast for about 8€. Breakfast includes typical European food: Bread/rolls, cheese, deli meat, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled egg (not recommended, tastes and looks weird), orange juice, milk, and coffee.

Disliked: Sheets were provided. Not sure how often they were changed. There was a weird stain on one bed and the top bunk bed was not made. Showers were clean, but I wore shower shoes to be safe.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable stay, great buffet breakfast on offer.

Disliked: location was not ideal for what we were after, although it was only a short bus ride to town.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was lovely and the rooms clean and in good condition. The communal room was great and most of all the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were a little confused about where the entrance was at dirst

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms, they were nice and clean, close to trainstaion.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean showers and washrooms, spacious rooms with a variety of bunkbeds and single beds. Liked the little shelf and power socket at the side of every bed.

Disliked: Wifi was terrible in the rooms. Also, it's not a complaint exactly, but just a note that the shower of the room I was in had a large door that swung inward into the shower stall and I had a hard time squeezing in and out before and after using it. I could only imagine how hard it was for the bigger guys I was staying with to use the shower.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station and near downtown as well as the central part of the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff and breakfast were good!

Disliked: The location and didnt appear like a true hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Subramania Swamy Karthikeyan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Subramania Swamy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly. Very close to airport and city by train.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...