HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West Amsterdam

Hostel

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.90EUR

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE

CXL 7 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

For bookings of several beds in dorms, we do not guarantee accommodation in the same room.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.
Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

The parking spaces are subject to availability and it is not possible to make reservations for this.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 183 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Good

Disliked: Botina

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We appreciate it a lot and we wish you alle the best! Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing around the hostel, just a small supermarket and a train station

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thanks for your nice review. We would be happy to see you back in one of our hotels another time again.

All the best,

Meininger team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was a bit pricy.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: That instead of a seven bedroom they give you a 3 person bedroom and they have a guest kitchen.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't clean. There wasn't much of an atmosphere that I got here. I feel like other hostels have much better activities and space.


The property's response is

It looked clean but wasn't actually clean.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Personal staff very friendly and aporoachable , it's worth to stay here , very clean , all are modern equiptment, Wifi very clear , breakfast all you can eat big Sortiment of foods ,& very accessable anywhere you go , and for the Bus traveler, going to European neighboring country's us only 2 minutes the Fkexbus .At the reception the staff are very friendly and kept on smiling .The accomodation is cheaper comparing to the other Hotel.

Disliked: My mind is positive ..I come again

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it´s very spacious, modern and clean

Disliked: i´m not too sure but 3pm for check in is a little late. But i understand that the cleaning staff has many many rooms to clean up - so everything ok ;)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Ina,

What I kind feedback, Thanks a lot. Hope to see you back again. All the best to you!

Meininger team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the train station, nice rooms, bar downstairs, very nice staff

Disliked: A little far from the center, but it's an easy train ride

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Allyson,

Great to hear that you had such a nice stay with Meininger in Amsterdam. I will forward your compliments about our staff members.

We hope to see you back another time!

All the best,

Meininger team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is very near to the Sloterdijk station, while this station also is the hub for traveling to the other cities, comparing to the central station.

Disliked: It is very crowded in the morning and evening, especially in the weekend.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Nuttorn,

First of all, many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We are happy to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient. The hotel is indeed quite busy and we understand that it depends on the guest it expectations and wishes if they like this or not.

We hope that you liked the city of Amsterdam.

All the best,

The Meininger team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything great! Thank you!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Evelyn, Thanks a lot for your kind words. Hopefully we can welcome you back another time again! All the best, Meininger team

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Its a good hostel, organized and clean!

Disliked: Its far from the city center

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. All the best and hopefully we can welcome you back again.

Check Availability