HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Hostel | Orlyplein 1 - 67, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1043

84.9% Overall Rating

223 out of 242 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Clean and tidy, lovely modern bathroom with large shower, lifts provided for access to other floors, very friendly and helpful staff."

Read all MEININGER Amsterdam City West reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.58

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE

CXL 7 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.
Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.
The parking spaces are subject to availability and it is not possible to make reservations for this.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Slotania
25.46 USD

Hostel 68.3% 1953 reviews
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
133.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Floating Hostel
66.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pouwel Jonas
26.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Mosaic
334.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.54 USD

Guesthouse 49.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Abba
44.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.7% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

223 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Amsterdam City West'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 237 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, friendly stuff, free luggage Storage

Disliked: Using bathroom facilities in 7 bed dorm was very noisy becuse everone arrived at different times, room floor was Not clean and Internet didn t work very well

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014

Liked: As clean and professional as I've learned to expect from Meininger

Disliked: Only thing within walking distance is the train station, and public transport in Amsterdam is confusing and expensive. Guest kitchen is minuscule for the number of guests (it's normal to queue for the sink), and at breakfast time they take all the bowls and spoons out of the guest kitchen for the buffet. When I was there, the laundry facilities were out of order.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, lovely modern bathroom with large shower, lifts provided for access to other floors, very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Location wasn't ideal; right next to a train station and about 5-10 minutes tram and train journey from the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was especially spacious. It is good to have a flat bed to myself!

Disliked: Location is a little out of the door. You can take tram 12 to go the Van Gogh museum.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Breanna Hassall

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2014 Breanna would recommend this property

Liked: The property was more of a hotel vibe than hostel, but it was great clean, nice, safe and right next to a train staion. It wasn't in the centre of Amsterdam but it's only a few stops away from the centre. The staff were really lovely and helpful, I felt safe and the downstairs has a bar/cafe which was nice.

Disliked: I wouldn't stay here if I was travelling alone. There's not really the atmosphere to meet new people and if you're wanting to go into the centre of town at night then travelling back alone on the train is not ideal. It's not unsafe, but being in dark places alone at night is just not fun. I was in a group and it was perfect for what we needed, but I ususally travel alone and wouldn't stay here if I came back to Amsterdam alone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Alexander

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and character Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, new, good facilities.

Disliked: slightly far from city centre

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Esmay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and newly updated with friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Gabrielle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom in the single room was nice. I liked the separation of shower and bathroom in the dorm room. i also liked the TV.

Disliked: Single room was too small, no wifi, not much variety at breakfast, left a pair of cheap shorts in my single room before swapping over to a dorm and nobody bothered to let me know. So cleaners either threw away or stole. Location was too far for price, Construction work on the walk to the hotel, too many young people, not enough free facilities like towels in dorm room, no lounging area, no free computers, no food for dinner, no closeby supermarket. Not enough channels on TV-sometimes remote didn't work.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Views

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasan Ansari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Sasan would recommend this property

Liked: great chain. will pick it over others when they are in a city I am going to.

Disliked: Sasan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2014

Liked: I liked that it was clean and spacious.

Disliked: It was too expensive for the location and the services offered. For that price, there should really be breakfast included and exceptional service. It was more expensive than many of the hostels closer into town. Furthermore, I made a mistake on my initial booking, and when I emailed to point out the mistake within 24 hours and request that my penalty be reduced since I had booked so recently, there was no compensation on the part of the hostel. Other properties have been more accommodating and this seems like poor business policy.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is clean, staff are nice. The bedroom is pretty good, big, clean... The bathroom is good

Disliked: Everything good

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is new, modern and clean. While essentially a hotel, there's also a hostel atmosphere in parts - the best of both worlds. Without exception, staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The property is just outside Amsterdam. While it's a cheap and simple five-minute train ride to Amsterdam Centraal (24-hour trains) it's a little away from the action and there's little atmosphere day or night.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Galletti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel it was a nice change of pace in between our hostel stays across Europe.

Disliked: Breakfast should have been included and not cost extra.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: No one around, pretty lonely

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

odafe okweni

Alone

Business / conference

03 June 2014 odafe would recommend this property

Liked: beds good.. toilets bathroom very clean...clean air..friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great with easy access to the airport and city centre. The property is very tidy and well staffed, and the facilities are very good. The reception is 24/7 which is ideal for providing assistance to guests who go onto party late nights.

Disliked: My bed was not sorted before my arrival.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Magdalena Correa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked cleanliness. The staff is very worried about that matter. Also the breakfast is a must have. It's a very varied buffet. Also they have a safe but you have to pay.

Disliked: Location is very bad. Nothing interesting in the surroundings, not even a supermarket. It's the classical industrial neighbourhood full of hotels and with a big motorway as a landscape. Nevertheless I knew beforehand this situation because it was properly described through others'sreviews on hostelbookers so I decided t stay here anyway.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms - like a hotel. Excellent showers. Extensive kitchen and washing facilities. The breakfast is 5.90 which I thought was expensive but from what I saw it looked quite good.

Disliked: Location - easy train ride but not walking distance to city centre.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tammy McMannon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Tammy would recommend this property

Liked: Classified as hostel... We had a private room with a bunk bed and 2 twin beds to form a big bed. Bathroom was private, also. Sink, toilet, and shower all separate. Towels were provided, cheap hand and body soap also provided. Can fit 4 people in this room. Children friendly, no age limit. About 3 miles away from the center, but it is right next to train station. Parking was available, but only until 0900 the next day. Not sure how parking works if you stay more than 1 night. Nice bar downstairs with chairs and sofas to lounge. Goose all table and TVs also in that area. Also the same area they have breakfast for about 8€. Breakfast includes typical European food: Bread/rolls, cheese, deli meat, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled egg (not recommended, tastes and looks weird), orange juice, milk, and coffee.

Disliked: Sheets were provided. Not sure how often they were changed. There was a weird stain on one bed and the top bunk bed was not made. Showers were clean, but I wore shower shoes to be safe.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable stay, great buffet breakfast on offer.

Disliked: location was not ideal for what we were after, although it was only a short bus ride to town.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was lovely and the rooms clean and in good condition. The communal room was great and most of all the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were a little confused about where the entrance was at dirst

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms, they were nice and clean, close to trainstaion.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...