HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West Amsterdam Hostel

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 84%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.

Check-in from 15:00
Check out 10:00
Cancellation policy is 24 hrs in advance

We accept payment by VISA, MASTER, EC Maestro, Cash, Transfer.

Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

14.04.2017 - 16.04.2017
27.04.2017 - 29.04.2017
02.06.2017 - 04.06.2017
04.08.2017 - 05.08.2017
14.09.2017 - 16.09.2017
29.12.2017 - 30.12.2017

0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation.
In case of cancellation from 0-21 days prior arrival we do also charge the credit card with 100 % of the whole amount. The credit card will be charged 20 prior arrival and the amount is not refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

26.05.2017 - 27.05.2017
11.08.2017 - 12.08.2017
18.08.2017 - 19.08.2017
25.08.2017 - 26.08.2017
01.09.2017 - 02.09.2017
01.12.2017 - 02.12.2017
08.12.2017 - 09.12.2017
15.12.2017 - 16.12.2017
22.12.2017 - 23.12.2017

0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation.
In case of cancellation from 0-6 days prior arrival we do also charge the credit card with 100 % of the whole amount. The credit card will be charged 6 prior arrival and the amount is not refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

****************

For bookings of several beds in dorms, we do not guarantee accommodation in the same room.

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

*************
Booked catering services may be cancelled free of charge up to eight days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the agreed price will be payable.

************
- 5% City tax (is displayed on the confirmation email in total amount)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 84%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

Showing 21-30 of 259 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Near to train station

Disliked: No cages or restaurants around the area . Difficult to find food Kitchen not well equipped .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Sloterdijk or City West is a great location only few minutes from Amsterdam central by train and is a major junction to get a train to other parts of the Netherlands. Comfortable clean beds, shower gel/towels/hairdryer provided. Rooms modern and clean and plenty of space. Nice bar to relax in. great staff. My second time I stayed here would also recommend the Meininger in Berlin-Prenzlaurberg.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very clean and right next to train station.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Scam, the location is NOT near central station as it was described, i had to pay €100 for another location near the central station

Disliked: Scam, the location is NOT near central station as it was described, i had to pay €100 for another location near the central station

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Good

Disliked: Botina

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We appreciate it a lot and we wish you alle the best! Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing around the hostel, just a small supermarket and a train station

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thanks for your nice review. We would be happy to see you back in one of our hotels another time again.

All the best,

Meininger team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was a bit pricy.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: That instead of a seven bedroom they give you a 3 person bedroom and they have a guest kitchen.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't clean. There wasn't much of an atmosphere that I got here. I feel like other hostels have much better activities and space.


The property's response is

It looked clean but wasn't actually clean.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Personal staff very friendly and aporoachable , it's worth to stay here , very clean , all are modern equiptment, Wifi very clear , breakfast all you can eat big Sortiment of foods ,& very accessable anywhere you go , and for the Bus traveler, going to European neighboring country's us only 2 minutes the Fkexbus .At the reception the staff are very friendly and kept on smiling .The accomodation is cheaper comparing to the other Hotel.

Disliked: My mind is positive ..I come again

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it´s very spacious, modern and clean

Disliked: i´m not too sure but 3pm for check in is a little late. But i understand that the cleaning staff has many many rooms to clean up - so everything ok ;)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Ina,

What I kind feedback, Thanks a lot. Hope to see you back again. All the best to you!

Meininger team

Check Availability