HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West Amsterdam

Hostel

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.34USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE

CXL 7 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms:
Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

For bookings of several beds in dorms, we do not guarantee accommodation in the same room.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.
Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

The parking spaces are subject to availability and it is not possible to make reservations for this.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

Showing 21-30 of 183 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice common area, fun atmosphere, great pool / rooftop

Disliked: Dirty facilities, hot rooms

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to the bus stop

Disliked: A lot, mostly staff

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very helpful staff, easy access transport and very safe. Even ordered pizza for us.

Disliked: It isn't in the centre but still close

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it is so cool inside.. they have a good ventilation system

Disliked: little cramp and crowded

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff do want to help

Disliked: It's a little bit far from the city centre

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, comfortable. Great breakfast.

Disliked: My family and I requested to be put in the same room, but this was not fulfilled as they had the wrong information that I requested for a female only dorm.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well maintained.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were extremely accommodating and helped out with every problem we had! The tram ride in, whilst slightly long (10 mins top), was very simple and took us straight to Vondlepark and the Rijksmusuem! The beds and rooms were really clean and the train station next door! Over all I'd say it's a perfect place to stay for a casual break to Amsterdam with friends or family!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!

Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a 4-bed with a bathroom and were so surprised - it was HUGE! And very new. The bathroom was massive and very clean. Definitely the nicest hostel we have stayed in on our trip to Europe. The linens were nice and the beds were comfy, AND there are lights and plugs for every bed with USB ports - awesome. We didn't buy breakfast but it looked like a nice spread. Wifi was great for the most part and reached our room on the 3rd floor, but the place is massive so I'm sure they have good reception everywhere.

Disliked: Location was outside of the center but it's right beside Sloterdijk station and Amsterdam is so easy to get around that it wasn't a big deal. It was one train stop from Centraal station or a >20 minute bus ride, and from there you can literally walk (or bike) anywhere. The hostel only had one washer and dryer for the whole place, which is kind of odd considering its size.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!

Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and polite. Some of the best hostel staff I've interacted with. The hotel also has new and clean grounds.

Disliked: The location is not ideal. You must take a 30 bus or tram ride to reach anything you'd like to see during your trip. There are no supermarkets nearby and only one restaurant and Starbucks. The property houses a lot of guests and there is not a lot of common space considering the number of guests.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
as for the location there is not much we can do about that. maybe for a next time we would love to welcome you back in the hotel and help you with finding nearby places where also supermarkets and/or restaurants are reachable within ten minutes.


Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Check Availability