HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Amsterdam City West Amsterdam Hostel

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 79%

Safety 82%

Staff 84%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.91USD

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.

Check-in from 15:00
Check out 10:00
Cancellation policy is 24 hrs in advance

We accept payment by VISA, MASTER, EC Maestro, Cash, Transfer.

Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

27.04.2016 - 01.05.2016
08.09.2016 - 13.09.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation.
In case of cancellation from 0-21 days prior arrival we do also charge the credit card with 100 % of the whole amount. The credit card will be charged 20 prior arrival and the amount is not refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

09.02.2016 - 13.02.2016
25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.04.2016 - 08.04.2016
13.05.2016 - 17.05.2016

0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation.
In case of cancellation from 0-6 days prior arrival we do also charge the credit card with 100 % of the whole amount. The credit card will be charged 6 prior arrival and the amount is not refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

****************

For bookings of several beds in dorms, we do not guarantee accommodation in the same room.

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

*************
Booked catering services may be cancelled free of charge up to eight days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the agreed price will be payable.

************
- 5% City tax (is displayed on the confirmation email in total amount)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 79%

Safety 82%

Staff 84%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 154 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Personal staff very friendly and aporoachable , it's worth to stay here , very clean , all are modern equiptment, Wifi very clear , breakfast all you can eat big Sortiment of foods ,& very accessable anywhere you go , and for the Bus traveler, going to European neighboring country's us only 2 minutes the Fkexbus .At the reception the staff are very friendly and kept on smiling .The accomodation is cheaper comparing to the other Hotel.

Disliked: My mind is positive ..I come again

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it´s very spacious, modern and clean

Disliked: i´m not too sure but 3pm for check in is a little late. But i understand that the cleaning staff has many many rooms to clean up - so everything ok ;)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Ina,

What I kind feedback, Thanks a lot. Hope to see you back again. All the best to you!

Meininger team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the train station, nice rooms, bar downstairs, very nice staff

Disliked: A little far from the center, but it's an easy train ride

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Allyson,

Great to hear that you had such a nice stay with Meininger in Amsterdam. I will forward your compliments about our staff members.

We hope to see you back another time!

All the best,

Meininger team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is very near to the Sloterdijk station, while this station also is the hub for traveling to the other cities, comparing to the central station.

Disliked: It is very crowded in the morning and evening, especially in the weekend.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Nuttorn,

First of all, many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We are happy to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient. The hotel is indeed quite busy and we understand that it depends on the guest it expectations and wishes if they like this or not.

We hope that you liked the city of Amsterdam.

All the best,

The Meininger team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything great! Thank you!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Evelyn, Thanks a lot for your kind words. Hopefully we can welcome you back another time again! All the best, Meininger team

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Its a good hostel, organized and clean!

Disliked: Its far from the city center

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. All the best and hopefully we can welcome you back again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Bright and clean

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dearest guest, Thanks a lot for you kind feedback. All the best, Meininger team Amsterdam

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: how modern and updated it was

Disliked: I had to switch rooms my second night. that was the only thing I didn't like.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, Thank you for leaving a reply on Hostelbookers. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel and its facilities. We perfectly understand that you did not like to move rooms during your stay. We apologize for this. 'We always try to avoid this, but unfortunately, sometimes when we are fully booked we don't have another possibility. Hopefully you liked Amsterdam! All the best to you. Kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Overall it wa a good experience

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. All the best and hopefully we are able to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Meininger team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: awesome for the price! it's like a hotel!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability