We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

75.4% Overall Rating

384 out of 516 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2015)

Caroline Gordon thinks…

"Staff were helpful and friendly, guests were polite to eachother and quiet at night time. Public transport just over the road, nice safe area. WiFi was pretty good too."

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016 *National kingsday : 24/25/26 April 2015 *Pinksterdays: 14/15/16 May 2015 *22/23/24 May 2015 *ascension day: 29/30 May 2015 *IBC event : 11/12 September 2015 Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
33.14 USD

Hostel 59.0% 98 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
32.04 USD

Hostel 84.2% 728 reviews
Centraal Hostel
27.62 USD

Hostel 68.9% 240 reviews
Hotel Flipper
34.30 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.0% 338 reviews
Vita Nova
23.20 USD

Hostel 91.0% 301 reviews
Intersail
32.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Max
42.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Ljplein Bed and Breakfast
37.56 USD

Guesthouse 60.0% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

384 out of 516 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 348 of 497 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Beckett

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly. Although it states "for under 40s" and I am in my 60s, if you can cope with the stairs it's a good place to stay. Ask first is best policy.

Disliked: Although they don't have a Kitchen you can share the fridge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Haines

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 October 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where great!! very helpful and friendly

Disliked: little noisy at times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to and the beds were clean. Can't expect much more for the price.

Disliked: A little bit far from the main nightlife areas, but not too bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean and you had your own locker within your room. Each floor has its own shared bathroom and shower room, which were also generally clean. The tram is super close and they do give you a number of discounts from a bunch of attractions, but I think those are generally given to tourists anyway.

Disliked: The communication between the staff itself was poor. We had two bookings in a row because one of our friends left early and when changing rooms there was some confusion about the deposits because their system wasn't exactly state of the art,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Clean linen and bed. 2. No bed bugs 3. Clean room, toilet and shower. 4. Friendly staff.

Disliked: 1. A bit far from central station. 2. You need to rent the pad locks for the locker (3 euro), so bring one if you decided to stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uiara Cachorra Selva

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2012 Uiara would recommend this property

Liked: The place was a good value for your money. Rooms were clean and bathrooms were nice. The staffs were really friendly ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Disliked: N/A

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

04 October 2012

Liked: It's in front of the bus stop....

Disliked: Small rooms, just few electrical sockets (some are broken), blocked windows, a labirinth of corridors and rooms, no wifi in the rooms, not very clean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pamela Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how the staffs were really friendly and nice. They helped me out with my travels out of Amsterdam! Really grateful for that.

Disliked: Nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marco Volponi

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

02 October 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: only for young people!!!

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanness (sheets, bathroom)

Disliked: not a very communicative atmosphere - lack of a common room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: We had a Private room, but was very noisy!! Thin walls with people slamming the doors all night!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marfasran Hendrizan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Marfasran would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was easy to find out from Central Station Amsterdam, it helped me when I booked from the internet.. Very good information in it.

Disliked: I don't like the toilet and bathroom, it was too small.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: Not a great deal

Disliked: Lousy common area, too many rooms (loses character), expensive for what you get. Didn't learn to fly here either..

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lavinia Costa

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Lavinia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: The car, transports noises and the stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo is in a great location a 10 min tram ride to central (tram number 9) . The amigo backpacker vibe will grow on you? The staff are relaxed and friendly. Clean place and secure.

Disliked: Be aware this is a cheap place- it's very noisy- people chatting into early hours and smoking- and loud traffic from busy road. Small room and basic (two person room) Staff are relaxed and fun loving- sometimes appearing somewhat slack. (We had staff walk into our room twice -both times without knocking!!) But they are genuine guys- we had a good stay just WEAR EAR PLUGS and only sleep here!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Simon Sawert

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012

Liked: Staff tried to help out when there were any problems

Disliked: - We booked a 4 bed dorm but we had to sleep in a 6 bed dorm (we were two persons) -The first night we went out and when we came back, there was a couple in our bed and when we asked them what they were doing in there they told us that they got these beds from the staff, so the stuff made a mistake. After talking to the staff we could stay but the other couple had to leave (like 23 pm, I think they made an arrangement with another hotel for them). -Quite dangerous stairs but I guess these are tipical for Amsterdam as there are many buildings in a quite small town -No breakfast -They charge you a 5 % fee if you pay with debit/credit card

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jillan Taran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Jillan would recommend this property

Liked: In a good location, very close to the swimming pool , with clean bathrooms and rooms and huge lockers, this hostel is just a simple good place to be.

Disliked: Really tall stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Coffman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the tram, secure, nice people

Disliked: Lots and lots of stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anh Quan Hua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Anh Quan would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in Amigo Hostel for 2 nights. It was really great. It is easy to find, the room is very clean, safety. The staffs are really friendly, helpful and extremly nice, special is the man who works in the night shift, name is Casa. He is really friendly, he did try his best to support and help the customers. Especial my case, I have forgotten my suit case in the hostel, he is on the way to send it back to me. I am truly appreciate his help and happy with my stay in the Amigo hostel.

Disliked: No negavite commend left.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. The showers were clean and strong. There were lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: No kitchen. The lobby didn't facilitate mingling of patrons.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Pisani

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The property was cheap, and had easy access to public transport. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There are alot of steps at the entrance, and there is no lift. The private rooms had no toilets (and the picture of the private room on hostelbookers was the picture of a toilet -although the description did not mentioned that there was a private bathroom). Also, there was no space to store clothes (such as shleves or cupboards).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at Amigo Budget Hostel. The hostel is new and clear, there are two computers and the free Internet access and wi-fi. If you need plates or glasses or hot water, you have to ask a guy in the reception and he always gives you what you want. The staff is friendliness and nice, especially one guy smiles all the time and it is very nice to come back to hostel and see him smiling. I think that this hostel is a good choice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: It was clean, and had multiple card-locked doors, one at the front of the hostel and one for each room Free wifi + also computers to use

Disliked: 1) Staff incredibly unfriendly 2) To get to the property, you had to climb and incredibly steep and high stone staircase into the building, Once in, you had to climb a similar, but tighter (2-2.5ft across tops) staircase that wound up to the rooms, with a crazy maze of corridors. 3) The sitting/eating area is in the reception and is small with loud Dutch news blaring throughout the entire visit 4) not in anyway suited for people to meet new people/make new friends 5) I booked a 5day stay, and when I arrived, wanted to cancel the last 2nights, and even though it was 72hours prior to those nights, they still wouldn't let me cancel - has to be prior to 'arrival' - not the nights you are actually staying 6) In a bad area of the city and quite a long walk to the centre - although trams do come right to the door.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Pham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: really tall stairs, narrow claustophobic hallways

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephan Wäldchen

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 September 2012 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price, that the staff was really helpful as i forgot my key for the locker.

Disliked: our room was a little smelly.