We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

76.6% Overall Rating

371 out of 497 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2015)

"Closest we could get to city on easter weekend, fun atmosphere, lots of food and drink to buy onsite."

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New Years (30th Dec 2014—2nd Jan015) Easter 18 - 22 April Queen’s Day (26th to 30th April) and Pinkster 6 -8 June Period IBC Event (11th to 15th September). Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
32.40 USD

Hostel 61.0% 93 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
17.82 USD

Hostel 83.1% 721 reviews
Centraal Hostel
21.06 USD

Hostel 65.9% 233 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
43.21 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
28.68 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.6% 337 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
37.81 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.9% 777 reviews
Vita Nova
22.68 USD

Hostel 85.4% 292 reviews
Hotel Max
41.59 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

371 out of 497 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 332 of 476 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jillan Taran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Jillan would recommend this property

Liked: In a good location, very close to the swimming pool , with clean bathrooms and rooms and huge lockers, this hostel is just a simple good place to be.

Disliked: Really tall stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Coffman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the tram, secure, nice people

Disliked: Lots and lots of stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anh Quan Hua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Anh Quan would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in Amigo Hostel for 2 nights. It was really great. It is easy to find, the room is very clean, safety. The staffs are really friendly, helpful and extremly nice, special is the man who works in the night shift, name is Casa. He is really friendly, he did try his best to support and help the customers. Especial my case, I have forgotten my suit case in the hostel, he is on the way to send it back to me. I am truly appreciate his help and happy with my stay in the Amigo hostel.

Disliked: No negavite commend left.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. The showers were clean and strong. There were lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: No kitchen. The lobby didn't facilitate mingling of patrons.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Pisani

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The property was cheap, and had easy access to public transport. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There are alot of steps at the entrance, and there is no lift. The private rooms had no toilets (and the picture of the private room on hostelbookers was the picture of a toilet -although the description did not mentioned that there was a private bathroom). Also, there was no space to store clothes (such as shleves or cupboards).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at Amigo Budget Hostel. The hostel is new and clear, there are two computers and the free Internet access and wi-fi. If you need plates or glasses or hot water, you have to ask a guy in the reception and he always gives you what you want. The staff is friendliness and nice, especially one guy smiles all the time and it is very nice to come back to hostel and see him smiling. I think that this hostel is a good choice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: It was clean, and had multiple card-locked doors, one at the front of the hostel and one for each room Free wifi + also computers to use

Disliked: 1) Staff incredibly unfriendly 2) To get to the property, you had to climb and incredibly steep and high stone staircase into the building, Once in, you had to climb a similar, but tighter (2-2.5ft across tops) staircase that wound up to the rooms, with a crazy maze of corridors. 3) The sitting/eating area is in the reception and is small with loud Dutch news blaring throughout the entire visit 4) not in anyway suited for people to meet new people/make new friends 5) I booked a 5day stay, and when I arrived, wanted to cancel the last 2nights, and even though it was 72hours prior to those nights, they still wouldn't let me cancel - has to be prior to 'arrival' - not the nights you are actually staying 6) In a bad area of the city and quite a long walk to the centre - although trams do come right to the door.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Pham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: really tall stairs, narrow claustophobic hallways

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephan Wäldchen

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 September 2012 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price, that the staff was really helpful as i forgot my key for the locker.

Disliked: our room was a little smelly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As they describe on hostelbookers the hostel is near of the city centre and a lot of attractions and the tram station is right in front of the door. You don´t have to clean your dishes, they do it for you and the staff is always really friendly. There´s free internet.

Disliked: The room was sparingly furnished. They have no kitchen to prepare one´s own food and it was quite annoying that we had to ask the staff everytime we needed some dishes.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012

Liked: Washing facility was next to beds. Staff was very rude. Stairs was very dangerous...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Alarick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo Hostel is actually a hotel with multiple beds stuffed into every room. It is incredibly clean, has beautiful accommodations and is centrally located. Very easy access by public transportation. Very good service.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and the staff were good at giving us information and recommendations on places to see and visit.

Disliked: No kitchen or kettle, so eating and drinking was expensive.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012

Liked: Prices seemed reasonable.

Disliked: Stairs were absurdly steep; be prepared for some back or neck injury if you drink anything. Atmosphere sucked; no one's interested in anything beyond smoking weed and finding cheap grog.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huong Quy

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 August 2012 Huong would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and friendly. This is a lovely hostel for cleanliness and location. the beds are comfortable, they clean every day and the bathrooms are good.

Disliked: No Kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just really good for have a place to sleep while you are in the city, the location is ok, 10 minutes in bus to the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ahmet Can Kan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: The staff was kind and helpful.

Disliked: The organization is totally horrible. I stayed here three days and I needed to change my room twice, because when I return the hostel someone is sleeping on my bed and the key card does not work. My towel which I left on my bed was also stolen. Stairs are very dangerous as well.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Rawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: free internet

Disliked: the stairs and limited bathrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012

Liked: Staff did their best to be helpful and meet the requests whenever we asked.

Disliked: Check-in was long and reception was almost always busy. No real kitchen facilities (ask them and they have some dishes and microwave if required) Small lounge area adjacent to reception was only place with wifi and was always busy. Room was incredibly hot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys who work at Amigo are Gs, they all work real hard to make you have a decent stay. Had some food and drink stolen once and one of the guys at reception gave me his. Plus the location is so much better than being in the centre. Hire a bike, as you should in Amsterdam and its only 10 mins away, plus you get to see more of the city. And its amazing value.

Disliked: I had a t-shirt dissappear and all my stuff removed from my bed, but this was more the fault of the cleaners

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ioannis antoniadis

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012 ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful personel. Clean and cozy . .

Disliked: Not much.It was a great experience. . .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa is the best! Location is the best!

Disliked: steep stairs!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: nothing particular

Disliked: price

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, were more than willing to recommend sights etc.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexandra Sidorova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: not expensive

Disliked: stairs are really dangerous