HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

77.0% Overall Rating

316 out of 422 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Kathleen Winstanley thinks…

"Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit! Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.61 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.68 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.02 USD

Hostel 81.0% 689 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.65 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Flipper
30.37 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.0% 323 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 771 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

316 out of 422 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 280 of 405 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: Not a lot really! The location wasn't that big of an issue, but I don't mind walking and the weather was okay during my stay. Might be irritating for those who don't fancy the 30 min walk into town or paying for public transport.

Disliked: Other people commented on the stairs - I wasn't bothered but getting luggage up and down them or coming in after a night out, well let's say a ladder would be a better description than a staircase! Also to get to my room it felt like there were a million doors to go through, the place is like a maze and all the slamming all the time can get a bit much. However, these things I could live with as being part of the building. But it really annoyed me that our room and shower didn't seem to be cleaned at all while I was there (4 days) There was a dirty wash cloth on the shower floor the entire time and clumps of dirt. The bedroom floor was horribly dirty and while obviously this isn't the most expensive hostel, the minimum I expect for my money is cleanliness. The lack of kitchen facilities definitely makes a difference too. If cheap is a priority it's alright, but if you like a clean shower or a kitchen, I'd give it a miss to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohammed El mehdoui

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cleanest hostel I ever stay. The stuff clear the room everyday . There also are bathrooms for the 6 beds room. everyone has a security box. I love this hostel , the location is exellent.

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to the centre, clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful and friendly staff. All in all, a great choice for a short stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing, really.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 June 2012

Liked: Nothng

Disliked: Hostel demands 5% extra on room rate if paid by credit card. Left luggage upon morning checout permitted only up to 2 pm. Very noisy up to 3 am on both nights we stayed - staff and female guests having party with total disregard for other guests.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean facilities + friendly atmosphere

Disliked: The hostel is a bit awkward. It takes quite a while to walk to the most exciting sights - enough to tire one - but is not far enough to justify taking the tram. Taking this into account, the price seems to be quite steep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasmine Balfour-Lynn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Yasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean rooms and toilets. Good atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxim Makartsev

Alone

Business / conference

22 June 2012 Maxim would recommend this property

Liked: You really get what you pay for, and much more!

Disliked: I wanted to get an invoice with a stamp of the hostel, so that I can show it at the embassy when I apply for visa. The staff insisted that I pay the whole sume beforehands (even though during reservation I had already paid 10%), the only way was through the bank, and the bank fee would be smth like 15 euro, so it really wasn't worth it. So in case you need a visa for the Netherlands, don't expect to get any docuents from this hostel, if you really need an invoice about paid stay, you should look for another one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mirka Eidtmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2012 Mirka would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, friendly and all the time very helpful stuff. Everything looks new renovated. One of the best hostels in Europe I´ve been so far.

Disliked: The mildew in the shower (ceiling). But at least the rest of the shower was very clean!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Regan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and helpful staff!

Disliked: Quite a distance from the city proper, but easy to get to and from centraal with the trams!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim More

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice hostel with an surprisingly freindly and helpfull staff! Clean rooms and fresch bathroom. I slept 1 nights in a 6 mixed bedroom and 2 nights in a single room. The beds were more comfortable in the mixed room. But the atmosphere made up for it. My first choice of hostel next time i go to Amigo's.

Disliked: No

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012

Liked: It was very clean and it was not a party hostel.

Disliked: They are extremely disorganize. We tryed to extend our stay in advanced via email, but we couldn´t have an answer until our arrival. Worse of all, the first night we couldn´t stay in a single room, but we stayed in a 4 bedroom, alone, but we couldn´t share a bed with my wyfe. While have of the stuff is really helpfull, the other half is terrible to deal with, they only make things more complicated for you. They didn´t have kitchen facilities, only a microwave and a boiler that no one is allowed to use by themselves, but you need to ask for a memeber of the stuff to use it for you.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gianluca Medaglia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, large and quiet 8 bed room, clean toilet and showers

Disliked: Really too small toilet, No way to hang anything in showers, cracking floor.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Martikainen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Worth of money, cause hostel was cheap. I like the price hahah!

Disliked: Staff wasn´t that helpful or welcoming. Website in hostelbookers could be more informative. Pics could be nice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gudrun ildstad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Gudrun would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the amigos workring there! They got 11 out of 10 on my friendliness-scale:) They made our stay in Amsterdam much better, becasue they so nicely pointed out where to go and what worth seeing. The price is good, and the location is not far from the city. It#s also easy with the public transportation. At night it is posibly to walk home from partying, about 30 min. We had a private room, very nice! And it´s still easy to get to know the other people living there:)

Disliked: Gudrun left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Siddharthan Asokan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012

Liked: Just the reception lobby

Disliked: Little space for toliet an beds are bad

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nicolle Medeiros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012

Liked: Hellpful recepcionist

Disliked: atmosphere location

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleanor Boshell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and a good size.

Disliked: It wasn't far from the city centre, but it was still a bit of a trek and we had to get a tram. The common room was a bit small with no real chances to socialise with other guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Only the location but the hostel it's self makes up for that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmin Farid

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: I can honestly say that I had the time of my life in Amsterdam. The hostel was perfect! We were looking for a place away from the red light district so it was a perfect fit. Just a short tram ride away from central station. Reception was awesome--so friendly and down to earth. They were also super knowledgeable about the city and gave us a ton of suggestions and advice, and even discount cards. I was only planning on coming once, but I loved it so much I will probably be back soon!

Disliked: Nothing. I was a little thrown off by the steep stairs, but they are like this everywhere in Amsterdam.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful! Everything was clean and overall we had a great stay.

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, basic good quality hostel

Disliked: Bad stairs and not enough powersockets

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent clean but basic rooms, with good communal "living room" area, computers and wifi. Helpful staff. Non smoking rooms, yet space to smoke in the entrance hall.

Disliked: Shower room was a little small, needed somewhere to hang clothes and towel. Steep entrance steps for the builiding (a common design in Amsterdam). Not cheap, but typically priced amongst competition. A little far out from the centre of town - 10 minute tram or € 15 taxi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, tram stop pretty much right outside. Clean, friendly and safe. Not much more you could ask for really. The stairs are a challenge but if you ask nicely i'm sure they'll give you a hand!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wa Wing

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: clean, quiet and good beds, in good location and staff is friendly and reception is open 24hrs.

Disliked: No