We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

71.7% Overall Rating

359 out of 481 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2014)

Mario Fajardo Soriano thinks…

"this hostel is very great! the atmosphere is very good, you meet a lot of different people here! the staff is also very helpfull, especially appi, he showed us everything we can do in amsterdam!…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New Years (30th Dec 2014—2nd Jan015) Easter 18 - 22 April Queen’s Day (26th to 30th April) and Pinkster 6 -8 June Period IBC Event (11th to 15th September). Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 66.7% 79 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
20.87 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 62.2% 228 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
18.51 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.0% 775 reviews
Vita Nova
22.77 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

359 out of 481 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephan Wäldchen

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 September 2012 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price, that the staff was really helpful as i forgot my key for the locker.

Disliked: our room was a little smelly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As they describe on hostelbookers the hostel is near of the city centre and a lot of attractions and the tram station is right in front of the door. You don´t have to clean your dishes, they do it for you and the staff is always really friendly. There´s free internet.

Disliked: The room was sparingly furnished. They have no kitchen to prepare one´s own food and it was quite annoying that we had to ask the staff everytime we needed some dishes.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012

Liked: Washing facility was next to beds. Staff was very rude. Stairs was very dangerous...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Alarick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo Hostel is actually a hotel with multiple beds stuffed into every room. It is incredibly clean, has beautiful accommodations and is centrally located. Very easy access by public transportation. Very good service.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and the staff were good at giving us information and recommendations on places to see and visit.

Disliked: No kitchen or kettle, so eating and drinking was expensive.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012

Liked: Prices seemed reasonable.

Disliked: Stairs were absurdly steep; be prepared for some back or neck injury if you drink anything. Atmosphere sucked; no one's interested in anything beyond smoking weed and finding cheap grog.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huong Quy

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 August 2012 Huong would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and friendly. This is a lovely hostel for cleanliness and location. the beds are comfortable, they clean every day and the bathrooms are good.

Disliked: No Kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just really good for have a place to sleep while you are in the city, the location is ok, 10 minutes in bus to the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ahmet Can Kan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: The staff was kind and helpful.

Disliked: The organization is totally horrible. I stayed here three days and I needed to change my room twice, because when I return the hostel someone is sleeping on my bed and the key card does not work. My towel which I left on my bed was also stolen. Stairs are very dangerous as well.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Rawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: free internet

Disliked: the stairs and limited bathrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012

Liked: Staff did their best to be helpful and meet the requests whenever we asked.

Disliked: Check-in was long and reception was almost always busy. No real kitchen facilities (ask them and they have some dishes and microwave if required) Small lounge area adjacent to reception was only place with wifi and was always busy. Room was incredibly hot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys who work at Amigo are Gs, they all work real hard to make you have a decent stay. Had some food and drink stolen once and one of the guys at reception gave me his. Plus the location is so much better than being in the centre. Hire a bike, as you should in Amsterdam and its only 10 mins away, plus you get to see more of the city. And its amazing value.

Disliked: I had a t-shirt dissappear and all my stuff removed from my bed, but this was more the fault of the cleaners

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ioannis antoniadis

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012 ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful personel. Clean and cozy . .

Disliked: Not much.It was a great experience. . .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa is the best! Location is the best!

Disliked: steep stairs!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: nothing particular

Disliked: price

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, were more than willing to recommend sights etc.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexandra Sidorova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: not expensive

Disliked: stairs are really dangerous

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, cool joint

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dany Shilansky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Dany would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. had a great time at the hostel.

Disliked: Dany left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great place great location.staff very helpful friendly.a little out of town centre but I liked this tram stop right outside also u pass a place called Rembrandt a great night out at smokes night club. Check it out .

Disliked: No cooking facilities. Early check out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed sheets, showers and toilets were all clean.

Disliked: Stairs were awful. Very Dutch.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Semih Yildiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Semih would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, cheap

Disliked: Location can be better

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Our room was crowded and smelled. The locacion, it's very far away from the center, if you go on foot it takes about 40mins to get to the main square. So wherever you go you have to take a bus or tram which is quite expensive. We payed over 30 euros per night and seriously it wasn't worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really friendly staff, very helpful, facilities all up to scratch and in a good position to the centre, easily reachable by tram.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Summers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: It was located directly in front of the tram stop that isJust a 5 minute tram ride to the city center and is an easy walk or quick bike ride to be where the party is. When i walked in ~FAISEL~ was there to help me check in. He told me anything i needed to know and was more than willing to help with any questions i had about where to go and what to do. Also there are a ton of minicards to local attractions and offer all sorts of discounts and free giveaways just for staying at this place. Couldnt have had a better experience. Faisel is my new homeboy.

Disliked: Nothing, these guys were all awesome at all hours of the day and i wish their were more traveler friendly hostels in the area.