HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

69.0% Overall Rating

356 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

ian umney thinks…

"my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget! the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all. but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 67.4% 77 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
27.20 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
29.60 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.0%

Overall Rating

356 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 459 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Alarick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo Hostel is actually a hotel with multiple beds stuffed into every room. It is incredibly clean, has beautiful accommodations and is centrally located. Very easy access by public transportation. Very good service.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and the staff were good at giving us information and recommendations on places to see and visit.

Disliked: No kitchen or kettle, so eating and drinking was expensive.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012

Liked: Prices seemed reasonable.

Disliked: Stairs were absurdly steep; be prepared for some back or neck injury if you drink anything. Atmosphere sucked; no one's interested in anything beyond smoking weed and finding cheap grog.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huong Quy

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 August 2012 Huong would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and friendly. This is a lovely hostel for cleanliness and location. the beds are comfortable, they clean every day and the bathrooms are good.

Disliked: No Kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just really good for have a place to sleep while you are in the city, the location is ok, 10 minutes in bus to the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ahmet Can Kan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: The staff was kind and helpful.

Disliked: The organization is totally horrible. I stayed here three days and I needed to change my room twice, because when I return the hostel someone is sleeping on my bed and the key card does not work. My towel which I left on my bed was also stolen. Stairs are very dangerous as well.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Rawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: free internet

Disliked: the stairs and limited bathrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012

Liked: Staff did their best to be helpful and meet the requests whenever we asked.

Disliked: Check-in was long and reception was almost always busy. No real kitchen facilities (ask them and they have some dishes and microwave if required) Small lounge area adjacent to reception was only place with wifi and was always busy. Room was incredibly hot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys who work at Amigo are Gs, they all work real hard to make you have a decent stay. Had some food and drink stolen once and one of the guys at reception gave me his. Plus the location is so much better than being in the centre. Hire a bike, as you should in Amsterdam and its only 10 mins away, plus you get to see more of the city. And its amazing value.

Disliked: I had a t-shirt dissappear and all my stuff removed from my bed, but this was more the fault of the cleaners

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ioannis antoniadis

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 August 2012 ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful personel. Clean and cozy . .

Disliked: Not much.It was a great experience. . .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa is the best! Location is the best!

Disliked: steep stairs!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: nothing particular

Disliked: price

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, were more than willing to recommend sights etc.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexandra Sidorova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: not expensive

Disliked: stairs are really dangerous

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, cool joint

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dany Shilansky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Dany would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. had a great time at the hostel.

Disliked: Dany left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great place great location.staff very helpful friendly.a little out of town centre but I liked this tram stop right outside also u pass a place called Rembrandt a great night out at smokes night club. Check it out .

Disliked: No cooking facilities. Early check out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed sheets, showers and toilets were all clean.

Disliked: Stairs were awful. Very Dutch.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Semih Yildiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Semih would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, cheap

Disliked: Location can be better

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Our room was crowded and smelled. The locacion, it's very far away from the center, if you go on foot it takes about 40mins to get to the main square. So wherever you go you have to take a bus or tram which is quite expensive. We payed over 30 euros per night and seriously it wasn't worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really friendly staff, very helpful, facilities all up to scratch and in a good position to the centre, easily reachable by tram.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Summers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: It was located directly in front of the tram stop that isJust a 5 minute tram ride to the city center and is an easy walk or quick bike ride to be where the party is. When i walked in ~FAISEL~ was there to help me check in. He told me anything i needed to know and was more than willing to help with any questions i had about where to go and what to do. Also there are a ton of minicards to local attractions and offer all sorts of discounts and free giveaways just for staying at this place. Couldnt have had a better experience. Faisel is my new homeboy.

Disliked: Nothing, these guys were all awesome at all hours of the day and i wish their were more traveler friendly hostels in the area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and a 15 minute tram ride from central station, Amigo is perfect for a budget trip to Amsterdam. The tram stop is very close to the hostel, the staff are friendly, rooms and beds are clean, and there's a common room with free wifi and a couple of PCs to use. I would be amazed to find anything better for cheaper.

Disliked: Our room was pretty hot because the window didn't open very far

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is chep

Disliked: The stairs can be dangarous also you can fell down from the two storied bed (more than 2 meter) as there is no side protection in the bed so be careful when you use top bed of 2 storied bed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DANIEL COOGAN

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012

Liked: Very helpful staff there was a problem with the room bookings, 5 mins later NO PROBLEM. Fairly spacious rooms, clean toilets, guys there seemed cool and the rules were fair.

Disliked: The stairs in and out killed it, confusing rules regarding them i.e. said dont smoke but people still smoked. Rooms get SO HOT, MILK WAS A BAD CHOICE. Could be long to travel there and back from town but tram was regular so didnt reeally mind. Also was told we could pay sterling but had to pay euros semi longgg.