HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

71.8% Overall Rating

347 out of 465 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

shane koyuncu thinks…

"It was cheap, clean and very friendly, you could talk to other people staying there and the atmosphere was very chilled out."

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
26.34 USD

Hostel 66.3% 72 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.32 USD

Hostel 83.8% 704 reviews
Centraal Hostel
32.93 USD

Hostel 64.8% 224 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
52.68 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
30.82 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.8% 332 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
46.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
27.66 USD

Hostel 80.2% 282 reviews
Hotel Max
31.61 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

347 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 446 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Warinthorn Kesornsucharit

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012

Liked: - near tram stop

Disliked: - loud people at 3am. - big stair in front - no elevator - can smell the smoke in the room - not enough bathroom - far from the city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, they made us feel at home. We were able to leave our luggage before and after check-in and they gave us plenty of places to go and directions. Would definitley stay here again :)

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything but breakfast would be a bonus!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nabila Touizin

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2012 Nabila would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic - just a one minute walk from the lively centre of Leidseplein! I loved the old building and how the rooms were set out, it makes the general feel of the place warm and comforting.

Disliked: Nabila left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fahid Kassit

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

27 November 2012 Fahid would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to all parts of the city by tram stop 10m from the front door. Had a dorm with spotless bathroom ensuit, and beds were nice and firm! Showers always hot . Makes for a nice walk back from the coffe shops and while you strolling back stop in to see the museum

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, I will stay again

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012

Liked: Everything is so so. Don't expect much from this hostel

Disliked: Even though it is a non-smoke hostel, people do smoke a lot in front of the reception counter, and you can even smell that when you're up to the stairs. Really uncomfortable atmostphere. If you don't smoke, stay away from this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Menez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorm,spaciously.WiFi is great ! If I come back to Amsterdam again, I'll choose Amigo.

Disliked: No

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Muhammad Tahir

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 November 2012

Liked: nothing its waste of time and money

Disliked: i dislike everything i dont know why you have this hostel on your list

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brad Thors

Alone

City break

08 November 2012 Brad would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable, friendly staff, great facilities. Nice common room . It is some distance from the center of town, but the tram in Amsterdam is cheap and easy to use.

Disliked: .........

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Cássio Schumacher

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Cássio would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place to stay. I would totally recommend, especially for those who are on a budget trip. Some would say it's far from the center, but it is not that far, easy to access the main sights in the city.

Disliked: Could be a little cheaper yet.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012

Liked: Rooms, toilets, sheets and beds are clean

Disliked: They made us change our rooms due to lack of organization, we payed for rooms with 6 beds but we stayed in the room with 8 beds. Wi-fi was not working properly. Stairs were dangerous, entire building is like a maze. Hostel is very far from the center. Plugs in the room are not enough and placed in the entrance of the room. Staff was unfriendly. There was a lack of communication between them. Don't stay there, pay more and find somewhere better.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Melisa Alonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012

Liked: La habitacion eralimpia y tenia pc con internet gratis para usar.

Disliked: No acepta tarjetade credito y ademas cobran un impuesto del 5 porciento mas del precio acordado. Las escaleras son terrorificas y esta bastante alejado considerando el precio del transporte en amsterdam. No tiene desayuno ni cocina.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Transport to the city centre or anywhere else in the town is fairly easy from the hostel. The facilities and services were good value for money for the price we were paying. Furthermore, the staff were very friendly and they helped us with almost every questions we had. One of the staff members Redouan made our stay even more pleasant by making good recommendations and always managing the place well to suit most people's needs. He also went our of his way to ensure that we knew our way around and travelled safely. The hostel is well maintained and for the price you pay it's worth those few pennies.

Disliked: Not much apart from the slightly long flight of stairs at the entrance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and WC were clean. There was a sink, mirror and shower in the room. There are also lockers in the room. In the lobby there are tables, chairs for eating or just hanging out and two computers for internet.There are also fast food, supermarket and other stores within 300 meters. The location is a bit far, 12 stops(25min) with tram #9 from central station. Tickets are 2,70 for 1 hour or 7,20 for 24-hr. Other then that, Its the best hostel for the money i have been to in all of amsterdam.

Disliked: No wifi in the room. only 3 electrical socket in the room and all 3 were by the entrance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Beckett

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly. Although it states "for under 40s" and I am in my 60s, if you can cope with the stairs it's a good place to stay. Ask first is best policy.

Disliked: Although they don't have a Kitchen you can share the fridge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Haines

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 October 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where great!! very helpful and friendly

Disliked: little noisy at times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to and the beds were clean. Can't expect much more for the price.

Disliked: A little bit far from the main nightlife areas, but not too bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean and you had your own locker within your room. Each floor has its own shared bathroom and shower room, which were also generally clean. The tram is super close and they do give you a number of discounts from a bunch of attractions, but I think those are generally given to tourists anyway.

Disliked: The communication between the staff itself was poor. We had two bookings in a row because one of our friends left early and when changing rooms there was some confusion about the deposits because their system wasn't exactly state of the art,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Clean linen and bed. 2. No bed bugs 3. Clean room, toilet and shower. 4. Friendly staff.

Disliked: 1. A bit far from central station. 2. You need to rent the pad locks for the locker (3 euro), so bring one if you decided to stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uiara Cachorra Selva

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2012 Uiara would recommend this property

Liked: The place was a good value for your money. Rooms were clean and bathrooms were nice. The staffs were really friendly ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Disliked: N/A

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

04 October 2012

Liked: It's in front of the bus stop....

Disliked: Small rooms, just few electrical sockets (some are broken), blocked windows, a labirinth of corridors and rooms, no wifi in the rooms, not very clean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pamela Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how the staffs were really friendly and nice. They helped me out with my travels out of Amsterdam! Really grateful for that.

Disliked: Nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marco Volponi

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

02 October 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: only for young people!!!

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanness (sheets, bathroom)

Disliked: not a very communicative atmosphere - lack of a common room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: We had a Private room, but was very noisy!! Thin walls with people slamming the doors all night!