HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

69.0% Overall Rating

356 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

ian umney thinks…

"my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget! the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all. but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 67.4% 77 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
27.20 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
44.28 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
29.60 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.0%

Overall Rating

356 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 459 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pachel Lemaire

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Pachel would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean, nice rooms, good wifi and free lockers. Had a great time, honestly the best hostel I stayed in in my trip and felt more like a 2-3 star hotel then a hostel. If I go back to Amsterdam I'm staying there again. Wonderful time.

Disliked: Pachel have no dislike about the Amigo hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Selen Ersoy

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012 Selen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Murad Babayev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Murad would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: couldn't find anything

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emma-jay wilson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 December 2012 emma-jay would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple but nice

Disliked: Stairs are to steep

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nikita Vorontsov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: I honestly really liked the property. After reading a lot of bad descriptions and reviews about it, I decided to try it for myself. Staff were friendly, the non-smoking rule was upheld religiously. They also had lovely sweets on offer that you could take if you stayed too long in a coffeeshop and needed to sober up.

Disliked: Nothing really, the rooms were small, but as is the traditional dutch style, so I didn't see anything wrong with that.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 December 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: location, staff and facilities

31.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a fish tank

Disliked: It was a little dodgy

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is in a good street. The supermarket and other shops are a complete compensation to the lack of full service, i.e. breakfast in the hostel. The tram No. 9 is one of the most useful as it over stops the No.3 to the Ryjks museum.

Disliked: The floors are painfully elastic, which is an architectural mystery ? Perhaps the walls are quake-proof. ? If you have a heavy suitcase like mine you become very grateful for the assistance that is readily availed from staff and other guests equally willing to face the difficulty of the very precipice which confronts you when you arrive on the front steps of "la Maison".

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, we paid 30 euro for a triple room, decent location, around half an hour walk from the city center, u can leave ur luggage after u check-out (however anyone can access the room so it's ur responsibility), staff was very friendly, they offered us free maps of the city and recommended some places to see, theres wifi and sockets in the room and its very warm inside (especially useful in winter)

Disliked: In the evening people smoked weed at the reception (that happened to be very close to our room) and u could smell it in the room, was also quite noisy even after midnight even when the door was closed, theres really no entrance door to the hostel so the temperature at the corridor pretty much equals the one outside, quite inconvenient if u dont have en suite bathroom (and i guess all the rooms in this hostel have shared bathroom). Linen was somewhat dirty as well as the bathroom and there was really nothing except beds in the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Warinthorn Kesornsucharit

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012

Liked: - near tram stop

Disliked: - loud people at 3am. - big stair in front - no elevator - can smell the smoke in the room - not enough bathroom - far from the city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, they made us feel at home. We were able to leave our luggage before and after check-in and they gave us plenty of places to go and directions. Would definitley stay here again :)

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything but breakfast would be a bonus!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nabila Touizin

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2012 Nabila would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic - just a one minute walk from the lively centre of Leidseplein! I loved the old building and how the rooms were set out, it makes the general feel of the place warm and comforting.

Disliked: Nabila left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fahid Kassit

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

27 November 2012 Fahid would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to all parts of the city by tram stop 10m from the front door. Had a dorm with spotless bathroom ensuit, and beds were nice and firm! Showers always hot . Makes for a nice walk back from the coffe shops and while you strolling back stop in to see the museum

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, I will stay again

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012

Liked: Everything is so so. Don't expect much from this hostel

Disliked: Even though it is a non-smoke hostel, people do smoke a lot in front of the reception counter, and you can even smell that when you're up to the stairs. Really uncomfortable atmostphere. If you don't smoke, stay away from this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Menez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorm,spaciously.WiFi is great ! If I come back to Amsterdam again, I'll choose Amigo.

Disliked: No

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Muhammad Tahir

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 November 2012

Liked: nothing its waste of time and money

Disliked: i dislike everything i dont know why you have this hostel on your list

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brad Thors

Alone

City break

08 November 2012 Brad would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable, friendly staff, great facilities. Nice common room . It is some distance from the center of town, but the tram in Amsterdam is cheap and easy to use.

Disliked: .........

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Cássio Schumacher

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Cássio would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place to stay. I would totally recommend, especially for those who are on a budget trip. Some would say it's far from the center, but it is not that far, easy to access the main sights in the city.

Disliked: Could be a little cheaper yet.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012

Liked: Rooms, toilets, sheets and beds are clean

Disliked: They made us change our rooms due to lack of organization, we payed for rooms with 6 beds but we stayed in the room with 8 beds. Wi-fi was not working properly. Stairs were dangerous, entire building is like a maze. Hostel is very far from the center. Plugs in the room are not enough and placed in the entrance of the room. Staff was unfriendly. There was a lack of communication between them. Don't stay there, pay more and find somewhere better.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Melisa Alonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012

Liked: La habitacion eralimpia y tenia pc con internet gratis para usar.

Disliked: No acepta tarjetade credito y ademas cobran un impuesto del 5 porciento mas del precio acordado. Las escaleras son terrorificas y esta bastante alejado considerando el precio del transporte en amsterdam. No tiene desayuno ni cocina.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Transport to the city centre or anywhere else in the town is fairly easy from the hostel. The facilities and services were good value for money for the price we were paying. Furthermore, the staff were very friendly and they helped us with almost every questions we had. One of the staff members Redouan made our stay even more pleasant by making good recommendations and always managing the place well to suit most people's needs. He also went our of his way to ensure that we knew our way around and travelled safely. The hostel is well maintained and for the price you pay it's worth those few pennies.

Disliked: Not much apart from the slightly long flight of stairs at the entrance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and WC were clean. There was a sink, mirror and shower in the room. There are also lockers in the room. In the lobby there are tables, chairs for eating or just hanging out and two computers for internet.There are also fast food, supermarket and other stores within 300 meters. The location is a bit far, 12 stops(25min) with tram #9 from central station. Tickets are 2,70 for 1 hour or 7,20 for 24-hr. Other then that, Its the best hostel for the money i have been to in all of amsterdam.

Disliked: No wifi in the room. only 3 electrical socket in the room and all 3 were by the entrance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Beckett

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly. Although it states "for under 40s" and I am in my 60s, if you can cope with the stairs it's a good place to stay. Ask first is best policy.

Disliked: Although they don't have a Kitchen you can share the fridge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Haines

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 October 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where great!! very helpful and friendly

Disliked: little noisy at times.