HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam

Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 53%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 74%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings.
We accept cash and card for payment on arrival
Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge
Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email.
In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time.
-We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members


Cancellation policy during special periods

New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016
Easter 25,26,27,28 March 2016
*National kingsday : 26,27,29,30 April 2016
Liberty week : 05,06,07may 2016
*Pinksterdays: 15,16 may 2016
IBC event 10,11,12,13,14 *September 2016

Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole
booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 53%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 74%

Value 71%

Showing 61-70 of 176 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The common room in reception

Disliked: Rooms were fairly small and only one shower between quite a lot of people. And the stairs!!

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing it terrible

Disliked: Terrible rooms: 7 beds put into a 4 bed max room with one bed across the doorway so you have to climb over someone's bed and then two in front of the large window so you can't open it when it's hot.The location is poor Too expensive Unfriendly staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Appi, one of the friendliest staff members i've come across, made my welcome feel awe inspiring. The service and tatse in humour really made my stay exquisite. They are friendly and smiling always, even in the face of ignorant tourists and travellers. Good accomadations are close bye and the atmosphere is second to none!

Disliked: NOTHING!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Alan,

You are a very nice person and you are always welcome to stay with us again!!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The showers were nice. 24 hour reception.

Disliked: A lot about this hostel was bad for me. First up, the wifi is terrible. Took me forever to connect. When I ask the guy at the desk where I could go around the hostel, all he was capable of suggesting were coffeshops. Also, there are tons of smokers blocking the entry to the reception because they smoke in the stairs. The building is old and you hear everything. People walking over our heads and stopping us from sleeping. Barely slept because there are no curtains on the windows and people outside were very loud. To me, this was a party hostel.. Go if that is what you're looking for.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: You can smoke weed. and it was cheaper than all the other places in the touristy season. plus you're close to a grocery store

Disliked: it was so steep! the staircase to get up to the hostel and then to get anywhere else is super steep. if you were to fall you would have a serious problem. plus you have to put a down deposit on a key and almost anything else. its also far away from city center

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Quite close to the city center and probably one of the cheapest in Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms are bare and the common room is extra small, moreover there was no breakfast included, I wasn't expecting something fancy but in every hostel I've been they were offering something to eat in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and is a great place to meet other travellers and make new friends. The atmosphere in the hostel is chill and friendly and the staff is very helpful and kind. For example one of the staff member, Appi, got us a place in another hostel when this hostel was full! I couldn't thank him enough for that.But without doubt, this was one of the best hostels so far.

Disliked: There was not really anything to complain.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The ac leaked and the rooms were crap

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, really close to supermarkets/food places and a park. Easy connections to town or 40 minute walk.

Disliked: mad steps

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good price, no real problems

Disliked: Dangerous stairs, unhelpful staff, dirty rooms, extra charges, cash only, rude customers the list goes on


The property's response is

Dear Aaron,

Thank you for raiting us. Also thank you for your comment.

The stairs are beautiffuly dangerous as we have a monumential building that you will see often in Amsterdam. The extra charges are written in our conditions such as 5,5% citytax and 5% bankcharge.

We have the best customers in the world if you ask me. They have the freedom to smoke and have a nice party in our hostel. I am sorry if you did not fith in nice environment.

Anyway, you are always welcome here!

Check Availability