HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 58%

Location 71%

Safety 70%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please note:
Prices do not include the 5% city tax.
If you like to book for a group that is more than 12 persons, you must contact the hostel directly. If you don't contact the hostel we must cancel your booking.

Check in: 14hrs -23hrs (please, advise us in advance in case of later arrival)
Check out: 10 am.

minimum stay weekend: 2 nights

Cancellation policy: 72 hours.

cash payment and card payment accepted on arrival.

payments with any card is a 5% extra charge
Minimum stay: 2 nights

We ask authorisation on your given card. The booking will be terminated if there is no authorisation.

Guests with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members.

Cancellation policy during special periods:
During New Years (30. December, 31. December), Easter, Kingsday Day, Liberty week, Pinkster and IBC event, we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations
during these periods must be made at least 14 days before the arrival date (note
arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100%
of their total booking.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 58%

Location 71%

Safety 70%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Showing 61-70 of 112 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: everything was ok

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap, clean and very friendly, you could talk to other people staying there and the atmosphere was very chilled out.

Disliked: The security of the hostel, I was in a private room with 7 other friends of mine and a stranger managed to use his room key to access our room twice, lucky we were in there....after that i took my valuable belongings with me

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The room and beds are clean and comfortable, room is small but acceptable since there is only 5 people in one room. Staffs are friendly and helpful

Disliked: The common space is too small and filled with smoke.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere, I felt very comfortable hanging out in the common room/reception area.

Disliked: The mosquitoes there ate me alive, but I guess that's not so much the fault of the property and more of just an unfortunate occurrence.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a friendly atmosphere and the rooms were of a decent size.

Disliked: Steep stairs up to the hostel, only one toilet/bathroom between 10-20 people. other than that a great hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed here as a group of 4 for 3 nights. The staff were generally helpful and the rooms were clean. Showers were surprisingly big and a lot cleaner than expected.

Disliked: The only real issue is the location. We had to get a tram from the station which costs a few euros. It is easy enough to get a tram when you know where to go (we had to ask a local) but it's a bit out of the way of the centre

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Basic rooms to sleep in.

Disliked: The staff were very unhelpful. Booked a big group of us to fill two rooms and ended getting split up and separated into different rooms. At the end we were denied our key deposit back, despite giving back every key, due to not holding a receipt that they failed to tell us to keep to get our money back.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The common room in reception

Disliked: Rooms were fairly small and only one shower between quite a lot of people. And the stairs!!

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing it terrible

Disliked: Terrible rooms: 7 beds put into a 4 bed max room with one bed across the doorway so you have to climb over someone's bed and then two in front of the large window so you can't open it when it's hot.The location is poor Too expensive Unfriendly staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Appi, one of the friendliest staff members i've come across, made my welcome feel awe inspiring. The service and tatse in humour really made my stay exquisite. They are friendly and smiling always, even in the face of ignorant tourists and travellers. Good accomadations are close bye and the atmosphere is second to none!

Disliked: NOTHING!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Alan,

You are a very nice person and you are always welcome to stay with us again!!

Check Availability