HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 58%

Location 70%

Safety 69%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings.
We accept cash and card for payment on arrival
Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge
Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email.
In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time.
-We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members


Cancellation policy during special periods

New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016
Easter 25,26,27,28 March 2016
*National kingsday : 26,27,29,30 April 2016
Liberty week : 05,06,07may 2016
*Pinksterdays: 15,16 may 2016
IBC event 10,11,12,13,14 *September 2016

Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole
booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 58%

Location 70%

Safety 69%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

Showing 51-60 of 141 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The whole atosphere.

Disliked: the stairs are hard to get up!

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Central Location was good.

Disliked: The Bathroom was dirty and the shower cold. Ok for one night but not more.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was ok, still not in close walking distance to the centre. Staff were pleasant.

Disliked: Rooms were SO small! Stayed in a room of 6 there was no where to put bags and it felt like we were all sleeping on top of each other it was that small. Bunk beds are tiny, can't sit up on the bottom and if you are on the top it is likely you will fall off unless you don't move as there are no sides! Walls were disgustingly dirty, toilets were dirty, one shower for a floor of around 50 people! One of the cheaper hosts in Amsterdam, but it should be a lot cheaper for what you get.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place was really clean, friendly and right next to a couple of different tram routes. Supermarket to the rear of the place that is open early and late and another shop down the road open even later. I really enjoyed staying here and met some really love people.

Disliked: The stairs were a nightmare upon arrival but you get used to them, we were only on the 1st floor so it wasn't the end of the world. I would like to mention though the fact that we had 2 rooms and half way through the stay the boys in the other room were told they had to move rooms to accommodate some other guests who were arriving the next day. They had to leave their room by 12pm and weren't given another until 3pm. This was a bit of a hassle. I also overheard another guest complaining that when they went into their room all their stuff was gone and someone else's stuff was in there... I didn't find out whether it was resolved but I wouldn't of enjoyed my stay as much if that had happened to us!

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Günstiges Hostel.Tram hält direkt vor der Unterkunft.

Disliked: Ich buchte 2 Plätze in einem 6-Bettzimmer, bekam jedoch bei Ankunft ein 8-Bettzimmer. Die Sachen der "Mitbewohner" waren überall im Zimmer verteilt. Sehr unordentlich. Mein Bettlaken war von langen Haaren überhäuft & relativ schmutzig.Zimmer direkt an der Straßenseite --> die ganze Nacht über Lärm von dort.Die Türen knarrten wie in einem schlechten Horrorfilm.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel actually surprise me, i was a little bit concern about the reviews but after a stay there i realise that people that wrote those reviews was completly wrong, i had the time of my life, the staff was amazing, i felt like staying htere for longer, a little far away for the center but its totally worth it, if you do come over ask for Appi he willl make you stay here even more pleasent.

Disliked: Maybe the stair case, but we are back packers, we dont like easy things do we!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Cost of room.

Disliked: Door, room 302, did not lock itself.also after cleaning on the 28th, I came back and It was open.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget!the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all.but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception (Appi) showed us everything on one of them free city maps.the staff was really amazing!the hostel is very nice and clean! you meet a lot of different people from different countries.i liked my stay very much! you should go and see the guys from Amigo!Amigo till next year!!

Disliked: nothing, your on vacation don't stress, be happy and make a great time!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: everything was ok

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap, clean and very friendly, you could talk to other people staying there and the atmosphere was very chilled out.

Disliked: The security of the hostel, I was in a private room with 7 other friends of mine and a stranger managed to use his room key to access our room twice, lucky we were in there....after that i took my valuable belongings with me

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability