We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

77.9% Overall Rating

373 out of 499 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2015)

"great staff - very relaxed atmosphere but rooms feel private and secure and beds are very comfy and clean :) Good Showers Great supermarkets / munchie spots right across the road from the hostel and tram stop to Dam Sq…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New Years (30th Dec 2014—2nd Jan015) Easter 18 - 22 April Queen’s Day (26th to 30th April) and Pinkster 6 -8 June Period IBC Event (11th to 15th September). Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
32.24 USD

Hostel 61.0% 93 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
17.73 USD

Hostel 83.1% 721 reviews
Centraal Hostel
26.87 USD

Hostel 65.9% 233 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
42.99 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
33.62 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.6% 337 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
37.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.9% 777 reviews
Vita Nova
22.57 USD

Hostel 86.5% 293 reviews
Hotel Max
40.30 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

373 out of 499 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 480 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Coral McCormack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: The man who lives there (who is not staff), Mo, was extremely helpful and friendly to guide us around the city.

Disliked: First, it is not close to city centre as advertised. The major attractions are on the other side and only one tram runs to them, which is about 20 minutes. Or much longer if you were to walk. Second, the staff were unbelievably unorganized. We were 2 travellers who got separated into 2 different rooms, and we heard countless stories (from just our brief stay) of many people having their stuff moved without their knowledge by the staff and coming home to find out they were now in a different room. They do provide a luggage room, but give the key to anyone and when another girl had her package stolen, the manager yelled at her and told her to get out. The staff are all very rude and seem deceitful. Third, the place is filthy. My bed smelled awful, nothing was cleaned our entire stay, there are too few toilets and showers per floor and our one toilet was clogged with human waste for 2 days. Even after complaining it did not get fixed. The shower rooms are very small with no room to dress. Fourth, there is no lift and the stairs are extremely steap and dangerous. Fifth, there are an excessive number of doors that slam loudly and because this is a 'party' hostel, prepare for no sleep, if you are able to sleep on uncomfortable beds with no heat at all. On top of everything, this hostel is very overpriced and they actually charge your credit card for your full stay before you even arrive, which does not seem right. Please, for the love of God, do not stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Naimeh Georges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Naimeh would recommend this property

Liked: people are friendly , you will meet new people

Disliked: its not that organized .. this hostel isnt for whom who are looking for tidiness

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUILI HAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 HUILI would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, after stayed some cheap but dirty hostels in Holland, this is quite good. little but good bathrooms . worth the money.

Disliked: no breakfast, too much far, no kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Conti

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2013 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly easy to reach by tram

Disliked: A lttle bit far but tram is just outside And the steps

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Madden

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful from the moment we arrived to even after we had checked out. They allowed us to store our bags securely in a locked room before we could check in and on our last day because we had a late train. The room was clean and we were not bothered by noise at all. The shower facilities may have been limited as we were sharing a bathroom, but there was always hot water and a decent pressure on the shower.

Disliked: The rooms are bare and literally only for sleeping in, but if you're only in town for a few days then you should spend most of that out in the city. The only thing I really disliked were the stairs - so steep!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kenneth K. Lauridsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Kenneth K. would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to go in to centrum whit the tram, and the staff was friendly and smiling. and there is good atmosphere, specaily for interailer.

Disliked: I have not get a answer on my to email's thats is not okay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean

Disliked: A bit far from city centre, though ok if you take the tram. The directions say it's accessible from Amstel station as well, but be warned that it's actually about a 1/2 hour's walk away!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amiah Swinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Amiah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, basically like a simple hotel with dorms. Really comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. A bit of walk from the city centre,Well-stocked supermarket nearby. Thank you guys.

Disliked: Amiah don't have dislike about the Amigo Budget Hostel

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was dirty. There was only one bathroom for many people It was very dar from de center of de city

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Levi Nash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very cheap and it was also very clean with good duvets and pillows. The staff were very freindly and when i asked if i could make a cup of tea they were more than happy to do it free of charge. Also i fancied a night in and asked if they could put the football on and they had no problem with that so I was very satisfied. Lastly i had a guitar and all my luggage with me. On the day i checked out the staff were happy to hold my thing until 5pm in the locked luggage room :)

Disliked: Its hard to take a dislike to any hostel when you pay such a low price. Usually you get what you pay for. Here i felt like i got more than i paid for.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: nice blankets, good discount card selection, easy bus route to center of town.

Disliked: there was an additional city tax i had to pay on arrival, which was not mentioned before, and there was an extra charge for paying with a credit card, which I didn't know. It was also not very walkable from center of town. The communal room was fairly small for the number of people staying there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hsiao-Kang Yuan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: Very clean and well-furnitured

Disliked: They didn't give me a door card which means I couldn't even go to toilet outside the room. They told me I can keep the door open but it's dangerous and what if my money get lost? Moreover the door of toilet and shower rooms are all broken! You can't lock properly. It's annoying. And the hot water is unstable. The water went cold when I was taking a shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lacation

Disliked: stairs..! :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEMMA BARKS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 GEMMA would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful- we had to change our books before we arrived and there weren't any problems. They were great for info on what to see and do an how to get there. Joined in with the fun at night time! Good location, maybe 20 mins on the tram but that's no problem cus you'd pay so much to stay in the centre. Supermarkets, bars and coffeeshops around so you're not in the middle of nowhere! Beds were comfy, showers were great! Really recommend to everyone! Value for money.

Disliked: It was COLD at night! The heating wasn't put on till gone midnight. The toilet cubicles are small and the stairs are steep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredy Louisene

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 March 2013 Fredy would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities are new, the hostel is very clean, they clean the rooms and bathrooms everyday. Good value, free wifi and citymaps. The staff helped me as I needed a doctor - they called and booked for me and when they realized the doctors was closing they arranged for the doctor to meet ne at the pharmacy! They went above and beyond. We also left valuables in the room with no problems. I strongly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothign actually. everything was perfect for me

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Goodsell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful, clean, worth the price

Disliked: Stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shandre Liebenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Shandre would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely and clean. Its a very comfortable and homely hostel. The beds were comfortable, the rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. One staff member in particular by the name of Cassa was absolutely incredible. He welcomed us with open arms and made our stay amazing. Brilliant service, fantastic hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked at all although a couch is needed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kjell Sadowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2013 Kjell would recommend this property

Liked: The facilties are quite good and clean. It was your average hostel and for 25€ a stay, it is what you would expect to get.

Disliked: The steep stairs may be dangerous for some people but I enjoyed them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff, comfortable rooms

Disliked: Steep skinny stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lior Rozenman

Alone

City break

10 March 2013 Lior would recommend this property

Liked: great place!! the staff is amazing helpful and funny to talk with. Especially the receptionist named Pentura. He is very nice and doing the best to make the stay good. Very safe and clean! Also the cleaner Charlo is very nice and very funny, he always dance during his work and that is very entertaining!! Thanks guys

Disliked: nothing, just steep stairs..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Vyhnackova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helped us with our luggage to the steep stairs, recommended places to go...

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake goldstein

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2013 jake would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dalton Gray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Dalton would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean rooms/beds/showers, very accommodating, fun atmosphere, very convenient computers and wifi access, free city maps and advice from the staff, and it was very easy to follow their instructions and get to the hostel, I don't speak or read Dutch and I got there without a problem.

Disliked: Some people might want to be located closer to the city center. I preferred it, actually, because I like walks and day trips - I suppose I didn't really have anywhere important to be. Aside from walking distances, it was nice to be in a quiet part of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beatriz Pedro Mineiro

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2013 beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is not very close to the center, but has a station nearby and is very easy to get around. The people are very nice and are prepared to deal with young people; give all the information and help. It's a very good hotel according to price, and if it were to Amsterdam again, I'd be there.

Disliked: The stairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Lancaster

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, super inexpensive, very convenient to public transport.

Disliked: Steep stairs, shared bathroom, zero decor.