HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam

Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 53%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 74%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings.
We accept cash and card for payment on arrival
Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge
Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email.
In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time.
-We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members


Cancellation policy during special periods

New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016
Easter 25,26,27,28 March 2016
*National kingsday : 26,27,29,30 April 2016
Liberty week : 05,06,07may 2016
*Pinksterdays: 15,16 may 2016
IBC event 10,11,12,13,14 *September 2016

Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole
booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 53%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 74%

Value 71%

Showing 51-60 of 178 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel actually surprise me, i was a little bit concern about the reviews but after a stay there i realise that people that wrote those reviews was completly wrong, i had the time of my life, the staff was amazing, i felt like staying htere for longer, a little far away for the center but its totally worth it, if you do come over ask for Appi he willl make you stay here even more pleasent.

Disliked: Maybe the stair case, but we are back packers, we dont like easy things do we!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Cost of room.

Disliked: Door, room 302, did not lock itself.also after cleaning on the 28th, I came back and It was open.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget!the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all.but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception (Appi) showed us everything on one of them free city maps.the staff was really amazing!the hostel is very nice and clean! you meet a lot of different people from different countries.i liked my stay very much! you should go and see the guys from Amigo!Amigo till next year!!

Disliked: nothing, your on vacation don't stress, be happy and make a great time!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: everything was ok

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap, clean and very friendly, you could talk to other people staying there and the atmosphere was very chilled out.

Disliked: The security of the hostel, I was in a private room with 7 other friends of mine and a stranger managed to use his room key to access our room twice, lucky we were in there....after that i took my valuable belongings with me

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The room and beds are clean and comfortable, room is small but acceptable since there is only 5 people in one room. Staffs are friendly and helpful

Disliked: The common space is too small and filled with smoke.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere, I felt very comfortable hanging out in the common room/reception area.

Disliked: The mosquitoes there ate me alive, but I guess that's not so much the fault of the property and more of just an unfortunate occurrence.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a friendly atmosphere and the rooms were of a decent size.

Disliked: Steep stairs up to the hostel, only one toilet/bathroom between 10-20 people. other than that a great hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed here as a group of 4 for 3 nights. The staff were generally helpful and the rooms were clean. Showers were surprisingly big and a lot cleaner than expected.

Disliked: The only real issue is the location. We had to get a tram from the station which costs a few euros. It is easy enough to get a tram when you know where to go (we had to ask a local) but it's a bit out of the way of the centre

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Basic rooms to sleep in.

Disliked: The staff were very unhelpful. Booked a big group of us to fill two rooms and ended getting split up and separated into different rooms. At the end we were denied our key deposit back, despite giving back every key, due to not holding a receipt that they failed to tell us to keep to get our money back.

Check Availability