We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

68.6% Overall Rating

357 out of 479 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

ian umney thinks…

"my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget! the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all. but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 65.8% 78 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
20.87 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
28.18 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
29.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

357 out of 479 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 461 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEMMA BARKS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 GEMMA would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful- we had to change our books before we arrived and there weren't any problems. They were great for info on what to see and do an how to get there. Joined in with the fun at night time! Good location, maybe 20 mins on the tram but that's no problem cus you'd pay so much to stay in the centre. Supermarkets, bars and coffeeshops around so you're not in the middle of nowhere! Beds were comfy, showers were great! Really recommend to everyone! Value for money.

Disliked: It was COLD at night! The heating wasn't put on till gone midnight. The toilet cubicles are small and the stairs are steep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredy Louisene

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 March 2013 Fredy would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities are new, the hostel is very clean, they clean the rooms and bathrooms everyday. Good value, free wifi and citymaps. The staff helped me as I needed a doctor - they called and booked for me and when they realized the doctors was closing they arranged for the doctor to meet ne at the pharmacy! They went above and beyond. We also left valuables in the room with no problems. I strongly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothign actually. everything was perfect for me

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Goodsell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful, clean, worth the price

Disliked: Stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shandre Liebenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Shandre would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely and clean. Its a very comfortable and homely hostel. The beds were comfortable, the rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. One staff member in particular by the name of Cassa was absolutely incredible. He welcomed us with open arms and made our stay amazing. Brilliant service, fantastic hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked at all although a couch is needed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kjell Sadowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2013 Kjell would recommend this property

Liked: The facilties are quite good and clean. It was your average hostel and for 25€ a stay, it is what you would expect to get.

Disliked: The steep stairs may be dangerous for some people but I enjoyed them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff, comfortable rooms

Disliked: Steep skinny stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lior Rozenman

Alone

City break

10 March 2013 Lior would recommend this property

Liked: great place!! the staff is amazing helpful and funny to talk with. Especially the receptionist named Pentura. He is very nice and doing the best to make the stay good. Very safe and clean! Also the cleaner Charlo is very nice and very funny, he always dance during his work and that is very entertaining!! Thanks guys

Disliked: nothing, just steep stairs..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Vyhnackova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helped us with our luggage to the steep stairs, recommended places to go...

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake goldstein

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2013 jake would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dalton Gray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Dalton would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean rooms/beds/showers, very accommodating, fun atmosphere, very convenient computers and wifi access, free city maps and advice from the staff, and it was very easy to follow their instructions and get to the hostel, I don't speak or read Dutch and I got there without a problem.

Disliked: Some people might want to be located closer to the city center. I preferred it, actually, because I like walks and day trips - I suppose I didn't really have anywhere important to be. Aside from walking distances, it was nice to be in a quiet part of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beatriz Pedro Mineiro

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2013 beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is not very close to the center, but has a station nearby and is very easy to get around. The people are very nice and are prepared to deal with young people; give all the information and help. It's a very good hotel according to price, and if it were to Amsterdam again, I'd be there.

Disliked: The stairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Lancaster

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, super inexpensive, very convenient to public transport.

Disliked: Steep stairs, shared bathroom, zero decor.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Sorrell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the layout was easy and the directions were accurate

Disliked: the rooms were small and there wasn't any room to store clothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adalard Hansing

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 February 2013 Adalard would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. Friendly staff, good internet wifi connection, clean dorms, comfortable beds.

Disliked: No

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy hostel. Clean shower room and toilet. With facilities for luggage storage. Lobby area for wi-fi access and eating (but a bit small and cramped) Very friendly staff. Close to local shops, supermarket, bakery and launderette. Lockers within in rooms to keep valuables safe and secure (bring own padlock)

Disliked: Location is a bit far from city centre. But easy to get to by tram (15 minutes) Very steep staircase up to the main door. Not suitable for those with many or heavy luggage. Staircase is often blocked by fellow travellers smoking, which is unpleasant.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, nice for young people, easy to find and it's near the centre

Disliked: no very comfortable, but cheap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proprieter is more than happy to help accomodate you!

Disliked: It does cost 2.80 everytime you want a rail pass to get into city center, you could save a bit and walk it like I did but this time of the year it gets bitterly cold. The location is a bit removed from city center, but you could just buy a day pass and then no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annalina Heimersson

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 January 2013 Annalina would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. From what I hear/understand, its difficult to find a good clean hostel in Amsterdam, and everywhere is relatively expensive. but Amigo Hostel, is quite cheap, very clean, safe, and fun, and also in a really convenient location, 10 min walk from Eurolines Bus Station. highly recommend this place

Disliked: Stairs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lionel simenya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 lionel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and staff very helpful . If you arrive in Amsterdam by bus this is the best place.

Disliked: No kitchen but the staff will be happy to put you meal in the microwave and will offer you tea.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Holli Youster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Holli would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, perfect for travellers who are just looking for a place to sleep, easy to find and get to from the train station, showers were pretty good, tram stop right outside, cute will bakery opposite!

Disliked: VERY steep stairs which can be pretty hard to get up and down if you've spent the evening in a coffeeshop! But this is the same for many properties in Amsterdam. There is no kitchen available to guests which is a bit of a pain if you like to budget on food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Murry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: i couldnt believe how modern and clean the rooms were. great shower and bathroom and the room was so clean. Free internet . i liked the location as it was in walking distance of all the attractions but also the tram was outside the hotel for easy quick access in and around the city centre. we got the train from the airport straight to the hotel which was handy.

Disliked: Nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: very small rooms,smell of grass everywhere,entrance stairs..really dangerous

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Debora Soares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Debora would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly staff,

Disliked: The noisy,,too many doors slaming in the morning

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013

Liked: the rooms where clean

Disliked: wifi was not working most of the time, too many beds for such small rooms, stairs where extremely steep, around 5km from the center, the toilet room was extremely small for an adult person