HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

69.0% Overall Rating

356 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

ian umney thinks…

"my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget! the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all. but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 67.4% 77 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
27.20 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
29.60 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
33.21 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.0%

Overall Rating

356 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 460 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Albert Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 May 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff

Disliked: It is a bit out of town ,but that meant we saw parts of Amsterdam that we may not have if we were in the centre

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed and bathroom is good. Clean room.

Disliked: No kitchen nor breakfast. Quite far away from Central Station, about 45-60min walk. A bit expensive.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, no curfew.

Disliked: The stairs seem to be fairly dangerous.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean and always had Hot Water

Disliked: Window Not closing properly. No Place to prepare Some Food in any Way. Very very Loud closing Windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahkum Guang

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2013 Ahkum would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 2 days, its really a good little hotel, clean nice rooms, very secure, great showers. The location is good and very safe, quiet location as well as its not very near all the bars and clubs, but they are no further than 10 - 15mins with the tram. I will stay there again

Disliked: The stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good cleaning and big rooms

Disliked: Everything was ok :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For £25 a night I can't complain. Room was basic as expected, but safe and sound and the bed was comfy. 30 minute walk to the centre but a tram literally outside the front only takes 10 mins for €2.80. Got what I paid for.

Disliked: They decided to add an extra 5% to the bill when we arrived and I'm not sure why. Also couldn't smoke in the room however it was ok to smoke just outside the room. Either smoke inside or not at all, was teasing smelling it and not being able to have it in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Dirty rooms and bathrooms, bad smells and lots of noise during the nights - most of which by the reception staff. Walls so thick one can hear EVERY sound.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can make friends with other travelers

Disliked: a lot of people in reception area and it's too crowded

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica White

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my time here as I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and free internet. The atmosphere was a great way to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: My only complaint was the size of the toilets which made it very difficult to move in the small space.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple, cheap accomadation.

Disliked: Website did not make clear non smoking, Shower in room did not work.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mehmet Utku Acar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: The staff was very friendly. Close to tram and also there is a night bus which enables you to go there whenever you want.

Disliked: The rooms are too small. Toilets and the bath were in very bad conditions. I've stayed in other hostels but this one was totally dissapointing. Morever it's not close to city centre. In busy times, it takes 20 minutes to go to centre.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Coral McCormack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: The man who lives there (who is not staff), Mo, was extremely helpful and friendly to guide us around the city.

Disliked: First, it is not close to city centre as advertised. The major attractions are on the other side and only one tram runs to them, which is about 20 minutes. Or much longer if you were to walk. Second, the staff were unbelievably unorganized. We were 2 travellers who got separated into 2 different rooms, and we heard countless stories (from just our brief stay) of many people having their stuff moved without their knowledge by the staff and coming home to find out they were now in a different room. They do provide a luggage room, but give the key to anyone and when another girl had her package stolen, the manager yelled at her and told her to get out. The staff are all very rude and seem deceitful. Third, the place is filthy. My bed smelled awful, nothing was cleaned our entire stay, there are too few toilets and showers per floor and our one toilet was clogged with human waste for 2 days. Even after complaining it did not get fixed. The shower rooms are very small with no room to dress. Fourth, there is no lift and the stairs are extremely steap and dangerous. Fifth, there are an excessive number of doors that slam loudly and because this is a 'party' hostel, prepare for no sleep, if you are able to sleep on uncomfortable beds with no heat at all. On top of everything, this hostel is very overpriced and they actually charge your credit card for your full stay before you even arrive, which does not seem right. Please, for the love of God, do not stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Naimeh Georges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Naimeh would recommend this property

Liked: people are friendly , you will meet new people

Disliked: its not that organized .. this hostel isnt for whom who are looking for tidiness

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUILI HAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 HUILI would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, after stayed some cheap but dirty hostels in Holland, this is quite good. little but good bathrooms . worth the money.

Disliked: no breakfast, too much far, no kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Conti

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2013 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly easy to reach by tram

Disliked: A lttle bit far but tram is just outside And the steps

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Madden

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful from the moment we arrived to even after we had checked out. They allowed us to store our bags securely in a locked room before we could check in and on our last day because we had a late train. The room was clean and we were not bothered by noise at all. The shower facilities may have been limited as we were sharing a bathroom, but there was always hot water and a decent pressure on the shower.

Disliked: The rooms are bare and literally only for sleeping in, but if you're only in town for a few days then you should spend most of that out in the city. The only thing I really disliked were the stairs - so steep!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kenneth K. Lauridsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Kenneth K. would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to go in to centrum whit the tram, and the staff was friendly and smiling. and there is good atmosphere, specaily for interailer.

Disliked: I have not get a answer on my to email's thats is not okay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean

Disliked: A bit far from city centre, though ok if you take the tram. The directions say it's accessible from Amstel station as well, but be warned that it's actually about a 1/2 hour's walk away!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amiah Swinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Amiah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, basically like a simple hotel with dorms. Really comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. A bit of walk from the city centre,Well-stocked supermarket nearby. Thank you guys.

Disliked: Amiah don't have dislike about the Amigo Budget Hostel

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was dirty. There was only one bathroom for many people It was very dar from de center of de city

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Levi Nash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very cheap and it was also very clean with good duvets and pillows. The staff were very freindly and when i asked if i could make a cup of tea they were more than happy to do it free of charge. Also i fancied a night in and asked if they could put the football on and they had no problem with that so I was very satisfied. Lastly i had a guitar and all my luggage with me. On the day i checked out the staff were happy to hold my thing until 5pm in the locked luggage room :)

Disliked: Its hard to take a dislike to any hostel when you pay such a low price. Usually you get what you pay for. Here i felt like i got more than i paid for.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: nice blankets, good discount card selection, easy bus route to center of town.

Disliked: there was an additional city tax i had to pay on arrival, which was not mentioned before, and there was an extra charge for paying with a credit card, which I didn't know. It was also not very walkable from center of town. The communal room was fairly small for the number of people staying there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hsiao-Kang Yuan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: Very clean and well-furnitured

Disliked: They didn't give me a door card which means I couldn't even go to toilet outside the room. They told me I can keep the door open but it's dangerous and what if my money get lost? Moreover the door of toilet and shower rooms are all broken! You can't lock properly. It's annoying. And the hot water is unstable. The water went cold when I was taking a shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lacation

Disliked: stairs..! :(