We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

71.7% Overall Rating

359 out of 481 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2014)

Mario Fajardo Soriano thinks…

"this hostel is very great! the atmosphere is very good, you meet a lot of different people here! the staff is also very helpfull, especially appi, he showed us everything we can do in amsterdam!…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New Years (30th Dec 2014—2nd Jan015) Easter 18 - 22 April Queen’s Day (26th to 30th April) and Pinkster 6 -8 June Period IBC Event (11th to 15th September). Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.30 USD

Hostel 66.7% 79 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
20.87 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 62.2% 228 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
20.49 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.0% 775 reviews
Vita Nova
27.20 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
26.88 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

359 out of 481 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albertine Mmahon

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2013 Albertine would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel of our holiday. The place was really good, next to Amstel station (with useful tram and bus links) and staff really helped with what to do and where to go. We were matched with lovely English people. lovely people at the hostel. You can come and go whatever time of night. Plus the bathroom and toilet were clean, something I can't say about other hostels. You will feel like you're staying in a hotel

Disliked: Albertine have no comments

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mateusz Banasiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: staff is very helpful

Disliked: one bathroom on each floor, unsafety stairs, no lift 10 people slept in 8bed room

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Andrew Malarky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013

Liked: It was only 12 euros for the weekday stay, i would have been horrified had i paid more

Disliked: Beds were ridiculous, place was dirty, only 2 showers per floor and one was out of order, only available fridge was a small bar fridge for entire place, much better hostels in amsterdam

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and easy going staff

Disliked: No kitchen, but it wasn't advertised as having one either

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yassine Fizazi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Yassine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is particularly nice and helpful. The hostel is near a tram station which makes the transportation downtown Amsterdam fairly easy.

Disliked: No elevator.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MATEO IANOTTI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 MATEO would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed how clean and safe this hostile was. The workers were really friendly, especially the cleaning crew.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that they did not have a place for you to cook, for the price you are paying they should have an area where you can make yourself a meal.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: nothing in particular, though the showers were pretty decent. pretty average place, can definitely do better in amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the tram line was right outside the door.

Disliked: When we arrived the room was very dirty and we were missing a bed, we complained and were govern a mattress for the floor, uncceptable for the price we paid

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Went away for a friends stag do, wanted to keep accommodation cheap and reasonable. Amigo succeeded in this.

Disliked: The very steep steps to get up.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was for budget reason only was not fussed just steep steps and loads of doors to go thru

Disliked: Overcrowded an surprised to fin that their is 4 bunk beds in .one room sleeping in the room with strangers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean rooms with lockers and the shower was really good and really clean. Everything you need really!

Disliked: Had to pay an extra charge ontop of the payment when we got there, like 10 euros for city tax. Didn't expect that but I probably just didn't read the conditions properly. Also kinda loud at night but beggars can't be choosers.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

katie stocking

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing. For your own sake, don't stay here.

Disliked: Where do I start? The staff weren't helpful at all - we decided to leave a night early because it was such an awful hostel, complained about a few things including the smoking thing, and was promptly asked why did I come to Amsterdam if I didn't smoke weed? Seriously? He then went on to say that's all anyone does - I can vouch for that not being true. I felt so unsafe there, being only a young girl I hated every second. They wouldn't give us any form of a refund even though we had complained so much and wasn't going to be staying our last night but was told if I wanted to wait around for 2 hours I could speak to his colleague. In general, the hostel is horrific. Seriously, don't waste your money, go elsewhere!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Overbooking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Sanders

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Casa was great.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: possibility to only stay for one night in the weekend

Disliked: having no towels in the rooms was not a nice surprise

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Murr

Alone

City break

08 July 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo hostel is really clean and the staff are super friendly

Disliked: My room was on the fourth floor and there was no lift, only steep steps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom are clean. The staff is friendly. Wifi is everywhere.

Disliked: The stairs are too steep so dont bring too much stuff wit you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DO YEAL YU

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 DO YEAL would recommend this property

Liked: i lived amigo hostel only for one night. but it was really nice. the hostel is clean and nice location. and staff was also very kind and funny. they tried to show me the amsterdam. and sultan who is one of the staff is really kind. if you go to amsterdam, go to amigo hostel. it will be nice trip.!!!!

Disliked: DO YEAL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nabila Yakhalf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Nabila would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel and service! Would stay there again on my next trip. Great value for money for traveling students

Disliked: Everything was ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Souverein

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay, there was a nice vibe :) The room was simple, but clean. It was one of the cheapest hostels I could find, so I was kind of afraid that it would suck and would be dirty, but it was nice and clean. So no complains.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bernicia Prez Fuerta

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 bernicia would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and. TidyIt's a great hostel to stay for some days while visiting Amsterdam! With one tram one is in the city center or in the museum quarter, so just perfect.

Disliked: Bernicia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalia Pordonav

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2013 Nathalia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice surprise this hostel! The staff were really friendly. The room was clean,we chose a private one so it was like staying at a hotel. The Tram is the easiest way to get anywhere from there or you can rent a bike, Even though it was really cold. I would definitely recomend this hostel! The only negative thing about it I guess was the huge number of teenagers staying there.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timmoy Klunse

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2013 Timmoy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so clean and nice. I felt like I was staying in a hotel the whole time. The location is a walk from the city center, which I liked because I could get away from the noise. It's close to the Tropen Museum and a East park which is great for just laying around.

Disliked: The steeps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as described. Very good for the price.

Disliked: Staff was not very helpful.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. All the toilet paper are wet 2. Smoking zone right outside room 3. Not enough power points 4. Extra charges for credit card 5. The stairs are too steep 6. Bunk beds do not have steps 7. Too few toilets