We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

78.7% Overall Rating

379 out of 505 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

Chris Howgill thinks…

"Guests were polite with each other, lockers were easily available, a prety chilled out place as you'd expect in this City."

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016 *National kingsday : 24/25/26 April 2015 *Pinksterdays: 14/15/16 May 2015 *22/23/24 May 2015 *ascension day: 29/30 May 2015 *IBC event : 11/12 September 2015 Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
33.02 USD

Hostel 60.5% 96 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
23.67 USD

Hostel 83.4% 725 reviews
Centraal Hostel
27.52 USD

Hostel 66.7% 234 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
55.04 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
24.77 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.6% 337 reviews
Vita Nova
23.12 USD

Hostel 91.0% 296 reviews
Hotel Max
33.02 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ljplein Bed and Breakfast
9.91 USD

Guesthouse 59.4% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

379 out of 505 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 339 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Langdale

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very modern. Shower and toilet facilities very nice for the price paid.

Disliked: The stairs were very steep. Being on the 4th floor meant we had a very steep climb back to the room after having a smoke

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: No breakfast service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NURHAN CAN

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 NURHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Well..I stayed at this hostel about 6 nights.First of all i can say that it was really enjoy trip for me with my lovely hostel.All of stuffs were so helpful with us. Thank you to everyone :)

Disliked: Just bathrooms would be cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ÇA?LA TANDO?AN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 ÇA?LA would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!! We love all the things about hostel. Location&friendly staff&cleanliness Next time I will definitely go Amigo hostel again

Disliked: ÇA?LA left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013

Liked: Didn't like it at all.

Disliked: Not very clean, location is at a shady part of town. Steep stairs very very long and steep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adelwald Beyn

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 December 2013 Adelwald would recommend this property

Liked: Our Time at the Hostel was really cool, on the first day, the staff welcomed us really pleasant even in german! Everything is really clean especially the bathrooms! But maybe it´s possible to organize some pot-herbs :) Altogether it was a pretty nice stay there, Thank you for your hospitality.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Looks

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: This HOSTEL has everything you need, very comfortable. The staff very kind and helpful. Overall, good for the money. Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: This hostel don't have elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 November 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, everything works really well, staff is friendly, and the city is amazing, just rent a bike and you're good to go!

Disliked: .............

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohamed Elleithy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: People were nice and as a place for just having a good sleep, it is OK.

Disliked: The WiFi connection was not working from my room. Also, the STAIRS ARE SO STEEEEEEEP....

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dan McBrearty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and nothing wrong with it, clean bed which is all that could be asked.

Disliked: VERY steep stairs up to reception/the rooms. Could be an issue after a night out but it wasn't for us. Communal toilet per 4 or so rooms so on occasion had to wait.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cem Gulcen

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

13 November 2013 Cem would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and very welcoming. If I go back to Amsterdam I will definetely stay there!! Can only recommend!!!!

Disliked: Except the stairs being extremely steep nothing..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathas Amorim

Alone

Family Holiday

29 October 2013 Jonathas would recommend this property

Liked: It was good.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delightful staff - really helpful and friendly. Very comfortable beds in our twin room and great hot showers.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Addams

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best "Hostels" I have every stayed at! (It was a hotel) very clean, super nice. 10 min tram 9 ride from the center city. I will definitely recommend it to my friends. If I'm going again il definitely try to book there.

Disliked: No

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alban DORVEAUX

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

21 October 2013

Liked: cool staff

Disliked: dirty, uncomfortable, not close to the center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albertine Mmahon

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2013 Albertine would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel of our holiday. The place was really good, next to Amstel station (with useful tram and bus links) and staff really helped with what to do and where to go. We were matched with lovely English people. lovely people at the hostel. You can come and go whatever time of night. Plus the bathroom and toilet were clean, something I can't say about other hostels. You will feel like you're staying in a hotel

Disliked: Albertine have no comments

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mateusz Banasiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: staff is very helpful

Disliked: one bathroom on each floor, unsafety stairs, no lift 10 people slept in 8bed room

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Andrew Malarky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013

Liked: It was only 12 euros for the weekday stay, i would have been horrified had i paid more

Disliked: Beds were ridiculous, place was dirty, only 2 showers per floor and one was out of order, only available fridge was a small bar fridge for entire place, much better hostels in amsterdam

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and easy going staff

Disliked: No kitchen, but it wasn't advertised as having one either

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yassine Fizazi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Yassine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is particularly nice and helpful. The hostel is near a tram station which makes the transportation downtown Amsterdam fairly easy.

Disliked: No elevator.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MATEO IANOTTI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 MATEO would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed how clean and safe this hostile was. The workers were really friendly, especially the cleaning crew.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that they did not have a place for you to cook, for the price you are paying they should have an area where you can make yourself a meal.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: nothing in particular, though the showers were pretty decent. pretty average place, can definitely do better in amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the tram line was right outside the door.

Disliked: When we arrived the room was very dirty and we were missing a bed, we complained and were govern a mattress for the floor, uncceptable for the price we paid

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Went away for a friends stag do, wanted to keep accommodation cheap and reasonable. Amigo succeeded in this.

Disliked: The very steep steps to get up.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was for budget reason only was not fussed just steep steps and loads of doors to go thru

Disliked: Overcrowded an surprised to fin that their is 4 bunk beds in .one room sleeping in the room with strangers