HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

73.0% Overall Rating

345 out of 463 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Hoai Phuong Tran thinks…

"The room and beds are clean and comfortable, room is small but acceptable since there is only 5 people in one room. Staffs are friendly and helpful"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
26.39 USD

Hostel 66.3% 72 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.36 USD

Hostel 83.8% 704 reviews
Centraal Hostel
29.68 USD

Hostel 64.8% 224 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
52.77 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
30.87 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.8% 332 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
46.17 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
27.70 USD

Hostel 80.2% 282 reviews
Hotel Max
32.65 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.0%

Overall Rating

345 out of 463 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 445 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Sanders

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Casa was great.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: possibility to only stay for one night in the weekend

Disliked: having no towels in the rooms was not a nice surprise

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Murr

Alone

City break

08 July 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo hostel is really clean and the staff are super friendly

Disliked: My room was on the fourth floor and there was no lift, only steep steps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom are clean. The staff is friendly. Wifi is everywhere.

Disliked: The stairs are too steep so dont bring too much stuff wit you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DO YEAL YU

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 DO YEAL would recommend this property

Liked: i lived amigo hostel only for one night. but it was really nice. the hostel is clean and nice location. and staff was also very kind and funny. they tried to show me the amsterdam. and sultan who is one of the staff is really kind. if you go to amsterdam, go to amigo hostel. it will be nice trip.!!!!

Disliked: DO YEAL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nabila Yakhalf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Nabila would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel and service! Would stay there again on my next trip. Great value for money for traveling students

Disliked: Everything was ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Souverein

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay, there was a nice vibe :) The room was simple, but clean. It was one of the cheapest hostels I could find, so I was kind of afraid that it would suck and would be dirty, but it was nice and clean. So no complains.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bernicia Prez Fuerta

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 bernicia would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and. TidyIt's a great hostel to stay for some days while visiting Amsterdam! With one tram one is in the city center or in the museum quarter, so just perfect.

Disliked: Bernicia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalia Pordonav

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2013 Nathalia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice surprise this hostel! The staff were really friendly. The room was clean,we chose a private one so it was like staying at a hotel. The Tram is the easiest way to get anywhere from there or you can rent a bike, Even though it was really cold. I would definitely recomend this hostel! The only negative thing about it I guess was the huge number of teenagers staying there.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timmoy Klunse

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2013 Timmoy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so clean and nice. I felt like I was staying in a hotel the whole time. The location is a walk from the city center, which I liked because I could get away from the noise. It's close to the Tropen Museum and a East park which is great for just laying around.

Disliked: The steeps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as described. Very good for the price.

Disliked: Staff was not very helpful.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. All the toilet paper are wet 2. Smoking zone right outside room 3. Not enough power points 4. Extra charges for credit card 5. The stairs are too steep 6. Bunk beds do not have steps 7. Too few toilets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

patricio Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 patricio would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you staff for everything Would be so nice if they open another area as lounge in order to smoke and chat with another guests.

Disliked: patricio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elose Bourgois

Alone

City break

20 May 2013 Elose would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, helpfull staff and a good place to meet people! Wish I could have stayed longer only it was booked out!

Disliked: nothing was realy bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Albert Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 May 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff

Disliked: It is a bit out of town ,but that meant we saw parts of Amsterdam that we may not have if we were in the centre

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed and bathroom is good. Clean room.

Disliked: No kitchen nor breakfast. Quite far away from Central Station, about 45-60min walk. A bit expensive.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, no curfew.

Disliked: The stairs seem to be fairly dangerous.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean and always had Hot Water

Disliked: Window Not closing properly. No Place to prepare Some Food in any Way. Very very Loud closing Windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahkum Guang

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2013 Ahkum would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 2 days, its really a good little hotel, clean nice rooms, very secure, great showers. The location is good and very safe, quiet location as well as its not very near all the bars and clubs, but they are no further than 10 - 15mins with the tram. I will stay there again

Disliked: The stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good cleaning and big rooms

Disliked: Everything was ok :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For £25 a night I can't complain. Room was basic as expected, but safe and sound and the bed was comfy. 30 minute walk to the centre but a tram literally outside the front only takes 10 mins for €2.80. Got what I paid for.

Disliked: They decided to add an extra 5% to the bill when we arrived and I'm not sure why. Also couldn't smoke in the room however it was ok to smoke just outside the room. Either smoke inside or not at all, was teasing smelling it and not being able to have it in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Dirty rooms and bathrooms, bad smells and lots of noise during the nights - most of which by the reception staff. Walls so thick one can hear EVERY sound.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can make friends with other travelers

Disliked: a lot of people in reception area and it's too crowded

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica White

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my time here as I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and free internet. The atmosphere was a great way to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: My only complaint was the size of the toilets which made it very difficult to move in the small space.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple, cheap accomadation.

Disliked: Website did not make clear non smoking, Shower in room did not work.