HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

75.9% Overall Rating

317 out of 423 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Kathleen Winstanley thinks…

"Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit! Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.60 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.67 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.02 USD

Hostel 82.4% 690 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.64 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Flipper
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.0% 323 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 772 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

318 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Madden

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful from the moment we arrived to even after we had checked out. They allowed us to store our bags securely in a locked room before we could check in and on our last day because we had a late train. The room was clean and we were not bothered by noise at all. The shower facilities may have been limited as we were sharing a bathroom, but there was always hot water and a decent pressure on the shower.

Disliked: The rooms are bare and literally only for sleeping in, but if you're only in town for a few days then you should spend most of that out in the city. The only thing I really disliked were the stairs - so steep!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kenneth K. Lauridsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Kenneth K. would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to go in to centrum whit the tram, and the staff was friendly and smiling. and there is good atmosphere, specaily for interailer.

Disliked: I have not get a answer on my to email's thats is not okay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean

Disliked: A bit far from city centre, though ok if you take the tram. The directions say it's accessible from Amstel station as well, but be warned that it's actually about a 1/2 hour's walk away!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amiah Swinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Amiah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, basically like a simple hotel with dorms. Really comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. A bit of walk from the city centre,Well-stocked supermarket nearby. Thank you guys.

Disliked: Amiah don't have dislike about the Amigo Budget Hostel

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was dirty. There was only one bathroom for many people It was very dar from de center of de city

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Levi Nash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very cheap and it was also very clean with good duvets and pillows. The staff were very freindly and when i asked if i could make a cup of tea they were more than happy to do it free of charge. Also i fancied a night in and asked if they could put the football on and they had no problem with that so I was very satisfied. Lastly i had a guitar and all my luggage with me. On the day i checked out the staff were happy to hold my thing until 5pm in the locked luggage room :)

Disliked: Its hard to take a dislike to any hostel when you pay such a low price. Usually you get what you pay for. Here i felt like i got more than i paid for.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: nice blankets, good discount card selection, easy bus route to center of town.

Disliked: there was an additional city tax i had to pay on arrival, which was not mentioned before, and there was an extra charge for paying with a credit card, which I didn't know. It was also not very walkable from center of town. The communal room was fairly small for the number of people staying there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hsiao-Kang Yuan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: Very clean and well-furnitured

Disliked: They didn't give me a door card which means I couldn't even go to toilet outside the room. They told me I can keep the door open but it's dangerous and what if my money get lost? Moreover the door of toilet and shower rooms are all broken! You can't lock properly. It's annoying. And the hot water is unstable. The water went cold when I was taking a shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lacation

Disliked: stairs..! :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEMMA BARKS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 GEMMA would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful- we had to change our books before we arrived and there weren't any problems. They were great for info on what to see and do an how to get there. Joined in with the fun at night time! Good location, maybe 20 mins on the tram but that's no problem cus you'd pay so much to stay in the centre. Supermarkets, bars and coffeeshops around so you're not in the middle of nowhere! Beds were comfy, showers were great! Really recommend to everyone! Value for money.

Disliked: It was COLD at night! The heating wasn't put on till gone midnight. The toilet cubicles are small and the stairs are steep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredy Louisene

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 March 2013 Fredy would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities are new, the hostel is very clean, they clean the rooms and bathrooms everyday. Good value, free wifi and citymaps. The staff helped me as I needed a doctor - they called and booked for me and when they realized the doctors was closing they arranged for the doctor to meet ne at the pharmacy! They went above and beyond. We also left valuables in the room with no problems. I strongly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothign actually. everything was perfect for me

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Goodsell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful, clean, worth the price

Disliked: Stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shandre Liebenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Shandre would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely and clean. Its a very comfortable and homely hostel. The beds were comfortable, the rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. One staff member in particular by the name of Cassa was absolutely incredible. He welcomed us with open arms and made our stay amazing. Brilliant service, fantastic hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked at all although a couch is needed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kjell Sadowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2013 Kjell would recommend this property

Liked: The facilties are quite good and clean. It was your average hostel and for 25€ a stay, it is what you would expect to get.

Disliked: The steep stairs may be dangerous for some people but I enjoyed them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff, comfortable rooms

Disliked: Steep skinny stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lior Rozenman

Alone

City break

10 March 2013 Lior would recommend this property

Liked: great place!! the staff is amazing helpful and funny to talk with. Especially the receptionist named Pentura. He is very nice and doing the best to make the stay good. Very safe and clean! Also the cleaner Charlo is very nice and very funny, he always dance during his work and that is very entertaining!! Thanks guys

Disliked: nothing, just steep stairs..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Vyhnackova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helped us with our luggage to the steep stairs, recommended places to go...

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake goldstein

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2013 jake would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dalton Gray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Dalton would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean rooms/beds/showers, very accommodating, fun atmosphere, very convenient computers and wifi access, free city maps and advice from the staff, and it was very easy to follow their instructions and get to the hostel, I don't speak or read Dutch and I got there without a problem.

Disliked: Some people might want to be located closer to the city center. I preferred it, actually, because I like walks and day trips - I suppose I didn't really have anywhere important to be. Aside from walking distances, it was nice to be in a quiet part of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beatriz Pedro Mineiro

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2013 beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is not very close to the center, but has a station nearby and is very easy to get around. The people are very nice and are prepared to deal with young people; give all the information and help. It's a very good hotel according to price, and if it were to Amsterdam again, I'd be there.

Disliked: The stairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Lancaster

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, super inexpensive, very convenient to public transport.

Disliked: Steep stairs, shared bathroom, zero decor.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Sorrell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the layout was easy and the directions were accurate

Disliked: the rooms were small and there wasn't any room to store clothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adalard Hansing

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 February 2013 Adalard would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. Friendly staff, good internet wifi connection, clean dorms, comfortable beds.

Disliked: No

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy hostel. Clean shower room and toilet. With facilities for luggage storage. Lobby area for wi-fi access and eating (but a bit small and cramped) Very friendly staff. Close to local shops, supermarket, bakery and launderette. Lockers within in rooms to keep valuables safe and secure (bring own padlock)

Disliked: Location is a bit far from city centre. But easy to get to by tram (15 minutes) Very steep staircase up to the main door. Not suitable for those with many or heavy luggage. Staircase is often blocked by fellow travellers smoking, which is unpleasant.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything