HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

74.5% Overall Rating

319 out of 425 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Kathleen Winstanley thinks…

"Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit! Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.64 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.72 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.06 USD

Hostel 82.4% 690 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.38 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Flipper
33.17 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.3% 324 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.38 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 772 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

319 out of 425 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 407 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nabila Yakhalf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Nabila would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel and service! Would stay there again on my next trip. Great value for money for traveling students

Disliked: Everything was ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Souverein

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay, there was a nice vibe :) The room was simple, but clean. It was one of the cheapest hostels I could find, so I was kind of afraid that it would suck and would be dirty, but it was nice and clean. So no complains.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bernicia Prez Fuerta

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 bernicia would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and. TidyIt's a great hostel to stay for some days while visiting Amsterdam! With one tram one is in the city center or in the museum quarter, so just perfect.

Disliked: Bernicia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalia Pordonav

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2013 Nathalia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice surprise this hostel! The staff were really friendly. The room was clean,we chose a private one so it was like staying at a hotel. The Tram is the easiest way to get anywhere from there or you can rent a bike, Even though it was really cold. I would definitely recomend this hostel! The only negative thing about it I guess was the huge number of teenagers staying there.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timmoy Klunse

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2013 Timmoy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so clean and nice. I felt like I was staying in a hotel the whole time. The location is a walk from the city center, which I liked because I could get away from the noise. It's close to the Tropen Museum and a East park which is great for just laying around.

Disliked: The steeps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as described. Very good for the price.

Disliked: Staff was not very helpful.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. All the toilet paper are wet 2. Smoking zone right outside room 3. Not enough power points 4. Extra charges for credit card 5. The stairs are too steep 6. Bunk beds do not have steps 7. Too few toilets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

patricio Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 patricio would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you staff for everything Would be so nice if they open another area as lounge in order to smoke and chat with another guests.

Disliked: patricio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elose Bourgois

Alone

City break

20 May 2013 Elose would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, helpfull staff and a good place to meet people! Wish I could have stayed longer only it was booked out!

Disliked: nothing was realy bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Albert Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 May 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff

Disliked: It is a bit out of town ,but that meant we saw parts of Amsterdam that we may not have if we were in the centre

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed and bathroom is good. Clean room.

Disliked: No kitchen nor breakfast. Quite far away from Central Station, about 45-60min walk. A bit expensive.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, no curfew.

Disliked: The stairs seem to be fairly dangerous.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean and always had Hot Water

Disliked: Window Not closing properly. No Place to prepare Some Food in any Way. Very very Loud closing Windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahkum Guang

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2013 Ahkum would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 2 days, its really a good little hotel, clean nice rooms, very secure, great showers. The location is good and very safe, quiet location as well as its not very near all the bars and clubs, but they are no further than 10 - 15mins with the tram. I will stay there again

Disliked: The stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good cleaning and big rooms

Disliked: Everything was ok :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For £25 a night I can't complain. Room was basic as expected, but safe and sound and the bed was comfy. 30 minute walk to the centre but a tram literally outside the front only takes 10 mins for €2.80. Got what I paid for.

Disliked: They decided to add an extra 5% to the bill when we arrived and I'm not sure why. Also couldn't smoke in the room however it was ok to smoke just outside the room. Either smoke inside or not at all, was teasing smelling it and not being able to have it in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Dirty rooms and bathrooms, bad smells and lots of noise during the nights - most of which by the reception staff. Walls so thick one can hear EVERY sound.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can make friends with other travelers

Disliked: a lot of people in reception area and it's too crowded

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica White

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my time here as I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and free internet. The atmosphere was a great way to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: My only complaint was the size of the toilets which made it very difficult to move in the small space.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple, cheap accomadation.

Disliked: Website did not make clear non smoking, Shower in room did not work.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mehmet Utku Acar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: The staff was very friendly. Close to tram and also there is a night bus which enables you to go there whenever you want.

Disliked: The rooms are too small. Toilets and the bath were in very bad conditions. I've stayed in other hostels but this one was totally dissapointing. Morever it's not close to city centre. In busy times, it takes 20 minutes to go to centre.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Coral McCormack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: The man who lives there (who is not staff), Mo, was extremely helpful and friendly to guide us around the city.

Disliked: First, it is not close to city centre as advertised. The major attractions are on the other side and only one tram runs to them, which is about 20 minutes. Or much longer if you were to walk. Second, the staff were unbelievably unorganized. We were 2 travellers who got separated into 2 different rooms, and we heard countless stories (from just our brief stay) of many people having their stuff moved without their knowledge by the staff and coming home to find out they were now in a different room. They do provide a luggage room, but give the key to anyone and when another girl had her package stolen, the manager yelled at her and told her to get out. The staff are all very rude and seem deceitful. Third, the place is filthy. My bed smelled awful, nothing was cleaned our entire stay, there are too few toilets and showers per floor and our one toilet was clogged with human waste for 2 days. Even after complaining it did not get fixed. The shower rooms are very small with no room to dress. Fourth, there is no lift and the stairs are extremely steap and dangerous. Fifth, there are an excessive number of doors that slam loudly and because this is a 'party' hostel, prepare for no sleep, if you are able to sleep on uncomfortable beds with no heat at all. On top of everything, this hostel is very overpriced and they actually charge your credit card for your full stay before you even arrive, which does not seem right. Please, for the love of God, do not stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Naimeh Georges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Naimeh would recommend this property

Liked: people are friendly , you will meet new people

Disliked: its not that organized .. this hostel isnt for whom who are looking for tidiness

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUILI HAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 HUILI would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, after stayed some cheap but dirty hostels in Holland, this is quite good. little but good bathrooms . worth the money.

Disliked: no breakfast, too much far, no kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Conti

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2013 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly easy to reach by tram

Disliked: A lttle bit far but tram is just outside And the steps