We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

68.6% Overall Rating

357 out of 479 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

ian umney thinks…

"my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget! the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all. but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 65.8% 78 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
20.87 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Centraal Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
28.18 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Hotel Max
29.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

357 out of 479 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 461 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ian Harding

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014

Liked: It was one of the few available accommodation options during the period of my travel.

Disliked: It wasn't centrally located & access to the rooms was very hard with luggage due to the narrow & steep staircase . Quite risky if someone was tired / under the influence of alcohol.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everythng

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Shipp

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap cheerful full of fun characters and staff

Disliked: The city centre was not walking distance from the hostel but transport in Amsterdam is very effient and cheap so wasn't much of a problem

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: low price, kind staff, clean room, clean shower, clean toilet.

Disliked: has no lift -> hard to go upstairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room clean, bed comfortable and quiet

Disliked: shower a little small. stairs steep, but not a problem for those of us who are in good condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome.

Disliked: Nothing - it was all fantastic.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for the price we paid. If you want something fancy, this is not your place. But if you want a place just to sleep and shower this is the perfect hostel for you. Location is not great (30 min walk from Central Station), but its only 15 minutes by tram (line 9). Its great for a quick weekend away :-)

Disliked: Slight problems with organisation, but reasonable for the price you pay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Magdalena Klich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great atmosphere what makes your stay easy-going and unforgettable.

Disliked: Terrible stairs, but thanks for that the hostel has a unique atmosphere (the stairs are everywhere in the Holland) and no kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Langdale

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very modern. Shower and toilet facilities very nice for the price paid.

Disliked: The stairs were very steep. Being on the 4th floor meant we had a very steep climb back to the room after having a smoke

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: No breakfast service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NURHAN CAN

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 NURHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Well..I stayed at this hostel about 6 nights.First of all i can say that it was really enjoy trip for me with my lovely hostel.All of stuffs were so helpful with us. Thank you to everyone :)

Disliked: Just bathrooms would be cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ÇA?LA TANDO?AN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 ÇA?LA would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!! We love all the things about hostel. Location&friendly staff&cleanliness Next time I will definitely go Amigo hostel again

Disliked: ÇA?LA left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013

Liked: Didn't like it at all.

Disliked: Not very clean, location is at a shady part of town. Steep stairs very very long and steep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adelwald Beyn

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 December 2013 Adelwald would recommend this property

Liked: Our Time at the Hostel was really cool, on the first day, the staff welcomed us really pleasant even in german! Everything is really clean especially the bathrooms! But maybe it´s possible to organize some pot-herbs :) Altogether it was a pretty nice stay there, Thank you for your hospitality.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Looks

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: This HOSTEL has everything you need, very comfortable. The staff very kind and helpful. Overall, good for the money. Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: This hostel don't have elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 November 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, everything works really well, staff is friendly, and the city is amazing, just rent a bike and you're good to go!

Disliked: .............

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohamed Elleithy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: People were nice and as a place for just having a good sleep, it is OK.

Disliked: The WiFi connection was not working from my room. Also, the STAIRS ARE SO STEEEEEEEP....

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dan McBrearty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and nothing wrong with it, clean bed which is all that could be asked.

Disliked: VERY steep stairs up to reception/the rooms. Could be an issue after a night out but it wasn't for us. Communal toilet per 4 or so rooms so on occasion had to wait.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cem Gulcen

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

13 November 2013 Cem would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and very welcoming. If I go back to Amsterdam I will definetely stay there!! Can only recommend!!!!

Disliked: Except the stairs being extremely steep nothing..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathas Amorim

Alone

Family Holiday

29 October 2013 Jonathas would recommend this property

Liked: It was good.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delightful staff - really helpful and friendly. Very comfortable beds in our twin room and great hot showers.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Addams

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best "Hostels" I have every stayed at! (It was a hotel) very clean, super nice. 10 min tram 9 ride from the center city. I will definitely recommend it to my friends. If I'm going again il definitely try to book there.

Disliked: No

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alban DORVEAUX

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

21 October 2013

Liked: cool staff

Disliked: dirty, uncomfortable, not close to the center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albertine Mmahon

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2013 Albertine would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel of our holiday. The place was really good, next to Amstel station (with useful tram and bus links) and staff really helped with what to do and where to go. We were matched with lovely English people. lovely people at the hostel. You can come and go whatever time of night. Plus the bathroom and toilet were clean, something I can't say about other hostels. You will feel like you're staying in a hotel

Disliked: Albertine have no comments

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mateusz Banasiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: staff is very helpful

Disliked: one bathroom on each floor, unsafety stairs, no lift 10 people slept in 8bed room