We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

75.4% Overall Rating

384 out of 516 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2015)

Caroline Gordon thinks…

"Staff were helpful and friendly, guests were polite to eachother and quiet at night time. Public transport just over the road, nice safe area. WiFi was pretty good too."

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016 *National kingsday : 24/25/26 April 2015 *Pinksterdays: 14/15/16 May 2015 *22/23/24 May 2015 *ascension day: 29/30 May 2015 *IBC event : 11/12 September 2015 Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
32.95 USD

Hostel 58.2% 99 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
31.85 USD

Hostel 84.2% 728 reviews
Centraal Hostel
26.36 USD

Hostel 68.9% 240 reviews
Hotel Flipper
30.90 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.0% 338 reviews
Vita Nova
23.06 USD

Hostel 91.0% 301 reviews
Intersail
32.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Max
34.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Ljplein Bed and Breakfast
38.44 USD

Guesthouse 60.0% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

384 out of 516 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 348 of 497 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Front desk is nice in person and through email, there are security cameras, rooms and beds and sheet/blanket/pillow are clean, not too noisy and guests are pretty considerate to each other in the mornings/nights, close to dappermarkt and acceptably walkable to the center (although it's a very long walk..), there weren't anybody hanging around the entrances/stairs watching you climb up or smoking haha

Disliked: location is not so good, hostel is hard to see at first glance since there's just a staircase that leads up to it and the sign says amigo hotel (as opposed to hostel). yes, the staircase is very steep, but just be careful when going up/down. steep stairs might not just be unique to this hostel tho. for a budget hostel, it's still not that cheap :\ they take a 10 EUR key deposit and i don't think i saw that they would take this on hostelbookers.com or their website.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ELENA-MAIRI LIAKATA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 ELENA-MAIRI would recommend this property

Liked: The whole atosphere.

Disliked: the stairs are hard to get up!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 September 2014

Liked: Central Location was good.

Disliked: The Bathroom was dirty and the shower cold. Ok for one night but not more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ian umney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2014 ian would recommend this property

Liked: my first time in amsterdam and it was a trip to never forget! the day we've arrived in amsterdam, we didn't knew what to day at all. but when we where at the hostel the guy from the reception (Appi) showed us everything on one of them free city maps. the staff was really amazing! the hostel is very nice and clean! you meet a lot of different people from different countries. i liked my stay very much! you should go and see the guys from Amigo! Amigo till next year!!

Disliked: nothing, your on vacation don't stress, be happy and make a great time!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Valencia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2014 Julio would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel actually surprise me, i was a little bit concern about the reviews but after a stay there i realise that people that wrote those reviews was completly wrong, i had the time of my life, the staff was amazing, i felt like staying htere for longer, a little far away for the center but its totally worth it, if you do come over ask for Appi he willl make you stay here even more pleasent.

Disliked: Maybe the stair case, but we are back packers, we dont like easy things do we!!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Markus Wallensteiner

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Günstiges Hostel. Tram hält direkt vor der Unterkunft.

Disliked: Ich buchte 2 Plätze in einem 6-Bettzimmer, bekam jedoch bei Ankunft ein 8-Bettzimmer. Die Sachen der "Mitbewohner" waren überall im Zimmer verteilt. Sehr unordentlich. Mein Bettlaken war von langen Haaren überhäuft & relativ schmutzig. Zimmer direkt an der Straßenseite --> die ganze Nacht über Lärm von dort. Die Türen knarrten wie in einem schlechten Horrorfilm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Thirsk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really clean, friendly and right next to a couple of different tram routes. Supermarket to the rear of the place that is open early and late and another shop down the road open even later. I really enjoyed staying here and met some really love people.

Disliked: The stairs were a nightmare upon arrival but you get used to them, we were only on the 1st floor so it wasn't the end of the world. I would like to mention though the fact that we had 2 rooms and half way through the stay the boys in the other room were told they had to move rooms to accommodate some other guests who were arriving the next day. They had to leave their room by 12pm and weren't given another until 3pm. This was a bit of a hassle. I also overheard another guest complaining that when they went into their room all their stuff was gone and someone else's stuff was in there... I didn't find out whether it was resolved but I wouldn't of enjoyed my stay as much if that had happened to us!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: The location was ok, still not in close walking distance to the centre. Staff were pleasant.

Disliked: Rooms were SO small! Stayed in a room of 6 there was no where to put bags and it felt like we were all sleeping on top of each other it was that small. Bunk beds are tiny, can't sit up on the bottom and if you are on the top it is likely you will fall off unless you don't move as there are no sides! Walls were disgustingly dirty, toilets were dirty, one shower for a floor of around 50 people! One of the cheaper hosts in Amsterdam, but it should be a lot cheaper for what you get.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here as a group of 4 for 3 nights. The staff were generally helpful and the rooms were clean. Showers were surprisingly big and a lot cleaner than expected.

Disliked: The only real issue is the location. We had to get a tram from the station which costs a few euros. It is easy enough to get a tram when you know where to go (we had to ask a local) but it's a bit out of the way of the centre

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ivan Agafonov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 September 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: everything was ok

Disliked: Ivan left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cost of room.

Disliked: Door, room 302, did not lock itself. also after cleaning on the 28th, I came back and It was open.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shane koyuncu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 shane would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, clean and very friendly, you could talk to other people staying there and the atmosphere was very chilled out.

Disliked: The security of the hostel, I was in a private room with 7 other friends of mine and a stranger managed to use his room key to access our room twice, lucky we were in there....after that i took my valuable belongings with me

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hoai Phuong Tran

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 August 2014 Hoai Phuong would recommend this property

Liked: The room and beds are clean and comfortable, room is small but acceptable since there is only 5 people in one room. Staffs are friendly and helpful

Disliked: The common space is too small and filled with smoke.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere, I felt very comfortable hanging out in the common room/reception area.

Disliked: The mosquitoes there ate me alive, but I guess that's not so much the fault of the property and more of just an unfortunate occurrence.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Sly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly atmosphere and the rooms were of a decent size.

Disliked: Steep stairs up to the hostel, only one toilet/bathroom between 10-20 people. other than that a great hostel!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 August 2014

Liked: Basic rooms to sleep in.

Disliked: The staff were very unhelpful. Booked a big group of us to fill two rooms and ended getting split up and separated into different rooms. At the end we were denied our key deposit back, despite giving back every key, due to not holding a receipt that they failed to tell us to keep to get our money back.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room in reception

Disliked: Rooms were fairly small and only one shower between quite a lot of people. And the stairs!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 July 2014

Liked: You can smoke weed. and it was cheaper than all the other places in the touristy season. plus you're close to a grocery store

Disliked: it was so steep! the staircase to get up to the hostel and then to get anywhere else is super steep. if you were to fall you would have a serious problem. plus you have to put a down deposit on a key and almost anything else. its also far away from city center

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014

Liked: Nothing it terrible

Disliked: Terrible rooms: 7 beds put into a 4 bed max room with one bed across the doorway so you have to climb over someone's bed and then two in front of the large window so you can't open it when it's hot. The location is poor Too expensive Unfriendly staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Appi, one of the friendliest staff members i've come across, made my welcome feel awe inspiring. The service and tatse in humour really made my stay exquisite. They are friendly and smiling always, even in the face of ignorant tourists and travellers. Good accomadations are close bye and the atmosphere is second to none!

Disliked: NOTHING!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: Good price, no real problems

Disliked: Dangerous stairs, unhelpful staff, dirty rooms, extra charges, cash only, rude customers the list goes on

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Pamela Champagne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014

Liked: The showers were nice. 24 hour reception.

Disliked: A lot about this hostel was bad for me. First up, the wifi is terrible. Took me forever to connect. When I ask the guy at the desk where I could go around the hostel, all he was capable of suggesting were coffeshops. Also, there are tons of smokers blocking the entry to the reception because they smoke in the stairs. The building is old and you hear everything. People walking over our heads and stopping us from sleeping. Barely slept because there are no curtains on the windows and people outside were very loud. To me, this was a party hostel.. Go if that is what you're looking for.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephen James

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, really close to supermarkets/food places and a park. Easy connections to town or 40 minute walk.

Disliked: mad steps

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite close to the city center and probably one of the cheapest in Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms are bare and the common room is extra small, moreover there was no breakfast included, I wasn't expecting something fancy but in every hostel I've been they were offering something to eat in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and is a great place to meet other travellers and make new friends. The atmosphere in the hostel is chill and friendly and the staff is very helpful and kind. For example one of the staff member, Appi, got us a place in another hostel when this hostel was full! I couldn't thank him enough for that. But without doubt, this was one of the best hostels so far.

Disliked: There was not really anything to complain.