HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

72.0% Overall Rating

348 out of 466 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

shane koyuncu thinks…

"It was cheap, clean and very friendly, you could talk to other people staying there and the atmosphere was very chilled out."

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
26.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 73 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.22 USD

Hostel 83.7% 709 reviews
Centraal Hostel
26.25 USD

Hostel 64.8% 224 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
52.49 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
30.71 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
45.93 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
27.56 USD

Hostel 80.5% 283 reviews
Hotel Max
36.09 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

348 out of 466 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 313 of 447 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014

Liked: clean

Disliked: Stairs of doom, internet only in common room (constantly smells like weed + cigarrettes), no kitchen!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, very clean

Disliked: Toilet cubicle too small and no blind or curtain in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Khan Lacey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful and friendly - they gave us a hair dryer to use and were always available for help. They gave Amigos the wonderful chilled out atmosphere which is good for somewhere like Amsterdam. The hostel was also very close to the centre of Amsterdam and the tram goes from right outside! The shower was really good and the toilet facilities were also clean and always had toilet paper! Mega bonus was the free unlimited wifi and we had a room between 4 of us which was quiet and clean!

Disliked: The stairs were very steep!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014

Liked: Right off of tram/night bus

Disliked: had to take tram/bus back. Rooms and lounge were gross looking

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014

Liked: The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Cramped and small.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014

Liked: Across the road from supermarket and fast food place for cheap eats and also a tram stop which takes you to the city centre Sink in room

Disliked: No lockers in rooms No spot for socialising as there is only a reception, no bar or common room A bit far from the major tourist attractions (Red Light District and museums) and central train station - need to take the tram (around 20 minutes journey) as it is not reasonable walking distance

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient and cheap

Disliked: staff. paying a deposit to both the booking agent and a holding fee to the hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lauren Rahe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty cheap for a hostel in Amsterdam.

Disliked: It didn't have much to offer in terms of services. The rooms weren't super clean, and the bathrooms were pretty gross.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The location and the mess in the bedrooms and bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathleen Winstanley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit! Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just 2Euro for the whole stay. 24 Hour reception so we could come and go as we pleased and could but munchies and drinks whenever. Could smoke on the top of the stairs but not in rooms so the rooms were not smokey!

Disliked: really nothing too much... other than a couple of marks on the pillow cases and sheets but honestly this didnt bother me too much as everything was clean. Also there was only one bathroom on our floor (first floor) and there was ten of us in our room and at least 5 in the room beside us, so getting ready in the morning was an absolute nightmare! haha

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014

Liked: At least I had a place to stay for one night in a city where I had been for the first time.

Disliked: Bed sheets smelled like foot. I did not like it at all. I wish they were washed daily. Also they must have told me that I had to pay an extra fee for the taxes. It would be great to have known that beforehand when I was booking my place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the rooms where clean. The staff where very friendly and helped us with anything we wanted to know. I'd advise people to stay here and would stay here again if I went back to Amsterdam.

Disliked: The stairs. Nothing prepared me for these stairs. As a smoker I had to stop about 3 times as we where on the top floor. The first lot are steep as anything. Plus, when we got there we had to pay more than what was advertised. It advertised £27.50 we had to pay £31.50 each.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was spotless, rooms and toilet/shower were very clean and seemed as if they had been updated recently. Staff were very helpful when it came to asking ideal places to go and transportation. Lockers were great size and fitted all of my belonging in making me feel secure, room was also much more spacious than expected.

Disliked: The steep stairs which can be very daunting however we became used to it as it seems like most places in Amsterdam have very steep stairs too. It doesn't help that the smoking area is at the top of the stairs as people tend to sit there making it even more difficult to get up/down them.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reza Mohammadi

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

10 March 2014 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was perfect

Disliked: It was a little far from the city center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khalid Mahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Khalid would recommend this property

Liked: Just how welcoming the staff were, also the people staying at the hostel were genuinely nice people to spend time with

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ian Harding

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014

Liked: It was one of the few available accommodation options during the period of my travel.

Disliked: It wasn't centrally located & access to the rooms was very hard with luggage due to the narrow & steep staircase . Quite risky if someone was tired / under the influence of alcohol.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everythng

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Shipp

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap cheerful full of fun characters and staff

Disliked: The city centre was not walking distance from the hostel but transport in Amsterdam is very effient and cheap so wasn't much of a problem

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: low price, kind staff, clean room, clean shower, clean toilet.

Disliked: has no lift -> hard to go upstairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room clean, bed comfortable and quiet

Disliked: shower a little small. stairs steep, but not a problem for those of us who are in good condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome.

Disliked: Nothing - it was all fantastic.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for the price we paid. If you want something fancy, this is not your place. But if you want a place just to sleep and shower this is the perfect hostel for you. Location is not great (30 min walk from Central Station), but its only 15 minutes by tram (line 9). Its great for a quick weekend away :-)

Disliked: Slight problems with organisation, but reasonable for the price you pay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Magdalena Klich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great atmosphere what makes your stay easy-going and unforgettable.

Disliked: Terrible stairs, but thanks for that the hostel has a unique atmosphere (the stairs are everywhere in the Holland) and no kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Langdale

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very modern. Shower and toilet facilities very nice for the price paid.

Disliked: The stairs were very steep. Being on the 4th floor meant we had a very steep climb back to the room after having a smoke