We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

79.7% Overall Rating

375 out of 501 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2015)

"great staff - very relaxed atmosphere but rooms feel private and secure and beds are very comfy and clean :) Good Showers Great supermarkets / munchie spots right across the road from the hostel and tram stop to Dam Sq…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods New Years (30th Dec 2014—2nd Jan015) Easter 18 - 22 April Queen’s Day (26th to 30th April) and Pinkster 6 -8 June Period IBC Event (11th to 15th September). Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
32.62 USD

Hostel 61.0% 93 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
17.94 USD

Hostel 83.1% 721 reviews
Centraal Hostel
27.18 USD

Hostel 65.9% 233 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
43.49 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
35.23 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.6% 337 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
38.05 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.9% 777 reviews
Vita Nova
22.83 USD

Hostel 86.5% 293 reviews
Hotel Max
40.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

375 out of 501 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 480 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere, I felt very comfortable hanging out in the common room/reception area.

Disliked: The mosquitoes there ate me alive, but I guess that's not so much the fault of the property and more of just an unfortunate occurrence.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Sly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly atmosphere and the rooms were of a decent size.

Disliked: Steep stairs up to the hostel, only one toilet/bathroom between 10-20 people. other than that a great hostel!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 August 2014

Liked: Basic rooms to sleep in.

Disliked: The staff were very unhelpful. Booked a big group of us to fill two rooms and ended getting split up and separated into different rooms. At the end we were denied our key deposit back, despite giving back every key, due to not holding a receipt that they failed to tell us to keep to get our money back.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room in reception

Disliked: Rooms were fairly small and only one shower between quite a lot of people. And the stairs!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 July 2014

Liked: You can smoke weed. and it was cheaper than all the other places in the touristy season. plus you're close to a grocery store

Disliked: it was so steep! the staircase to get up to the hostel and then to get anywhere else is super steep. if you were to fall you would have a serious problem. plus you have to put a down deposit on a key and almost anything else. its also far away from city center

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014

Liked: Nothing it terrible

Disliked: Terrible rooms: 7 beds put into a 4 bed max room with one bed across the doorway so you have to climb over someone's bed and then two in front of the large window so you can't open it when it's hot. The location is poor Too expensive Unfriendly staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Appi, one of the friendliest staff members i've come across, made my welcome feel awe inspiring. The service and tatse in humour really made my stay exquisite. They are friendly and smiling always, even in the face of ignorant tourists and travellers. Good accomadations are close bye and the atmosphere is second to none!

Disliked: NOTHING!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: Good price, no real problems

Disliked: Dangerous stairs, unhelpful staff, dirty rooms, extra charges, cash only, rude customers the list goes on

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Pamela Champagne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014

Liked: The showers were nice. 24 hour reception.

Disliked: A lot about this hostel was bad for me. First up, the wifi is terrible. Took me forever to connect. When I ask the guy at the desk where I could go around the hostel, all he was capable of suggesting were coffeshops. Also, there are tons of smokers blocking the entry to the reception because they smoke in the stairs. The building is old and you hear everything. People walking over our heads and stopping us from sleeping. Barely slept because there are no curtains on the windows and people outside were very loud. To me, this was a party hostel.. Go if that is what you're looking for.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephen James

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, really close to supermarkets/food places and a park. Easy connections to town or 40 minute walk.

Disliked: mad steps

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite close to the city center and probably one of the cheapest in Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms are bare and the common room is extra small, moreover there was no breakfast included, I wasn't expecting something fancy but in every hostel I've been they were offering something to eat in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and is a great place to meet other travellers and make new friends. The atmosphere in the hostel is chill and friendly and the staff is very helpful and kind. For example one of the staff member, Appi, got us a place in another hostel when this hostel was full! I couldn't thank him enough for that. But without doubt, this was one of the best hostels so far.

Disliked: There was not really anything to complain.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joshua Groves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The ac leaked and the rooms were crap

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Priskila

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Room is good

Disliked: NO kitchen, common room is very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lways willing to help with any requests and questions we had. There was a friendly environment and it was easy to talk to all the other guests.

Disliked: It was quite far out, however there is a tram stop right outside so it is easy to get to and from the centre.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

natalie baynes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers to store valuables in each room Really helpful staff always happy to answer any questions we had Nice atmosphere in the reception area always had films or programs on that everyone liked Loads of discounts on offer as well if you wanted any Large wet rooms very clean, bed linen was changed daily Wifi was fab on the first floor Let us check out later than stated and allowed us to leave our luggage in the luggage room once we had checked out

Disliked: Too many beds in a small room, very limited space to put our luggage in without getting under each other's feet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like it good clean and nice staff would recomend you to go

Disliked: Nothing what do you exspect for 15 euro per night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Barrojo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms.

Disliked: The neighbourhood.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

elif kursun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 elif would recommend this property

Liked: internet free

Disliked: there was so much noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After reading so many bad reviewes, I still chose this hostel bacause the price in weekdays is really low compared to other hostels in amsterdam. It is much better than I have expected. Hot shower, luggage room, small lockers in room, but to bring your own padlock because the padlock fee is quite expensive. Good wifi signal in common room.

Disliked: Poor wifi in room. Very very small toilet and bathroom, dun even hv places to put ur towels & clothes. No air-conditioning, not even fan, so its really hot and cant hv a good sleep becoz of that. Not enough lockers & power sockets in my room, only 3 for 8 ppl. Very steep stairs, but I assume its the same all ard amsterdam

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mackenna Causier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2014 Mackenna would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, convenient location.

Disliked: The shower and bathroom are in the same room on the third floor so the floor of the bathroom is always soaking wet. Also very hot in the rooms at night. Would still recommend.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good water pressure.

Disliked: Tiny beds, smoking at the top of the stairs (hard to get by)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014

Liked: clean

Disliked: Stairs of doom, internet only in common room (constantly smells like weed + cigarrettes), no kitchen!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, very clean

Disliked: Toilet cubicle too small and no blind or curtain in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Khan Lacey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful and friendly - they gave us a hair dryer to use and were always available for help. They gave Amigos the wonderful chilled out atmosphere which is good for somewhere like Amsterdam. The hostel was also very close to the centre of Amsterdam and the tram goes from right outside! The shower was really good and the toilet facilities were also clean and always had toilet paper! Mega bonus was the free unlimited wifi and we had a room between 4 of us which was quiet and clean!

Disliked: The stairs were very steep!