HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

75.8% Overall Rating

318 out of 424 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Kathleen Winstanley thinks…

"Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit! Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.64 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.71 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 690 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.37 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Flipper
33.17 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.3% 324 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 772 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

318 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 407 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohamed Elleithy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: People were nice and as a place for just having a good sleep, it is OK.

Disliked: The WiFi connection was not working from my room. Also, the STAIRS ARE SO STEEEEEEEP....

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dan McBrearty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and nothing wrong with it, clean bed which is all that could be asked.

Disliked: VERY steep stairs up to reception/the rooms. Could be an issue after a night out but it wasn't for us. Communal toilet per 4 or so rooms so on occasion had to wait.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cem Gulcen

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

13 November 2013 Cem would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and very welcoming. If I go back to Amsterdam I will definetely stay there!! Can only recommend!!!!

Disliked: Except the stairs being extremely steep nothing..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathas Amorim

Alone

Family Holiday

29 October 2013 Jonathas would recommend this property

Liked: It was good.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delightful staff - really helpful and friendly. Very comfortable beds in our twin room and great hot showers.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Addams

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best "Hostels" I have every stayed at! (It was a hotel) very clean, super nice. 10 min tram 9 ride from the center city. I will definitely recommend it to my friends. If I'm going again il definitely try to book there.

Disliked: No

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alban DORVEAUX

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

21 October 2013

Liked: cool staff

Disliked: dirty, uncomfortable, not close to the center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albertine Mmahon

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2013 Albertine would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel of our holiday. The place was really good, next to Amstel station (with useful tram and bus links) and staff really helped with what to do and where to go. We were matched with lovely English people. lovely people at the hostel. You can come and go whatever time of night. Plus the bathroom and toilet were clean, something I can't say about other hostels. You will feel like you're staying in a hotel

Disliked: Albertine have no comments

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mateusz Banasiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: staff is very helpful

Disliked: one bathroom on each floor, unsafety stairs, no lift 10 people slept in 8bed room

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Andrew Malarky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013

Liked: It was only 12 euros for the weekday stay, i would have been horrified had i paid more

Disliked: Beds were ridiculous, place was dirty, only 2 showers per floor and one was out of order, only available fridge was a small bar fridge for entire place, much better hostels in amsterdam

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and easy going staff

Disliked: No kitchen, but it wasn't advertised as having one either

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yassine Fizazi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Yassine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is particularly nice and helpful. The hostel is near a tram station which makes the transportation downtown Amsterdam fairly easy.

Disliked: No elevator.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MATEO IANOTTI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 MATEO would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed how clean and safe this hostile was. The workers were really friendly, especially the cleaning crew.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that they did not have a place for you to cook, for the price you are paying they should have an area where you can make yourself a meal.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: nothing in particular, though the showers were pretty decent. pretty average place, can definitely do better in amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the tram line was right outside the door.

Disliked: When we arrived the room was very dirty and we were missing a bed, we complained and were govern a mattress for the floor, uncceptable for the price we paid

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Went away for a friends stag do, wanted to keep accommodation cheap and reasonable. Amigo succeeded in this.

Disliked: The very steep steps to get up.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was for budget reason only was not fussed just steep steps and loads of doors to go thru

Disliked: Overcrowded an surprised to fin that their is 4 bunk beds in .one room sleeping in the room with strangers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean rooms with lockers and the shower was really good and really clean. Everything you need really!

Disliked: Had to pay an extra charge ontop of the payment when we got there, like 10 euros for city tax. Didn't expect that but I probably just didn't read the conditions properly. Also kinda loud at night but beggars can't be choosers.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

katie stocking

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing. For your own sake, don't stay here.

Disliked: Where do I start? The staff weren't helpful at all - we decided to leave a night early because it was such an awful hostel, complained about a few things including the smoking thing, and was promptly asked why did I come to Amsterdam if I didn't smoke weed? Seriously? He then went on to say that's all anyone does - I can vouch for that not being true. I felt so unsafe there, being only a young girl I hated every second. They wouldn't give us any form of a refund even though we had complained so much and wasn't going to be staying our last night but was told if I wanted to wait around for 2 hours I could speak to his colleague. In general, the hostel is horrific. Seriously, don't waste your money, go elsewhere!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Overbooking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Sanders

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Casa was great.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: possibility to only stay for one night in the weekend

Disliked: having no towels in the rooms was not a nice surprise

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Murr

Alone

City break

08 July 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Amigo hostel is really clean and the staff are super friendly

Disliked: My room was on the fourth floor and there was no lift, only steep steps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom are clean. The staff is friendly. Wifi is everywhere.

Disliked: The stairs are too steep so dont bring too much stuff wit you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DO YEAL YU

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 DO YEAL would recommend this property

Liked: i lived amigo hostel only for one night. but it was really nice. the hostel is clean and nice location. and staff was also very kind and funny. they tried to show me the amsterdam. and sultan who is one of the staff is really kind. if you go to amsterdam, go to amigo hostel. it will be nice trip.!!!!

Disliked: DO YEAL left no negative feedback.