HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 59%

Location 72%

Safety 70%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings.
We accept cash and card for payment on arrival
Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge
Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email.
In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time.
-We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members


Cancellation policy during special periods

New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016
Easter 25,26,27,28 March 2016
*National kingsday : 26,27,29,30 April 2016
Liberty week : 05,06,07may 2016
*Pinksterdays: 15,16 may 2016
IBC event 10,11,12,13,14 *September 2016

Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole
booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 59%

Location 72%

Safety 70%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

Showing 11-20 of 127 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere, the staff were VERY helpful, the rooms were clean and the shower was great!

Disliked: one shower per floor, didnt really bother me that much - had trouble getting bags up the stairs but thats only minor

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its cheap and rooms are decent. Toilets have airfreshners and bathrooms are big.

Disliked: The stairs are very steep and there is not kitchen facility and no breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: NO recomendable 100%

Disliked: it was everything dirty, noisy, unconfortable bed. They put six beds in a 4 beds room and I paid for a 4 beds room. I told them about it and they put one more bed inside! 7 beds in a 4 beds room. No space for anything.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There are amazing places to eat nearby and a good laundry service store 5 minutes walk.

Disliked: This hostel can only offer 1 thing, a bed. Don't count on the shower or bathroom, odors, noisy staff that bangs the doors starting 8:00 am. Literally felt like barracks. The price is way overpriced, I was charged 70 EUR for a dorm bed in a 6 bed room. The toilet and shower were OUTSIDE the room, so you need to take everything with you, and there are no hangers in the shower. Literally rubbish. Endless set of stairs so narrow its depressing. The staff, some are nice some are less but they all share the same "I am sorry, its no possible" approach trying to deflect any non profitable interactions. The man on the desk was more busy counting money and guests than to check us in saying "check in 14:00" it was 14:03 on my phone and 13:47 on his clock mounted on the wall and he said that the clock is better than my phone. All in all, only and only if you are desperate take this thing (its not a hostel na ah)Spend 10 extra EUR and value your time and respect yourself and don't go there.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room Its self was brilliant, I was in a shared bathroom and the showers were nicer than some hotels I've stayed in! Every time new guests arrive the rooms are cleaned and sheets changed with lockers that you can store valuable with the option to lock (bring your own) I felt very comfortable leaving all my belongings in the room.

Disliked: The rooms on the first floor are considerably louder as people can smoke on the main steps which is very close to the rooms therefore sleep can be disturbed.Sometimes you feel like the staff are telling you what you want to here rather than the truth I emailed months in advanced to ensure I was in the same room as my friends. When we arrived I was placed two floors above my friends, they said they would change it, they then said they couldn't and stated "100% you'll be together tomorrow night"... This did not happen and only got moved because I believe the actual owner/manager stepped in and gave us an ensuit room on the last night of our stay. It is also not clearly stated that they will take out money from your bank to ensure your card won't get rejected to confirm your booking, this came as a surprise as we were told to pay by cash, which I had to do as well.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hotel has a very charming character. It is small and very well located. The perfect stay for young people with a low budgte.

Disliked: At least the rooms could be equiped with a small desk or chair and some place to store one's personal stuff.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were clean and nice.

Disliked: No breakfast and no kitchen. Has a good kebab place nearby though.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Travelers were friendly, conversational. There was excellent wifi and the transport links are, as stated, brilliant. Although they did not sell alcoholic beverages (which I wanted after a long flight from Asia), they pointed me in the direction of the nearest convenience store and allowed me to bring drinks into the hostel.

Disliked: Communal area was slightly small for the amount of people allowed to stay there, and some of the stairs were dangerously steep- I'm glad I didn't have more luggage or got too wasted.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amigo Budget hostel was a decent hostel.The room and beds were okay and staff was nice and helpful. A kitchen would have been nice, but with the lack of space the microwave and access to dishes were sufficient especially with the supermarket next door.

Disliked: A bit crowded at times as the hallways and reception are a bit compact.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: For 15 € a night you get a clean bed in a 8 dorm room, which is also clean, travelers basicly need nothing more then this, and other hostels take double and triple prices.This hostel is perfect for travelers on the budget.

Disliked: Toilet are too small!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability