We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

67.9% Overall Rating

350 out of 470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2014)

Gemma Thirsk thinks…

"The place was really clean, friendly and right next to a couple of different tram routes. Supermarket to the rear of the place that is open early and late and another shop down the road open even…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made. Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
25.89 USD

Hostel 67.5% 76 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
27.84 USD

Hostel 84.0% 712 reviews
Centraal Hostel
23.30 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
45.31 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Flipper
31.76 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
45.31 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Vita Nova
27.19 USD

Hostel 81.0% 284 reviews
Hotel Max
35.60 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

350 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 452 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Del Norda

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 July 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam for my friends hen weekend-the hostel was just ideal! One thing we would say, invest in some new pillows, the ones you have are really lumpy! That's all though :) thanks!

Disliked: The Pillows

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lotte Twilt

Alone

Events / festivals

09 July 2012

Liked: The staff are young guys, they are very helpful and nice. The hostel is near a few trams and buses and near a bigger station. There a few bars, restaurants shops (supermarket as well) around the hostel. There is free WiFi. There is a possibility to eat you own food (bread etc.). You can rend a locker in your room.

Disliked: There are a lot of rooms, but there are to little toilets and showers, The showers and toilets are way to small! There is no way you can take your towel and your clothes with you into the shower, I had to leave mine outside and sneaky re-opened the door again and grab my stuff, one my one. Its felt like a small closet, the toilet as well (my knees almost touched the door). Also In the morning you have to wait, there are way to little showers and toilets. There is no elevator, it is possible that you have walk three steep stairs (I did). In the room of 8 (403), there are not enough curtains, so in summer you always wake up early or cannot sleep when you went out in the city. The location is kind off out off the city center. There is not a possibility to cook or to store a lot of food in a fridge.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Kroepfl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: there r simple clean rooms. it`s not far from the center. the staff is really helpful and there`s free internet. the shops around r not expensive and this is really important in amsterdam.

Disliked: the bathroom was not that clean, too many people for sharing one shower. it`s good that there r a lot of rooms, but too many to meet people from other rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 July 2012

Liked: Room was not bad and bed fine.

Disliked: Location is OK but not if you're only here for a few days because you will have to spend money on trams. Worst thing though is the lack of decent common area. It's a big place with a tiny reception area. It wasn't the worst and fine if you're in a bind, but I would not choose to stay unless I had to. FAR BETTER than heart of amsterdam though! That place was RUBBISH!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Vilela

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: It is very near the city, well located, great conditions and perfect customer service. 100% Recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Ivers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, especially Casa! in a nice location a short tram ride away from the centre, great atmosphere!

Disliked: steep stairs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Er Jian Chua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Er Jian would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and showers were clean. Nice common area with computers and EURO 2012 screenings.

Disliked: Toilet was way too small. Showers had no place at all to hang stuff. There were always people smoking cigarettes and weed at the entrance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VEERDHAWAL KOLASKAR

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 VEERDHAWAL would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. nice clean rooms.

Disliked: VEERDHAWAL left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luca Cavicchi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2012 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: I bagni

Disliked: Le scale

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2012

Liked: The stuff

Disliked: not enough toilets and showers, cant open window in bedroom, no night lamps, very steep staircase, no sockets in the bedroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Clay Connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Clay would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is literally directly off the tram 9 from the Central station, so if you don't want to do any walking you don't have to. Reception was nice, some employees more than others. Shower was fantastic, very big, clean, hot, powerful, but there was only 1 between many people.

Disliked: Lock box needed lock, beds were pretty low quality, beds were close together.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean and new rooms I felt safe in. Computers and a nice lounge area with wifi. Grocery store right across the street and Smoke Palace just a few minutes walk away.

Disliked: A bit far from the center but it is perfect way to see the city by walking through it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: Not a lot really! The location wasn't that big of an issue, but I don't mind walking and the weather was okay during my stay. Might be irritating for those who don't fancy the 30 min walk into town or paying for public transport.

Disliked: Other people commented on the stairs - I wasn't bothered but getting luggage up and down them or coming in after a night out, well let's say a ladder would be a better description than a staircase! Also to get to my room it felt like there were a million doors to go through, the place is like a maze and all the slamming all the time can get a bit much. However, these things I could live with as being part of the building. But it really annoyed me that our room and shower didn't seem to be cleaned at all while I was there (4 days) There was a dirty wash cloth on the shower floor the entire time and clumps of dirt. The bedroom floor was horribly dirty and while obviously this isn't the most expensive hostel, the minimum I expect for my money is cleanliness. The lack of kitchen facilities definitely makes a difference too. If cheap is a priority it's alright, but if you like a clean shower or a kitchen, I'd give it a miss to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohammed El mehdoui

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cleanest hostel I ever stay. The stuff clear the room everyday . There also are bathrooms for the 6 beds room. everyone has a security box. I love this hostel , the location is exellent.

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to the centre, clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful and friendly staff. All in all, a great choice for a short stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing, really.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 June 2012

Liked: Nothng

Disliked: Hostel demands 5% extra on room rate if paid by credit card. Left luggage upon morning checout permitted only up to 2 pm. Very noisy up to 3 am on both nights we stayed - staff and female guests having party with total disregard for other guests.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean facilities + friendly atmosphere

Disliked: The hostel is a bit awkward. It takes quite a while to walk to the most exciting sights - enough to tire one - but is not far enough to justify taking the tram. Taking this into account, the price seems to be quite steep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasmine Balfour-Lynn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Yasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean rooms and toilets. Good atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxim Makartsev

Alone

Business / conference

22 June 2012 Maxim would recommend this property

Liked: You really get what you pay for, and much more!

Disliked: I wanted to get an invoice with a stamp of the hostel, so that I can show it at the embassy when I apply for visa. The staff insisted that I pay the whole sume beforehands (even though during reservation I had already paid 10%), the only way was through the bank, and the bank fee would be smth like 15 euro, so it really wasn't worth it. So in case you need a visa for the Netherlands, don't expect to get any docuents from this hostel, if you really need an invoice about paid stay, you should look for another one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mirka Eidtmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2012 Mirka would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, friendly and all the time very helpful stuff. Everything looks new renovated. One of the best hostels in Europe I´ve been so far.

Disliked: The mildew in the shower (ceiling). But at least the rest of the shower was very clean!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Regan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and helpful staff!

Disliked: Quite a distance from the city proper, but easy to get to and from centraal with the trams!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim More

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice hostel with an surprisingly freindly and helpfull staff! Clean rooms and fresch bathroom. I slept 1 nights in a 6 mixed bedroom and 2 nights in a single room. The beds were more comfortable in the mixed room. But the atmosphere made up for it. My first choice of hostel next time i go to Amigo's.

Disliked: No

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012

Liked: It was very clean and it was not a party hostel.

Disliked: They are extremely disorganize. We tryed to extend our stay in advanced via email, but we couldn´t have an answer until our arrival. Worse of all, the first night we couldn´t stay in a single room, but we stayed in a 4 bedroom, alone, but we couldn´t share a bed with my wyfe. While have of the stuff is really helpfull, the other half is terrible to deal with, they only make things more complicated for you. They didn´t have kitchen facilities, only a microwave and a boiler that no one is allowed to use by themselves, but you need to ask for a memeber of the stuff to use it for you.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gianluca Medaglia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, large and quiet 8 bed room, clean toilet and showers

Disliked: Really too small toilet, No way to hang anything in showers, cracking floor.