HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam

Hostel | Linnaeusstraat 199 - 201, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1093 EN

75.8% Overall Rating

318 out of 424 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Kathleen Winstanley thinks…

"Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit! Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just…"

Read all Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important: Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings. We accept cash and card for payment on arrival Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax. Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email. -We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization. Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014), Easter (18th to 22th April), Queen’s Day (25th and 26th April), Pinkster (6th 7tth and 8t June)and the IBC event (11th to 16th September), ascension day (29th may,> 1th and 2th june) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.64 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.71 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 690 reviews
Centraal Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.37 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Flipper
33.17 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.3% 324 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 772 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

318 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 407 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wa Wing

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: clean, quiet and good beds, in good location and staff is friendly and reception is open 24hrs.

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham young

Alone

City break

16 May 2012 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were extremely helpfull and friendly , they kept the place real clean and tidy very nice place to stay

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Bloom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff. Good environment, and clean. It is a pretty standard hostel (in a good way). Great cheap food close by, which is open late (3am). The food place has a 10% discount for travellers in the hostel.

Disliked: The location is pretty far from the redlight district and most of the clubs and bars. It was nice to get to walk through into the city (well the first time), but the location is really the only bad part of the hostel. There is a really really close tram stop, but i am a bit cheap for public transport (and it only goes till midnight).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 May 2012

Liked: just renovated everything looks nice, the bathroom and the sleeping room are clean, the cleanliness of the toilet depends on the time of day, the staff was really nice and helpful

Disliked: The room was way too small for this price (42€/person !!!). It was a room for two and we really didn't have enough space for our luggage (we didn't have huge bags, just small weekend trip bags). So we had to move it every time we left the room or when we wanted to use the sink. Furthermore smelled the common room like a coffee shop what I personally think should not be the case (However there were people who liked it. So it is a personal thing thought.). Last but not least the 5% of visitor's tax is NOT included in the price mentioned on this website!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew ODonal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location probably about a 40 min. walk to downtown but much shorter to hop on the tram which stops very close to the hostel. Smoker friendly (Both kinds) in the stairway. Great bathrooms with plenty of hot water.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike but the stairs. It's not that you cant make it up them or they're falling apart it's just the angle they're on but I've heard that's pretty common in Amsterdam hostels so the moral is just to watch what you're doing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively clean

Disliked: lockers couldn't fit my lock

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Guilherme Martins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2012 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: New outfits

Disliked: Showers have no curtains, so everything gets wet

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Bischke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The showers look like they've just been renovated, they're really nice. The free computers are great, there's only two of them but it's free, so can't complain, and the wifi works well enough, so long as no one is streaming movies. Close to tram lines that go right into the center city.

Disliked: It's a long walk from the city center, and I didn't want to have to pay for the tram. There arn't too many toilets, though they are clean. The staff didn't seem too enthused about helping us find things to do.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012

Liked: Newly renovated, nice and comfortable beds and line

Disliked: Location. Far from city centre.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and being newly refurbished made it absolutely perfect.

Disliked: Not exactly dislike but the stairs are steep and the property has way too many doors!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Vladimir Mitrovic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012

Liked: It's clean and not that far from the center of the city.

Disliked: Sound isolation in the rooms is awful. All of the doors are closing very loudly and are squeaking all the time so we got woken up constantly. Also, our room had no locker to put our stuff in! No table, no chairs, just the bed. We ended up putting our clothes on our bags on the floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Easton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Amigo Hostel. The rooms were very clean, as were the showers and toilets which is always good when staying in a hostel. The beds were very comfy and the provision of free internet and maps was much appreciated.

Disliked: As mentioned in other comments, the stairs are a pain but obviously unavoidable. I think that warnings should be placed in the description detailing the ease of access. Also, the lack of kitchen facilities was very inconvenient. An accessible kitchen is a must for anyone staying more than one night as Amsterdam is not exactly cheap when it comes to eating out. The 5% City Tax was also a bit of a nasty surprise and it would be nice if a clearer warning of this surcharge could be provided. One last dislike was that the bunk beds in my room (207) had no ladders to the top bunk, which can be a safety concern.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edna Mayela Peza Ramirez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Edna Mayela would recommend this property

Liked: Clean showers, comfortable beds, really helpful staff. The ambience on the common room was good.

Disliked: The kitchen is not easily accesible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kia Hiroms

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Kia would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location although not in the city center they have their own little center. There is excellent cheap pizza 20 M from the hostel and many many cafes/restaurants/bars around in walking distance. Also has laundromat nearby and barber shops if you need haircut. Clean and safe, as well as really nice and helpful staff. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: ====

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Jean-Allard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a cheap bed to sleep at night then this is a good place. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It's not the best but when other hostels downtown charge 40€ a night, this is a good alternative.

Disliked: The bathrooms are TINY, the fact that you have to take the tram everyday might make up for the price differences with other hostels closer to the center and there is no kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view, helpful English speaking staff. They let me keep my bags there even after I checked out, so I didn't have to carry them around Amsterdam all day! Even cut me a deal on the price because you have to pay in cash and I came up a couple euros short.

Disliked: You have to pay in cash. The location is a little far from the central ville but not bad.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Lawler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, very helpful and good local knowledge. New hostel, so everything was nice and clean.

Disliked: No smoking area, no kitchen, no real common area except the lobby.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ivan Contreras

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: the good thing about this hostel is that it's cheaper than the other hostels downtown.

Disliked: the problem are the stairs, they are very steep so if you have a lot of lugagge it's going to be a huge problem to go 5 floors up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I felt welcome at the Amigo Hostel, it's a new Hostel and they treat everyone like a Hotel guest. The beds are new and very comfortable and the showers are nice and hot. Everyone there was having a good time and left with a smile on their face

Disliked: Needs a kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people working there, very friendly and easy to get along with. The social area was cool too, free internet access was good.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsz Chung Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Tsz Chung would recommend this property

Liked: it is very cosy! everyone just hanging in the lobby, chatting or smoking weed outside. It is easy to make friends out of here! The boss was friendly too!

Disliked: A little bit too steep for the stairs, and the rooms ventilation are not so good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haria Indunp

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 April 2012 Haria would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks Amigo's for making our Amsterdam trip an AWESOME experience!! The staff is very friendly, welcoming, and extremely caring. The place was clean, organized, it satisfied all of our needs, and it made us feel at home.

Disliked: The stairs.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really nice, and the bathrooms are relatively new.

Disliked: the stairs! and the location is not so great..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel have a cindly staff and are serviceminded. they dont have a kitchen but the cook water for you or warm up your food bought from the local supermarket right above the hostel. But maybe the must advantage of this hostel is that it have public transport few meters away. You have also the train station to tne central station where you can transfer to schippol airport. 5 min away. This hostel is accordingly to website the newest hostel in amsterdam, they opened a couple months ago so the have better bathrooms then the 3 star hotells I have used earlier.

Disliked: you have to pay cash at arrival if a can pick on something.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Buckley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and always there to help. The relaxed attitude is perfect for any reckless party-goers wanting to stroll in at any time, with a variety of people up and chatty.

Disliked: The stairs are steep! The Internet sometimes work and sometimes mysteriously does not. It's a bit far away from the centre, though the east community seems friendly enough if lost. Getting a tram to the centre may seem annoying and if you wish to be somewhere more central, then do that. Though it's 10minutes on the tram with the locals.