HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam

Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 53%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 74%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings.
We accept cash and card for payment on arrival
Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge
Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email.
In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time.
-We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members


Cancellation policy during special periods

New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016
Easter 25,26,27,28 March 2016
*National kingsday : 26,27,29,30 April 2016
Liberty week : 05,06,07may 2016
*Pinksterdays: 15,16 may 2016
IBC event 10,11,12,13,14 *September 2016

Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole
booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 53%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 74%

Value 71%

Showing 91-100 of 176 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: At least I had a place to stay for one night in a city where I had been for the first time.

Disliked: Bed sheets smelled like foot. I did not like it at all. I wish they were washed daily. Also they must have told me that I had to pay an extra fee for the taxes. It would be great to have known that beforehand when I was booking my place.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good and the rooms where clean. The staff where very friendly and helped us with anything we wanted to know. I'd advise people to stay here and would stay here again if I went back to Amsterdam.

Disliked: The stairs. Nothing prepared me for these stairs. As a smoker I had to stop about 3 times as we where on the top floor. The first lot are steep as anything. Plus, when we got there we had to pay more than what was advertised. It advertised £27.50 we had to pay £31.50 each.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us.

I am happy that you liked the stay here! You are always welcome to stay with us again in the future.

The extra money that you had to pay was the citytax of 5,5%

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was spotless, rooms and toilet/shower were very clean and seemed as if they had been updated recently. Staff were very helpful when it came to asking ideal places to go and transportation. Lockers were great size and fitted all of my belonging in making me feel secure, room was also much more spacious than expected.

Disliked: The steep stairs which can be very daunting however we became used to it as it seems like most places in Amsterdam have very steep stairs too. It doesn't help that the smoking area is at the top of the stairs as people tend to sit there making it even more difficult to get up/down them.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The atmosphere was perfect

Disliked: It was a little far from the city center

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: room clean, bed comfortable and quiet

Disliked: shower a little small. stairs steep, but not a problem for those of us who are in good condition.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Excellent value for the price we paid. If you want something fancy, this is not your place. But if you want a place just to sleep and shower this is the perfect hostel for you. Location is not great (30 min walk from Central Station), but its only 15 minutes by tram (line 9). Its great for a quick weekend away :-)

Disliked: Slight problems with organisation, but reasonable for the price you pay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were awesome.

Disliked: Nothing - it was all fantastic.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: low price, kind staff, clean room, clean shower, clean toilet.

Disliked: has no lift -> hard to go upstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff, great atmosphere what makes your stay easy-going and unforgettable.

Disliked: Terrible stairs, but thanks for that the hostel has a unique atmosphere (the stairs are everywhere in the Holland) and no kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room was very modern. Shower and toilet facilities very nice for the price paid.

Disliked: The stairs were very steep. Being on the 4th floor meant we had a very steep climb back to the room after having a smoke

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability