HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 58%

Location 70%

Safety 69%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important:
Please Note: We pre-authorise the first night on your card 1 week before arrival in order to gaurantee your booking. If your credit-card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card. Failure to provide us an alternative card within 48 hours may result in your booking been cancelled. The reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization made.

Please email us if you're late. That will prevent misunderstandings.
We accept cash and card for payment on arrival
Payment with any card is 5 % extra charge
Prices do not include the 5,5% city tax.
Cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date by e-mail. Cancellations can only be done by email.
In case of late cancellation or no-show the property is allowed to charge the customer of the amount of the first time.
-We ask authorization on the given credit card, the reservation will be terminated if there is no authorization.
Cancellations or changes will be accepted only through the email
Customers with the age of 40 years and older can be refused by the staff members


Cancellation policy during special periods

New year: 31 December 2015, 01 January and 02 January 2016
Easter 25,26,27,28 March 2016
*National kingsday : 26,27,29,30 April 2016
Liberty week : 05,06,07may 2016
*Pinksterdays: 15,16 may 2016
IBC event 10,11,12,13,14 *September 2016

Please note: During this period we have a 14 day cancellation policy. All cancellations will need to be made at least 14 days before the arrival date via email, otherwise there will be a 100 % charge on the card.

When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole
booking will be charged to your card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 58%

Location 70%

Safety 69%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

Showing 91-100 of 141 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was pretty cheap for a hostel in Amsterdam.

Disliked: It didn't have much to offer in terms of services. The rooms weren't super clean, and the bathrooms were pretty gross.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The location and the mess in the bedrooms and bathrooms

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Across the road from supermarket and fast food place for cheap eats and also a tram stop which takes you to the city centreSink in room

Disliked: No lockers in roomsNo spot for socialising as there is only a reception, no bar or common roomA bit far from the major tourist attractions (Red Light District and museums) and central train station - need to take the tram (around 20 minutes journey) as it is not reasonable walking distance

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and funny staff who made you feel welcome straight away! couldnt have done more to get us into the Amsterdam spirit!Got all of us into one room and we could rent towels for just 2Euro for the whole stay.24 Hour reception so we could come and go as we pleased and could but munchies and drinks whenever.Could smoke on the top of the stairs but not in rooms so the rooms were not smokey!

Disliked: really nothing too much... other than a couple of marks on the pillow cases and sheets but honestly this didnt bother me too much as everything was clean.Also there was only one bathroom on our floor (first floor) and there was ten of us in our room and at least 5 in the room beside us, so getting ready in the morning was an absolute nightmare! haha

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: At least I had a place to stay for one night in a city where I had been for the first time.

Disliked: Bed sheets smelled like foot. I did not like it at all. I wish they were washed daily. Also they must have told me that I had to pay an extra fee for the taxes. It would be great to have known that beforehand when I was booking my place.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good and the rooms where clean. The staff where very friendly and helped us with anything we wanted to know. I'd advise people to stay here and would stay here again if I went back to Amsterdam.

Disliked: The stairs. Nothing prepared me for these stairs. As a smoker I had to stop about 3 times as we where on the top floor. The first lot are steep as anything. Plus, when we got there we had to pay more than what was advertised. It advertised £27.50 we had to pay £31.50 each.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us.

I am happy that you liked the stay here! You are always welcome to stay with us again in the future.

The extra money that you had to pay was the citytax of 5,5%

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was spotless, rooms and toilet/shower were very clean and seemed as if they had been updated recently. Staff were very helpful when it came to asking ideal places to go and transportation. Lockers were great size and fitted all of my belonging in making me feel secure, room was also much more spacious than expected.

Disliked: The steep stairs which can be very daunting however we became used to it as it seems like most places in Amsterdam have very steep stairs too. It doesn't help that the smoking area is at the top of the stairs as people tend to sit there making it even more difficult to get up/down them.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The atmosphere was perfect

Disliked: It was a little far from the city center

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: room clean, bed comfortable and quiet

Disliked: shower a little small. stairs steep, but not a problem for those of us who are in good condition.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability