We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Hostel | Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands NL 1073

67.1% Overall Rating

150 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

Linda Braun thinks…

"The only single good thing you have here is truely the location. If you just need an overnight stay, i could recommend it to you, so you don't loose much time while visiting Amsterdam. Otherwise,…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September 2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bicycle Hotel
39.08 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Sphinx HoSTEL
35.73 USD

Hostel 45.7% 1021 reviews
Cocomama
23.45 USD

Hostel 92.1% 260 reviews
Hotel Max
36.29 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Euphemia Budget Hotel
33.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
55.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
42.43 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 111 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
27.91 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.1%

Overall Rating

150 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
66.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 212 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 February 2015

Liked: It was cheap, If you like cheap you will love Hostel Sarphati.

Disliked: The smell of feces and urine in the morning, The bunks don't even have ladders I had to climb up and the mattress was far too narrow. They have 3 bed bunks too they have ladders but you have to keep your head low as only inches from ceiling.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Linda Braun

Alone

City break
Shopping

19 January 2015

Liked: The only single good thing you have here is truely the location. If you just need an overnight stay, i could recommend it to you, so you don't loose much time while visiting Amsterdam. Otherwise, pick another hostel, even if it's more expensive.

Disliked: There are attention notes all over the hostel with rules but these notes/rules are not consistently. There would be a 20€ fee, if you pick the wrong bed, but the beds are not marked, so you just choose the one that's free (like in any other hostel oO). Overall the hostel gives you the feeling, that you are not welcome. The breakfeast is just a loaf of toast, some butter, peanut butter and 2 different jams. And it is so dirty. I don't mind spiderwebs and a little dust, but the tiny bathroom was moldy. Over the old mold they just put another layer of silicone, but you can see the thick black mold behind. The bathroom tap was broken and the toilet leaky. There was no locker or anything for you to lock valuable items. Worst hostel i've been so far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Andrews

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, great staff, great location! I would reccommend this hostel to anyone who is considering staying in Amsterdam on the cheap. Rooms were very clean, and the balcony from my room had a nice view. Staff are very helpful and professional. Also the free breakfast was a nice bonus!

Disliked: I liked everything about this hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. In a quiet area at night easy to fall asleep.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpfun staff, great location. Great value for my money.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and kitchen area. clean

Disliked: Beds crammed into rooms so there was not much space. Quite a long walk to the centre but not too bad. There are trams also.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

liudmila adamova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 liudmila would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: not so good locatian

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendlt staff, Good location

Disliked: I think the breakfest is very poor... And can be much more generous.... ( vegtables, soy milk....) When I stayed in the stayokay hostel, breakfest was much much better.....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014

Liked: The owners were very nice, helpful. Beds were comfortable. No curfew. Breakfast is included. They provided the linen and towels.

Disliked: If you're used to sleeping in a 12 bed dorm then that means the noise wouldn't be a factor but I found it difficult to get by. The toilet was broken and the shared bathroom tiny and not too clean.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Lang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014

Liked: Average

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Patrick Dang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: they offered me free towels

Disliked: dirty dirty beds, towels, bathroom cramped no space to move

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2014

Liked: Very close to city centre.

Disliked: Very narrow and dirty stairs.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomasz Kawczynski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Dirty bathroom.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Joseph O'Dea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff, small and pokey, no kitchen, expensive

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were ok

Disliked: The included breakfast was very poor, consisting only of bread, butter, jam and a single toaster that was hardly enough for everyone to share. It's also one of the few hostels I've stayed in where no one seemed to be talking to each other - the atmosphere was virtually non-existent. Room itself was pretty shabby and the bathroom door wouldn't lock. The shower was placed right next to the toilet and got the whole bathroom wet whenever you used it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonia Warnat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are clean, there is a park at the opposite of the street. Tramstation in front of the hotel. We were able to add another night without reservation

Disliked: There is no shower curtain so the hole bathroom is wet after taking a shower. And the breakfast ist just toast with marmalade and peanutbutter (+ tea and coffee).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cats

Disliked: Check in not till 2:30 although 1 advertised

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pranav Bisht

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Pranav would recommend this property

Liked: Economical prices, and very near to the main places to visit in Amsterdam

Disliked: By the time we reached for breakfast, other hostelers had finished the breakfast stock

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Hine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Staff were pretty good. Park across the road. Generally clean

Disliked: There were a couple of cats that live at the hostel but they go into the rooms and got on my bed which I didn't like because cat hair irritates my eyes and I don't think it's very hygienic. The dorm room was very small but that's understandable given the price. Also not very close to the centre but again probably because it's cheap

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed how clean the place was. Definitely well kept up.

Disliked: The stairs were really steep even though it seems just to be common to Amsterdam. I did see a lot of people falling down stairs. Also breakfast was promised , but all that was there was bread. Is that common?

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Amanda Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Our reservtion as cancelled even after I have confirmed (when the staff called me) I was going to stay there for sure. Took us 2 hours to arrive at the hostel cause the directions given by eamil were wrong. As the reservation was cancelled, by the time we got there two of us had to sleep on the floor and the hostel manager even yelled at me that I was an irresposible person because according to him I should have arrived earlier. When I tried to explain to him that the directions I got from his email were wrong he yelled even more. Very rude man. The mattresses were not comfortable. We stayed there for 3 nights and each day and night there was a differente person at the reception causing disorganisation since they had no experience for the job and could not fully help with any problems. The cleannig was not done everyday, neither the changes of linnen. The shower didn't release much water so we couldn't take a proper bath. Summing up, horrible experience, rude and incompetent, specially the manager, uncomfortable beds and poor quality breakfast. Does not worth the money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniele Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't much clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind and helpfull staf. Hostel is located in a very beautiful part of the city.

Disliked: Don't expect too much!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shannon Mills

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: I've liked the location but hat was it.

Disliked: The room was filthy. There was dirty laundry in our closet when we got in there with no one else in the room. The shower curtain was mouldy and gross to touch. The stairs and hallways looked as if it wasn't ever cleaned. We paid an insane amount and we realized after we got there it was because it was kings day weekend. Worst hostel I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at many.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: It is located near lots of trams and buses, easy to get to city center or train station quickly.

Disliked: Where to start... First of all, they only accept payment for rooms in CASH. Yes, this is explicitly stated on the website so it was not a surprise for us, but many travelers are uncomfortable carrying around that much cash. This is extremely inconvenient. When we arrived, we couldn't tell which beds were ours because they are not assigned, and there were no clean linens in sight - just a pile of comforters and pillows in questionable hygienic condition. We had to ask the front desk for a fresh set of sheets then prayed we wouldn't contract bed bugs... The rooms were very expensive because it was a peak visitor period in Amsterdam. Ok - that's fine, supply and demand, we get it. But this hostel really tried to squeeze every last penny out of us with borderline inhumane cost savings methods. Only one toilet and shower for 10 people, an extremely stuffy room that reeked of BO (and a sign on the windows stating they were not to be opened under any circumstances - yea we ignored this because of my friend's asthma.) severe lack of power outlets in the rooms means you might have to climb into a stranger's bunk when they leave in order to charge your phone. No lockers or secure storage in the rooms, but at this point what did you really expect? Breakfast is served in a tiny room in the basement barely big enough to hold a dozen people standing up. Stale bread, some coffee or tea if you get there early enough, and good luck finding clean glasses and plates to use. Do not stay here under any circumstance if you can avoid it at all! I would rather have paid an extra $30 for a half decent hotel room instead. Because of the lack of common space, this is not a social hostel. They do not organize any bar crawls or walking tours, so if you're looking for the social backpacking experience, go elsewhere. This hostel is severely understaffed. The reception guy has a seriously flippant attitude toward the guests. I've stayed in many hostels before and this is hands down the worst experience I have ever had - it was a total ripoff ($70US/night!!!) and there were no redeeming qualities, except maybe the friendly cat, if you like cats...