HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Amsterdam Hostel

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 48%

Location 71%

Safety 55%

Staff 66%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (1st to 4th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Prices do not include a 5.5% city tax, which shall be added to your balance upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 48%

Location 71%

Safety 55%

Staff 66%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Only location

Disliked: Price and Service was very incorrelated, for a 165 of euros for 4 person is much more than what the hostel gave us by its dirtyness and lack of service quality

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Cleaned the room daily and changes the bedding

Disliked: Staff were unhelpful and I paid way to much money to stay. It also was quite far away from the centre

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: It was writteninmy bookindocuments that checkintime is 00:00 and checkout after 34 hours! Next day morning i checked in 00:00 28.03 andcheck out at 10:00 29:03 like it was written in my booking letter. But admin makeme to pay for another night. Maybe a didnt underdtand somethingbut for a what aim theywrite 00:00 as checkintime? Why admin didnt explain me this rule when i am checked in? I cant understand!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price is right!

Disliked: Very cold & no toaster for bread

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the friendly and helpful staff. I also liked the Sarphati Park neighborhood, which had lots of good coffee houses, cafes, and restaurants. There was also a good, open-air market nearby. The #4 tramline runs right in front of the hostel, which is an easy way to get to The Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. It's also close to the tram line to the Central Station. It also does not discriminate against people older than 41, which is great.

Disliked: The kitchen is very basic. It has a microwave, a fridge, and an electric kettle, some dishes, no knives, and two glasses. There was no stove, or kitchen knives.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, microwave and fridge was useful, some staff were helpful

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location. Take the number 3 tram to museumplein + Anne Frank house, or take the number 4 to the main square/train station. Number 3 tram station is right outside, number 4 is 3-5 minute walk. Also there is a nice park right next to the place if you want to relax at night (Sarphatipark). Breakfast was good in my opinion. Tea/coffee and bread with peanut butter + jam + chocolate spread sometimes. Someone commented before that breakfast gets finished early but whenever I got there at the opening time (8am), I am always either alone or the second one there. People seem to rise late in Amsterdam. The staff are nice and friendly and there is a really cute kitten who is very warm.

Disliked: Room smelled like feet. I think there was a guy there who didn't shower/change clothes for 4 days straight. Some weird people who started chatting in the morning in the room loudly.Room and bathroom were reasonable. Price is a bit high for a hostel but it's Amsterdam and 30 Eur/night for shared room seemed 'standard'.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Sarphati Hostel was pretty good basic accommodation for travellers like us. Service level was pretty good avaragage and hostels location was also quite good. Not at the city center, but not too far away.

Disliked: The bathrooms were quite loud, so you could everything that someone else is doing.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It was cheap, If you like cheap you will love Hostel Sarphati.

Disliked: The smell of feces and urine in the morning, The bunks don't even have ladders I had to climb up and the mattress was far too narrow. They have 3 bed bunks too they have ladders but you have to keep your head low as only inches from ceiling.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: The only single good thing you have here is truely the location. If you just need an overnight stay, i could recommend it to you, so you don't loose much time while visiting Amsterdam. Otherwise, pick another hostel, even if it's more expensive.

Disliked: There are attention notes all over the hostel with rules but these notes/rules are not consistently. There would be a 20€ fee, if you pick the wrong bed, but the beds are not marked, so you just choose the one that's free (like in any other hostel oO). Overall the hostel gives you the feeling, that you are not welcome. The breakfeast is just a loaf of toast, some butter, peanut butter and 2 different jams. And it is so dirty. I don't mind spiderwebs and a little dust, but the tiny bathroom was moldy. Over the old mold they just put another layer of silicone, but you can see the thick black mold behind. The bathroom tap was broken and the toilet leaky. There was no locker or anything for you to lock valuable items. Worst hostel i've been so far.

Check Availability