HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Hostel | Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands NL 1073

70.3% Overall Rating

129 out of 186 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"It is located near lots of trams and buses, easy to get to city center or train station quickly."

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. Prices do not include 5.5% city tax. (from 1st of january 2013 it will be 5,5%) We have a 72hr cancellation policy for normal bookings. Cancellation are only accepted by email. We ask authorisation on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorisation. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings (6 or more people), we have a 14-day cancellation policy; cancellations, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec to 2nd Jan), Easter (22nd to 25th April), Queen's Day (29th and 30th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (9th to 12th September) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card. We will need a CVC (security code at the back of your credit card); this to guarantee your booking that you will be staying with us. You will be contacted by the hostel for information; this booking cannot be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bicycle Hotel
35.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 423 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
24.84 USD

Hotel 1 star 47.8% 1010 reviews
Cocomama
37.26 USD

Hostel 95.1% 238 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
138.01 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
42.62 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
35.51 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 99 reviews
Kerkstraat Premium
67.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
34.49 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

129 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: It is located near lots of trams and buses, easy to get to city center or train station quickly.

Disliked: Where to start... First of all, they only accept payment for rooms in CASH. Yes, this is explicitly stated on the website so it was not a surprise for us, but many travelers are uncomfortable carrying around that much cash. This is extremely inconvenient. When we arrived, we couldn't tell which beds were ours because they are not assigned, and there were no clean linens in sight - just a pile of comforters and pillows in questionable hygienic condition. We had to ask the front desk for a fresh set of sheets then prayed we wouldn't contract bed bugs... The rooms were very expensive because it was a peak visitor period in Amsterdam. Ok - that's fine, supply and demand, we get it. But this hostel really tried to squeeze every last penny out of us with borderline inhumane cost savings methods. Only one toilet and shower for 10 people, an extremely stuffy room that reeked of BO (and a sign on the windows stating they were not to be opened under any circumstances - yea we ignored this because of my friend's asthma.) severe lack of power outlets in the rooms means you might have to climb into a stranger's bunk when they leave in order to charge your phone. No lockers or secure storage in the rooms, but at this point what did you really expect? Breakfast is served in a tiny room in the basement barely big enough to hold a dozen people standing up. Stale bread, some coffee or tea if you get there early enough, and good luck finding clean glasses and plates to use. Do not stay here under any circumstance if you can avoid it at all! I would rather have paid an extra $30 for a half decent hotel room instead. Because of the lack of common space, this is not a social hostel. They do not organize any bar crawls or walking tours, so if you're looking for the social backpacking experience, go elsewhere. This hostel is severely understaffed. The reception guy has a seriously flippant attitude toward the guests. I've stayed in many hostels before and this is hands down the worst experience I have ever had - it was a total ripoff ($70US/night!!!) and there were no redeeming qualities, except maybe the friendly cat, if you like cats...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johan Vonkavaara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, next to a park.

Disliked: Nothing. Had a little misfortune with the bookings since I had to change room 2 times during my stay, and with a large backpack it was not always easy, but other than that - great staff and great hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachy Trashe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Zachy would recommend this property

Liked: I really did enjoyes staying at hostel sarphati, the staff are really good And friendly atmosphere, I recommand this hostel?

Disliked: Zachy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the wifi signal is a bit week on the 1st and 2nd floor.

Disliked: the heater is not working in the evening

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014

Liked: the location and the staff

Disliked: the bathrooms were not clean and the breakfast was only bread with jam.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locks on doors. Located next to a well known park, easy for directions.

Disliked: Small, could have been cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niamh Halpin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff not to far away from the central area!!

Disliked: Niamh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, restful stay. Staff is helpful, but not overbearing, they are just there for you, ask them whatever you need. Great location, in a hotspot of local Amsterdam, the Pijp, though many travellers from outside Amsterdam stilll donàt know about it. Close to everything, but in a nice park area that gives you a sense of being in nature, beautiful parkside.

Disliked: I cant criticize a value like this

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, always ready to help you. Good breakfast for the price. Nice location. Very good price.

Disliked: Bathrooms and community areas are too small. It is a safe hostel, but there are no safes. It is what you expect for the price. I totally recommend it if you don't want to spend too much money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tina Zorko

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the general atmosphere in the hostel was very relaxed. I was a bit worried before going there because of many rather negative reviews, but now I can say they don't do the hostel justice - it's an amazing place to stay, especially for such a low price.

Disliked: It might be a bit disorganised and crowded at times, but all in all I left with a very positive impression.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luciano Hansted

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. I lost my passport, and they helped with the process and the guy even offered to call his lawyer if anything went wrong.. I needed to print some documents and they let me use the computer of the reception to do it. Also, during the night they would ask people their room number, etc, to make sure they were really staying at the hostel. Everyday in the morning a guy would come to clean the bathroom, which was inside the room. The common area was pretty nice, met some nice people. Right in front there is a pretty beautiful park too.

Disliked: No stairs to climb to the top beds. No lockers in the room, and nowhere to leave your bags if you're staying in the top bed (had to leave it under the bed of a guy I didn't know). The location is not the best, a 25 min walk to the center.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, great location near de pijp, one of the staff members (a guy who works in the evening at around 9ish) is the most friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast was extremely basic, but that's fine for the price. Could have been a little cleaner but fine for a student on a budget (like me), also the other two staff members I encountered were quite unfriendly. A simple hello/smile would do wonders.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Breakfast included only means toast, coffee and tea. Also, the check out time is very early.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

anastasia logan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast. good atmosphere. good size hostel.

Disliked: quite far out of town. rooms a bit damp feeling. broken shower that didnt have a shower head...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

KELVIN CHIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Small room.

Disliked: Some of the staff are not that friendly. You need to pay for the city map which the map when you can get it for free from other hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Common room. Easy to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing really except for the dangerous staircase ;)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Inès Le Gué

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013

Liked: Well located, next to the beautiful sarphati park, nice staff and good to have breakfast in the morning!

Disliked: 8 bed dorms are too small... Absolutely no place to move or breathe... and the kitchen only offers a micro-wave.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

george levett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013

Liked: Nothing really. It was hardly average.

Disliked: Most things.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good for the price paid. It isn't too touristy in the immediate area which is nice with there still being nice bars, restaurants and coffee shops less than 5 minutes away.

Disliked: The breakfast was poor and the facilities not great, however the map offered for 1 euro at the front desk offers 25% off a small café 2 minutes away that does very nice food and has great service, and when all your really needing is a bed, the facilities are no issue.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Arthi Kanchana Manohar

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2013 Arthi would recommend this property

Liked: Well, the hostel was quite clean and felt safe and secure throughout the stay. The location of the hostel was very convenient to all the tourist places and it was well connected and also at a walkable distance. The staffs were quite friendly as well.

Disliked: Quite surprised to see bunkers in a private room. And the room was very cramped. Me and my friend found it hard to move around the room at the same time. We felt we could have got a better place for the amount we paid especially over the weekends (which was double the price). The breakfast was very disappointing. No cereal for breakfast and the toaster wasn't working!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: It had a great location in Amsterdam

Disliked: The bathrooms were really really gross and there was a lot of construction going on in the building.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sreedas Sivadas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013

Liked: Its close to lot of bars and night restaurants.

Disliked: We were a group of 5 and we took a 8-bed room which was very small for 8 people. The room is jampacked with double decker beds and there is only 1 bathroom cum toilet (with washbasin) for 8 people. If you are planning to go out in morning for tours or something like that, getting ready will take lot of time because of the lack of more bathrooms or toilets, especially when you are a big group.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dávid Szentiványi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Dávid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really nice, the park just on the other side of the road is awesome, it is a must to go there and chill some time! The breakfast is nothing special, it is exactly as the staff told us: "Something to start the day with!". Some bread with peanut butter, jam and butter, also some coffee and tea. Anything extra is only there if you bring it. The staff is incerdibly helpful, they can tell you anything you ask, and even mark it down on the map which will give you. that map is suprisingly handy, as it has the tram-lines on it as well. The minicards on the wall are really nice too, you should just grab as much as possible, you never know which you will use, and this goes for souvenir shop cards mostly! I experienced no problem with the cleaning, when we found something we didn't like we reported it, and the staff cleaned it right that afternoon, really appreciated it!

Disliked: The location is not that central as it might seem from the description, walking to the Dam Square and the red light district might be a bit too much for those not used to it. The beds are also a bit narrow, they have a feel of sleeping on the side of a cliff, but I haven't fell of so I think it is allright :)