We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Hostel | Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands NL 1073

63.2% Overall Rating

143 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"The owners were very nice, helpful. Beds were comfortable. No curfew. Breakfast is included. They provided the linen and towels."

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. Prices do not include 5.5% city tax. (from 1st of january 2013 it will be 5,5%) We have a 72hr cancellation policy for normal bookings. Cancellation are only accepted by email. We ask authorisation on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorisation. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings (6 or more people), we have a 14-day cancellation policy; cancellations, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec to 2nd Jan), Easter (22nd to 25th April), Queen's Day (29th and 30th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (9th to 12th September) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card. We will need a CVC (security code at the back of your credit card); this to guarantee your booking that you will be staying with us. You will be contacted by the hostel for information; this booking cannot be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bicycle Hotel
29.51 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 44.1% 1018 reviews
Cocomama
32.89 USD

Hostel 93.7% 245 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
29.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Euphemia Budget Hotel
24.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
33.21 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 109 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
31.61 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.2%

Overall Rating

143 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
57.6%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpfun staff, great location. Great value for my money.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and kitchen area. clean

Disliked: Beds crammed into rooms so there was not much space. Quite a long walk to the centre but not too bad. There are trams also.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

liudmila adamova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 liudmila would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: not so good locatian

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendlt staff, Good location

Disliked: I think the breakfest is very poor... And can be much more generous.... ( vegtables, soy milk....) When I stayed in the stayokay hostel, breakfest was much much better.....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014

Liked: The owners were very nice, helpful. Beds were comfortable. No curfew. Breakfast is included. They provided the linen and towels.

Disliked: If you're used to sleeping in a 12 bed dorm then that means the noise wouldn't be a factor but I found it difficult to get by. The toilet was broken and the shared bathroom tiny and not too clean.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Lang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014

Liked: Average

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Patrick Dang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: they offered me free towels

Disliked: dirty dirty beds, towels, bathroom cramped no space to move

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2014

Liked: Very close to city centre.

Disliked: Very narrow and dirty stairs.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomasz Kawczynski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Dirty bathroom.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Joseph O'Dea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff, small and pokey, no kitchen, expensive

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were ok

Disliked: The included breakfast was very poor, consisting only of bread, butter, jam and a single toaster that was hardly enough for everyone to share. It's also one of the few hostels I've stayed in where no one seemed to be talking to each other - the atmosphere was virtually non-existent. Room itself was pretty shabby and the bathroom door wouldn't lock. The shower was placed right next to the toilet and got the whole bathroom wet whenever you used it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonia Warnat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are clean, there is a park at the opposite of the street. Tramstation in front of the hotel. We were able to add another night without reservation

Disliked: There is no shower curtain so the hole bathroom is wet after taking a shower. And the breakfast ist just toast with marmalade and peanutbutter (+ tea and coffee).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cats

Disliked: Check in not till 2:30 although 1 advertised

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pranav Bisht

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Pranav would recommend this property

Liked: Economical prices, and very near to the main places to visit in Amsterdam

Disliked: By the time we reached for breakfast, other hostelers had finished the breakfast stock

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Hine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Staff were pretty good. Park across the road. Generally clean

Disliked: There were a couple of cats that live at the hostel but they go into the rooms and got on my bed which I didn't like because cat hair irritates my eyes and I don't think it's very hygienic. The dorm room was very small but that's understandable given the price. Also not very close to the centre but again probably because it's cheap

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed how clean the place was. Definitely well kept up.

Disliked: The stairs were really steep even though it seems just to be common to Amsterdam. I did see a lot of people falling down stairs. Also breakfast was promised , but all that was there was bread. Is that common?

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Amanda Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Our reservtion as cancelled even after I have confirmed (when the staff called me) I was going to stay there for sure. Took us 2 hours to arrive at the hostel cause the directions given by eamil were wrong. As the reservation was cancelled, by the time we got there two of us had to sleep on the floor and the hostel manager even yelled at me that I was an irresposible person because according to him I should have arrived earlier. When I tried to explain to him that the directions I got from his email were wrong he yelled even more. Very rude man. The mattresses were not comfortable. We stayed there for 3 nights and each day and night there was a differente person at the reception causing disorganisation since they had no experience for the job and could not fully help with any problems. The cleannig was not done everyday, neither the changes of linnen. The shower didn't release much water so we couldn't take a proper bath. Summing up, horrible experience, rude and incompetent, specially the manager, uncomfortable beds and poor quality breakfast. Does not worth the money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniele Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't much clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind and helpfull staf. Hostel is located in a very beautiful part of the city.

Disliked: Don't expect too much!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shannon Mills

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: I've liked the location but hat was it.

Disliked: The room was filthy. There was dirty laundry in our closet when we got in there with no one else in the room. The shower curtain was mouldy and gross to touch. The stairs and hallways looked as if it wasn't ever cleaned. We paid an insane amount and we realized after we got there it was because it was kings day weekend. Worst hostel I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at many.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: It is located near lots of trams and buses, easy to get to city center or train station quickly.

Disliked: Where to start... First of all, they only accept payment for rooms in CASH. Yes, this is explicitly stated on the website so it was not a surprise for us, but many travelers are uncomfortable carrying around that much cash. This is extremely inconvenient. When we arrived, we couldn't tell which beds were ours because they are not assigned, and there were no clean linens in sight - just a pile of comforters and pillows in questionable hygienic condition. We had to ask the front desk for a fresh set of sheets then prayed we wouldn't contract bed bugs... The rooms were very expensive because it was a peak visitor period in Amsterdam. Ok - that's fine, supply and demand, we get it. But this hostel really tried to squeeze every last penny out of us with borderline inhumane cost savings methods. Only one toilet and shower for 10 people, an extremely stuffy room that reeked of BO (and a sign on the windows stating they were not to be opened under any circumstances - yea we ignored this because of my friend's asthma.) severe lack of power outlets in the rooms means you might have to climb into a stranger's bunk when they leave in order to charge your phone. No lockers or secure storage in the rooms, but at this point what did you really expect? Breakfast is served in a tiny room in the basement barely big enough to hold a dozen people standing up. Stale bread, some coffee or tea if you get there early enough, and good luck finding clean glasses and plates to use. Do not stay here under any circumstance if you can avoid it at all! I would rather have paid an extra $30 for a half decent hotel room instead. Because of the lack of common space, this is not a social hostel. They do not organize any bar crawls or walking tours, so if you're looking for the social backpacking experience, go elsewhere. This hostel is severely understaffed. The reception guy has a seriously flippant attitude toward the guests. I've stayed in many hostels before and this is hands down the worst experience I have ever had - it was a total ripoff ($70US/night!!!) and there were no redeeming qualities, except maybe the friendly cat, if you like cats...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johan Vonkavaara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, next to a park.

Disliked: Nothing. Had a little misfortune with the bookings since I had to change room 2 times during my stay, and with a large backpack it was not always easy, but other than that - great staff and great hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachy Trashe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Zachy would recommend this property

Liked: I really did enjoyes staying at hostel sarphati, the staff are really good And friendly atmosphere, I recommand this hostel?

Disliked: Zachy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the wifi signal is a bit week on the 1st and 2nd floor.

Disliked: the heater is not working in the evening

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014

Liked: the location and the staff

Disliked: the bathrooms were not clean and the breakfast was only bread with jam.