HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Hostel | Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands NL 1073

70.3% Overall Rating

129 out of 186 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"It is located near lots of trams and buses, easy to get to city center or train station quickly."

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. Prices do not include 5.5% city tax. (from 1st of january 2013 it will be 5,5%) We have a 72hr cancellation policy for normal bookings. Cancellation are only accepted by email. We ask authorisation on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorisation. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings (6 or more people), we have a 14-day cancellation policy; cancellations, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec to 2nd Jan), Easter (22nd to 25th April), Queen's Day (29th and 30th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (9th to 12th September) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. When a booking is made by a person(s) from outside the Europe Union for three nights or more and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa, the whole booking will be charged to your card. We will need a CVC (security code at the back of your credit card); this to guarantee your booking that you will be staying with us. You will be contacted by the hostel for information; this booking cannot be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bicycle Hotel
48.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 423 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 47.8% 1010 reviews
Cocomama
44.23 USD

Hostel 95.1% 238 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
138.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
42.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
35.56 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 99 reviews
Kerkstraat Premium
67.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
34.54 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

129 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 177 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location! Trams run all in front of the hostel and get you wherever.

Disliked: No privacy at all. Rooms with 8 people of all Sex!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kwan Fu Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012

Liked: Wifi is fast

Disliked: A bit crowded and far away

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Keiju Iwai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 October 2012 Keiju would recommend this property

Liked: this is like a typical youth hostel, I reckon but I was pleased about its accesible to the city center although the moderate price what's more, the shower had pretty good water pressure!

Disliked: Keiju left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and useful

Disliked: Felt like there was some lack of cleaning maintenance

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ability to be able to make your own food

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly, its location and the helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: There were not too many common spaces

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brett Bosis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were pretty comfortable, and the internet worked great. There is a really nice park right next to the hostel, and the location is far enough away from the city center that it's quiet at night. However, it's not too far away to make walking a hassle.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very well cleaned, and if someone used the shower it would get the entire room wet because the toilet and shower were in the same area. This place is good for a brief weekend stay when you do not plan to spend much time in the hostel. If you plan on making your stay longer then I would recommend finding a nicer place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly. good location.

Disliked: Room wasn't clean when we arrived, bedding was dirty. The rest was ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Malorgio

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The ostel is very cheap and the staff was ever very friendly.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only a five minute bike ride (15 minute walk) to the Leidseplein and the receptionist was helpful regarding where to go and what was in the surrounding area.

Disliked: No air con, and in the summer it was really hot. Also I didn't like how the shower was in the bathroom, so everything was wet afterwards. Also I stayed in room #2 and it has door access to the outside patio. So in the morning the workers would come in randomly or open the door at 0700 to let the stpid cat out. The place was nothing more than average.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012

Liked: location is nice, alomg the sarphati park there is a nice area with cool and laid back cafes and bars. also, with a bike you can get anywhere in no time. tram stop is right outside and there is a bike rental right at the corner with cheap prices! breakfast is included and you get different sorts of toast, jam, peanut butter and chocolate spread as well as coffee and tea.

Disliked: they have major problems with their bookings, don't expect to end up in the room you booked and paid for... we booked a 4-bed-dorm and had to move in a smelly, crowded and dirty 10-bed dorm with the promise to be moved inot a private room the next night - which never happened. i know this is amsterdam and the houses here are what they are, so i did not expect a spacious bathroom, but they were tiny, dirty and flooded everytime you took a shower. and one of the girls told us at our arrival that the sheets never get changed, just the cover for the blanket. but i guess you get what you pay for - wouldnt recommend it though, sorry...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Amsterdam if you want easy access to the city, without being in the middle of the red light district. Just what I was looking for. There is a tram stop just down the street that will take you into Centraal. Or skip the tram and just rent a bike from the shop on the corner. Considering that it is Amsterdam, the price was quite reasonable. No smoking in the rooms, which I appreciated. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was a great way to to start the day. Yes, the stairs are steep, but that's the way they built them in Amsterdam. Good security with buzzer access and the rooms are keyed. Free wifi was excellent. And I liked the cat.

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MURAT SABRI BAYSAN

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2012 MURAT SABRI would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and honesty

Disliked: everything is good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sean Corkran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la proximidad al centro

Disliked: las habitaciones son muy pequeñas y las escaleras para subier a las habitaciones

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: The beds were decent.

Disliked: When I arrived, the payment was more than my confirmation email said it would be. We were also told upon arrival that we would have to move rooms, when we were told at booking that we were going to stay in the same room both nights. We had to check out the first morning at ten, then come back at 12 to put our bags (which they made us leave in the hallway) in our new room. The rooms are small but not terrible, but the bathrooms, although private in each room, were dirty and gross. The drains were all clogged with hair. The location is not bad, but it is a tram ride to many tourist locations. This hostel is not worth the money you pay for it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rebeca Rodrigues

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: The staff are very friendly, and the location is pretty good, breakfast included in the value!

Disliked: The bedroom smells bad, the bathroom is really dirty, the bath was clogged, so when we took showers the water went up to the ankles, and also I had to ask someone to clean the bathroom, otherwise they wouldn't clean! A lot of cats in the hostel, if we let the window open during the night they get inside and sleep in the beds, with the guests, it's terrible, it scare me several times, imagine wake up in the midle of the night with a black cat in your bed!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Riaz Hamid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Riaz would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast was good surprise!

Disliked: A little out the way (2 5min walking) of the city center.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Matilda Hoffmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were pretty comfy.

Disliked: The stairs to get up to your room are horrible, it's dirty, there is random cats in the rooms! Free breakfast included toast and thats it, very out of the city, staff don't communicate many problems with moving rooms! Overall not great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tessa Ang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed the stay, friendly staffs :)

Disliked: Tessa left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nenad Mancevic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012

Liked: Pretty much nothing!

Disliked: Everything! From the organization (they put us in 8beds room, even tho we booked a 6beds room; when we went back from the town there was a girl sleeping in one of our bed, so one of us had to go to a different room which had no private bathroom!) to cleanliness, unprofessionalism of the staff, price, common area and so on! Will never stay there anymore!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: the state of the room and especially the bathroom, which was not once cleaned (bin emptied etc)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sven Helistvee

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Sven would recommend this property

Liked: Close to centre and very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was only bread and coffee but if you look at the price then you know why..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Suk Kuan Ng

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012

Liked: Friendly and helpful staffs. with online computer. Fair WIFI signal. Common area which allow us to make friends easily with other guests.

Disliked: The breakfast is such a joke that I rather they never served at all. The hostel stinks. The reception area stinks and so do the rooms. I guess that is why guests are gather around at the common area because there feel better. I will recommend this hostel if you would like to stay just one night or two before heading to another destination. Otherwise, choose another one to feel more comfortable.