We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Hostel | Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands NL 1073

67.0% Overall Rating

151 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

Linda Braun thinks…

"The only single good thing you have here is truely the location. If you just need an overnight stay, i could recommend it to you, so you don't loose much time while visiting Amsterdam. Otherwise,…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September 2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bicycle Hotel
39.13 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Sphinx HoSTEL
35.78 USD

Hostel 47.1% 1022 reviews
Cocomama
42.49 USD

Hostel 91.8% 263 reviews
Hotel Max
67.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
42.49 USD

Hostel 80.0% 5 reviews
House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
41.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
55.34 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 112 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
27.94 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.0%

Overall Rating

151 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, and I got 'upgraded' when I arrived to a dorm with no one in it as I was a female on my own which I thought was nice of them. Right by a park which was lovely.

Disliked: Depending on where the bunk was located, it was difficult to climb up onto.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Timo Zilinski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 March 2013 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice & helpful staff, good value for money (13€/night), good location in a nice neighbourhood.

Disliked: Timo left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pramod Salunkhe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: EVERYTHING

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

burak sahin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2013 burak would recommend this property

Liked: It was good and almost cheap friendly staff we had enjoy time

Disliked: The hostel near the central 30minutes on foot

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jordan Penman-Gillam

Alone

Business / conference

15 February 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: They lost my clothes while cleaning, made me wait three nights and two full days in the same dirty clothes from the first night, only to kick me out because they didn't tell each other the situation. They claimed I was unclean and their for couldn't stay, even though the cleaner admitted to lousing my clothes, got the police involved in the end

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

samuel harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2013 samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Agus is a cool receptionist. He knows where everything is just ask him. Good location not too far from the city if you don't get lost

Disliked: So many stairs but I think they add character

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Luis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is great and helpful

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Biswas Nambiar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012

Liked: I stayed for a night. Moved in after a night at Bob's as he was pre booked. Good things :1. Located near the museums. 2. Clean lounge etc. 3. Cheap.

Disliked: 1. Did not get clean linen. 2. Far from the center. 3. Poor connectivity in terms of public transport. 4. Breakfast was bare minimum.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012

Liked: Central location, near to museums.

Disliked: Kitchen was limited, crockery, but only a microwave, which was really dirty looking. Breakfast was just toast and tea or coffee. The vibe was strange, not particularly sociable and a little uncomfortable for me as a solo traveller. This was probably because I wasn't there for the coffee shops either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate Patricia Pirie

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 December 2012 Kate Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff! Homely and cosy.

Disliked: Kate Patricia left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 December 2012

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast is bread with variety jam,butter n peanut with coffee n tea.

Disliked: The mixed dorm is worse.the space is vey limited, and those backpackers who has stayed in the mixed dorm were selfish as they occupied other bed to put their personal belongings..I would not recommend to stay in mixed dorm especially u are single girl.. The location is not in heart of city, hv to take tram to go Amsterdam central station..anyway, it is walking distance to rijkmuseum.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012

Liked: The pictures jn the wall at the kitchen.

Disliked: Curtain at the shower

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful, willing to providing tourist information

Disliked: location, far away from city center

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second time here it is a great place to relax for a couple days, you have a lovely park direct in front of the door and it only takes 12.3156 min ;) into city center. Plus free Wifi, breakfast and always hot water in the showers. Staff has been very friendly & helpful, I would stay here anytime again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Patty Murray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Patty would recommend this property

Liked: This place was suitable. Clean enough, although private bathrooms in the room might sound nice...you can hear everything through the bathroom wall. Breakfast included white toast...just toast. But there was jam, butter, fake Nutella and peanut butter! The showers were hot and the wifi worked great.

Disliked: A bit of a ways walk from everything central. About a 15 minute walk from Dam central plaza. Not a very interactive, socialable hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marco mannina

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2012 marco would recommend this property

Liked: was a quite nice place with a good atmosphere

Disliked: marco left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fynn Henderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Fynn would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay. One of the cheapest options available in Amsterdam, and in a really good neighborhood. Food, drinks and coffee shops are a lot cheaper than the center (which is about 15-20 minutes walk away). Staff were really nice, there was a private bathroom (which I didn't expect) and the balcony outside has nice views.

Disliked: There is no food/drinks/smoking in the rooms (which is understandable, but it IS Amsterdam), but that's not so bad, because it's alright in the kitchen/varanda.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

William Byrne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Dirty stairs, hand rails, shower curtain. No lockers, no atmospher, staff weren't very friendly or helpful. You get what you pay for.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really good hostel, with a great atmosphere and friendly staff who were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Monika Chelstowska

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: great localization! a very cheap bike renting just behind the corner! friendly stuff, Lidl and Albert bazaar :) coffee shops much cheaper than in centre ;) a great place to stay if you don't have a big expectations and you just need a place to sleep and rest a bit.

Disliked: someone was living constantly in the sharing room and was angry at us to come back at night (its a hostel - HELLOOO)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cute little hostel not too far from most places i wanted to go in Amsterdam. It was very affordable but also very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

hui shi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 hui would recommend this property

Liked: tram station was just outside. The breakfast coffee was good. People were nice and helpful.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room very clean,good reception,very good hostel

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location (infront the park, and the best market-street is very close!!), and the staffs were awesome!!! they are helpful, friendly, and just great!!

Disliked: kitchen, no oven and stove. the common area is very small for the number of people.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location! Trams run all in front of the hostel and get you wherever.

Disliked: No privacy at all. Rooms with 8 people of all Sex!