HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Amsterdam

Hostel

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 53%

Location 71%

Safety 62%

Staff 74%

Value 67%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 53%

Location 71%

Safety 62%

Staff 74%

Value 67%

Showing 21-30 of 59 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds are clean, there is a park at the opposite of the street. Tramstation in front of the hotel. We were able to add another night without reservation

Disliked: There is no shower curtain so the hole bathroom is wet after taking a shower. And the breakfast ist just toast with marmalade and peanutbutter (+ tea and coffee).

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cats

Disliked: Check in not till 2:30 although 1 advertised

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Economical prices, and very near to the main places to visit in Amsterdam

Disliked: By the time we reached for breakfast, other hostelers had finished the breakfast stock

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap. Staff were pretty good. Park across the road. Generally clean

Disliked: There were a couple of cats that live at the hostel but they go into the rooms and got on my bed which I didn't like because cat hair irritates my eyes and I don't think it's very hygienic. The dorm room was very small but that's understandable given the price. Also not very close to the centre but again probably because it's cheap

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed how clean the place was. Definitely well kept up.

Disliked: The stairs were really steep even though it seems just to be common to Amsterdam. I did see a lot of people falling down stairs. Also breakfast was promised , but all that was there was bread. Is that common?

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Our reservtion as cancelled even after I have confirmed (when the staff called me) I was going to stay there for sure. Took us 2 hours to arrive at the hostel cause the directions given by eamil were wrong. As the reservation was cancelled, by the time we got there two of us had to sleep on the floor and the hostel manager even yelled at me that I was an irresposible person because according to him I should have arrived earlier. When I tried to explain to him that the directions I got from his email were wrong he yelled even more. Very rude man. The mattresses were not comfortable. We stayed there for 3 nights and each day and night there was a differente person at the reception causing disorganisation since they had no experience for the job and could not fully help with any problems. The cleannig was not done everyday, neither the changes of linnen. The shower didn't release much water so we couldn't take a proper bath. Summing up, horrible experience, rude and incompetent, specially the manager, uncomfortable beds and poor quality breakfast. Does not worth the money.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Kind and helpfull staf. Hostel is located in a very beautiful part of the city.

Disliked: Don't expect too much!

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've liked the location but hat was it.

Disliked: The room was filthy. There was dirty laundry in our closet when we got in there with no one else in the room. The shower curtain was mouldy and gross to touch. The stairs and hallways looked as if it wasn't ever cleaned. We paid an insane amount and we realized after we got there it was because it was kings day weekend. Worst hostel I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at many.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is located near lots of trams and buses, easy to get to city center or train station quickly.

Disliked: Where to start... First of all, they only accept payment for rooms in CASH. Yes, this is explicitly stated on the website so it was not a surprise for us, but many travelers are uncomfortable carrying around that much cash. This is extremely inconvenient. When we arrived, we couldn't tell which beds were ours because they are not assigned, and there were no clean linens in sight - just a pile of comforters and pillows in questionable hygienic condition. We had to ask the front desk for a fresh set of sheets then prayed we wouldn't contract bed bugs...The rooms were very expensive because it was a peak visitor period in Amsterdam. Ok - that's fine, supply and demand, we get it. But this hostel really tried to squeeze every last penny out of us with borderline inhumane cost savings methods. Only one toilet and shower for 10 people, an extremely stuffy room that reeked of BO (and a sign on the windows stating they were not to be opened under any circumstances - yea we ignored this because of my friend's asthma.) severe lack of power outlets in the rooms means you might have to climb into a stranger's bunk when they leave in order to charge your phone. No lockers or secure storage in the rooms, but at this point what did you really expect?Breakfast is served in a tiny room in the basement barely big enough to hold a dozen people standing up. Stale bread, some coffee or tea if you get there early enough, and good luck finding clean glasses and plates to use. Do not stay here under any circumstance if you can avoid it at all! I would rather have paid an extra $30 for a half decent hotel room instead.Because of the lack of common space, this is not a social hostel. They do not organize any bar crawls or walking tours, so if you're looking for the social backpacking experience, go elsewhere.This hostel is severely understaffed. The reception guy has a seriously flippant attitude toward the guests. I've stayed in many hostels before and this is hands down the worst experience I have ever had - it was a total ripoff ($70US/night!!!) and there were no redeeming qualities, except maybe the friendly cat, if you like cats...

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't much clean

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability