HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

83.1% Overall Rating

1295 out of 1381 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Amy Borg thinks…

"It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables,…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Group, Stag Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. Hostel Van Gogh does pre-authorization 2 days before arrival. Please make sure the credit card you provided are valid and has sufficient funds, we reserve right to decline the booking if the authorization fails A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - Check In from 2pm - Check Out by 11 am - 5.5% City tax is not included - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accomodate all.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.65 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.47 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2234 reviews
Trianon
34.55 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
31.79 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4217 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.04 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
51.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
57.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
26.81 USD

Hostel 74.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

1295 out of 1381 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
71.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 829 of 1333 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Suarez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and hospitality

Disliked: Needs better bicycle renting services

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Borg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables, a shower in your room and the making of your bed make it a much more enjoyable stay away from the comforts of home. Tucked away in a fantastic location, I would highly recommend a stay here.

Disliked: The only few (minor) things that one could even complain about was that the key to my room never worked. I had to get it fixed a few times (easily done so though) and that staff moved luggage from the overflowing luggage room and moved some to behind the reception desk. Obviously my luggage was in good hands, however this was done without my knowledge which want at first I began to freak out, thinking my things were stolen!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Gilpin

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms where very nice and the hotel is in a great part of the city

Disliked: The shower room flooded and all we got was a bunch of towels to clean it up. Also one member of staff kept complaining about our dorms noise despite us not making any noise at any point!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

georgia ingram

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 georgia would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, location

Disliked: staff were a bit unhelpful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carlie Tanner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Carlie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and tidy, the rooms were well designed with safes for each person and a personal charging point and reading light. Also, the bathrooms were very modern with free shower gel/shampoo and clean towels as well as warm showers all day.

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere to the hostel - it felt more like a hotel at times. The "communal area" was more of a breakfast room in a hotel, mostly out of use after the morning. Also, the manager (I think, he was wearing a suit and seemed in charge) was quite rude - but it was to everyone so don't feel singled out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikoleta Vajagic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2014 Nikoleta would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great - very central, close to everything. The rooms are also fantastic. Probably the best hostel rooms I have ever seen.

Disliked: The only negative is the staff - or better yet one particular person who worked there. We were a group of 5. Firstly, we were questioned if this hostel is even ideal for us as it is according to front desk person "a hostel for people younger than 40". Talk about discrimination an insult at the same time, considering none in our group is over 40 years old. Secondly, based on this person's assumption that we will most likely not be interested in socialising with the 6th person (in case our 1 free bed had to be given to someone), we were forced into paying for the 6th bed. The front desk staff man told us he had the right to refuse our booking if we were not ready to pay for that extra bed. Personally, I think he just wanted to make more money and 'fill up' that bed. Needless to say, completely unacceptable behaviour from this certain individual.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Very clean and in a great location. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Wannop

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 March 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , safe and easy to find.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing and a right bargain!!! (5 euros)

Disliked: The reception staff are sooooooooooo rude, unhelpful and unfriendly!! Terrifying to ask them anything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the vondelpark, pc hoofdstraat, musueumplein(rijksmuseum), leidse plein. Very helpfull staff and our room was perfectly clean. This was my second stay so i would recommend it to other travellers.

Disliked: Across the street there is a school for little kids. If you stay during the week and sleep on the schoolside, there might be noice in the early morning (playing kids).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Cillian Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014

Liked: Nothing a cold unfriendly place an unpleasant experience People aka staff make a hostel and the people here are very bad at their job.the worst I've encountered in the world

Disliked: All of The staffs( we encountered about 6 different receptionists) coldness unfriendliness unhelpful ness bad attitude slowness rudeness and general lack of people skills or hospitality which is to be expected in a hostel especially at such a high price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had superb bathroom facilities.

Disliked: At €33 (in advance!) it was probably a bit pricey, but it's difficult getting a bed for only the Satdy nite in Dam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean! Wifi in the rooms which is great. Pretty quiet atmosphere, but nice.

Disliked: I just wish there was a kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, fairly good price if you manage to fill a 8-person room

Disliked: Only one bathroom facility in the 8-person rooms and no shared bathroom in the floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms , dorms where clean

Disliked: Double rooms had single beds pushed together instead of one big double bed. Nuisance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room and bathroom was clean with solid undamaged furniture. There was a free safe for each person within the room to leave valuables. Room were warm and we did not notice much noise from other rooms. The location is great both to get to from the airport and to get around Amsterdam. Staff were friendly and we had no issues. Each person in our large group said they would definatly stay here again next time they visit.

Disliked: Staircase was extremly steep, if the lift was out of action it could cause problems for the less mobile. It is not a downside to the hostel as there is a life but just something to bear in mind should it be out of action.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victor Butenko

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Service Safes Location Breakfasts

Disliked: One bathroom for 8 people is not enough at all. The main disadvantage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the Breakfast is amazing

Disliked: the room was quite small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness of rooms and spacious bathroom and very easy to arrive by tram.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. nice hostel. likea hotel.

Disliked: terrible bloke at reception. lift broken whole time. on fourth floor. could touch stairs in front with hands thats how steep they were.....no lift made it a sweat job with luggage. no desire to help from staff. need physio from stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a normal hostel - it is more like a hotel. We had a very clean room with a big bathroom.

Disliked: The staff were unhelpful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at a Deluxe 6-person room and found the Hostel a very comfortable, clean and well structured place. The breakfast is not included in the stay - however for 5 Euros they offer a very good buffet. The location is not quite close to all Amsterdam attractions (it is very close to the canal, Vondelpark and museums, but a bit far from Red Light District, RembrandtPlein and other turistic places), but very accessible by tram or boat. Neighbourhood seems to be quiet. A nice place to stay if you like quality and good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-Fi available through the site. The hostel was really clean. Staff was friendly, managed to arrange the same room for my friend and I even though we booked it separately and room was full.

Disliked: Minimal walk space in room. I stayed in a 8- bed room and there was 2 beds positioned side by side. It will be awkward if you don't know the people sleeping beside. It is located a bit far from city centre with about 20 minutes walk. But it was not a big issue as buses and tram is available. The walk is enjoyable as well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Triin Miil

Alone

City break

01 January 2014 Triin would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good breakfast,good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Triin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xi Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Xi would recommend this property

Liked: The interior is very hotel-like. The best part is that every bunk has its own power plug and bed lights, so it is highly personal. Every bed corresponds to a towel and blankets are folded by staff everyday. Each room has its own bathroom with shower, which comes with shampoo and cream soap for hands. The location is very close to the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and Stedelijkmuseum. So it gives a great advantange to museum goers, especially concerning the lines for entrance is always very long.

Disliked: Nothing.