HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 93%

Safety 89%

Staff 79%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.00EUR

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 93%

Safety 89%

Staff 79%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 239 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
41+

Liked: location, breakfast.

Disliked: It would be better that our eight-bed room, was larger..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Superb private room for 4 people. Excellent bathroom and shower.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good location for canal tours, Heineken tour and right in the heart of the museum district.

Disliked: Slightly small room however it was perfectly functional and cannot complain with the price we paid.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and given a new towel everyday.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Very clean and comfortable environment. Really happy with the condition of the room that I got, especially the bathroom. Looks brand new and very clean :)

Disliked: No kitchen to make own breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: close to van gogh museum...staff is tho

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: location, clean

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The rooms were very clean and quite new. Lights and plugs for every bed.

Disliked: The TV didn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The rooms are very nice

Disliked: Very poor customer service. Tha staff in the counter is not friendly at all...

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: I though the location was great - easy to find and in a quiet part of the city. The breakfast was very good value for money. I enjoyed staying in the female room - was lucky to have respectful room mates.

Disliked: A few comments are about the slightly unfriendly receptionist - which I would agree with. Yet the other members of staff totally make up for his downfalls. I felt that he spoke fast, was hard to understand and his manner wasn't terribly welcoming, yet the other receptionists - particularly the female were very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability