We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

79.1% Overall Rating

1456 out of 1553 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2015)

"Very nice stay. Helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Very happy with our stay."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
42.69 USD

Hostel 86.5% 790 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.34 USD

Hostel 84.3% 2325 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
47.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
27.44 USD

Hostel 63.8% 336 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.56 USD

Hostel 68.2% 4315 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
27.43 USD

Hostel 65.0% 542 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hotel Blyss
54.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

1456 out of 1553 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 925 of 1503 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michael Girgis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2015

Liked: Close to museums

Disliked: Staff help

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stay. Helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Very happy with our stay.

Disliked: Bathroom in room had no window or vent so got very steamed up after even a quick shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet, and perfectly situated (at least for me) near the major museums. They also had lovely, up-to-date facilities including a hair dryer in the bathroom and safety deposit boxes. The buffet breakfast was generous as well-- I only bought one day's worth at first, and then I went back to buy it for the rest of the week. The staff were also incredibly friendly and dedicated. When our shower was clogged (a hazard of living in a women's dorm-room), the woman at the front desk rushed upstairs to try to handle it herself, or at least alleviate the situation, until the cleaners were in. It was my favorite hostel that I stayed in during my trip, even though it was one of the most affordable.

Disliked: The bathroom cleaner smelled a bit funny, but that's really the only thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious, and easy to get to in a cool neighbourhood>

Disliked: very expensive for a bed in a 6-person dorm!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Amori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2015 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Quite possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is fantastic. It is located in the Museumplein, right across from the Van Gogh Museum. It is close enough to the city center to walk, yet far enough away that it is quiet at night. There is an Albert Heijn grocery store maybe a 5 minute walk from the hostel. The rooms/bathroom are cleaned daily. The staff were always helpful with any questions I had. Check-in was incredibly easy. For all these positives, my favorite thing about this hostel were my roommates. I was here for a week, and every roommate I had was fun and outgoing like myself which made for a nice weeklong stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian O'Driscoll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location near to the museums and the nightlife. Really good for meeting people.

Disliked: The beds were very very close together. Didn't really have a hostel feel with no real social area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zeynep Orfa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Zeynep would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and cool staff everywhere thanks

Disliked: Zeynep left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2015

Liked: Location was amazing.

Disliked: The feel of the place was not at all like a hostel - no rec room, no common area to enable guests to socialize and enjoy being in a hub of activity. The bathrooms in the rooms were right off of the sleepin area which was sometimes uncomfortable - our shower head was broken and had to be held up by hand. It also leaked onto the floor. Breakfast was alright but quite steep for a hostel.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better than expected as the hotel has been well,maintained.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, superb accomodation, great facilities. Absolutely perfect.

Disliked: The lift didn't work one time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really nice, I like it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015

Liked: It is walking distance to the Van Gogh museum.

Disliked: The man running the place was very rude and impatient towards everyone, including his staff.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff is friendly and welcoming and the room was clean. We were staying at the ground floor so we did not have to use the elevator , though in front of our door was most of the time people waiting for the elevator. The breakfast costs 5 euro if you book it before 11 pm and was pretty much ok. Tram station right next to the hotel , bus station close too.

Disliked: There was a guy in the staff that was having an arrogant look. He did not talk to any of us, though we heard him shouting at a collegue of him because there were too many people taking breakfast in the same time - like his collegue was having any fault for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john cronk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 john would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, well run

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good recommendations for the area

Disliked: Late wake up call

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin White

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

29 April 2015 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and secure location, excellent value for money and very clean.

Disliked: Not a great deal in terms of supermarket that we could find

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Molly Pearce

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 April 2015 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, big bathroom, good location

Disliked: One particular member of staff was very rude and abrupt, not welcoming at all, general lack of good attitude and customer service. (He was a prick)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location & cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: by far the best hostel i stayed at. upon arriving we were unsure of what our room would look like, but the rooms were very nice and newly renovated. It was more of a hotel than a hostel to be honest. they offered a decent breakfast, and the location was close to a lot of sites

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

QIAN CHEN CHEONG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 QIAN CHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful customer service (receptionist). For the room, it is clean and there is cleaning service everyday.

Disliked: However, the facilities and beddings may be old and not clean looking. The lift capacity is small and need to wait quite a long time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom Garrity

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2015 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms in a great location with extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: Someone managed to open my door at around 8am who wasn't in my room (I booked all 4 beds in the dorm)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian Foley

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2015 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Bed very comfortable. Room, bedclothes and bathroom very clean. Great powerful shower. Socket next to each bed.

Disliked: One bathroom per dorm is awkward. If someone is showering for example, no one can use the toilet. Separate bathrooms / showers would probably be more effective. Otherwise all was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlie Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 March 2015 Ashlie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great and rooms were clean

Disliked: A little far away but the trams were good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sergio Adami

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 March 2015 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms, breakfast and position

Disliked: The dirty and stinky hallways

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beste Karapirinler

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 February 2015 Beste would recommend this property

Liked: Cattle and the coffe in the room. Toilets were great.

Disliked: Elevator only