We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

85.3% Overall Rating

1472 out of 1571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Tamryn-Lee Carr thinks…

"Location, beds are super comfy, bathrooms are nice (like really good shower pressure is important), so clean, really safe, all taxi drivers know about it and how to get there, amazon health store…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
39.96 USD

Hostel 87.5% 792 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.72 USD

Hostel 86.1% 2333 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
988.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
22.26 USD

Hostel 64.8% 338 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.81 USD

Hostel 69.7% 4330 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
23.37 USD

Hostel 64.8% 545 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
27.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 38 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

1472 out of 1571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 935 of 1521 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamryn-Lee Carr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2015 Tamryn-Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Location, beds are super comfy, bathrooms are nice (like really good shower pressure is important), so clean, really safe, all taxi drivers know about it and how to get there, amazon health store just next door, great breakfast, good wifi....

Disliked: The staff weren't overly excited about people and kind of made you feel like it was an effort to help you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt more like a hotel then a hostel. The location was very good, less then 5min walk to both Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.

Disliked: The walls are a bit thin, it gets a bit noisy if there are a lot of people inside the rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are very good (modern bathroom, safe, air condition, TV, daily housekeeping ...). It's very easy to reach any major attraction in Amsterdam from the hostel - either by walking or going by tram. In addition, the hostel is located in a very quiet side street so that getting sleep is easily possible.

Disliked: Overall, the staff at the reception was friendly, except for the manager who didn't let me feel being welcome in his house. In the rooms, there could be a few more facilities to hang / dry wet towels.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, close to the tram, some attractions, also possible to reach the centre. Clean and comfortable bads

Disliked: Staff could be more helpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room. The beds were comfortable, and linen was clean. There were facilities fair tea and coffee and breakfast was available if you wanted it (at additional cost). Very modern decor in the rooms and throughout the hostel. A secure luggage room was available which was perfect as we arrived early and left late which was perfect for is to use. The location is lovely. Not many restaurants but the livelier parts of town are within close range. The big museums were a stones throw away. I would recommend this lovely property.

Disliked: The air conditioning in the room wasn't fantastic, the room could get really hot and the air con didn't seem powerful enough to cool down the whole room. I think air conditioning can be like that however so wouldn't place the blame on the hostel. We were given very small towels (almost tea towel size) one morning. Only that a friend caught the cleaner on the way out one day we got some larger ones. The major problem we all had was with one member of staff (not a reflection on the rest who were lovely and did everything they could to accommodate us). He acted like he didn't want to be there. Ignored us at the desk and was rude when spoken to. On one occasion we rang as we needed to locate our friend who was arriving late, he was rude on both phone calls and denied that she was there and it turned out she was standing right there waiting for us. He was dismissive and uphelpful. Aside from that we saw four or five other staff members who were lovely and treated us very well.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Manager was rude and unhelpful ba

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kanha Agarwal

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Kanha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cozy atmosphere

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very high standard for a hostel while remaining very affordable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aslinda Gale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Aslinda would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in this hostel twice now and enjoyed it both times. Very clean and comfortable facilities. This hostel is more like a converted hotel so if you're looking for a 'hostel' vibe, this may not be the place. Located in Museum Quarter- very close to museums, trams, shopping, IamAmsterdam, cafes. Easy walking distance to Vondel Park + Bike or Tram distance to Dam Square, red light district, and Central Station. Lots of cooked and continental options for breakfast- good value for 5euro.

Disliked: Aslinda left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant, near the tram and bus stops and near the centre but still quite at night. The beds were really comfy and the room was very clean.

Disliked: Nothing, no complaints at all

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michael Girgis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2015

Liked: Close to museums

Disliked: Staff help

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stay. Helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Very happy with our stay.

Disliked: Bathroom in room had no window or vent so got very steamed up after even a quick shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet, and perfectly situated (at least for me) near the major museums. They also had lovely, up-to-date facilities including a hair dryer in the bathroom and safety deposit boxes. The buffet breakfast was generous as well-- I only bought one day's worth at first, and then I went back to buy it for the rest of the week. The staff were also incredibly friendly and dedicated. When our shower was clogged (a hazard of living in a women's dorm-room), the woman at the front desk rushed upstairs to try to handle it herself, or at least alleviate the situation, until the cleaners were in. It was my favorite hostel that I stayed in during my trip, even though it was one of the most affordable.

Disliked: The bathroom cleaner smelled a bit funny, but that's really the only thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious, and easy to get to in a cool neighbourhood>

Disliked: very expensive for a bed in a 6-person dorm!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Amori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2015 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Quite possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is fantastic. It is located in the Museumplein, right across from the Van Gogh Museum. It is close enough to the city center to walk, yet far enough away that it is quiet at night. There is an Albert Heijn grocery store maybe a 5 minute walk from the hostel. The rooms/bathroom are cleaned daily. The staff were always helpful with any questions I had. Check-in was incredibly easy. For all these positives, my favorite thing about this hostel were my roommates. I was here for a week, and every roommate I had was fun and outgoing like myself which made for a nice weeklong stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian O'Driscoll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location near to the museums and the nightlife. Really good for meeting people.

Disliked: The beds were very very close together. Didn't really have a hostel feel with no real social area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zeynep Orfa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Zeynep would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and cool staff everywhere thanks

Disliked: Zeynep left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2015

Liked: Location was amazing.

Disliked: The feel of the place was not at all like a hostel - no rec room, no common area to enable guests to socialize and enjoy being in a hub of activity. The bathrooms in the rooms were right off of the sleepin area which was sometimes uncomfortable - our shower head was broken and had to be held up by hand. It also leaked onto the floor. Breakfast was alright but quite steep for a hostel.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better than expected as the hotel has been well,maintained.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, superb accomodation, great facilities. Absolutely perfect.

Disliked: The lift didn't work one time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really nice, I like it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015

Liked: It is walking distance to the Van Gogh museum.

Disliked: The man running the place was very rude and impatient towards everyone, including his staff.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff is friendly and welcoming and the room was clean. We were staying at the ground floor so we did not have to use the elevator , though in front of our door was most of the time people waiting for the elevator. The breakfast costs 5 euro if you book it before 11 pm and was pretty much ok. Tram station right next to the hotel , bus station close too.

Disliked: There was a guy in the staff that was having an arrogant look. He did not talk to any of us, though we heard him shouting at a collegue of him because there were too many people taking breakfast in the same time - like his collegue was having any fault for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john cronk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 john would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, well run

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good recommendations for the area

Disliked: Late wake up call