We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

84.6% Overall Rating

1390 out of 1482 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

Carly Bearder thinks…

"I, a solo travelling fremale from Australia, only stayed at Hostel Van Gogh for 2 night and was had a great stay. The hostel was clean and the staff were helpful (the desk was mannwed 24/24 which…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
12.02 USD

Hostel 61.5% 532 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

1390 out of 1482 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 884 of 1432 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alma mayo richart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 March 2013 alma would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean and the hotel furnitures are all new

Disliked: Everything was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria La Croix

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I loved there! the location is awsome, just next to a train stop, to the I amsterdam and the Heineken Experience. If you go by foot you get to the city center in 10 minutes, and by train in 3 to 5 minutes! the acomodation is also great! if I go back to amsterdam I will be staying there for sure!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Hopkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, great room, modern and sophisticated. Great location, walking distance to restaurants, supermarket, shops and a short tram journey to central Amsterdam. Great for families, groups and couples. Would stay again.

Disliked: No kettle in room, TV wasn't working and when we asked staff nothing was done about it. Check in and out times are very strict.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Phillips

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Very close to Leidseplein and an easy walk. Easy to get to from the airport and central station as well. Rooms and bathroom are very nice compared to any I've ever stayed in. Even nicer than some hotels. Breakfast was also good and a good value at 5 euros.

Disliked: Size of the rooms and number of beds. I was in an 8 person room, which for me is just too many people. 8 people to one bathroom can get crowded as well, but I didn't have a problem as everyone was in and out at very different hours.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zoe Yeung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: too easy to get in the building

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gianluca gianna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: nice toilets shared only for your room

Disliked: no kitchen!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shell Tran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Shell would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, clean and accomodating.

Disliked: Shell left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anubh Gupta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Anubh would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to museums and the tram station

Disliked: Breakfast is not included in the tariff.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Lees

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness was paramount within the hotel, very clean and tidy. Decorated very nicely and air conditioned and thermostat in the room. The shower was amazing, bathroom was the highlight of the room. The pillows were average, a bit lumpy but the room in general was comfortable.

Disliked: Only negative criticism was when we checked out. The receptionist did not even say goodbye, nor did she even bother to make eye contact with us when we said goodbye to her. All she did was outstretch her hand for the keys. Gave off the impression that she was only concerned with the people who were currently there checking in, and paid no attention to us whatsoever. The service fell at the very last hurdle and that was a great shame.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed on a sunday and monday and had our 8 person mixed room almost completely to ourselves!

Disliked: Breakfast did not have great vegan options. Soya milk please?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a room with two beds and a private bathroom, so it dint really felt like a hostel. In general the hostel was really good. The bedroom was perfect and the bathroom too. There was breakfast for five euros, and I found it really nice. The location was perfect, near the museums, next to the tram, and in a walking distance of nice restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Boechat Machado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near the Museumplein. Breakfast was a good value for money, but there is a supermarket nearby in case you prefer it. Helpful staff. I felt very safe walking in the area at any time of day. There was a safe inside the room. Good bed, good blankets, good en suite bathroom (with blow drier, very useful in winter) and awesome shower. Really awesome.

Disliked: No lockers in the room, but there was a safe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very good - I have stayed in worse rooms in full price hotels. Staff very helpful, and the breakfast was good value.

Disliked: Only downside was the lack of a bar, not a huge thing though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms and the breakfast. Good value for 5 euro, didnt think so at first but they had a lot of meat and other options.

Disliked: The staff could have been a little friendlier and more helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Tapia Gutierrez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Is a great please is like a hotel and the staff is really friendly, the rooms are very clean and big

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrina Goldie

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2013 Andrina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location as it's located in the museum quarter and fashion district. Easy walking distance to places of interest such as the Heineken Experience and regular tram service to Dam Square (although you could walk). The place was immaculate and the staff were helpful. There's a really friendly cat too!

Disliked: A bit quiet but probably because it was off peak season. Everything else was great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The actual rooms were nice considering it was supposed to be a hostel and the room had it's own bathroom and if you're not planning on being in the room much than it's fine.

Disliked: Unless your whole party is there you can't get in your room and they told us our whole stay (2 nights) would be around 27 euros and then when we got there told us that was the first night and the next night would be 30 euros. Also the staff are not friendly.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: no cheap parking nearby

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with excellent hygiene standards. Free shower gel and shampoo, fresh towels daily. Comfortable mattresses. The 5 EUR all you can eat breakfast was great value for money. Fresh fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, croissants etc. TV in room Lockers for each bed in room. Great for a pit stop when with a group of friends. Very cosy. Good heating (went in winter)

Disliked: Staff not very accommodating/helpful. Feels more like a hotel than a hostel. If you are traveling solo or as a couple looking to chat with others then steer clear. It's not got a true, communal hostel vibe. eg. no social or cooking area. Just a 'canteen' breakfast room. Stairs are really steep. Although there is a lift.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were lovely and clean with a modern bathroom.

Disliked: I found the property to be very pleasant it suited my needs so there is nothing I particularly disliked. A bonus would have been breakfast included.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern. Very clean. Wifi was great even in the room. There was even the added luxury of a soap dispenser in the shower & at the sink.

Disliked: Difficult to find if you arrive from the airport at night in the dark, but then that would apply to almost anywhere in Amsterdam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very modern

Disliked: no 'lounge'

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Simon Grangereau

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: clean, modern

Disliked: ?