HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

85.8% Overall Rating

1343 out of 1432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"This hostel really seems more like a converted hotel (it even says "Hotel Van Gogh" on the outside) but it is totally worth it. Very clean, easy to reach and in a good location near Museumplein. Hostel area was very…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
49.68 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
37.03 USD

Hostel 91.5% 2263 reviews
Trianon
32.31 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.31 USD

Hostel 61.4% 4250 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
26.92 USD

Hostel 70.5% 523 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
45.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 29 reviews
Hotel Blyss
42.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
38.24 USD

Hostel 69.3% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

1343 out of 1432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 857 of 1387 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abimael Chibério

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Abimael would recommend this property

Liked: Atendimento bom. Hostel muito limpo e organizado. Staff gentil e atencioso.

Disliked: Nao existe lockers para guardar as malas, apenas um cofre para guardas pequenas coisas de maior valor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Figueiredo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very good. It's close to everything, tram station, dam square, bus station, supermarket. The rooms are clean and big. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is really good. You need to pay but it's not expensive. Big deal!

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Celeste Mandril

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Maria Celeste would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a six-bed room. I was clean with private bathroom and hair dryer, which is very important when travelling in winter, specially for girls. There was a big common room, where you could heat up and eat your own food, and drink your own drinks as a way to save money in eating out. There is a very good system of security as regards the opening of the doors, even to open the main door which leads to the guestrooms. The beds were confortable, with individual light and socket. And we had individual safes in the room to keep the valuable stuff. The staff were available most of the time, and were helpful and polite. Great value for money.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far from the city center if you decide to walk. However, this was not a problem because it is in the museum district and there is a lot to see. And this is an area well connected to the rest of the city by tram. There was a snorer in my room, so I could not get proper sleep during my stay but I guess this is a matter of luck. Some gests would come back to the hotel totally high or drunk, which is not very nice to see when you wake up in the morning. Anyway, they have very strict rules about the use of any hard drug in the facilities. In the end, this is Amsterdam and it is normal thing to deal with.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well equipped room

Disliked: A bit too far from the very city centre (Dam etc.)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

angie panton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: more expensive than advised, especially as receptionist didn't initially take off deposit paid and tried to charge same amount of Euros as pounds.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DANIELA SILVA

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 DANIELA would recommend this property

Liked: It is very cozy and clean, the localization is great, and the conditions is very good.

Disliked: The breakfast isn't free!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is not far from the center of town can get there by a a few minutes in a tramp or walk. furthermore, the area with the clubs are only 5 -10 minutes walk, which is really nice. The breakfast is really good (and I have stayed in more than a few hostels), so its worth waking up in the morning :)

Disliked: For peoples (mostly bagpackers) who are interested only in the red light district, there are more closer hostels with cheaper prices.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good breakfast, decent Internet, great location

Disliked: Children at recess were cute but loud and can be disruptive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well run

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ANA CONESA PARELLADA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 ANA would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The area is beautiful (quite wealthy as well) and conveniently located to access the main museums and Vondelpark. The city center is also within easy reach by foot.

Disliked: Nothing. Very good option overall.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, free wifi, relatively large bathroom, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick van Wensveen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: It was modern and styled very much like a hotel. Our room had it's own private bathroom which was amazing! It is such a nice change after the usual dirty looking hostel bathroom. The location is really good, walking distance to many cool shopping areas and the big attractions.

Disliked: The lift was frequently not working and those stairs take their toll depending on what floor you are staying on.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is comfy and well run, cleaned every day.

Disliked: The location is quite okay, but sadly the staff were not friendly. It was a very competent but impersonal experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, location great, nice price.

Disliked: no comum areas

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Quinzaños

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was supreme, as were the installations. The bathroom and bedroom were impeccable, furnished with good taste and a good size. It was more than we had hoped for and it made for a lovely stay.

Disliked: The front desk people weren't always as helpful as they could have been- and often too busy to help with enquiries of how to get around and so on. However, they were very efficient.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Purchasable breakfast was quite fantastic. The room we stayed in was clean and had functioning lockers as well as decent beds.

Disliked: The walls are quite thin in some rooms, causing awkward moments after using the shared room toilet. A Certain staff member was quite rude and unhelpful to all customers. (this we viewed for a while)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Habovstiakova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean, close to centre.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Macindoe

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect ,the staff were extremely helpful and courteous ,the room was very comfortable and cosy and it was very cheap. It was ideal - if I ever come to Amsterdam again I'll be staying here !!

Disliked: nothing !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely refurbish building. Location is pretty good with trams available around the corner. The breakfast was really good.

Disliked: Security wasn't too good with other hostel patrons mistakenly entering our room using their cards. It was obvious that reception had given them our room cards.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pritesh Parmar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 pritesh would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly staff, great manager, good advice, good breakfast, clean rooms, not bad location, next to the number 5 tram stop and close to all museums and plenty of shops and places to eat. noon coffee shop was just around the corner and it had the best prices in Amsterdam. i loved the hot power showers and the balcony was great. all rooms contained a safe which was handy and free. there was no hidden charges. I have visited Amsterdam 10 times and can honestly say this is the best place. and will be staying here every time if i can help it. i hope too many people don't find out about it.

Disliked: Because the trams stop at around midnight. if your out later you need to get a cab back if in dam central, because it would take about 20 mins to walk

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean, very quiet and the bathrooms were nice.

Disliked: It may have just been our room but the hostel lacked atmosphere. It was more like a hotel, without any real 'travel-y' vibe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good walue for the money, clean and spacious room and bathroom. More than I expected from a budget hotel. Free and fast wi-fi. OK location.

Disliked: A free breakfast wouldn't have hurt. And probably if I'd had a room with a view to the street the screaming kids from the elementary school just across the street would've been a nuisance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was highly impressed with this hostel because it felt like a hotel. I was in a double, so I can't speak for everyone's experience, but I imagine that the other rooms were just as nice. The beds were extremely comfortable, the towels and linens were nice, and everything was very clean.

Disliked: The location was a bit farther than I thought... usually this isn't a problem, but in late November, the walk to and from the city centre felt much longer in the cold weather. However, I still recommend this hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were so clean. It was a great place to be with friends, relax after a day of sightseeing, and was close to major museums and public transit. Planning on coming back.

Disliked: Staff was not as friendly as I could have hoped. In fact, they led us to the wrong part of town when asked where a major transportation hub was. Not helpful.