HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

83.3% Overall Rating

1296 out of 1382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Amy Borg thinks…

"It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables,…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Group, Stag Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. Hostel Van Gogh does pre-authorization 2 days before arrival. Please make sure the credit card you provided are valid and has sufficient funds, we reserve right to decline the booking if the authorization fails A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - Check In from 2pm - Check Out by 11 am - 5.5% City tax is not included - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accomodate all.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.68 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.50 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2235 reviews
Trianon
29.05 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
31.82 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4217 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.05 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
51.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
57.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
26.84 USD

Hostel 72.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

1296 out of 1382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 829 of 1333 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the room smelt and looked great! It wasn't very close to Amsterdam Central (about 15min by tram) but the tram stop was very conveniently located outside the hotel. Staff were friendly and check out was a breeze!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Directions to the hostel could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent rooms and facilities, great location.nhs email

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Jenkins

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 November 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Slightly away from the city centre but only ten mins by tram.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a bedroom with a private bathroom. The bedroom is large. In the bathroom we have a hair dryer, towels. It is clean. You can leave your luggage in a luggage room for the last day. It is free. You can have a full breakfast for 5 €.

Disliked: When you arrive at the hotel or have a question, the staff keeps on chatting if they were talking together. You have to wait and listen to their conversation...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean , big rooms , security

Disliked: quite far from de city......brekfast not included...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie broughton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, we stayed in an all female dorm and the atmosphere was amazing! The location was great, the breakfast was great! I would definitely stay again and recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a very modern building which offers very sophisticated facilities to the travellers. It is quite close to everything

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Peter Björkroth

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 November 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the possibility to choose if you want a breakfast or not

Disliked: Elevator was broken, the supply of coffe in the room (2 portions of coffee for 4 days...) towels (two last days only 1 towel (yes, I could have asked for towels,....)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the play on van Gogh (wall papers, etc), and especially that it was just around the corner from the van Gogh museum. I also liked that breakfast was available for purchase.

Disliked: Everything was great! No complaints

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Hostel front desk people are spiteful, mean, nasty, ill-natured to all the guests.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Glaisher

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: I was placed in a mixed dorm when I had paid for a female only one but this was resolved quickly and efficiently by the management.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Willis Fleming

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room which was a great size and had a lovely bathroom. We had all the facilities we required, staff were helpful and the location was ideal.

Disliked: Rachael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The van gogh hostel was a very nice place to stay, very clean and the rooms were very nice .

Disliked: I would say the only thing i didnt like was it was sometimes a bit warm due to the other people staying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room and great location.

Disliked: Some towels we received had make up/fake tan marks on them.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012

Liked: nice bathroom

Disliked: unfriendly staff and broken elevator and safety box

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Drake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff and hostel visitors, good secure locker facilities in the rooms, good breakfast provided in the mornings, and good free WiFi facilities.

Disliked: On the weekend nights, other hostel visitors were a bit noisy, but during the week it was quite, that's just a parrt of visiting Amsterdam I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location as quiet area. Yet close enough to walk to main areas and tram stop 2 mins away! Breakfast great @ €5 !

Disliked: The only negative was our room was Above the main door which was quite noisy especially late at night. Other than that it was perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was pretty neat though it was very plain.

Disliked: Door handle in the bathroom was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Christensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms and bathrooms were clean, the common room area had a cool vibe and the hostels location was close to all the action

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Gonzalez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, modern

Disliked: Sometimes the elevator was out of order and stairs were narrow

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Massey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Lobby and room was modern, bright and clean all round, with super comfy beds and a brill shower. No problem with staff, check in was easy and friendly. If you're visiting the Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk you really couldn't be any closer.

Disliked: Breakfast was nothing special, and at an extra cost of 5 euros I would have expected better. Some might see this as an example of helpful staff, but it was relatively easy to gain access to the luggage room - just ask for the key and it's yours. Maybe the staff remembered our faces, but it felt as though anybody could ask for the key and have access to all guests' bags.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Debora Centoamore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2012 Debora would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful decoration, good beds, big showers and bathroom, TV in the room, towels included.

Disliked: Debora left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the elivaitor!!!

Disliked: no smoking room!!!