HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 79%

Location 88%

Safety 89%

Staff 72%

Value 77%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 79%

Location 88%

Safety 89%

Staff 72%

Value 77%

Showing 71-80 of 855 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Bed very comfortable. Room, bedclothes and bathroom very clean. Great powerful shower. Socket next to each bed.

Disliked: One bathroom per dorm is awkward. If someone is showering for example, no one can use the toilet. Separate bathrooms / showers would probably be more effective. Otherwise all was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean rooms in a great location with extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: Someone managed to open my door at around 8am who wasn't in my room (I booked all 4 beds in the dorm)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff were great and rooms were clean

Disliked: A little far away but the trams were good

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Private rooms, breakfast and position

Disliked: The dirty and stinky hallways

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Cattle and the coffe in the room. Toilets were great.

Disliked: Elevator only

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a lot of kind people. Staff is friendly and breakfast was awosome.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close proximity to tram stop.

Disliked: Lift wasn't working and I had three months of luggage to get up the stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, quiet, and perfectly situated (at least for me) near the major museums. They also had lovely, up-to-date facilities including a hair dryer in the bathroom and safety deposit boxes. The buffet breakfast was generous as well-- I only bought one day's worth at first, and then I went back to buy it for the rest of the week.The staff were also incredibly friendly and dedicated. When our shower was clogged (a hazard of living in a women's dorm-room), the woman at the front desk rushed upstairs to try to handle it herself, or at least alleviate the situation, until the cleaners were in.It was my favorite hostel that I stayed in during my trip, even though it was one of the most affordable.

Disliked: The bathroom cleaner smelled a bit funny, but that's really the only thing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was perfect, the customer service was really fast and spot on.My friends congratulated for my hostel choice too

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Kind staff. Facilities are good as hotel. Breafast was good.

Disliked: Lift was very anxious.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability