We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

87.5% Overall Rating

1412 out of 1505 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

"Good location. It was nice to stay somewhere not in the party centre, but close enough to walk to it"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.0% 2299 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
28.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
13.28 USD

Hostel 64.0% 323 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
12.65 USD

Hostel 68.7% 4283 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
12.02 USD

Hostel 62.3% 534 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

1412 out of 1505 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 890 of 1450 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean, easy to find, towels and linens were included. Also enjoyed the lockers.

Disliked: The staff was a little rude/weren't too helpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hotel

Disliked: Man at reception really unfriendly, no smile, no civility, no effort to speak english and no explication about the price!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value. Cleanliness.

Disliked: Was a bit loud at night with some people up partying in their rooms until late into the morning. Walls too thin.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the museums and public transportation

Disliked: it's easy to get ignored by staff when standing at the front desk

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, silent, secure and open all night. Not far away from everything in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ami korda

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 May 2013 ami would recommend this property

Liked: clean, next to tram

Disliked: ami left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurentino Goncalves Dias Junior

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Laurentino would recommend this property

Liked: Localization was the best for those who want to visit the most famous museum: Van Gogh and Reijks.

Disliked: Laurentino left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Abbotts

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well presented. Had a normal hotel feel about it! Nice bathroom..

Disliked: Didn't utilise the hostel fully, as I spent 95% of my time out and about, but if I had to pick something, it was that lift was too slow, and that's all!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are very clean and tidy.

Disliked: rooms are a bit too small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo traveler, my single room (not easy to find at hotels) was perfect. It was clean, comfortable, well organized, and had everything I needed. The staff was all-business and definitely wasn't there to serve as a concierge, but when I needed something (like when the room next door was being too loud), they took care of it immediately. Also, breakfast is a bargain at 5 euros - there is a ton to choose from!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a kind of combination of hostel and hotel together so you more feel like your'e in a hotel. there is a very good wifi. breakfast is very good but does not included (5 more euros). located in a quiet area and quite close to everything you need.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom are clean. It is located conveniently for the museums. The area is safe and quiet. If you want good sleep this is a good place to be as it is more like a hotel with no communal room.

Disliked: No lockers, just a safe but should be large enough to fit 14 inch laptop. Also the lift is very slow and broke down one night. Also would be nice to add some hooks in the bathroom!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very convenient, with Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum right across the street. I liked the simple, classy interior, it felt more like a hotel than a hostel as your room is daily cleaned.

Disliked: The wifi was very weak, I couldn't load any images. The staff weren't very friendly and did not smile or offer help. They weren't attentive and were often doing their own stuff without manning the counter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in both the dorms and a private room. the doors are snug, like most are, but super comfortable beds, lock boxes, and a bathroom with shower. The private rooms are fantastic too. Clean, huge windows, full bathroom. Staff are amazingly helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is more than I had imaged and delicious. Location is right close to a super market and a park so if you are into bread and cheese in the park it is perfectly located. Trams and buses are right out the door. We choose to walk into the centre and it took about 20 min, if you didn't get too distracted along the way. We highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel and walking distance to a majority of places (ie. leidseplein, red light district, dam square, etc.)

Disliked: steep staircase - watch out

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would 100% recommend this hostel to anyone going to Amsterdam. It's about 20-30 mins away from the very centre of the city but still a great location right in the museum district. It's also nice in that you get to see more of the city and it's in a really gorgeous and quiet area. The staff were SO helpful and accommodating. I had actually booked our room for the wrong date but the woman at the front desk changed it with absolutely no problems or extra fees. She was also extremely helpful with organising a canal cruise and very friendly and polite. The hotel itself is very clean, safe and nicely designed. The 5 euro buffet breakfast is also extremely good value for money and has a wide range of food. I was very impressed with my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jubal Green

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Jubal would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean !

Disliked: the atmosphere felt more like a hotel than a small hostel. great for if you in a group of friends already but not for if you on your own or with a partner.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and clean / modern

Disliked: N / a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ian mclennaghan

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 April 2013 ian would recommend this property

Liked: For our stay the property was well located, with easy access to airport and the city with excellent transport links on it doorstep. Although centrally located with the park at it side it had an open feel to it. Even although the property was full the staff made time to talk to you and resolve any queries or questions you had

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Zoers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel! Feels more like a hotel! The rooms are very clean, the beds warm and comfortable, the shower is amazing - hot water in a hostel!! The staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good and it's in a perfect location.

Disliked: Nothing, we had a great stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! Clean, funky and fantastic brekkie!

Disliked: Tayla left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: The staff can be more friendly. I don't expect from them to go to drink can they be more cheerful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quality and cleanliness of the rooms and the bedding was second to none. The beds were incredibly comfortable!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe

Disliked: Quiet, hard to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Barger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in a nice spot and the room wasn't too small

Disliked: the lift was loud through out the night