We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

82.2% Overall Rating

1446 out of 1541 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2015)

"Most of the staff is friendly and welcoming and the room was clean. We were staying at the ground floor so we did not have to use the elevator , though in front of our door was most of the time people waiting for the…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
41.37 USD

Hostel 86.4% 789 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.20 USD

Hostel 84.9% 2319 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
46.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
18.01 USD

Hostel 63.7% 333 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.47 USD

Hostel 73.5% 4306 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
15.27 USD

Hostel 65.1% 541 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
37.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hotel Blyss
38.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

1446 out of 1541 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 916 of 1491 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect for us. Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive, but at least it was possible nearby. We were 8 people in an 8 people private room - and for one night that was all we needed. Breakfast was quite good - at least it was good value for 5 Euro (already with the coffee we had, it beat Starbucks by far...).

Disliked: We didn't manage to turn off the shower for 2 hours. In the corner of our room was an old pair of socks...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARIA DE LOURDES MIRAFUENTES

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 MARIA DE LOURDES would recommend this property

Liked: The quality of the rooms, the bathroom was incredible for hostel standars, excellent buffet for breakfast.

Disliked: staff wasn't very friendly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel also runs as a hotel, so the rooms look like hotel room, bright and clean and modern. First time seeing flat screen tv in a dorm room. Really like the washroom, with hair dryer. Super close to Van Gogh Museum, can just pop into the museum easily when it opens in order to avoid the crowd and baggage check line. Not in the center of the city, but easy to get around by trams. We have a balcony in our room as well. Staffs are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: small and unreliable elevator, and narrow stairs. Next to a school for young childreb, can be loud during recess time in the morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice area, near the main museums. Bathroom very modern and cleaned everyday as well as a new towel supplied and bed made everyday which was a nice luxury. Microwave, kettle and guest fridge was a nice surprise considering we were expecting no kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Staff very unhelpful and slow. Will not go out of their way to help and quite rude. Really disappointing given the nature of the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Palmer

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the bathrooms were lovely, it was nice to see linen and towels included, the Museum Quarter is a great bit of Amsterdam to be in because it is just far away enough from the weird, crazy bit. Definitely recommend it, especially for its value for money.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: It was lovely except for the incredibly ignorant and rude Asian man on reception. He reminded me of Mr chow from the hangover but always in a bad mood.

Disliked: You have to pay upfront, absolutely no exceptions and before you can even enter or look around. You're also right next to a kindergarten so be ready to wake up early everyday. Other than that there's a nice atmosphere in the place at night and the rooms are well specked except for the leaky shower causing the occasional flood

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 2 minutes walk from museums. Very clean. Nice beds. Nice bathroom.

Disliked: Not really a hostel. No kitchen (only 1 micro wave on offer), no lounge to meet fellow travellers (just the dining room). Quite a walk to city center.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Lidia Meola

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: THE PAINTING ON THE WALL

Disliked: ROOM OF 8 WAS VERY VERY SMALL AND TIGHT- COULDN'T SWING A CAT IN THERE.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room were very clean and big enough.

Disliked: The staff wasn't friendly at all, looking down on us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good, just not a good environment to socialise and meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good location, wifi works well.

Disliked: Common room abit like a cafeteria but most people visiting Amsterdam go out most of their time there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jake Sollis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 August 2013 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great bathroom for the price

Disliked: Staff not over friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioning!!! A very welcome (and rare to find) luxury in a hostel! Much needed in the 35 degree heat! Very new and clean, nice ensuite facilities.

Disliked: Staff were reluctant to acknowledge you at reception - they never seemed to make an attempt to greet you or offer any help. Even if they were in the middle of something - it is very simple and polite to say 'I will be with you in a minute', rather than just ignore you.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonathan Watson

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 August 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, next to the Van Gogh museum and a short cycle ride into the city. Very clean and modern for a 'hostel'. Excellent breakfasts available for 5 Euros.

Disliked: Staff were sometimes helpful, sometimes a bit nonplussed. More importantly the place lacks a communal social area for drinking / chit chat - I think this is important if you want to meet other people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you go to Amsterdam you must stay in this hostel. It was an absolute steal for the price. It's clean and in an awesome location near the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. The stop for the #2 and #5 trams is half a block away and you can walk to many locations as well. I stayed on the second floor and had a strong, fast wifi signal the entire time. If I ever make it back to Amsterdam I will 100% stay here.

Disliked: The sink in the bathroom took a while to drain. That's the worst I can think of.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: staff. general vibe

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Tague

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Less than a one minute walk to the famous I Amsterdam sign with the Museumplein itself being a beautiful place to sit down and relax in. The staff are honestly always on reception and because we had to change rooms due to a deep clean; we got free breakfast everyday worth €30! The staff want you to have a good time here but some are more helpful and accommodating than others. The beds are super comfortable and everything was pristine clean. The bathroom was emaculate and the showers were hot. In addition to the free wi-if they had 2 computers at reception which were free for use.

Disliked: Little floor space in the 6 bed dorm which meant in addition to rucksacks and suitcases it wa quite a squeeze. It is a 30 minute walk from Dam Square but saying that the surrounding area is so beautiful and you're out the way of the red light district.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe

Disliked: Staffs are annoying

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Tkatchenko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean place in a fantastic location

Disliked: The staff as quite rude

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013

Liked: Clean, safe and good location.

Disliked: Ridiculously expensive for what you get, and the staff aren't very helpful at all. For the price I at least expected breakfast to be included, but it was an additional $5, which is not good value.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

phoebe mcintyre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable location. Clean. Private bathroon

Disliked: Our room was very noisiey. That's more likely a reflection of the city than the hostel. Really had no chance at a good nights sleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eric Jones

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 July 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Good location good modern and clean facilities but not a great social hostel

Disliked: No social aspect

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013

Liked: NA

Disliked: this place is just a hotel where they cram in six bunk beds. this is not a real hostel, there is no place to interact and meet other people. The worse part of this hostel is the staff the young man with attitude and the manager really need to reconsider their careers as they are not meant to be in the hospitality industry. I would not recommend staying here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, 'relatively' friendly staff, wonderful rooms, safe atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff could have been 'slightly' more friendly.