HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

87.2% Overall Rating

1339 out of 1428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2014)

Logan Silverberg thinks…

"The bathrooms are nicer than those at my parents' house. The beds do not have footboards so my feet were able to hang off the end a bit as I am around 6ft (~2m). Great breakfast, too. Best I have had…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
50.20 USD

Hostel 84.8% 773 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
35.10 USD

Hostel 89.4% 2261 reviews
Trianon
31.97 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
28.57 USD

Hostel 69.3% 4243 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
27.19 USD

Hostel 71.5% 521 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
45.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.1% 26 reviews
Hotel Blyss
52.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
34.55 USD

Hostel 68.7% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 12/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 12/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1339 out of 1428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 852 of 1379 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonathan Watson

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 August 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, next to the Van Gogh museum and a short cycle ride into the city. Very clean and modern for a 'hostel'. Excellent breakfasts available for 5 Euros.

Disliked: Staff were sometimes helpful, sometimes a bit nonplussed. More importantly the place lacks a communal social area for drinking / chit chat - I think this is important if you want to meet other people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you go to Amsterdam you must stay in this hostel. It was an absolute steal for the price. It's clean and in an awesome location near the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. The stop for the #2 and #5 trams is half a block away and you can walk to many locations as well. I stayed on the second floor and had a strong, fast wifi signal the entire time. If I ever make it back to Amsterdam I will 100% stay here.

Disliked: The sink in the bathroom took a while to drain. That's the worst I can think of.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: staff. general vibe

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Tague

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Less than a one minute walk to the famous I Amsterdam sign with the Museumplein itself being a beautiful place to sit down and relax in. The staff are honestly always on reception and because we had to change rooms due to a deep clean; we got free breakfast everyday worth €30! The staff want you to have a good time here but some are more helpful and accommodating than others. The beds are super comfortable and everything was pristine clean. The bathroom was emaculate and the showers were hot. In addition to the free wi-if they had 2 computers at reception which were free for use.

Disliked: Little floor space in the 6 bed dorm which meant in addition to rucksacks and suitcases it wa quite a squeeze. It is a 30 minute walk from Dam Square but saying that the surrounding area is so beautiful and you're out the way of the red light district.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe

Disliked: Staffs are annoying

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Tkatchenko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean place in a fantastic location

Disliked: The staff as quite rude

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013

Liked: Clean, safe and good location.

Disliked: Ridiculously expensive for what you get, and the staff aren't very helpful at all. For the price I at least expected breakfast to be included, but it was an additional $5, which is not good value.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

phoebe mcintyre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable location. Clean. Private bathroon

Disliked: Our room was very noisiey. That's more likely a reflection of the city than the hostel. Really had no chance at a good nights sleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eric Jones

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 July 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Good location good modern and clean facilities but not a great social hostel

Disliked: No social aspect

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013

Liked: NA

Disliked: this place is just a hotel where they cram in six bunk beds. this is not a real hostel, there is no place to interact and meet other people. The worse part of this hostel is the staff the young man with attitude and the manager really need to reconsider their careers as they are not meant to be in the hospitality industry. I would not recommend staying here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, 'relatively' friendly staff, wonderful rooms, safe atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff could have been 'slightly' more friendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Susanne Fletcher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful reception staff, free use of 2 computers, free printing of boarding passes & museum tickets, tea, coffee & jug in the room.

Disliked: The lift broke down twice during my stay & as I was on the 4th floor, & after a day of sightseeing, climbing the stairs was the only way to get to my room. The lift is very small & slow for the number of people who use it especially if you have luggage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Easy to get to from the airport. Clean. Good wifi.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Close

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Room service each day - there is never a shortage of towels. The keycards for each room, the airconditioning, rooms were more than superb for 35EUR, and I booked at the last minute. Beautifiul neighourhood, gorgeous!

Disliked: You must pay for the breakfast - 5 EUR - although it is brilliant. I guess more unjust was that you must pay 1.50EUR for hot drinks which was a downright shame.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very professional

Disliked: A little farther out of the central district

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms within a good location.

Disliked: The staff were not helpful at all! Every time we asked them something we got one word answers like they were just trying to get rid of us. Also was expensive for what is was and breakfast was not included.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Edgar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: Very clean and had good facilities like towels and linen.

Disliked: Staff were not very friendly and seemed rushed all the time and so wanted to finish talking to you ASAP. Big thing was that the hostel did not have a socialising area and so it was very hard to meet people. Location was alright for museums etc but not ideal for nightlife.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Rosenblatt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely fantastic, the area is beautiful and you have many attractions right around the corner, as well as just a short bus ride from the airport to the hostel and vice verse. The place seemed really clean, and the services they offer, such as the bike renting and the surprisingly cheap breakfast, were extremely good! Very comfortable beds!

Disliked: The staff was not on the friendly side, they always seemed to be annoyed by any sort of interaction and responded in a particularly aggressive way. The wifi was usable but not so good in speed. A bit on the pricey side, but the location really makes it worth any of this. Not the friendliest atmosphere at the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and security were the highlights of my stay at Hotel Van Gogh. My roommates were very friendly and the atmosphere in general was very pleasant.

Disliked: Breakfast was mediocre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aaliyah Peeroo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2013 Aaliyah would recommend this property

Liked: I have been to Amsterdam before and booked at this hostel because of the location - it's right opposite the Van Gogh Museum and a stone's throw away from the Rijksmuseum. That said if you're coming to Amsterdam for the red light district or for the city centre in general, this may not be the ideal location for you. There are however excellent transport links to everything - tram to Amsterdam Centraal, bus to Schiphol, etc. The property was extremely clean and the furnishings are new and of good quality, so it is essentially like sharing a good hotel room with other people. As described, the room had its own private bathroom with large shower and shower gel etc provided. And each bed has its own reading light and electronic socket. Oh and the internet was very good. The room is ventilated so although it was a bit warm on some of the nights, the room remains cool.

Disliked: The only real thing I thought was bad was the staff - and this may just be one of the staff members as they were there all three times I interacted with them. They were rude, not helpful and openly glared at times. The other cons are all minor things. The room can be noisy at night because of the ventilation - didn't bother me or the other girls, but I know some have mentioned it before. The kitchen is also not a full kitchen - only fridge, microwave and cutlery.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tolga Keles

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2013

Liked: staff

Disliked: location

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yavuz Bay

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2013

Liked: pretty clean

Disliked: location is little bit far from centre

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah O'Farrell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 June 2013

Liked: Clean and modern hostel

Disliked: No atmosphere, unfriendly staff, location a little far away, probably wouldnt recommend this place