HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

86.6% Overall Rating

1347 out of 1436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"This hostel really seems more like a converted hotel (it even says "Hotel Van Gogh" on the outside) but it is totally worth it. Very clean, easy to reach and in a good location near Museumplein. Hostel area was very…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
45.52 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
34.91 USD

Hostel 91.5% 2263 reviews
Trianon
33.57 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.23 USD

Hostel 61.4% 4252 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
26.84 USD

Hostel 69.1% 524 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Blyss
50.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
38.14 USD

Hostel 65.6% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

1347 out of 1436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 858 of 1388 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

04 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great, safe location (30 mins walk or tram ride to Dam Sq but right by the major museums) and the 6 person girls dorms had modern, clean facilities just like a hotel, with actual electronic safes as well as a clean, modern ensuite bathroom. Did not try the breakfast, not sure if it's worth 5 euros. I think this is great value for Amsterdam city center.

Disliked: The bunk beds were all squeezed together with no space inbetween.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and clear. Wi-fi in the intire building.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Burgess

Alone

City break

25 October 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Although not in the main area, it's really near Leidseplein, which has lots of great restaurants, cafes and shops.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kerry Lanzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms looked like an upscale hotel (jsut with bunk beds), the bathrooms were very nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable. I was very happy to see electronic safes for each person in the rooms to avoid the hassle of a lock, and access cards to each room to avoid unwanted prowlers. It made me feel very safe, indeed,

Disliked: The only thing that keeps this hostel from havign a great rating was that during breakfast (a pretty good selection) is that the juice dispenser evidently had flies on the nozzles, such that my juice was filled with them. I pointed it out to the manager, and instead of giving me my 5 euro back, he suggested I get another cup of juice. Points down for helpfulness and cleanliness, though the room itself was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, ensuite bathroom, modern.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First time staying in a hostel and it exceeding my expectations. I was placed in a 4 bed room and it was like a hotel. Staff super friendly and helpful. I only stayed one night wish I got to stay more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Heap

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, almost to the standard as a hotel. Very clean and tidy through out, fresh bedding and towels provided daily if required. My only disappointment was a member of the reception staff, we weren't greeted well however this could be overlooked. The Van Gogh museum can be seen from the front door and the tram stop is 2 minutes round the corning. Perfect location. I would stay here again!

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the Van Gogh museum. A quiet neighborhood with easy access to the old city.

Disliked: No complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room fresh and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Paul De Villiers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Jean-Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, modern and well maintained. The location is good.

Disliked: Jean-Paul left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PEDRO SILVA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 PEDRO would recommend this property

Liked: It's a modern Hostel, it looks like a Hotel. The bedroom was great!

Disliked: Most of the staff is very unkind and rude.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, very central location close to many tourist attractions.

Disliked: There was a problem with my room and the staff was less than nice about addressing it. They acted like I was asking for special treatment because they mistakenly booked 6 people to a room with 4 beds and they also forgot that my reservation was for a female-only room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sonja Katharina Ortner

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Sonja Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central located near the big museums, it is clean and everything was ok

Disliked: It's a little bit expensive

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good: quiet at night, in a reasonably safe neighbourhood, within walking distance from the city centre. Cleanliness is observed.

Disliked: Customer service can be improved. PS: The microwave in the canteen need some serious cleaning. Perhaps residents would have to be reminded to clean it after use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, not Too noisy, really clean, comfortable beds good showers

Disliked: Could've done with an iron or somewhere to hang clothes, was a little too hot at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANZHELA Kashapova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 ANZHELA would recommend this property

Liked: It is really good. Stuf very helpful and location is excellent. Breakfast good as well. Next time when I will be in Amsterdam I'm going to stay there again. I recommend this place.

Disliked: ANZHELA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Douglas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very friendly. The location is awesome.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect for us. Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive, but at least it was possible nearby. We were 8 people in an 8 people private room - and for one night that was all we needed. Breakfast was quite good - at least it was good value for 5 Euro (already with the coffee we had, it beat Starbucks by far...).

Disliked: We didn't manage to turn off the shower for 2 hours. In the corner of our room was an old pair of socks...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARIA DE LOURDES MIRAFUENTES

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 MARIA DE LOURDES would recommend this property

Liked: The quality of the rooms, the bathroom was incredible for hostel standars, excellent buffet for breakfast.

Disliked: staff wasn't very friendly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel also runs as a hotel, so the rooms look like hotel room, bright and clean and modern. First time seeing flat screen tv in a dorm room. Really like the washroom, with hair dryer. Super close to Van Gogh Museum, can just pop into the museum easily when it opens in order to avoid the crowd and baggage check line. Not in the center of the city, but easy to get around by trams. We have a balcony in our room as well. Staffs are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: small and unreliable elevator, and narrow stairs. Next to a school for young childreb, can be loud during recess time in the morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice area, near the main museums. Bathroom very modern and cleaned everyday as well as a new towel supplied and bed made everyday which was a nice luxury. Microwave, kettle and guest fridge was a nice surprise considering we were expecting no kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Staff very unhelpful and slow. Will not go out of their way to help and quite rude. Really disappointing given the nature of the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Palmer

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the bathrooms were lovely, it was nice to see linen and towels included, the Museum Quarter is a great bit of Amsterdam to be in because it is just far away enough from the weird, crazy bit. Definitely recommend it, especially for its value for money.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: It was lovely except for the incredibly ignorant and rude Asian man on reception. He reminded me of Mr chow from the hangover but always in a bad mood.

Disliked: You have to pay upfront, absolutely no exceptions and before you can even enter or look around. You're also right next to a kindergarten so be ready to wake up early everyday. Other than that there's a nice atmosphere in the place at night and the rooms are well specked except for the leaky shower causing the occasional flood

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 2 minutes walk from museums. Very clean. Nice beds. Nice bathroom.

Disliked: Not really a hostel. No kitchen (only 1 micro wave on offer), no lounge to meet fellow travellers (just the dining room). Quite a walk to city center.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Lidia Meola

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: THE PAINTING ON THE WALL

Disliked: ROOM OF 8 WAS VERY VERY SMALL AND TIGHT- COULDN'T SWING A CAT IN THERE.