We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

85.1% Overall Rating

1391 out of 1483 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

Carly Bearder thinks…

"I, a solo travelling fremale from Australia, only stayed at Hostel Van Gogh for 2 night and was had a great stay. The hostel was clean and the staff were helpful (the desk was mannwed 24/24 which…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
15.05 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
24.04 USD

Hostel 82.7% 2285 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
13.28 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
13.92 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.37 USD

Hostel 61.4% 533 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
21.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1391 out of 1483 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 884 of 1433 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are beautiful - it used to be a hotel, so dorms had a big flat-screen TV and shiny ensuite bathrooms. Also, WAY cheaper than other hostels because it's a bit out of the city center (maybe a 10 minute walk). Free use of the computers was also a plus.

Disliked: It's away from most of the activity - out of the center by the museums, which is nice if you want quiet, but annoying to have to walk back if you want to be closer to the city center - it also means the hostel isn't very active or social. Also, they weren't really set up yet when I was there, so a lot of the beds were just mattresses on the floor, and there were no lockers yet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was well run and efficient and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I thought the breakfast was substantial enough for four euro. Although the hostel may appear quite far out from the city centre, it's a nice, scenic walk in through Amsterdam's spectacular streets.

Disliked: In terms of fun, this hostel was a bit of a disappointment. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to young travellers looking for a hostel with a buzz. Even the nightlife in the surrounding area was dull. But I guess it's a sacrifice worth making to get away from Amsterdam's dodgey city centre at night. Also, although it was nothing huge, I was on quite a high up top bunk. However, the ladder was facing the wall so it was a bit of a scramble to get into bed. Oh and my safety deposit box was broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YUAN YAO SU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 YUAN YAO would recommend this property

Liked: just next to Van Gogh museum!! great!!

Disliked: no kitchen...it's not kitchen, too too small....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lena Blobel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel, great rooms and service, awesome location for sightseeing

Disliked: nothing :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, nice breakfast (for 5 euros), and really good shower.

Disliked: Pricey, but normal for Amsterdam. Noisy guests (but obviously not the hostel's fault).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: ok

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Leo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2011 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: There were private safes for each bed. Toilet was clean and lovely. Towels and linens provided free.

Disliked: Nil.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 6-bed room, each individual bed had a plug socket and lamp, and the room itself contains individual safes for each individual. The mattress itself was comfortable, and the lcd television was pretty good. In the reception/lobby area the internet is free to use via two computers.

Disliked: The asian guy at the front desk is incredibly rude. The school is directly opposite the hostel itself, so prepare yourself to be awoken by kids screaming. Closing the window reduces the noise, but when it's warm outside and you have other room-mates, that isn't really an option.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was like a hotel. the room was clean and i felt safe. it is in a great location and the staff are services are very good!

Disliked: the room was a little small but still comfortable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Besides all the bad reviews it gets online, it's not a dirty hole at all... it's real good value for money, staff is friendly and it's brilliantly located.

Disliked: Breakfast was not amazing, but I was not expecting anything good anyways.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dorms, free internet and drinks, late breakfast and checkout

Disliked: Too far away from the CBD, each bunk touches the next one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, new and comfortable. good facilties

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice looking and clean

Disliked: it's right next to a pre-school

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite new and clean. The staff was ok and the common room very confortable.

Disliked: It is located near the museums but far from the centre. There is a kindergarten in the same street and children are very loud when they are playing outside (at 9 am).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Weese

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so clean and nice. I felt like I was staying in a hotel the whole time. The location is a walk from the city center, which I liked because I could get away from the noise. It's close to the Van Gogh Museum and a huge park which is great for just laying around.

Disliked: The asian guy at the front desk is a jerk. He argues with everyone and has little patience for customers. I brought him my laundry because they offer that service and he told me they wouldn't do it because the load was too big and pointed me to the direction of the nearest location to do my own load. I've had my laundry done at various facilities and have never had that problem. I think he just didn't want to do it because I came 30 minutes before the cut-off time. I met a girl who had the same issue and I witness his attitude towards several other customers. It was very off-putting. It's also not a great place to meet people since the common area is more like a hotel dining area than anything else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niclas Svensson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 July 2011 Niclas would recommend this property

Liked: That it was so near everything and its a perfect place for those who doesnt have a lot of money. Nice and cosy athmosphere

Disliked: That they only had a few toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definately clean room and bathroom.It is near museum area which was very useful.

Disliked: Little but necessary things like toilet brush was absent in the bathroom.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing, apart from price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

choi sin tse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 choi sin would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean! They change sheets and give you a free towel every day. I stayed in a 8-bed room, there's an individual bathroom inside each room so it was very convenient and nice to have. There's also a safe for each bed in the room so you can always lock your valuables and stuff in there. The location was literally right NEXT to the Van Gogh museum as well as tram#2 and 5. It might seem a bit far out from the city central, but everything is really close by so you can easily just walk everywhere. Also, FREE WIFI!

Disliked: There was no actual kitchen, just a fridge and microwave so you can't cook meals there. Also, it was a bit hard to meet people, because the common room was set up like a cafeteria so people just eat on their own and don't really mingle. Of course, I met people in my room, but if you want to meet a whole much of people at the same time, this one might be a bit tricky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: noisy lift shafts and air conditioner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashish sanan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 ashish would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, very nice breakfast available for 5 Euros, good location - one can walk to all the major Amsterdam attractions from the hostel. Clean and quite rooms, Wi Fi and a common computer available.

Disliked: All the stairs and doors are squeaky and make a lot of noise, the elevator is extremely slow and small, they don't give print outs for hotel/hostel booking but they do print out tickets etc. which is a bit strange.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful.

Disliked: a few things, hardly anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely a great place to stay! Its quite far from the city centre, so its not noisy when you need to sleep and there is loads of public transport on offer close by. The staff are very helpful and run a clean ship! Breakfast was the usual buffet style, very yummy! The rooms were clean and tidy. The guests were respectful of one another. A great hostel and would strongly recommend!

Disliked: Because of its location its easy to become lost on your way into and from the centre, if the walking distance is to far and your relying on public transport, it is a good idea to way up the costs and get somewhere a little closer to the centre. Couldn't find any free drinking water.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ryan Lazauskas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: - The showers were really nice they looked brand new! - The breakfast was pretty good for the 5euros you spend on it - Beds were comfy - No curfew i believe

Disliked: Nothing really. Everything was pretty good for us there. The only 'dislike' i have and its not even a dislike but for some people if you dont like to walk for about 15-20 minutes then maybe consider getting a tram pass for going into the central town area.