HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.61USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

Showing 291-192 of 192 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is a great please is like a hotel and the staff is really friendly, the rooms are very clean and big

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Room was very good - I have stayed in worse rooms in full price hotels. Staff very helpful, and the breakfast was good value.

Disliked: Only downside was the lack of a bar, not a huge thing though.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness was paramount within the hotel, very clean and tidy. Decorated very nicely and air conditioned and thermostat in the room. The shower was amazing, bathroom was the highlight of the room. The pillows were average, a bit lumpy but the room in general was comfortable.

Disliked: Only negative criticism was when we checked out. The receptionist did not even say goodbye, nor did she even bother to make eye contact with us when we said goodbye to her. All she did was outstretch her hand for the keys. Gave off the impression that she was only concerned with the people who were currently there checking in, and paid no attention to us whatsoever. The service fell at the very last hurdle and that was a great shame.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: no cheap parking nearby

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: clean

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The actual rooms were nice considering it was supposed to be a hostel and the room had it's own bathroom and if you're not planning on being in the room much than it's fine.

Disliked: Unless your whole party is there you can't get in your room and they told us our whole stay (2 nights) would be around 27 euros and then when we got there told us that was the first night and the next night would be 30 euros. Also the staff are not friendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We need the payment for your booking before we can check you in. If your whole party doesnt arrive at the same time but the payment is done you can go to your room straight away.
I looked up your reservation; your first night was 25 euro and your second night 30 euro. This is what you booked.
I hope this clears things up.
I am sorry that our staff wasnt friendly, we always try our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, near the Museumplein. Breakfast was a good value for money, but there is a supermarket nearby in case you prefer it. Helpful staff. I felt very safe walking in the area at any time of day. There was a safe inside the room. Good bed, good blankets, good en suite bathroom (with blow drier, very useful in winter) and awesome shower. Really awesome.

Disliked: No lockers in the room, but there was a safe.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location as it's located in the museum quarter and fashion district. Easy walking distance to places of interest such as the Heineken Experience and regular tram service to Dam Square (although you could walk). The place was immaculate and the staff were helpful. There's a really friendly cat too!

Disliked: A bit quiet but probably because it was off peak season. Everything else was great.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms with excellent hygiene standards. Free shower gel and shampoo, fresh towels daily.Comfortable mattresses.The 5 EUR all you can eat breakfast was great value for money. Fresh fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, croissants etc.TV in roomLockers for each bed in room.Great for a pit stop when with a group of friends.Very cosy. Good heating (went in winter)

Disliked: Staff not very accommodating/helpful.Feels more like a hotel than a hostel. If you are traveling solo or as a couple looking to chat with others then steer clear. It's not got a true, communal hostel vibe. eg. no social or cooking area. Just a 'canteen' breakfast room.Stairs are really steep. Although there is a lift.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability