HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

83.9% Overall Rating

1298 out of 1384 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Amy Borg thinks…

"It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables,…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Group, Stag Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. Hostel Van Gogh does pre-authorization 2 days before arrival. Please make sure the credit card you provided are valid and has sufficient funds, we reserve right to decline the booking if the authorization fails A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - Check In from 2pm - Check Out by 11 am - 5.5% City tax is not included - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accomodate all.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.61 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.44 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2235 reviews
Trianon
28.99 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
31.75 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4217 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.03 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
49.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
56.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
29.54 USD

Hostel 72.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

1298 out of 1384 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 829 of 1333 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

UMAKANT PAWASKAR

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 UMAKANT would recommend this property

Liked: It is new.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Cardwell-Aiken

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The property is out of the center of town but still close enough to walk into town or take the tram. It's cleaned everyday like a regular hotel which is very nice. The bed was comfy. The staff was very helpful. I felt very safe. The TV in the room was very nice. Vondel Park is also near by and it's very lovely

Disliked: breakfast was 5 Euros which was a little expensive in my book. The lighting is a little dark and moody.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,nice and comfy room,good shower, good location, helpful staff, fair price, good breakfast for only 5 euro, easy to find when arriving from Shiphol air-port (right in front of the van goch museum)

Disliked: lockers!!!!!!!! in the rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tiantian Li

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Tiantian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good facilities, room cleaned everyday, helpful stuff, supermarket nearby

Disliked: ceiling is very low above my bed that I hit my head twice, I stayed at 411 F, no such problem for other beds though

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011

Liked: Free wifi. The location is close to the museums.

Disliked: Small bedrooms meant for a full size bed fitting eight twin beds in it, where.you could literally reach over and hot the person on both sides of you. The room shared a shower/bathroom which is not enough. The room has no lockers to store your personal stuff in. The breakfast was five euros and not worth it. The location is far away from the center.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance of major sights, yet removed enough to keep you out of the party downtown atmosphere.

Disliked: Must pay for breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Scott olgard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome beds, each bed had their own plugs and lamps. Good bathroom. Free hot and cold drinks at all times (not sure if they were actually, free, but nobody said anything!) Decent location for museums.

Disliked: Steep staircase.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great location.

Disliked: Not much.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the beds and rooms whete good. The breakfast was very good. worth the 5 euros! the location is perfect.

Disliked: The staff was tired and not very helpfull most of the time. Not all of them ofcourse. to be honest we felt that the rooms where a little to expensive for a dorm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reanna Wickenton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Reanna would recommend this property

Liked: it seemed very new, we felt like we were in a hotel! beautiful clean bathroom, we even had a hair dryer!

Disliked: the recption man to begin with was not too friendly but it wasnt a big deal

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: costs much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to get to and to move around

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a Hotel so they cater towards that clientele more than the backpacker, but the rooms were extremely nice and clean and the service to them was great. I had a problem getting into my room beacause of my roomates and the front desk dropped everything to help.

Disliked: My roomates (not their fault).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great and definitely worth the 5 euros you paid.

Disliked: They had to move us around 3 times because we wanted a single-sex room and for some reason they couldn't seem to organize this. It was pretty frustrating to get moved around so much, and they should work that out for the future.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen riley

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was very clean and located near the museums, trams and Light square, a very exciting place. I give the Van Gogh two thumbs up.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brittney Barr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Brittney would recommend this property

Liked: The price on the weekends is a little high, but weekly rate is good

Disliked: I think I got bit by bugs from the bed. Also, there are no lockers in the rooms to lock up belongings

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alastair Jongman

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Alastair would recommend this property

Liked: lovely soft beds

Disliked: a bit off the beaten track but in a lovely area

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Owen Morton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Staff were useless and wouldn't help with any issue we had. This is a hotel turned into a hostel so there is no fun and friendly vibe to the place, just a bed in the middle of Amsterdam. Find somewhere else if you can.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: There is no luggage storage room. Do not have a living area nice and warm, which does not contribute to meeting other people. There is no way to cook, because only the microwave is available which is dirty, as the kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeff oakley

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 jeff would recommend this property

Liked: clean,tidy and in the middle of everything

Disliked: no lockable lockers,but staff will look after gear

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to museums and other attractions as well as public transport

Disliked: Could be a bit more cleaner and have lockers in the rooms. Also the staff could be more knowledgeable about the activities happening around Amsterdam and suggest places to visit.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was so variegated and delicious, for a relatively low price! Rooms were cleaned daily and were quite nice, and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: Individual lockers would have been greatly appreciated. Also, the hostel was a little hard to find based on the instructions from the website...they should add some detail (or you should bring some instructions from Google, although wandering a bit gets you there too).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the beds and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: The service at the front desk was terrible. Got the impression that I was intruding by just asking to check in. The lift was broken most of the time I was there, and anyone could just walk right in to the building.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: Good location near the museums and the square. Easy to get to from the station and the airport.

Disliked: Staff is not very happy, seems like they are still working out the kinks. The bathroom was nice but very dirty. I had to ask for toilet paper. You get the feeling like they are just trying to pack people in. I guess if you had a group and you didn't really care about ambiance this place would be fine. But the common room was lame and not fun at all. Kind of a stressful place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NOR AINNA ABDUL RAZIF

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 NOR AINNA would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the cleanliness of the hostel!

Disliked: -