HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

82.4% Overall Rating

1371 out of 1462 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Connor Ford thinks…

"Comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Good breakfast with bacon. Luggage room was easy enough and free. There are lockers in the room so valuables can be really secured."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
30.07 USD

Hostel 84.6% 776 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
24.95 USD

Hostel 87.2% 2275 reviews
Trianon
22.98 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
19.70 USD

Hostel 64.8% 4272 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
18.37 USD

Hostel 62.6% 529 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
42.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
19.63 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

1371 out of 1462 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 872 of 1413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, new and comfortable. good facilties

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice looking and clean

Disliked: it's right next to a pre-school

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite new and clean. The staff was ok and the common room very confortable.

Disliked: It is located near the museums but far from the centre. There is a kindergarten in the same street and children are very loud when they are playing outside (at 9 am).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Weese

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so clean and nice. I felt like I was staying in a hotel the whole time. The location is a walk from the city center, which I liked because I could get away from the noise. It's close to the Van Gogh Museum and a huge park which is great for just laying around.

Disliked: The asian guy at the front desk is a jerk. He argues with everyone and has little patience for customers. I brought him my laundry because they offer that service and he told me they wouldn't do it because the load was too big and pointed me to the direction of the nearest location to do my own load. I've had my laundry done at various facilities and have never had that problem. I think he just didn't want to do it because I came 30 minutes before the cut-off time. I met a girl who had the same issue and I witness his attitude towards several other customers. It was very off-putting. It's also not a great place to meet people since the common area is more like a hotel dining area than anything else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niclas Svensson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 July 2011 Niclas would recommend this property

Liked: That it was so near everything and its a perfect place for those who doesnt have a lot of money. Nice and cosy athmosphere

Disliked: That they only had a few toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definately clean room and bathroom.It is near museum area which was very useful.

Disliked: Little but necessary things like toilet brush was absent in the bathroom.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing, apart from price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

choi sin tse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 choi sin would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean! They change sheets and give you a free towel every day. I stayed in a 8-bed room, there's an individual bathroom inside each room so it was very convenient and nice to have. There's also a safe for each bed in the room so you can always lock your valuables and stuff in there. The location was literally right NEXT to the Van Gogh museum as well as tram#2 and 5. It might seem a bit far out from the city central, but everything is really close by so you can easily just walk everywhere. Also, FREE WIFI!

Disliked: There was no actual kitchen, just a fridge and microwave so you can't cook meals there. Also, it was a bit hard to meet people, because the common room was set up like a cafeteria so people just eat on their own and don't really mingle. Of course, I met people in my room, but if you want to meet a whole much of people at the same time, this one might be a bit tricky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: noisy lift shafts and air conditioner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashish sanan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 ashish would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, very nice breakfast available for 5 Euros, good location - one can walk to all the major Amsterdam attractions from the hostel. Clean and quite rooms, Wi Fi and a common computer available.

Disliked: All the stairs and doors are squeaky and make a lot of noise, the elevator is extremely slow and small, they don't give print outs for hotel/hostel booking but they do print out tickets etc. which is a bit strange.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful.

Disliked: a few things, hardly anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely a great place to stay! Its quite far from the city centre, so its not noisy when you need to sleep and there is loads of public transport on offer close by. The staff are very helpful and run a clean ship! Breakfast was the usual buffet style, very yummy! The rooms were clean and tidy. The guests were respectful of one another. A great hostel and would strongly recommend!

Disliked: Because of its location its easy to become lost on your way into and from the centre, if the walking distance is to far and your relying on public transport, it is a good idea to way up the costs and get somewhere a little closer to the centre. Couldn't find any free drinking water.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ryan Lazauskas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: - The showers were really nice they looked brand new! - The breakfast was pretty good for the 5euros you spend on it - Beds were comfy - No curfew i believe

Disliked: Nothing really. Everything was pretty good for us there. The only 'dislike' i have and its not even a dislike but for some people if you dont like to walk for about 15-20 minutes then maybe consider getting a tram pass for going into the central town area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Firmin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was very clean nice new beds and a really nice bathroom with a decent shower! not the closest to the centre, about a 20 min walk but the tram is just outside so can catch that to save the walk.

Disliked: apart from the distance from the centre this is everything you would want from a hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and new and clean.

Disliked: Toilet door needs some oiling. No toothbrush, toothpaste,soap...provided. A heater for boiling water in the room will be good! We have to make hot drinks in the toilet using hot water from the tap.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very clean pleace, and very nice. The location is good.

Disliked: Everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stay was really good. It was the best hostel I've ever stayed in.Opossite of the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Wonderful location.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really clean and the services provided are satisfactory.

Disliked: I think the air ventilation is not very well in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, large showers located inside each room. Pretty easy to find. Each bed had a power plug. The hostel, beds, sheets, towels, etc. were super clean.

Disliked: The elevator wasn't working, but they seemed to be fixing it right as we left. Also, the lockers didn't work (or they were really hard to use).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cesar Fernandez

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 June 2011 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: - Recién reformado con lo que ello conlleva. - Estuve en una habitación de 6 camas (3 literas), muy amplia y limpia, cada cama con su enchufe y lampara. - Un baño dentro de la habitación muy limpio y amplio con una ducha espectacular. - Tienen wifi en todo el edificio. - Cambian las toallas y limpian la habitación y el baño todos los dias.

Disliked: - Desayuno caro (5€) pero es lo normal en Amsterdam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new facilities, friendly staff, very clean

Disliked: ?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location near museums and good tram network.

Disliked: Light system of common bedrooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5€ breakfast... its not cheap but liked it

Disliked: the building is new and clean but its expensive...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oleksandr Dymov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: The appearance

Disliked: four computers would be perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikramaditya Singh Malik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Vikramaditya Singh would recommend this property

Liked: This place was much better than what we had expected. Arguably the best hostel we have stayed at till date!

Disliked: Nothing at all!