HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.64USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 291-204 of 204 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: no cheap parking nearby

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: clean

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The actual rooms were nice considering it was supposed to be a hostel and the room had it's own bathroom and if you're not planning on being in the room much than it's fine.

Disliked: Unless your whole party is there you can't get in your room and they told us our whole stay (2 nights) would be around 27 euros and then when we got there told us that was the first night and the next night would be 30 euros. Also the staff are not friendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We need the payment for your booking before we can check you in. If your whole party doesnt arrive at the same time but the payment is done you can go to your room straight away.
I looked up your reservation; your first night was 25 euro and your second night 30 euro. This is what you booked.
I hope this clears things up.
I am sorry that our staff wasnt friendly, we always try our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, near the Museumplein. Breakfast was a good value for money, but there is a supermarket nearby in case you prefer it. Helpful staff. I felt very safe walking in the area at any time of day. There was a safe inside the room. Good bed, good blankets, good en suite bathroom (with blow drier, very useful in winter) and awesome shower. Really awesome.

Disliked: No lockers in the room, but there was a safe.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location as it's located in the museum quarter and fashion district. Easy walking distance to places of interest such as the Heineken Experience and regular tram service to Dam Square (although you could walk). The place was immaculate and the staff were helpful. There's a really friendly cat too!

Disliked: A bit quiet but probably because it was off peak season. Everything else was great.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms with excellent hygiene standards. Free shower gel and shampoo, fresh towels daily.Comfortable mattresses.The 5 EUR all you can eat breakfast was great value for money. Fresh fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, croissants etc.TV in roomLockers for each bed in room.Great for a pit stop when with a group of friends.Very cosy. Good heating (went in winter)

Disliked: Staff not very accommodating/helpful.Feels more like a hotel than a hostel. If you are traveling solo or as a couple looking to chat with others then steer clear. It's not got a true, communal hostel vibe. eg. no social or cooking area. Just a 'canteen' breakfast room.Stairs are really steep. Although there is a lift.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very modern

Disliked: no 'lounge'

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the rooms and the breakfast. Good value for 5 euro, didnt think so at first but they had a lot of meat and other options.

Disliked: The staff could have been a little friendlier and more helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean, modern

Disliked: ?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability