HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 81%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.01USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 81%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

Showing 291-245 of 245 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very modern

Disliked: no 'lounge'

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the rooms and the breakfast. Good value for 5 euro, didnt think so at first but they had a lot of meat and other options.

Disliked: The staff could have been a little friendlier and more helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean, modern

Disliked: ?

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very modern. Very clean. Wifi was great even in the room. There was even the added luxury of a soap dispenser in the shower & at the sink.

Disliked: Difficult to find if you arrive from the airport at night in the dark, but then that would apply to almost anywhere in Amsterdam.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very organized and clean.

Disliked: Some of the people working at the desk are ok. But some are extremely unfriendly.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atendimento bom. Hostel muito limpo e organizado. Staff gentil e atencioso.

Disliked: Nao existe lockers para guardar as malas, apenas um cofre para guardas pequenas coisas de maior valor.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place is very good. It's close to everything, tram station, dam square, bus station, supermarket.The rooms are clean and big. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is really good. You need to pay but it's not expensive. Big deal!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great, in the fashion district. Found it easy to walk everywhere from the hotel.

Disliked: The staff were quite unfriendly which was a shame. They also gave us some false information.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I sorry to hear our staff was a unfriendly and gave you false information, I am sure it was not intentionally!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location

Disliked: more expensive than advised, especially as receptionist didn't initially take off deposit paid and tried to charge same amount of Euros as pounds.


The property's response is

Hi, There's a 5% city tax on top of the total. I looked up your reservation and the amount that was charged upon check-in was the correct amount. The receptionist did not try to charge you more or the same amount of euro's as pounds.
I hope this clarifies things.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in a six-bed room. I was clean with private bathroom and hair dryer, which is very important when travelling in winter, specially for girls. There was a big common room, where you could heat up and eat your own food, and drink your own drinks as a way to save money in eating out. There is a very good system of security as regards the opening of the doors, even to open the main door which leads to the guestrooms. The beds were confortable, with individual light and socket. And we had individual safes in the room to keep the valuable stuff. The staff were available most of the time, and were helpful and polite. Great value for money.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far from the city center if you decide to walk. However, this was not a problem because it is in the museum district and there is a lot to see. And this is an area well connected to the rest of the city by tram.There was a snorer in my room, so I could not get proper sleep during my stay but I guess this is a matter of luck. Some gests would come back to the hotel totally high or drunk, which is not very nice to see when you wake up in the morning. Anyway, they have very strict rules about the use of any hard drug in the facilities. In the end, this is Amsterdam and it is normal thing to deal with.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability