We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

79.1% Overall Rating

1456 out of 1553 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2015)

"Very nice stay. Helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Very happy with our stay."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
42.97 USD

Hostel 86.5% 790 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.51 USD

Hostel 84.3% 2325 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
49.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
27.62 USD

Hostel 63.8% 336 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.68 USD

Hostel 68.2% 4315 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
27.61 USD

Hostel 65.0% 542 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
38.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

1456 out of 1553 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 925 of 1503 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms which were always clean. Clean towels to borrow for free. Spacious bathroom and shower. Amazing location. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help.

Disliked: There's not a lot of atmosphere, it's more of a hotel environment, but would still recomend!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natasha Hunt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were insanely nice and the bathroom was amazing. It was the best shower of my life! The breakfast was really good even though they ran out of bacon before i could have any!

Disliked: The guy on the reception desk in the morning was a little rude! The rooms were very cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great location, close to the tram stop. Most of the staff were friendly. Good breakfast available.

Disliked: Some unfriendly staff that just didn't want to help us, one older man in particular just gave us bad directions and information. Really small rooms and no public w/c downstairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Hamaliuk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, awesome hostel. Breakfast is the best I've ever seen at a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and welcoming staff, very clean rooms and fantastic location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Connor Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Good breakfast with bacon. Luggage room was easy enough and free. There are lockers in the room so valuables can be really secured.

Disliked: The lockers were too small for your whole bag, but this is no differnt to anywhere else. On arrival a city tax was added to the bill, but this isn't really the hostels fault. Doesn't have a backpacking atmosphere but it is a clean and convenient place to stay. A fair walk from the train station (40 mins) but we managed with our backpacks fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bianca Turner

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 August 2014 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, easy to find from airport bus to hostel, breakfast was nice

Disliked: Bianca left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014

Liked: Very clean, nice Breakfast.

Disliked: Staff on reception were very rude.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location to tour

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Cincotta

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel was beautiful, clean and very good value for money. It was close to everything but far enough that you felt you were away from the hustle & bustle. excellent

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is more like a hotel than a hostel which was great. There was a communal eating area for everyone and we got to meet people from all over the place: Australia, Siberia, England, Canada etc... Our room was clean and we weren't too squashed considering we were a room of 8.

Disliked: Not a lot of storage room for clothes. Staff were quite unhelpful except for the Irish girl who was absolutely lovely. We had booked two rooms as we had a large group and one of the receptionists made it very difficult to pay, involving us going to an ATM but she had sent us in the wrong direction to it so we were walking around for ages trying to find one. Took us over 40 minutes just to check-in. Slowest elevator in the world.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean solid built beds electronic safes

Disliked: Bad ventilation in on sweet bathroom, someone was sick and it was difficult to remove the smell without letting it into the whole room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica McManus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location although more of a hotel with dorm beds available than a hostel. Breakfast was 5 euro but very much worth it. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emy Yaguinuma

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Emy would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel that I ever been. Great location, great breakfast, great staff and great rooms and bathroom amazing ( probably will be the best shower you will ever see in your life).High recommend.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Louise Gallacher

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 August 2014 Ashley Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic. Staff were very helpful and rooms were spotless and comfy.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Simon Burkhardt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The character and location

Disliked: The carpets were wet the entire time somehow. The room smelled like a crypt. The air conditioner leaked.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriela Cajigas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and location, good value for your money. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: Staff in reception weren't very friendly or helpful at all. Actually they were kind of rude, they don't even smile or make you feel welcome. That's not the way you expect to be treated when you are a guest. Specially a guest who is paying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great buffet breakfast for 5 euro. Hostel was clean and felt safe with nice rooms.

Disliked: Located a bit far from the center but easily accessed by tram. Some of the staff were not very friendly (were polite but seemed bothered by questions etc)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederico Carneiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Frederico would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Golos faciliteis

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean good location

Disliked: it was fine a little expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel really seems more like a converted hotel (it even says "Hotel Van Gogh" on the outside) but it is totally worth it. Very clean, easy to reach and in a good location near Museumplein. Hostel area was very quiet at night, which was great.

Disliked: It is a little bit far from nighttime activities in Amsterdam (red light district is quite far) . It's rather expensive for a hostel but still pretty decent value for money.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was perfect for being close to the city, but far enough out so that it wasn't noisy at night. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped, as was the private en suite bathroom. The air conditioning was great and much appreciated.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Bierlmeier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean, comfortable bed and amazing breakfast! Perfect deal - inspecially for Amsterdam in July! Absolutely recommend it!

Disliked: Susanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Logan Silverberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms are nicer than those at my parents' house. The beds do not have footboards so my feet were able to hang off the end a bit as I am around 6ft (~2m). Great breakfast, too. Best I have had in a hostel. High recommend.

Disliked: Nothing. I stayed in much worse hostels my frist time around in Europe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Ossenberg

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 July 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable, comfortable, close to the museums

Disliked: The floor of the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly (there were pubic hairs on the floor behind the bathroom door).