We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

87.2% Overall Rating

1413 out of 1506 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

"Good location. It was nice to stay somewhere not in the party centre, but close enough to walk to it"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 84.6% 781 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 87.3% 2300 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
30.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
13.28 USD

Hostel 64.0% 323 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
13.92 USD

Hostel 68.7% 4283 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
12.64 USD

Hostel 62.3% 534 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1413 out of 1506 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 892 of 1453 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Free towels. Heating and AC control. A few steps away from the Van Gogh museum. Great!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Patricia Payne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The staff were super unfriendly; some of the worst I've ever encountered. The wifi almost never connected. At one point I asked a staff member if she could reset the wifi and her response was "I never use wifi when I travel. You should go out into the city instead of being on the internet." They also never clean the washrooms or anything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Nelson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Good breakfast. Clean. Near museums. Great shower.

Disliked: Pretty far from nightlife - while it was very close to the one Liedesplein area (which is a great area) it made it so that we only went there each night. Also, our 8 bed room had the bathroom inside. Which at first I thought was a plus because you do not have to walk all the way to the bathroom at night. But it is definitely a negative because you have to wait a really long time and plan around the fact that everyone wants to use the bathroom at the same time especially in the mornings. And it is annoying even more so as a dude who needs to take a dump when lots of girls are hanging out in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Howells

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 May 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean rooms, good bathrooms, good value for money

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good and the hostel itself looked very modern.

Disliked: Stayed in an 8 bed dorm that had a small private bathroom which made things a bit cramped. I felt that it was just a hotel room converted into a hostel dorm. However it was cleaned everyday.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Domingos Silva Neto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Domingos would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing in special. Maybe the location.

Disliked: The chineese guy working in the reception is too rude and asshole.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice atmosphere, close to public transport.

Disliked: Far from the railway station.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014

Liked: Very Clean, comfortable beds even in a bunk.

Disliked: En suite bathroom shared with 6 people is not ideal, usually there are more communal toilets dotted about to offset this problem. In Van Gogh however there is only one communal toilet, and it's on the ground floor. Coupled with an extremely slow and very small lift, again which there is only one of, means that if the hostel is busy you will have trouble getting into a bathroom when you need one. Also this place is more of a hotel than a hostel, so very little atmosphere or character. Basically if you need somewhere clean to sleep and nothing more then this is fine. Any more than that and you should look elsewhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although it was a hostel, it rather looked like a hotel. Very modern and very clean. It's located in one of the best neighbourhoods in Amsterdam, max 5 min walking from the major party area, Leidseplein. And about 15 min from the most amazing Jordaan.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic location, great breakfast,nice staff

Disliked: No kitchen area really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuning Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Shuning would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: the chinese reception guy was not patient enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HONG CHIEN TAY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 HONG CHIEN would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean en-suite bathroom and generally worth the price!

Disliked: HONG CHIEN left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Bit expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Suarez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and hospitality

Disliked: Needs better bicycle renting services

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Borg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables, a shower in your room and the making of your bed make it a much more enjoyable stay away from the comforts of home. Tucked away in a fantastic location, I would highly recommend a stay here.

Disliked: The only few (minor) things that one could even complain about was that the key to my room never worked. I had to get it fixed a few times (easily done so though) and that staff moved luggage from the overflowing luggage room and moved some to behind the reception desk. Obviously my luggage was in good hands, however this was done without my knowledge which want at first I began to freak out, thinking my things were stolen!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Gilpin

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms where very nice and the hotel is in a great part of the city

Disliked: The shower room flooded and all we got was a bunch of towels to clean it up. Also one member of staff kept complaining about our dorms noise despite us not making any noise at any point!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

georgia ingram

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 georgia would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, location

Disliked: staff were a bit unhelpful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carlie Tanner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Carlie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and tidy, the rooms were well designed with safes for each person and a personal charging point and reading light. Also, the bathrooms were very modern with free shower gel/shampoo and clean towels as well as warm showers all day.

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere to the hostel - it felt more like a hotel at times. The "communal area" was more of a breakfast room in a hotel, mostly out of use after the morning. Also, the manager (I think, he was wearing a suit and seemed in charge) was quite rude - but it was to everyone so don't feel singled out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikoleta Vajagic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2014 Nikoleta would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great - very central, close to everything. The rooms are also fantastic. Probably the best hostel rooms I have ever seen.

Disliked: The only negative is the staff - or better yet one particular person who worked there. We were a group of 5. Firstly, we were questioned if this hostel is even ideal for us as it is according to front desk person "a hostel for people younger than 40". Talk about discrimination an insult at the same time, considering none in our group is over 40 years old. Secondly, based on this person's assumption that we will most likely not be interested in socialising with the 6th person (in case our 1 free bed had to be given to someone), we were forced into paying for the 6th bed. The front desk staff man told us he had the right to refuse our booking if we were not ready to pay for that extra bed. Personally, I think he just wanted to make more money and 'fill up' that bed. Needless to say, completely unacceptable behaviour from this certain individual.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Very clean and in a great location. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Wannop

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 March 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , safe and easy to find.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing and a right bargain!!! (5 euros)

Disliked: The reception staff are sooooooooooo rude, unhelpful and unfriendly!! Terrifying to ask them anything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the vondelpark, pc hoofdstraat, musueumplein(rijksmuseum), leidse plein. Very helpfull staff and our room was perfectly clean. This was my second stay so i would recommend it to other travellers.

Disliked: Across the street there is a school for little kids. If you stay during the week and sleep on the schoolside, there might be noice in the early morning (playing kids).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Cillian Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014

Liked: Nothing a cold unfriendly place an unpleasant experience People aka staff make a hostel and the people here are very bad at their job.the worst I've encountered in the world

Disliked: All of The staffs( we encountered about 6 different receptionists) coldness unfriendliness unhelpful ness bad attitude slowness rudeness and general lack of people skills or hospitality which is to be expected in a hostel especially at such a high price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had superb bathroom facilities.

Disliked: At €33 (in advance!) it was probably a bit pricey, but it's difficult getting a bed for only the Satdy nite in Dam.