HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 93%

Safety 89%

Staff 79%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.95USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 93%

Safety 89%

Staff 79%

Value 79%

Showing 21-30 of 240 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff who would mark places they recommended on a map provided, or show you how to get to where you wanted to go. There's a computer in the reception which is free for the guests to use, and the wifi was great. Check out was at 11am but my flight was in the evening and they had a locker room that I could store my luggage in till then free of charge. Bathroom was cleaned and towels replaced daily.

Disliked: Breakfast was not great quality but what you expect for 6 euro.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean rooms, comfy bed and duvet, secured area

Disliked: a bit far from the main area, around 30min walk to red light district, around 10min walk to leidsplein but tram station is very close.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The locations is near the main museums and some attractions, safe and beautiful area to explore around.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property has excellent location, tram runs right on the street in front. Most famous museums are within few hundred meters (van gogh, rijksmuseum etc) and more famously the I am Amsterdam symbol :) connectivity is good. And the Breakfast Buffet is amazing, too good, the spread is huge with 3 kinds of breads, hams, butter, tea, coffee everything. We had paid for it earlier so we got a 1.5 euro each person of. So highly recommended. And it's certainly safe.

Disliked: Maybe the bathrooms should be atleast cleaned on daily basis.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really good location and within walking distance to lots of major attractions, restaurants and public transport lines. All of the facilities described were available and it was really easy to check in and come and go as you pleased. The lockers in the rooms were convenient and easy to use and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The facilities are in need of repair and upkeep which doesn't come across in the photos of the hostel. The carpets are really gross and should be replaced, the shower head in our room was broken and was being held up by a plastic bag. The ventilation facilities weren't very good and the room was humid and stuffy. The staff at the front desk were a little rude and were annoyed at being asked for help.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: really enjoyed my time at the hostel in Amsterdam! I liked how the staff was helpful and informative. Also no smoking inside the hostel.

Disliked: The only thing I did miss is a bar in the hostel, yet Amsterdam is so alive at night that it didn't matter so much (although it could've been nice to have a bar in the hostel)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: I stayed in a single room. Though small, it was very well equipped, including a Nespresso coffee machine. The staff were freindly and willing to help. The location is excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: this place is just a few minutes away from Rijks Museum. We could walk to all attractions within 30minutes.

Disliked: nothing much. i just stayed for a day in Amsterdam.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It has a hotel-like atmosphere. The staff wasn't very helpful. It's very expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability