We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

81.4% Overall Rating

1445 out of 1540 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2015)

"Most of the staff is friendly and welcoming and the room was clean. We were staying at the ground floor so we did not have to use the elevator , though in front of our door was most of the time people waiting for the…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
34.37 USD

Hostel 86.4% 788 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.69 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2318 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
49.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
21.13 USD

Hostel 63.7% 333 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.80 USD

Hostel 73.3% 4304 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
15.56 USD

Hostel 64.6% 540 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
38.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hotel Blyss
41.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

1445 out of 1540 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 915 of 1490 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, tv

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Firstly, it is a HOTEL not a hostel. There was no atmosphere and meeting fellow travelers was very difficult. The luggage room was ridiculously crowded, so crowded that you couldnt open the door to get in. Bags piled up to my stomach!! The 'kitchen' was not a kitchen! You had access to a fridge, microwave and sink. No hotplate/stove for cooking. Also my friend got bed bugs on the second night there. The manager was not willing to help or even accept that it was from his hotel. We had to make them change the sheets, after they did not we had to insist we change beds. Not very happy!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room, friendly staff.

Disliked: Bunks in the dorms are small and close together.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They've just been renovated so everything's new. My friends and I stayed in a ensuite room and the bathroom's just like the one in a hotel. They even got a TV in the room!

Disliked: About the hostel, nothing really. But bad room mates can turn a 5 star hostel into a nightmare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hakan Ezgi Kizilöz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Hakan Ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: it was the best hostel I've stayed in so far.. it was clean, rooms are large enough, real safe boxes for everyone (inside the room), great location..

Disliked: just a little bit expensive.. oh, and hostel staff watched tv, drank beer and slept in our room on our second night which was not nice!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the museums and tram access. We took the tram everywhere so it was perfect. The bathrooms were very nice and the beds were clean. The free wifi and safes in the room were also very nice.

Disliked: Sharing the room with the partiers that got in real late, but that was to be expected in Amsterdam.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new and clean. Nice and close to park, bit of a walk into the centre, but there are trams/buses you can catch. Or hire a bike as Amsterdam isnt too big to get around in.

Disliked: The communal area wasnt very social, more for just breakfasts and no bar area or anything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The furniture is modern and comfy. The bathroom is great, very modern and good quality. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay, there is plenty of food for a good price. Coffee could be better.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and safe

Disliked: no enough social facilities

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: The staff were not helpful and almost rude!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Marmion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel than a hostel, clean dorms with good bathrooms.

Disliked: Far away from town center, needed more information on transport.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

william johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: clean facilities and efficient staff,clean towels

Disliked: room stuffy 8 beds too many for its size

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joao Paulo Pizani Flor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Joao Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms are very spacious and clean, the people are usually quiet and respectful. The location is just WONDERFUL, within walking distance of many, many interest points.

Disliked: The 8-person dorm is the same size as the 6-person one, so the beds are too much crowded together. Also, the breakfast is paid separately, which makes the price of the stay a bit too high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff helped me as I needed a doctor - they called and booked for me and when they realized the doctors was closing they arranged for the doctor to meet ne at the pharmacy! They went above and beyond. We also left valuables in the room with no problems.

Disliked: No problems

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Dale

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked neat and tidy plus it was easy enough to find.

Disliked: The staff were unable to simply print something off, it had to be emailed to them first. This wouldn't have been so bad, had it not been for the fact that somehow they didn't receive any of my emails. I was literally in the lobby emailing them from across the room and it somehow didn't work. Strange. Also; 2 out of 3 of the staff were sarcastic and snide, and this didn't improve the stay. Thirdly; there is one shared wet room/toilet/shower per 8 person dorm. In the end, no one wants to use the toilet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very confortable like a hotel

Disliked: The problem is at night to come back from the center you have to wait for The bus...in the Morning i always walked because its like 30min by walk Of distance... Next time i will book in around the principal spots Of amsterdam Near The party

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Marcelo Fronza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: People are always available...

Disliked: The price is so much expansive...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gabriel Guzovsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and polished.

Disliked: Nothing in special

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel, Very modern. All newly furnished room and kitchen area. Free wifi and use of safes. In a great location and close to transport. Very good.

Disliked: Some of the people working there were a little unhelpful and unfriendly. One of the boys in our room vomitted through his bed in the night and it wasn't cleaned until after 1pm the next day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near by the city. Great for backpackers.

Disliked: It's crowded

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: staff is bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen George

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good location and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: They squeezed 8 beds into a room so that it was very hard to move, but as it was one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam I don't think it is fair to complain.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katy Boyce

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Comfy beds. Gorgeous shower.

Disliked: Bit far out from the centre but nothing we couldn't manage. Could do with a pool table or more of a communal area.