HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

83.4% Overall Rating

1365 out of 1455 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Cynthia Cincotta thinks…

"the hotel was beautiful, clean and very good value for money. It was close to everything but far enough that you felt you were away from the hustle & bustle. excellent"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
37.10 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
31.91 USD

Hostel 87.1% 2273 reviews
Trianon
29.25 USD

Hostel 66.7% 314 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
27.92 USD

Hostel 62.1% 4268 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
25.25 USD

Hostel 64.6% 527 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Blyss
58.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
31.11 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

1365 out of 1455 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 867 of 1406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

evren avsar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

24 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The hotel staff is considerably mean. Hotel is designed to accommodate as much as people it can but this is in contradiction with the Amsterdam architecture.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: The room was very noisy due to ventilation that we couldn't turn of.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, with good features, and well located

Disliked: a bit expensive, but amsterdam is usually like that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Very close to attractions. Whenever we had a question, the staff was friendly.

Disliked: The directions could have been a little clearer. The hostel is a bit hidden on the side street. As well, they should lock the front door at night. When we walked in after midnight, they did not ask to see a key or our ID.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, friendly staff, internet services

Disliked: more of a hotel, no real hostel coziness so to speak

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clayton cardoso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Very neat and comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is somewhat pricy (€5,- as of Jul/2011)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the location near the museums is perfect, the facilities are very convenient, each room having its own bathroom...

Disliked: The toilets inside the bathroom is a (very) small inconvenience

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are beautiful - it used to be a hotel, so dorms had a big flat-screen TV and shiny ensuite bathrooms. Also, WAY cheaper than other hostels because it's a bit out of the city center (maybe a 10 minute walk). Free use of the computers was also a plus.

Disliked: It's away from most of the activity - out of the center by the museums, which is nice if you want quiet, but annoying to have to walk back if you want to be closer to the city center - it also means the hostel isn't very active or social. Also, they weren't really set up yet when I was there, so a lot of the beds were just mattresses on the floor, and there were no lockers yet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was well run and efficient and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I thought the breakfast was substantial enough for four euro. Although the hostel may appear quite far out from the city centre, it's a nice, scenic walk in through Amsterdam's spectacular streets.

Disliked: In terms of fun, this hostel was a bit of a disappointment. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to young travellers looking for a hostel with a buzz. Even the nightlife in the surrounding area was dull. But I guess it's a sacrifice worth making to get away from Amsterdam's dodgey city centre at night. Also, although it was nothing huge, I was on quite a high up top bunk. However, the ladder was facing the wall so it was a bit of a scramble to get into bed. Oh and my safety deposit box was broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YUAN YAO SU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 YUAN YAO would recommend this property

Liked: just next to Van Gogh museum!! great!!

Disliked: no kitchen...it's not kitchen, too too small....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lena Blobel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel, great rooms and service, awesome location for sightseeing

Disliked: nothing :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, nice breakfast (for 5 euros), and really good shower.

Disliked: Pricey, but normal for Amsterdam. Noisy guests (but obviously not the hostel's fault).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: ok

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Leo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2011 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: There were private safes for each bed. Toilet was clean and lovely. Towels and linens provided free.

Disliked: Nil.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 6-bed room, each individual bed had a plug socket and lamp, and the room itself contains individual safes for each individual. The mattress itself was comfortable, and the lcd television was pretty good. In the reception/lobby area the internet is free to use via two computers.

Disliked: The asian guy at the front desk is incredibly rude. The school is directly opposite the hostel itself, so prepare yourself to be awoken by kids screaming. Closing the window reduces the noise, but when it's warm outside and you have other room-mates, that isn't really an option.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was like a hotel. the room was clean and i felt safe. it is in a great location and the staff are services are very good!

Disliked: the room was a little small but still comfortable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Besides all the bad reviews it gets online, it's not a dirty hole at all... it's real good value for money, staff is friendly and it's brilliantly located.

Disliked: Breakfast was not amazing, but I was not expecting anything good anyways.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dorms, free internet and drinks, late breakfast and checkout

Disliked: Too far away from the CBD, each bunk touches the next one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, new and comfortable. good facilties

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice looking and clean

Disliked: it's right next to a pre-school

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite new and clean. The staff was ok and the common room very confortable.

Disliked: It is located near the museums but far from the centre. There is a kindergarten in the same street and children are very loud when they are playing outside (at 9 am).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Weese

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so clean and nice. I felt like I was staying in a hotel the whole time. The location is a walk from the city center, which I liked because I could get away from the noise. It's close to the Van Gogh Museum and a huge park which is great for just laying around.

Disliked: The asian guy at the front desk is a jerk. He argues with everyone and has little patience for customers. I brought him my laundry because they offer that service and he told me they wouldn't do it because the load was too big and pointed me to the direction of the nearest location to do my own load. I've had my laundry done at various facilities and have never had that problem. I think he just didn't want to do it because I came 30 minutes before the cut-off time. I met a girl who had the same issue and I witness his attitude towards several other customers. It was very off-putting. It's also not a great place to meet people since the common area is more like a hotel dining area than anything else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niclas Svensson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 July 2011 Niclas would recommend this property

Liked: That it was so near everything and its a perfect place for those who doesnt have a lot of money. Nice and cosy athmosphere

Disliked: That they only had a few toilets