HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

82.4% Overall Rating

1371 out of 1462 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Connor Ford thinks…

"Comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Good breakfast with bacon. Luggage room was easy enough and free. There are lockers in the room so valuables can be really secured."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
34.01 USD

Hostel 84.6% 776 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
24.95 USD

Hostel 87.2% 2275 reviews
Trianon
22.98 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
24.95 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4271 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
17.06 USD

Hostel 62.6% 529 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
39.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
19.63 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

1371 out of 1462 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 872 of 1413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011

Liked: The facilities were pretty good. Wifi set up throughout. Everything seemed kind of new.

Disliked: The staff was the absolute worst I have ever experienced. They overbooked my room my first night, so when I got back that night I didn't have anywhere to sleep. They managed to find a new room with an extra bed, and I had to move out very quickly at 1 in the morning. Later on, I realized I had left my (very expensive hiking) shoes in my first room while packing up quickly, and the staff wouldn't let me back in to get them, even though it was their fault. Fortunately I ran into someone else who was staying in the room, and they let me in. The staff was also terrible with directions. They lead me astray twice with ridiculous maps going in the complete wrong direction. At first I thought I was making the mistake, but everyone else I spoke to said the same thing. The hostel was also a pretty decent walk from anything of interest, so you have to take the tram everywhere. The cost of the tram adds up pretty quickly, and it stops running at midnight, so you've got to catch the night bus (only 1 per hour, and even more expensive) after that. This was the most expensive hostel I've stayed in since I've been in Europe, and also the worst. Incredibly unprofessional staff (even by hostel standards), and boring location. It is a total rip off, and I would not recommend it at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lena Fjær

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: no toilet anywhere except for the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good & cheap breakfast Nice position, near the museum and not sor far from the city center

Disliked: Cheap Parking lots are a bit distant! Olympische stadium is a good choice!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bathrooms, free computer services

Disliked: Not a very close location. Far walk to many things

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, more like a hotel. Had a safety deposit box per person.

Disliked: Arrived at 12pm and couldnt check in until 2. Was 'greeted' by one of the rudest people I've ever met. Least helpful, couldn't care less. When we eventually checked in he rushed through everything forgetting to mention that there was an extra tax ontop of what we had to pay and then threw some leaflets at us. Apart from him the other staff seemed helpful and the hostel was good overall.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

evren avsar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

24 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The hotel staff is considerably mean. Hotel is designed to accommodate as much as people it can but this is in contradiction with the Amsterdam architecture.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: The room was very noisy due to ventilation that we couldn't turn of.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, with good features, and well located

Disliked: a bit expensive, but amsterdam is usually like that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Very close to attractions. Whenever we had a question, the staff was friendly.

Disliked: The directions could have been a little clearer. The hostel is a bit hidden on the side street. As well, they should lock the front door at night. When we walked in after midnight, they did not ask to see a key or our ID.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, friendly staff, internet services

Disliked: more of a hotel, no real hostel coziness so to speak

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clayton cardoso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Very neat and comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is somewhat pricy (€5,- as of Jul/2011)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the location near the museums is perfect, the facilities are very convenient, each room having its own bathroom...

Disliked: The toilets inside the bathroom is a (very) small inconvenience

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are beautiful - it used to be a hotel, so dorms had a big flat-screen TV and shiny ensuite bathrooms. Also, WAY cheaper than other hostels because it's a bit out of the city center (maybe a 10 minute walk). Free use of the computers was also a plus.

Disliked: It's away from most of the activity - out of the center by the museums, which is nice if you want quiet, but annoying to have to walk back if you want to be closer to the city center - it also means the hostel isn't very active or social. Also, they weren't really set up yet when I was there, so a lot of the beds were just mattresses on the floor, and there were no lockers yet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was well run and efficient and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I thought the breakfast was substantial enough for four euro. Although the hostel may appear quite far out from the city centre, it's a nice, scenic walk in through Amsterdam's spectacular streets.

Disliked: In terms of fun, this hostel was a bit of a disappointment. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to young travellers looking for a hostel with a buzz. Even the nightlife in the surrounding area was dull. But I guess it's a sacrifice worth making to get away from Amsterdam's dodgey city centre at night. Also, although it was nothing huge, I was on quite a high up top bunk. However, the ladder was facing the wall so it was a bit of a scramble to get into bed. Oh and my safety deposit box was broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YUAN YAO SU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 YUAN YAO would recommend this property

Liked: just next to Van Gogh museum!! great!!

Disliked: no kitchen...it's not kitchen, too too small....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lena Blobel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel, great rooms and service, awesome location for sightseeing

Disliked: nothing :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, nice breakfast (for 5 euros), and really good shower.

Disliked: Pricey, but normal for Amsterdam. Noisy guests (but obviously not the hostel's fault).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: ok

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Leo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2011 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: There were private safes for each bed. Toilet was clean and lovely. Towels and linens provided free.

Disliked: Nil.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 6-bed room, each individual bed had a plug socket and lamp, and the room itself contains individual safes for each individual. The mattress itself was comfortable, and the lcd television was pretty good. In the reception/lobby area the internet is free to use via two computers.

Disliked: The asian guy at the front desk is incredibly rude. The school is directly opposite the hostel itself, so prepare yourself to be awoken by kids screaming. Closing the window reduces the noise, but when it's warm outside and you have other room-mates, that isn't really an option.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was like a hotel. the room was clean and i felt safe. it is in a great location and the staff are services are very good!

Disliked: the room was a little small but still comfortable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Besides all the bad reviews it gets online, it's not a dirty hole at all... it's real good value for money, staff is friendly and it's brilliantly located.

Disliked: Breakfast was not amazing, but I was not expecting anything good anyways.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dorms, free internet and drinks, late breakfast and checkout

Disliked: Too far away from the CBD, each bunk touches the next one