We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

81.1% Overall Rating

1456 out of 1552 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"It was clean, quiet, and perfectly situated (at least for me) near the major museums. They also had lovely, up-to-date facilities including a hair dryer in the bathroom and safety deposit boxes. The buffet breakfast was…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
42.95 USD

Hostel 86.5% 790 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.50 USD

Hostel 84.3% 2325 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
41.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
20.98 USD

Hostel 63.8% 336 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.67 USD

Hostel 68.2% 4315 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
25.39 USD

Hostel 65.0% 542 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

1456 out of 1552 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 923 of 1501 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Harland

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: It's proximity to the museums

Disliked: the check in and check out times

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Buckley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredibly clean and modern. The rooms were lovely, with large flat screen tvs, comfy beds, large and modern shower, and a personal safe for each guest. There was also some great little touches like a full length mirror and coat hooks. It made it feel more like a hotel than a hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful, we had to change rooms (a problem with other guests, not the hostel) and it was sorted out really easily and quickly. The 5 euro breakfasts were really delicious with a massive variety of food (breads, fruits, meats, cheese, spreads, various juices and hot drinks) and was always restocked and plenty of food. The internet was free too!

Disliked: There was one shared bathroom in each room, with up to 8 people sharing it. Didn't think this was enough, but didnt have any problems during my stay. Althought the internet was free, there were only 2 computers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne Enoch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere; great location; very helpful staff.

Disliked: NA

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for museums

Disliked: Expensive location as is next to museums, and you will need a taxi from central station or the red light disrict at night once public transport has finished. This will cost 10 - 15 euro's

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Abbott

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Went over and above to help - for example to print my flight ticket, borrow a plug adapter and a phone charger. Directions into town. Very impressed.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Winny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, modern, and things seemed new - safes in the room with secure locks, bedside lights and powerpoints, comfortable beds, fresh towels every day, amazing en-suite bathroom especially considering it is supposed to be a youth hostel! Overall very impressed, and the location was good, about five or ten minutes away from the centre on the tram, and half an hour's walk.

Disliked: The only thing that was a bit of a letdown was that we were unable to use the oven/stove for cooking our own meals. However the eating area was really well set up so it's not a huge complaint really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good to have a safety deposit box wide enough for a 15'' laptop in the room to store valuables. The hostel was clean and had very nice facilities. Right across the street from the van Gogh museum and Museum of Modern Art. Free wi-fi available in addition to free use of two computers in the lobby.

Disliked: It is outside the busy part of the city, so if you want to be in the action, chose a different hostel. However, it was an easy and pleasant walk (15-20 min) to city center, so I really didn't consider this a problem ever.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a stylish and very modern place

Disliked: like every amsterdam accomodation it has its price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, tv

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Firstly, it is a HOTEL not a hostel. There was no atmosphere and meeting fellow travelers was very difficult. The luggage room was ridiculously crowded, so crowded that you couldnt open the door to get in. Bags piled up to my stomach!! The 'kitchen' was not a kitchen! You had access to a fridge, microwave and sink. No hotplate/stove for cooking. Also my friend got bed bugs on the second night there. The manager was not willing to help or even accept that it was from his hotel. We had to make them change the sheets, after they did not we had to insist we change beds. Not very happy!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room, friendly staff.

Disliked: Bunks in the dorms are small and close together.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They've just been renovated so everything's new. My friends and I stayed in a ensuite room and the bathroom's just like the one in a hotel. They even got a TV in the room!

Disliked: About the hostel, nothing really. But bad room mates can turn a 5 star hostel into a nightmare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hakan Ezgi Kizilöz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Hakan Ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: it was the best hostel I've stayed in so far.. it was clean, rooms are large enough, real safe boxes for everyone (inside the room), great location..

Disliked: just a little bit expensive.. oh, and hostel staff watched tv, drank beer and slept in our room on our second night which was not nice!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the museums and tram access. We took the tram everywhere so it was perfect. The bathrooms were very nice and the beds were clean. The free wifi and safes in the room were also very nice.

Disliked: Sharing the room with the partiers that got in real late, but that was to be expected in Amsterdam.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new and clean. Nice and close to park, bit of a walk into the centre, but there are trams/buses you can catch. Or hire a bike as Amsterdam isnt too big to get around in.

Disliked: The communal area wasnt very social, more for just breakfasts and no bar area or anything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The furniture is modern and comfy. The bathroom is great, very modern and good quality. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay, there is plenty of food for a good price. Coffee could be better.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and safe

Disliked: no enough social facilities

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: The staff were not helpful and almost rude!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Marmion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel than a hostel, clean dorms with good bathrooms.

Disliked: Far away from town center, needed more information on transport.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

william johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: clean facilities and efficient staff,clean towels

Disliked: room stuffy 8 beds too many for its size

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joao Paulo Pizani Flor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Joao Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms are very spacious and clean, the people are usually quiet and respectful. The location is just WONDERFUL, within walking distance of many, many interest points.

Disliked: The 8-person dorm is the same size as the 6-person one, so the beds are too much crowded together. Also, the breakfast is paid separately, which makes the price of the stay a bit too high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff helped me as I needed a doctor - they called and booked for me and when they realized the doctors was closing they arranged for the doctor to meet ne at the pharmacy! They went above and beyond. We also left valuables in the room with no problems.

Disliked: No problems

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Dale

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked neat and tidy plus it was easy enough to find.

Disliked: The staff were unable to simply print something off, it had to be emailed to them first. This wouldn't have been so bad, had it not been for the fact that somehow they didn't receive any of my emails. I was literally in the lobby emailing them from across the room and it somehow didn't work. Strange. Also; 2 out of 3 of the staff were sarcastic and snide, and this didn't improve the stay. Thirdly; there is one shared wet room/toilet/shower per 8 person dorm. In the end, no one wants to use the toilet.