HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.60USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 271-204 of 204 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Rather brusk reception staff

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's in a really nice neighbourhood with classic buildings all around. A really nice but affordable bakery around the corner. The rooms are kept really well by the Latvian guy who looked after the rooms, work really hard and did things well. The rooms are warm, so are the showers which go up to 50. The breakfast is a good, cheap, fresh variety. The lockers use a digit code and are really secure. It's not to far from the Heineken experience.

Disliked: It was in a school district so no coffeeshops close by. Plus noise during the morning from screaming kids. Can only use the water during breakfast time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We understand the noise from the kids is sometimes unpleasant. Just to correct you, we do have free cold water available from the drinkmachine, 24-hours!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and safe

Disliked: Quiet, hard to meet people

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price/quality

Disliked: Some less enthusiastic staff members

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Eran habitaciones muy amplias, con buena luz y mucho espacio. Buenas instalaciones, aunque la atención no era muy personalizada. Muy buena señal de wifi en la habitación. Muy satisfechos con todo!!

Disliked: Un poco caro, aunque toda la ciudad es cara

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Everything was so clean and the hotel furnitures are all new

Disliked: Everything was ok

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: The staff can be more friendly. I don't expect from them to go to drink can they be more cheerful.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and tidy, great room, modern and sophisticated. Great location, walking distance to restaurants, supermarket, shops and a short tram journey to central Amsterdam. Great for families, groups and couples. Would stay again.

Disliked: No kettle in room, TV wasn't working and when we asked staff nothing was done about it. Check in and out times are very strict.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do have a kettle in our private rooms but not in our shared rooms. For the guests that stay in the shared rooms we have a kettle in the lobby which everyone is free to use.
Im sorry that your TV wasnt fixed during your stay. We always try our hardest to fix everything as soon as possible.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Loved this hostel. Very close to Leidseplein and an easy walk. Easy to get to from the airport and central station as well. Rooms and bathroom are very nice compared to any I've ever stayed in. Even nicer than some hotels. Breakfast was also good and a good value at 5 euros.

Disliked: Size of the rooms and number of beds. I was in an 8 person room, which for me is just too many people. 8 people to one bathroom can get crowded as well, but I didn't have a problem as everyone was in and out at very different hours.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved there! the location is awsome, just next to a train stop, to the I amsterdam and the Heineken Experience. If you go by foot you get to the city center in 10 minutes, and by train in 3 to 5 minutes!the acomodation is also great! if I go back to amsterdam I will be staying there for sure!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability