We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

84.9% Overall Rating

1470 out of 1569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2015)

"Felt more like a hotel then a hostel. The location was very good, less then 5min walk to both Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
39.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 791 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.83 USD

Hostel 85.6% 2332 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
992.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
23.48 USD

Hostel 64.8% 338 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.89 USD

Hostel 71.8% 4328 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
18.20 USD

Hostel 65.0% 543 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
32.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 38 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

1470 out of 1569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 934 of 1519 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleaning.

Disliked: small room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad

Disliked: Small rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fiona Smailes

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: v clean and easy, no hassle, convenient location right by tram stop, rooms v new and comfortable

Disliked: not so much a 'party hostel', mainly people going round museums etc, if you get back at 4am be prepared to tiptoe very very quietly!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were modern and clean.

Disliked: staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved everything!!! beds made everyday, met some great people from around the world, lovely staff, free internet, comfy rooms with a tv, location was near the nightlife and museums. there is too much to put it all here

Disliked: i disliked nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's okay, a typical city hostel, a little bit anonyme but nice.

Disliked: Like all accomodations in Amsterdam I found it to expensive, but I have the impression that it is the average you have to pay in this city..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed 5 people in a 6man dorm, and we liked it as it pretty much was a hotelroom with 6 beds!!

Disliked: The balconies were always wet!! But I suppose that is Amsterdam

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Limpeza, organização, preço e localização.

Disliked: Alguns visitantes não respeitam as regras sobre fumar no hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms and bathrooms, almost hotel like, the TV is great, a nice feature for mid afternoons.

Disliked: The room was a little small, so it got very warm at night, plus the extracter fan was on all night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good bathroom & ensuite, TV at the room

Disliked: rooms are small, but "normal" for hostel standards

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jack Longman

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, almost like a hotel in quality and upkeep of rooms

Disliked: A little bit far from town, but still only a 20 min walk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and the rooms were clean

Disliked: the air condition didn't work, it was too hot in the room

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Van Gogh theme was nice, and the room was small but nicely decorated and very clean.

Disliked: There was usually a long line at the front desk. Also, the hotel and hostel share a lobby, which was perfectly fine for us, but might bother some.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: alles

Disliked: nichts

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernice McAdam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Bernice would recommend this property

Liked: fab buffet breakfast cost 5 euro, worth it. bed linen and clean towel changed every day, comfy beds and plenty hot water, TV in every room. kitchen also good. security and location excellent Good hostel. worth the money. will be back here.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Stanger

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2011 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to centre of town on a tram, but nice and far away from noise for sleeping! Beautifully clean and tidy! Really comfy beds and bedding! Friendly staff (some people complained about staff, but if you were polite to them they were polite back! I saw others treating them rudely so no surprise if they were rude back!) Really appreciated that when we needed a lie in in the morning the cleaner cleaned around us quietly and was very respectful

Disliked: Nothing really- only minor problem was that my friends safe wouldn't work, but we shared, and I'm sure if we had bothered to ask it would've been fixed by the lovely staff! Oh and no fault of the hostel, but mixed rooms inevitably have snorers!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very new and comfortable hostel, the staff is friendly.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel and in a nice area. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how we had our own bathroom to our room. You had to pay for breakfast but it was worth it- it was much better than your typical hostel breakfast. Towels were provided every day, and beds made every day. It felt more like a hotel in which you shared your room with others in. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Not enough garbage bins in the rooms, only a very small one in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Felt like a hotel.

Disliked: Computers are very slow and old.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was absolutely fantastic.

Disliked: N / A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellie Bigwood

Alone

City break

03 September 2011 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and value for money!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and location

Disliked: breakfast not included

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast (only 5 euros), the nice bathrooms, the location and the easy internet access.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that the receptionists could be a bit more more smiling.