HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam

Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 79%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.91USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 79%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

Showing 271-274 of 274 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location, good sized room, good breakfast buffet, good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice toilets shared only for your room

Disliked: no kitchen!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do not have a kitches which our guest can use but our guest can use the cutlery, plates and cups. As well as a microwave and refridgerator.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located close to museums and the tram station

Disliked: Breakfast is not included in the tariff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: We stayed on a sunday and monday and had our 8 person mixed room almost completely to ourselves!

Disliked: Breakfast did not have great vegan options. Soya milk please?

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in a room with two beds and a private bathroom, so it dint really felt like a hostel. In general the hostel was really good. The bedroom was perfect and the bathroom too. There was breakfast for five euros, and I found it really nice. The location was perfect, near the museums, next to the tram, and in a walking distance of nice restaurants and bars.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is a great please is like a hotel and the staff is really friendly, the rooms are very clean and big

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Room was very good - I have stayed in worse rooms in full price hotels. Staff very helpful, and the breakfast was good value.

Disliked: Only downside was the lack of a bar, not a huge thing though.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness was paramount within the hotel, very clean and tidy. Decorated very nicely and air conditioned and thermostat in the room. The shower was amazing, bathroom was the highlight of the room. The pillows were average, a bit lumpy but the room in general was comfortable.

Disliked: Only negative criticism was when we checked out. The receptionist did not even say goodbye, nor did she even bother to make eye contact with us when we said goodbye to her. All she did was outstretch her hand for the keys. Gave off the impression that she was only concerned with the people who were currently there checking in, and paid no attention to us whatsoever. The service fell at the very last hurdle and that was a great shame.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: no cheap parking nearby

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability