We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

81.0% Overall Rating

1380 out of 1472 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Location is good. Museum is near and close to the tram stop is also easy to move. I feel a little old, but it is relatively clean facilities. Double rooms are expensive, but the hotel is in a very good position."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
32.24 USD

Hostel 84.6% 776 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
18.13 USD

Hostel 84.5% 2282 reviews
Trianon
22.01 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
24.60 USD

Hostel 65.7% 4277 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
19.41 USD

Hostel 61.1% 531 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
46.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
43.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
23.24 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

1380 out of 1472 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 879 of 1423 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

william johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: clean facilities and efficient staff,clean towels

Disliked: room stuffy 8 beds too many for its size

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joao Paulo Pizani Flor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Joao Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms are very spacious and clean, the people are usually quiet and respectful. The location is just WONDERFUL, within walking distance of many, many interest points.

Disliked: The 8-person dorm is the same size as the 6-person one, so the beds are too much crowded together. Also, the breakfast is paid separately, which makes the price of the stay a bit too high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff helped me as I needed a doctor - they called and booked for me and when they realized the doctors was closing they arranged for the doctor to meet ne at the pharmacy! They went above and beyond. We also left valuables in the room with no problems.

Disliked: No problems

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Dale

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked neat and tidy plus it was easy enough to find.

Disliked: The staff were unable to simply print something off, it had to be emailed to them first. This wouldn't have been so bad, had it not been for the fact that somehow they didn't receive any of my emails. I was literally in the lobby emailing them from across the room and it somehow didn't work. Strange. Also; 2 out of 3 of the staff were sarcastic and snide, and this didn't improve the stay. Thirdly; there is one shared wet room/toilet/shower per 8 person dorm. In the end, no one wants to use the toilet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very confortable like a hotel

Disliked: The problem is at night to come back from the center you have to wait for The bus...in the Morning i always walked because its like 30min by walk Of distance... Next time i will book in around the principal spots Of amsterdam Near The party

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Marcelo Fronza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: People are always available...

Disliked: The price is so much expansive...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gabriel Guzovsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and polished.

Disliked: Nothing in special

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel, Very modern. All newly furnished room and kitchen area. Free wifi and use of safes. In a great location and close to transport. Very good.

Disliked: Some of the people working there were a little unhelpful and unfriendly. One of the boys in our room vomitted through his bed in the night and it wasn't cleaned until after 1pm the next day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near by the city. Great for backpackers.

Disliked: It's crowded

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: staff is bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen George

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good location and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: They squeezed 8 beds into a room so that it was very hard to move, but as it was one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam I don't think it is fair to complain.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katy Boyce

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Comfy beds. Gorgeous shower.

Disliked: Bit far out from the centre but nothing we couldn't manage. Could do with a pool table or more of a communal area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the best museums, and not a far walk from anything else Extremely clean and bathrooms are in the room. They'll let you check your bags in even if your can't check in yet, and they let you leave them there even after you check out.

Disliked: They charge 5 euro for breakfast, and it's already a little expensive. If you're in the top bunk the temperature varies to extremes.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean facilities, location pretty good, free wifi, helpful staff.

Disliked: No real area to meet people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent!! The bathroom quite schick!! Stuff quite friedly. Also, one can buy museum tickets at the hostel to avoid the lines:))

Disliked: Eventhough the bathroom was clean, the room was pretty dirty:/

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011

Liked: The location of this hostel was good with cafes and restaurants nearby and a tram stop round the corner to get to town. The hostel was obviously new so the facilities were impressive. The personal safes were also very handy.

Disliked: One exceptionally rude member of staff (he shouldn't be in the hospitality trade) and the others weren't great either. The dorms was far too cramped, we had nine people in ours. The "kitchenette" consists of a microwave and the use of their fridge. The lack of a common area, except the dining area for breakfast, made this far more like a hotel than a hostel. It made it very hard to meet people. I can't help but feel this hostel has it's priorities wrong. Polite staff and a nice common area would be far more useful to travellers than a flat screen tv that you never use.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ALEXANDER MAZYIRIK

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 August 2011 ALEXANDER would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nicely designed, it felt a bit fency although it wasnt too expensive.

Disliked: It had no fridge.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Francis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, nice to be in, nicely decorated and good bathrooms.

Disliked: Strange location, away from the main centre, not good for a holiday in the red light district, but good enough to get out of it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Van Gogh is an awesome hostel, actually in the entry there is hotel written and I consider it as well. Free towels every day, daily cleaning, except Sunday, en-suite bathroom (awesome one), a safe for each bed.. beds clean and comfortable.. breakfast 5 euros, pretty good.. Location is excellent, bus to airport around the corner, tram just some steps out.. walking distance to pubs, restaurants and museums.. Strongly recommend and will definitely stay there again...

Disliked: not exactly dislike, but with no bar the interaction with people is down.. so it is pretty quiet.. Landry service is external, but you can give them a bag with your stuff and in the end of the day it is back...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff, everything works well, great bathroom, good location.

Disliked: Is very white-washed and not a hostel for those traveling alone. The layout of the hostel is very hotel-like and does not really encourage socializing or dilly-dallying in the lobby. I left after a night due to this - however, if you're after a quiet, clean, functional place in a good location to put your feet up, you're likely to enjoy this place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean,had a pleasant atmosphere, young people, located in a beautiful area near to famous museums and big park.

Disliked: we had to pay 5 euros to have a breakfast, we had to walk a lot to dam square but that it isnt a great problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean

Disliked: Location could be better but only a 10 minute tram to City Center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loction was really good (beside the museums) but all my confirmation paperwork aid 'hostel van gogh'but the property itself is advertised 'hotel van gogh'...which meant i initially walked past it trying to find it. bed was clean, nice shower,good value for money for the breakfast

Disliked: the people i was sharing with... i was alone and the people there (the majority) were all in a group and decided at 11.45pm to get up,get dressed and go to a club....this included talking loudly,putting the light on and using a hairdryer...serious lack of respect for others in the room trying to get a sleep. this isn't a refletction of the property but this was the major negative in my stay