HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

85.3% Overall Rating

1349 out of 1438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Great buffet breakfast for 5 euro. Hostel was clean and felt safe with nice rooms."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
49.54 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
36.92 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Trianon
33.57 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.22 USD

Hostel 61.5% 4255 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
33.55 USD

Hostel 69.1% 524 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
38.13 USD

Hostel 65.6% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

1349 out of 1438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 859 of 1389 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Van Gogh is an awesome hostel, actually in the entry there is hotel written and I consider it as well. Free towels every day, daily cleaning, except Sunday, en-suite bathroom (awesome one), a safe for each bed.. beds clean and comfortable.. breakfast 5 euros, pretty good.. Location is excellent, bus to airport around the corner, tram just some steps out.. walking distance to pubs, restaurants and museums.. Strongly recommend and will definitely stay there again...

Disliked: not exactly dislike, but with no bar the interaction with people is down.. so it is pretty quiet.. Landry service is external, but you can give them a bag with your stuff and in the end of the day it is back...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff, everything works well, great bathroom, good location.

Disliked: Is very white-washed and not a hostel for those traveling alone. The layout of the hostel is very hotel-like and does not really encourage socializing or dilly-dallying in the lobby. I left after a night due to this - however, if you're after a quiet, clean, functional place in a good location to put your feet up, you're likely to enjoy this place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean,had a pleasant atmosphere, young people, located in a beautiful area near to famous museums and big park.

Disliked: we had to pay 5 euros to have a breakfast, we had to walk a lot to dam square but that it isnt a great problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean

Disliked: Location could be better but only a 10 minute tram to City Center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loction was really good (beside the museums) but all my confirmation paperwork aid 'hostel van gogh'but the property itself is advertised 'hotel van gogh'...which meant i initially walked past it trying to find it. bed was clean, nice shower,good value for money for the breakfast

Disliked: the people i was sharing with... i was alone and the people there (the majority) were all in a group and decided at 11.45pm to get up,get dressed and go to a club....this included talking loudly,putting the light on and using a hairdryer...serious lack of respect for others in the room trying to get a sleep. this isn't a refletction of the property but this was the major negative in my stay

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: really clean, about a 15 min walk from the center.

Disliked: not much was wrong with the hostel, maybe not the best views from windows, ours looked out onto a brick wall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I don't think they do themselves justice in their description. It was simply awesome, very clean and bright, our room was ready before check-in time, helpful staff, good breakfast. There was even a hairdryer in the bathroom. Well done guys.

Disliked: I guess it was a bit expensive compared to other cities, but we stayed on a Saturday night, in the middle of peak season, so I would imagine all hostels would be expensive in Amsterdam during that time. I don't think there was a bar, just a small hang-out/breakfast area on the ground floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Flynn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a gorgeous part of the city. The whole place is very stylish and clean-cut. Staff were very welcoming and had great knowledge of the city. Excellent en-suite facilities.

Disliked: Could do with a more social lounge area, the eating area isn't ideal for if you just want to chill out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mohamed Mansour

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2011 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms were so clean and the breakfast was nice. And you get clean towels daily; The free wifi internet and 2 computers two you can use for free ! Very close to the tram stop , 3 minutes walk. Also the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There's no big lockers to keep your bag in in the room .. only small safes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were very nice for a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: "It's your lucky day". I guess they were out of dorms because we got a private room for the dorm-price. Wonderful. Clean fresh room, and we really loved the 5€ breakfast, recommended.

Disliked: Nothing really, the picture on the TV were a bit grainy if I have to say something. :)

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2011

Liked: It was clean and the facility was comfortable.

Disliked: The staff was rude.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011

Liked: The facilities were pretty good. Wifi set up throughout. Everything seemed kind of new.

Disliked: The staff was the absolute worst I have ever experienced. They overbooked my room my first night, so when I got back that night I didn't have anywhere to sleep. They managed to find a new room with an extra bed, and I had to move out very quickly at 1 in the morning. Later on, I realized I had left my (very expensive hiking) shoes in my first room while packing up quickly, and the staff wouldn't let me back in to get them, even though it was their fault. Fortunately I ran into someone else who was staying in the room, and they let me in. The staff was also terrible with directions. They lead me astray twice with ridiculous maps going in the complete wrong direction. At first I thought I was making the mistake, but everyone else I spoke to said the same thing. The hostel was also a pretty decent walk from anything of interest, so you have to take the tram everywhere. The cost of the tram adds up pretty quickly, and it stops running at midnight, so you've got to catch the night bus (only 1 per hour, and even more expensive) after that. This was the most expensive hostel I've stayed in since I've been in Europe, and also the worst. Incredibly unprofessional staff (even by hostel standards), and boring location. It is a total rip off, and I would not recommend it at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lena Fjær

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: no toilet anywhere except for the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good & cheap breakfast Nice position, near the museum and not sor far from the city center

Disliked: Cheap Parking lots are a bit distant! Olympische stadium is a good choice!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bathrooms, free computer services

Disliked: Not a very close location. Far walk to many things

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, more like a hotel. Had a safety deposit box per person.

Disliked: Arrived at 12pm and couldnt check in until 2. Was 'greeted' by one of the rudest people I've ever met. Least helpful, couldn't care less. When we eventually checked in he rushed through everything forgetting to mention that there was an extra tax ontop of what we had to pay and then threw some leaflets at us. Apart from him the other staff seemed helpful and the hostel was good overall.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

evren avsar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

24 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The hotel staff is considerably mean. Hotel is designed to accommodate as much as people it can but this is in contradiction with the Amsterdam architecture.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: The room was very noisy due to ventilation that we couldn't turn of.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, with good features, and well located

Disliked: a bit expensive, but amsterdam is usually like that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Very close to attractions. Whenever we had a question, the staff was friendly.

Disliked: The directions could have been a little clearer. The hostel is a bit hidden on the side street. As well, they should lock the front door at night. When we walked in after midnight, they did not ask to see a key or our ID.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, friendly staff, internet services

Disliked: more of a hotel, no real hostel coziness so to speak

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clayton cardoso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Very neat and comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is somewhat pricy (€5,- as of Jul/2011)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the location near the museums is perfect, the facilities are very convenient, each room having its own bathroom...

Disliked: The toilets inside the bathroom is a (very) small inconvenience

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing