HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 79%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 78%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.82USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 79%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 78%

Value 81%

Showing 11-20 of 207 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The rooms are very nice

Disliked: Very poor customer service. Tha staff in the counter is not friendly at all...

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: I though the location was great - easy to find and in a quiet part of the city. The breakfast was very good value for money. I enjoyed staying in the female room - was lucky to have respectful room mates.

Disliked: A few comments are about the slightly unfriendly receptionist - which I would agree with. Yet the other members of staff totally make up for his downfalls. I felt that he spoke fast, was hard to understand and his manner wasn't terribly welcoming, yet the other receptionists - particularly the female were very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: breakfast is good, not far from the centre.

Disliked: No bar or place to drink inside

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice location, rooms felt modern and clean. Bed comfortable. Fresh towels every day even staying in the hostel part. Would consider staying again.

Disliked: Nothing really, fitted my purpose for my trip to Amsterdam. Only a small problem was a small safe with very little other room for anything other than passport etc.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The 8 bed private room was perfect for our group and the bathroom was extremely modern and clean. The shower was great and then beds were comfortable. Located in short walking distance of the tram, museums, supermarket and IAmsterdam sign, this hostel was ideal for our needs. I was very impressed by the fresh towels that were delivered each day top.

Disliked: There was a children's school right beside the hostel and their play area was between our building and theirs so we were woken by very loud playing children at 8 am each morning and they would be outside playing all day so there wasn't much chance of a lie in. The reception staff were professional but not overly friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very close to city centre, just a few meters from some of the most famous museums of Amsterdam, direct tram to centraal station

Disliked: The noise of the lift which was close to my room

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the location

Disliked: the cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were very clean & the staff was very nice

Disliked: There were no rules enforced..I had terrible roommates who smoked weed in the room, talked all night & came in all throughout the night talking..there needs to be more signs about being personally responsible for ones actions. Maybe I just got unlucky & the weekend is crazy here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: its close to centraal station by tram only 15 min. the staff who receive me spoke spanish so i could understand her. the room is clean. confortable. good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was fantastic! First time staying in a hostel we stayed in private room for 6 people, beds very comfy, bathroom/shower great & we all felt very safe. Will definitely go back!

Disliked: Very minor but only thing I can think of- Reception day staff not the happiest but helpful. Night reception staff very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability