We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

82.1% Overall Rating

1381 out of 1473 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

Carly Bearder thinks…

"I, a solo travelling fremale from Australia, only stayed at Hostel Van Gogh for 2 night and was had a great stay. The hostel was clean and the staff were helpful (the desk was mannwed 24/24 which…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 84.6% 776 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
22.14 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
Trianon
18.98 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
18.98 USD

Hostel 65.7% 4277 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
13.90 USD

Hostel 61.1% 531 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
20.18 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

1381 out of 1473 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 880 of 1424 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel with pretty clean facilities, friendly staff, and in a very comfortable setting. Even in a room with 5 other people, it felt like a really nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Martin

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic with great transport networks connecting you with the rest of the city. Staff were friendly and helpful and recommended some great local places for us to eat.

Disliked: The hallways smelt a bit stale at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myriam Marcet Esquerdo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Myriam would recommend this property

Liked: situation, clean,

Disliked: Breakfast not included

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good area, nice rooms and felt very safe.

Disliked: Had to change rooms halfway through the stay, but they gave us a free breakfast to compensate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard mcstraw

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the Museums Very clean rooms, regularly cleaned Easy check in and out

Disliked: No real social area to meet people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Filippo Spiller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2012 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: per il prezzo ottima pulizia e posizione ottima vicinissimo al museo di van gogh e alla piazza leidseplein

Disliked: Filippo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: The balcony from our room was awesome and the feature wall made the room really funky. It was close to some of the main attractions and easy to get to from the airport.

Disliked: None, except we got a bit confused as their sign is for Hotel Van Gogh, not Hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a welcoming quality which was evident from the vibrant and attractive communal area immeadiately infront of the entrance. If one wished to meet new people, this was an ideal place to do so.

Disliked: Our shower/bathroom looked like it was half way through construction! A workman's ladder was left in the bathroom and a large hole took up a lot of the ceiling. This also gave the bathroom a strange smell. The receptionist took a long time to get to us as she was trying to get some information for some other guests, I'm not sure why this had to take the best part of half an hour.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Forsey

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2012 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really clean and has a great atmosphere. Its literally a minute walk to the nearest tram station which takes you right into the centre of Amsterdam. Theres a really good supermarket close to the Hostel which makes eating and drinking really cheap.

Disliked: The staff were not particularly helpful. We had some issues with checking in as we arrived late. The night staff in general are useless. I had a problem with getting a drink from the vending machine in the lobby which was eating up peoples money but the guy on duty didnt care. Also be aware of the 10% booking fee which does not show up as part of your bill as we ended up paying more than we thought we would have too

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SOFIA IRAKLEIDOU

Alone

Business / conference

04 February 2012 SOFIA would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, brand new furniture and facilities, beautiful decoration, very friendly staff and very clean!! I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: SOFIA left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really safe. Close to town. Comfy beds etc.

Disliked: More like a hotel rather than a hostel - it's so big you don't have any opportunity to met anyone else.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

marc williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 January 2012 marc would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room, clean, decent location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jess lu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 jess would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, i would say its a fancy hostel, not for party, but great place for stay in great price.

Disliked: jess left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Allen

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Basically I have literally no bad words to say about the place, well maybe just one but i will state that in the negatives. Overall we had a cracking stay, check in was early, rooms were clean, except one sheet which hadn't been changed, however this was changed immediately after it was reported to staff. The rooms were kept clean each day by staff, and new towels were delivered and beds were made. Safes in your room gave you added protection for anything expensive if you needed to use it. I opted not to buy the 5 euro breakfast, however it did look very good value for money. Personally i went to the nearby supermarket everyday to stock up on food, however if you wanted to do a slightly bigger shop there was ample space given in fridges if you needed it. When we were downstairs during the day we were given the tv control to the large tv in the dining area, perfect for watching comedy central, or the African cup of nations. Bathroom was clean and the shower was very powerful and hot, no complaints with pretty much anything. Perfect location, tram stops basically outside the hostel, and also a lovely upmarket shopping street very near, in which we met Manchester city footballer Nigel De Jong. Overall a very good value for money hostel, with great facilities.

Disliked: The one thing I did not like is that there was not a toilet downstairs, so if you needed the loo while downstairs, you had to walk up to your bedroom to go. Other than that, no complaints.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALISSON LEIGUS

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 January 2012 ALISSON would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, really good people, and I can recommend it for everyone.

Disliked: Just 1 bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: It's location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BOUGHALI BACHIR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 BOUGHALI would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, moderate building, close to supermarket, and transport; helpful receptionist espcially the evening one (17h00 to 23h00); free internet, shower in the room.

Disliked: not place to meet friend, no social event, awkward phone device in the hostel (unrefundable, it means whatever change you drop in, and you use even 5 cent of it, no change will come out),

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marília Ribeiro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 January 2012 Marília would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect.

Disliked: The staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, best location, transport just at the door, extremely clean and good temperature in the rooms !

Disliked: Nothing, I liked everything :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 January 2012

Liked: Only place to stay available around Amsterdam

Disliked: The most expensive one, zero service, unprofessional dealing with customers

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the people, the location near the museum, and the help from staff when required. The place was very clean, and the security box (though small) was nice to have for your laptop/etc. The bathroom/shower was great, but had to be shared with 8 people often at the same time, which sometimes posed problems for timing & getting ready early in the morning.

Disliked: It felt a little impersonal, and there was no good "common place" to hangout that had atmosphere. The central area for all visitors was the place they serve breakfast in the morning, near the front lobby, but it doesn't have a warm feeling to it, and isn't as warm/condusive to conversation as other hostel lounges are. Also, there was one bathroom for an 8-person room which was fine, but difficult if people in your room were taking a long time at the same time you needed to get ready/go. In that respect, I would have preferred communal showers/bathrooms with the whole floor. It didn't have lockers in the room for your luggage, only a security box, so I was lucky because I trusted the people I was with, but it COULD pose a problem if you're with less friendly travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, people and the rooms were great

Disliked: Nothing, had an amazing time!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! Particularly because of the relative expense of Amsterdam, 5 euros was a bargain. The bike hiring facilities were a great idea, and such a great way to get around Amsterdam, particularly as the hostel is a little way out from the town centre. The shower was wonderful!

Disliked: The bathrooms, while nice, are very limited. If someone is in the ensuite of your room, there are limited bathrooms to use as an alternative and no extra showers at all. The directions given to the hostel were rather poor and as a result we spent a long time walking around trying to find the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very nice and well furnished. Secure and large lock boxes. Good location. Good price.

Disliked: Some of the front desk staff was not overly helpful but others were excellent.