We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

87.2% Overall Rating

1413 out of 1506 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

"Good location. It was nice to stay somewhere not in the party centre, but close enough to walk to it"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 84.6% 781 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 87.3% 2300 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
30.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
13.28 USD

Hostel 64.0% 323 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
13.92 USD

Hostel 68.7% 4283 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
12.02 USD

Hostel 62.3% 534 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1413 out of 1506 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 892 of 1453 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern and cheap. Quality bathroom

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, location is good. But I'd rather to have a free breakfast in hostel..Staffs are super kind.

Disliked: Little bit unconfortable for using the card key. If we removed it from the sensor beside door, we can't use electricity.. But it's not a room for one or two people but for 6.. In dormitory I think it's not necessary a system like that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the location! I was so glad to find such an incredibly nice hostel so close to all the museums that I wanted to go to! Additionally, I liked that I could find a hostel to stay in that wasn't anywhere near the red light district. perfect!

Disliked: It could do with a nicer place to hang out. The only room offered was the breakfast room and that wasn't very homey or nice to relax in after a day of siteseeing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean and nice facilities.

Disliked: The guy working at the front desk was very rude.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy and good value. location is perfect, in a lovely area of Amsterdam.

Disliked: NOTHING

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Curran

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 February 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location...very modern outlay

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and safe.

Disliked: No common places to meet people in the hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Reas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 February 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic modern rooms, great facilities. Cleaned very very regularly.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean airy rooms, with personal safes and key card system make you feel safe & secure.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siri Krautter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Siri would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful, guest are offered a fridge, a microwave and cuttlery, be bathroom was super clean and the beds as well. breakfast was better than in other hostels and when another guest stole a friends room key cause he lost his, she didnt get charged for "losing" it.

Disliked: the room was cleaned really well but you couldnt go out onto the balcony because the water was several centimeters high standing in there, filled with cigarettes buds and other waste. most of the safes in the room didnt work. (to be fair none of us bothered to tell the staff)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmine Signorile

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Carmine would recommend this property

Liked: I would say showers and bathrooms are very well equipped. Beds are comfortable.

Disliked: Everything was ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: Not much communal space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel with pretty clean facilities, friendly staff, and in a very comfortable setting. Even in a room with 5 other people, it felt like a really nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Martin

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic with great transport networks connecting you with the rest of the city. Staff were friendly and helpful and recommended some great local places for us to eat.

Disliked: The hallways smelt a bit stale at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myriam Marcet Esquerdo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Myriam would recommend this property

Liked: situation, clean,

Disliked: Breakfast not included

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good area, nice rooms and felt very safe.

Disliked: Had to change rooms halfway through the stay, but they gave us a free breakfast to compensate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard mcstraw

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the Museums Very clean rooms, regularly cleaned Easy check in and out

Disliked: No real social area to meet people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Filippo Spiller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2012 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: per il prezzo ottima pulizia e posizione ottima vicinissimo al museo di van gogh e alla piazza leidseplein

Disliked: Filippo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: The balcony from our room was awesome and the feature wall made the room really funky. It was close to some of the main attractions and easy to get to from the airport.

Disliked: None, except we got a bit confused as their sign is for Hotel Van Gogh, not Hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a welcoming quality which was evident from the vibrant and attractive communal area immeadiately infront of the entrance. If one wished to meet new people, this was an ideal place to do so.

Disliked: Our shower/bathroom looked like it was half way through construction! A workman's ladder was left in the bathroom and a large hole took up a lot of the ceiling. This also gave the bathroom a strange smell. The receptionist took a long time to get to us as she was trying to get some information for some other guests, I'm not sure why this had to take the best part of half an hour.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Forsey

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2012 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really clean and has a great atmosphere. Its literally a minute walk to the nearest tram station which takes you right into the centre of Amsterdam. Theres a really good supermarket close to the Hostel which makes eating and drinking really cheap.

Disliked: The staff were not particularly helpful. We had some issues with checking in as we arrived late. The night staff in general are useless. I had a problem with getting a drink from the vending machine in the lobby which was eating up peoples money but the guy on duty didnt care. Also be aware of the 10% booking fee which does not show up as part of your bill as we ended up paying more than we thought we would have too

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SOFIA IRAKLEIDOU

Alone

Business / conference

04 February 2012 SOFIA would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, brand new furniture and facilities, beautiful decoration, very friendly staff and very clean!! I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: SOFIA left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really safe. Close to town. Comfy beds etc.

Disliked: More like a hotel rather than a hostel - it's so big you don't have any opportunity to met anyone else.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

marc williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 January 2012 marc would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room, clean, decent location

Disliked: Nothing