HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

84.6% Overall Rating

1300 out of 1386 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Amy Borg thinks…

"It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables,…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Group, Stag Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. Hostel Van Gogh does pre-authorization 2 days before arrival. Please make sure the credit card you provided are valid and has sufficient funds, we reserve right to decline the booking if the authorization fails A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - Check In from 2pm - Check Out by 11 am - 5.5% City tax is not included - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accomodate all.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.45 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2235 reviews
Trianon
29.00 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
31.76 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4217 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
23.46 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
49.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
48.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
21.27 USD

Hostel 72.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

1300 out of 1386 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 833 of 1338 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie spencer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. The beds were comfortable and there weren't too many people to a room. It was clean and tidy and the bathroom attached to our room was really nice as well.

Disliked: jamie left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Cathryn Goodman

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 December 2011

Liked: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, not too far to walk into the busy areas of the city.

Disliked: Rude staff, if anything was wrong with the rooms then the staff tried to blame the customers. Very bad customer service skills. The manager shouted at my friend because she moved her valuables into a safe that worked as the one she was assigned was broken. He also removed her valuables including her passport from the safe and left them out in a dorm room where other guests were staying who we did not know. The safe in my room reset the code so that we could not get at our passports and the receptionist told me it must be my fault...which if course it wasn't. We had a private room but were still disturbed by people coming and going at all hours of the night from the dorm rooms as these are located next to the private rooms.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Kochanski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: I was really happy with our stay at Van Gogh. It was a nice, clean, new hostel and easy to find. It was a fair walk into the city center but that was well worth the trade for the nice area and buildings that we were in. It was nice that it was a little tucked away yet for those (like we were) who wanted to do alot of walking and see everything on foot it was definitely not too far out. Plus, for those who aren't into walking the tram runs a straight line from there to the main station through the city center so you can't go wrong! Very happy with our stay.

Disliked: Absolutely no complaints. Top notch hostel!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerald Chirino

Alone

Business / conference

16 December 2011 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: more like a hotel than hostel was veryyyyyyy peacefulll and clean plus modern amazing

Disliked: no , no complaints a place to really return 2 amazing great exceptional , gret service , no regrets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sami Oueslati Vidal

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Sami would recommend this property

Liked: the helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room

Disliked: even if staff was so helpful and attentive, they should be more friendly and smiling...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very modern and clean. I stayed in a 6 bunk room and it was more like a hotel than a hostel. The personal reading light was great.

Disliked: There is no refrigerator or kitchen which would have been helpful.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: to far away from the city centre.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Gwinnett

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, compact but did the job, worth the money. Good location, staff helpful.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were big and well equipped. All in all a very good hostel. Recommend!

Disliked: The location was a bit far away from the city centrum, so walking took a while. The connections with public transport were excellent, though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean room and clean toilet and shower. worth the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its moden

Disliked: Isolation

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Ng

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The room I stayed in was perfect, save for the fact that the window was faulty and couldn't stay shut.

Disliked: Could perhaps do with better directions to the hostel. It took me some time to look for the hostel after I alighted from the bus at the Van Gogh Museum station. But as soon as I found it, it was easy to get from the bus-stop to the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was every thing needed, comfortable, clean, warm and modern. The breakfast was great value for money, and it was great to have some where to stow my case while sight seeing the next day. The location was very convenient to the main centre of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that the bathroom sink did not drain

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi, nice staff, close to a lot of museums, clean and comfortable, close to the tram, and very safe.

Disliked: No kitchen available to cook in. If you leave food in the fridge chances are someone else will eat it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very modern and clean. The staff was helpful. :)

Disliked: I can't use the wifi on my mobile. When I ask the boy to help me, do the settings... my phone after never connect NOWHERE to the wifi. The MAC-address disappeard. I wasn't to happy... So don't ask for settings. :) But anything else was okay. :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william boyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: Great location of property, museums are close by.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and there was always someone to help when needed. It attracts good people and the room mates we had where very friendly. The location was great, as transport to everywhere we needed to go was just around the corner.

Disliked: None, extremely satisfied

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolina da Silva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2011 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Van Gogh is great! The room and bathroom were very clean, and the beds comfortable. The breakfast (5 euros) is good as well.

Disliked: It isn't in the city center, but it's not too far of a walk and there is transportation nearby that takes you anywhere you might want to go in the city.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hoang Trinh Nguyen

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2011 Hoang Trinh would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean. Towers were changed every day. Not so far from center. Staffs are helpful and nice. 5 eur for buffet breakfast is reasonable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean, especially the bathrooms

Disliked: It was pretty hot in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic time at the hostel and was very content with everything!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special

Disliked: atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alberto Mota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Limpeza.

Disliked: Não tem lockers nos quartos.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were so new and clean, and the toilet was much better than what I've seen at other hostels. Area seems safe as well, and near the museums, big supermarket and Heineken brewery. Just a tram-ride away from the city center. Excellent for what we paid!

Disliked: Nothing much really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good and also the rooms.

Disliked: The receptionists were not very nice.