We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

89.7% Overall Rating

1427 out of 1521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2015)

Brian Foley thinks…

"Bed very comfortable. Room, bedclothes and bathroom very clean. Great powerful shower. Socket next to each bed."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
25.99 USD

Hostel 85.9% 783 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.10 USD

Hostel 87.4% 2309 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
46.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
22.83 USD

Hostel 65.0% 328 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.40 USD

Hostel 72.7% 4294 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
20.65 USD

Hostel 64.2% 536 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
32.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 34 reviews
Hotel Blyss
27.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.0% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

1427 out of 1521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 905 of 1471 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern hostel – it's not far off by describing itself as a "hotel." Bathroom and shower were very nice, and the beds were comfy. Having reading lights next to the bed was a nice touch, as I was staying solo and all the other people in my dorm went to sleep earlier. Wifi in the room was convenient and worked great as well.

Disliked: Nothing really. Well, they knock on your door around 11 if you haven't checked out, but I overslept heinously so I don't really blame them. The vending machines were also really expensive and their juice/water dispensers unfortunately don't work outside breakfast hours.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Zainal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: It's like an upscale hostel, more like a hotel where you're sharing a room/bunkbeds with strangers! Flat screen TV in the room (not that I used it, but nice to know it's there), nice beds, nice bathroom, individual lights at each bed, free wifi, really close to tram stop, thumbs up all round!

Disliked: Nothing really! The only thing was the staff that was kind of average, which was a bit strange considering people in Amsterdam all were really friendly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KWAN YUET WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2012 KWAN YUET would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the hostel. My roomates were very friendly and the staff as well. And I liked the design of the hostel, it looked like a hotel!!! Also, the most important thing is that the whole hostel is clean. I enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the city centre (e.g. the Central Station)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Askey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: i couldnt believe how modern and clean the rooms were. great shower and bathroom and the room was so clean. fresh towels in the room everyday couldnt ask for anything else. free internet if needed and great breakfast available. i liked the location as it was in walking distance of all the attractions but also the tram was outside the hotel for easy quick access in and around the city centre. we got the bus from the airport straight to the hotel which was handy

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed my stay there... almost like a hotel especially the bathroom! :) the hostel actually not exactly in city centre but not big trouble... tram station is like 2-3mins walk and easily access to city centre. I like its location which is in quiet and safe area! All staff are really friendly :) everything was great and i think its value for money :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No curfews, very clean, comfortable beds, good location!

Disliked: Staff wasn't overly friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jesus Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 March 2012 Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, location is acceptable even when downtown is quite far. The service was good.

Disliked: Jesus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Cano Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 March 2012 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: I like how it sticks out from other hostels just because it has excellent and neat facilities. Also the staff is always looking after you.

Disliked: I don't have anything bad to say, everything was very good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shruthi Vishwanath

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Shruthi would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location. sandemans free tour comes to doorstep

Disliked: sink clogged didnt repair for more than 12 hrs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considerate people in an 8 room dorm - this reflects well on the hostel. Great location, very clean, great bathroom (clean & modern), free wifi, comfy bedding, towels provided, safe provided, kitchen facilities available, breakfast is optional (good for non-breaky eaters). The Van Gogh wall paper brightens things up.

Disliked: I found the rooms a little stuffy and airless, and the corridors a little claustrophobic, though this is one feature among many positive ones.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern accommodation and facilities. More like a modern budget hotel rather than a hostel.

Disliked: Everything was great. It's only a short walk to the main hub of shops and eateries so location as some have said, I don't think is a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really clean, the place really nice and the staff is helpful.

Disliked: The paing breakfast (5euros)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its clean and the location is great near the museums

Disliked: no

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern and cheap. Quality bathroom

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, location is good. But I'd rather to have a free breakfast in hostel..Staffs are super kind.

Disliked: Little bit unconfortable for using the card key. If we removed it from the sensor beside door, we can't use electricity.. But it's not a room for one or two people but for 6.. In dormitory I think it's not necessary a system like that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the location! I was so glad to find such an incredibly nice hostel so close to all the museums that I wanted to go to! Additionally, I liked that I could find a hostel to stay in that wasn't anywhere near the red light district. perfect!

Disliked: It could do with a nicer place to hang out. The only room offered was the breakfast room and that wasn't very homey or nice to relax in after a day of siteseeing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean and nice facilities.

Disliked: The guy working at the front desk was very rude.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy and good value. location is perfect, in a lovely area of Amsterdam.

Disliked: NOTHING

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Curran

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 February 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location...very modern outlay

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and safe.

Disliked: No common places to meet people in the hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Reas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 February 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic modern rooms, great facilities. Cleaned very very regularly.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean airy rooms, with personal safes and key card system make you feel safe & secure.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siri Krautter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Siri would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful, guest are offered a fridge, a microwave and cuttlery, be bathroom was super clean and the beds as well. breakfast was better than in other hostels and when another guest stole a friends room key cause he lost his, she didnt get charged for "losing" it.

Disliked: the room was cleaned really well but you couldnt go out onto the balcony because the water was several centimeters high standing in there, filled with cigarettes buds and other waste. most of the safes in the room didnt work. (to be fair none of us bothered to tell the staff)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmine Signorile

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Carmine would recommend this property

Liked: I would say showers and bathrooms are very well equipped. Beds are comfortable.

Disliked: Everything was ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: Not much communal space