We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

81.5% Overall Rating

1455 out of 1551 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"It was clean, quiet, and perfectly situated (at least for me) near the major museums. They also had lovely, up-to-date facilities including a hair dryer in the bathroom and safety deposit boxes. The buffet breakfast was…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
43.16 USD

Hostel 86.5% 790 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.63 USD

Hostel 84.3% 2325 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
44.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
24.41 USD

Hostel 63.8% 336 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.75 USD

Hostel 67.0% 4314 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
30.51 USD

Hostel 65.0% 542 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

1455 out of 1551 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 923 of 1501 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All Good!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natacha Bessay-Torfs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2012 Natacha would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel van gogh is a beautiful hostel, within walking distance of most places in Amsterdam and well connected to the trams. Each bed comes with its own safe which is great! I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and modern. Bathrooms in the rooms were very good. Free towels and new linen was a bonus. Breakfast was quite expensive (5euro) but once you got over that there was a huge selection of food that made it worth it. If you want to pay for transport then the tram is basically outside, however we found it was fine to walk into the centre - only about 25mins.

Disliked: Rooms were quite small for 8 beds - heads almost touching! This might be ok if you know the people but can feel awkward if you are one female with 7 guys like I was!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the museums, 30 minutes away walking from the Central Station

Disliked: Noise insulation is not quite good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms are converted hotel rooms so the bathrooms are really nice and you get free soap and towels. Wifi worked really well and the location was good if you don't like the hustle and bustle of the city centre

Disliked: Reception admitted that they were understaffed so could not attend to my broken safe (my valuables therefore needed to stay at reception). Also, needing to have a card in the slot to get light/power is annoying when people want to come and go in a dorm room. Most dorms in this price range would come with free breakfast. That said the paid breakfast looked amazing, just too expensive for backpackers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabor Mohai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, the rooms (I stayed in an 8 beds mixed one) were clean and with private bathroom that had hair dryer and shower gel. People I stayed with were nice and it was pretty quiet during the night. Breakfast in the morning was also very good.

Disliked: It was really nothing that I disliked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was so impressed with this hostel. The location was fantastic, the rooms were beautifully furnished and clean with lovely bathrooms and overall the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious. I will be recommending this place to my friends and would definitely stay here again. Very good value for money. Also loved the bike hire.

Disliked: Before I arrived, they could not find my booking on their database which was quite stressful, but when we checked in everything was fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean,good condition

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephane Wenric

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

15 April 2012 Stephane would recommend this property

Liked: Frioendly staff, super clean rooms, free wi-fi, nice breakfast buffet.

Disliked: Stephane left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

CHIA-WEN KU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 CHIA-WEN would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: the public toilet near the lobby was not really clean. some of the facilities were out of order during our stay (i.e. the lift and the public toilet) but they were repaired pretty soon.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Young

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the very clean rooms, daily cleaning service with new towels every day. Also, the breakfast was value for money with a lot on offer. The staff were very helpful too.

Disliked: There wasn't anything we didn't like about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostal, Breakfast is not included but 5 Euro for a buffet it's a good deal.

Disliked: N/A

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a TV in the room and the location.

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jia Hui Teo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Jia Hui would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place away from the Amsterdam city centre, all rooms come with individual lockers which is nice to have. Cheap continental breakfast

Disliked: Too far away from the main city centre No restaurants nearby

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JADE SCOTT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 JADE would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean and great atmosphere! nice relaxed feel which matches the location. defiantly coming back :)

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place to stay, I would call it a Hotel before a Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall I like it. Good location, clean, safe, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kelly Parker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location and it's very clean and safe. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern hostel – it's not far off by describing itself as a "hotel." Bathroom and shower were very nice, and the beds were comfy. Having reading lights next to the bed was a nice touch, as I was staying solo and all the other people in my dorm went to sleep earlier. Wifi in the room was convenient and worked great as well.

Disliked: Nothing really. Well, they knock on your door around 11 if you haven't checked out, but I overslept heinously so I don't really blame them. The vending machines were also really expensive and their juice/water dispensers unfortunately don't work outside breakfast hours.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Zainal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: It's like an upscale hostel, more like a hotel where you're sharing a room/bunkbeds with strangers! Flat screen TV in the room (not that I used it, but nice to know it's there), nice beds, nice bathroom, individual lights at each bed, free wifi, really close to tram stop, thumbs up all round!

Disliked: Nothing really! The only thing was the staff that was kind of average, which was a bit strange considering people in Amsterdam all were really friendly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KWAN YUET WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2012 KWAN YUET would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the hostel. My roomates were very friendly and the staff as well. And I liked the design of the hostel, it looked like a hotel!!! Also, the most important thing is that the whole hostel is clean. I enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the city centre (e.g. the Central Station)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Askey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: i couldnt believe how modern and clean the rooms were. great shower and bathroom and the room was so clean. fresh towels in the room everyday couldnt ask for anything else. free internet if needed and great breakfast available. i liked the location as it was in walking distance of all the attractions but also the tram was outside the hotel for easy quick access in and around the city centre. we got the bus from the airport straight to the hotel which was handy

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed my stay there... almost like a hotel especially the bathroom! :) the hostel actually not exactly in city centre but not big trouble... tram station is like 2-3mins walk and easily access to city centre. I like its location which is in quiet and safe area! All staff are really friendly :) everything was great and i think its value for money :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No curfews, very clean, comfortable beds, good location!

Disliked: Staff wasn't overly friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jesus Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 March 2012 Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, location is acceptable even when downtown is quite far. The service was good.

Disliked: Jesus left no negative feedback.