HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.02USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

Showing 181-190 of 220 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms looked like an upscale hotel (jsut with bunk beds), the bathrooms were very nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable. I was very happy to see electronic safes for each person in the rooms to avoid the hassle of a lock, and access cards to each room to avoid unwanted prowlers. It made me feel very safe, indeed,

Disliked: The only thing that keeps this hostel from havign a great rating was that during breakfast (a pretty good selection) is that the juice dispenser evidently had flies on the nozzles, such that my juice was filled with them. I pointed it out to the manager, and instead of giving me my 5 euro back, he suggested I get another cup of juice. Points down for helpfulness and cleanliness, though the room itself was great!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and clear. Wi-fi in the intire building.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location near the Van Gogh museum. A quiet neighborhood with easy access to the old city.

Disliked: No complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, modern and well maintained. The location is good.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Free wifi, very central location close to many tourist attractions.

Disliked: There was a problem with my room and the staff was less than nice about addressing it. They acted like I was asking for special treatment because they mistakenly booked 6 people to a room with 4 beds and they also forgot that my reservation was for a female-only room.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a modern Hostel, it looks like a Hotel. The bedroom was great!

Disliked: Most of the staff is very unkind and rude.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room fresh and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is good: quiet at night, in a reasonably safe neighbourhood, within walking distance from the city centre. Cleanliness is observed.

Disliked: Customer service can be improved. PS: The microwave in the canteen need some serious cleaning. Perhaps residents would have to be reminded to clean it after use.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: First time staying in a hostel and it exceeding my expectations. I was placed in a 4 bed room and it was like a hotel. Staff super friendly and helpful. I only stayed one night wish I got to stay more.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, notToo noisy, really clean, comfortable beds good showers

Disliked: Could've done with an iron or somewhere to hang clothes, was a little too hot at night.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability