We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

85.3% Overall Rating

1472 out of 1571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Tamryn-Lee Carr thinks…

"Location, beds are super comfy, bathrooms are nice (like really good shower pressure is important), so clean, really safe, all taxi drivers know about it and how to get there, amazon health store…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
40.16 USD

Hostel 87.5% 792 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.85 USD

Hostel 86.1% 2333 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
55.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
22.37 USD

Hostel 64.8% 338 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.90 USD

Hostel 69.7% 4330 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
23.48 USD

Hostel 64.8% 545 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
38.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 38 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

1472 out of 1571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 935 of 1521 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rui Zhou

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Sound proofing is not very good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Besik Samkharadze

Alone

Relaxation/spa

09 May 2012 Besik would recommend this property

Liked: bathroom was good.

Disliked: price for the quality

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephen Lewis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012

Liked: safes in rooms were good, an was cleaned everyday, an free towels!

Disliked: no kitchen... only provided us with a fridge an microwave

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PO HAN LIAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2012 PO HAN would recommend this property

Liked: Close to van gogh museum and national museum, save quite a lot of time.

Disliked: the safe is malfunctioning by chance, if it is down in the night, it's really inconvenient. The breakfast isn't included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. It was more like a hotel than hostel. Beds were made everyday and clean towels were provided.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Groulx

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice that there was a safe in our room. good size room. accomodating staff.

Disliked: we stayed in a room on the first floor at street level.... they need a seond pane of glass! there was no sound-proofing between our room and the street. not very cool.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a great location with easy tram access and walking distance of most areas. I came for Queens day and was in a perfect location to join the party and be able to shoot back to the hostel and reest in between. The hostel is very clean, and is touched up everyday, including new sheets and towels fresh. I enjoyed it vso much I rebooked

Disliked: Everything was great and I had no complaints at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Porter

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable, great location, good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing to disklike

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: Breakfast is good, but it is charged separately at 5 €/day. Bathroom just renewed. A safe in the room is available for each traveller.

Disliked: 45 €/night per person in a tiny 6 people dorm is far too much, but it seems like in other hostels it is not very different during this weekend.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and moderness of the bathroom

Disliked: Nothing really but the atmosphere in the lobby was chaotic compared to other places I stayed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Monteiro

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 May 2012 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very good! A thing it's the best hostel!!

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Lopez

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Stayed in the private rooms which were new and very clean. Great breakfast and staff very friendly. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Only thing that I complained about was about the cleaner who did not knock on our door to check if your room needed cleaning, even with the no disturb sign. The same cleaner did it 3 times. Complained to the supervisor and he was very efficient in talking quite slernly to the cleaner in front of me not to do it again and gave him a warning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All Good!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natacha Bessay-Torfs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2012 Natacha would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel van gogh is a beautiful hostel, within walking distance of most places in Amsterdam and well connected to the trams. Each bed comes with its own safe which is great! I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and modern. Bathrooms in the rooms were very good. Free towels and new linen was a bonus. Breakfast was quite expensive (5euro) but once you got over that there was a huge selection of food that made it worth it. If you want to pay for transport then the tram is basically outside, however we found it was fine to walk into the centre - only about 25mins.

Disliked: Rooms were quite small for 8 beds - heads almost touching! This might be ok if you know the people but can feel awkward if you are one female with 7 guys like I was!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the museums, 30 minutes away walking from the Central Station

Disliked: Noise insulation is not quite good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms are converted hotel rooms so the bathrooms are really nice and you get free soap and towels. Wifi worked really well and the location was good if you don't like the hustle and bustle of the city centre

Disliked: Reception admitted that they were understaffed so could not attend to my broken safe (my valuables therefore needed to stay at reception). Also, needing to have a card in the slot to get light/power is annoying when people want to come and go in a dorm room. Most dorms in this price range would come with free breakfast. That said the paid breakfast looked amazing, just too expensive for backpackers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabor Mohai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, the rooms (I stayed in an 8 beds mixed one) were clean and with private bathroom that had hair dryer and shower gel. People I stayed with were nice and it was pretty quiet during the night. Breakfast in the morning was also very good.

Disliked: It was really nothing that I disliked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was so impressed with this hostel. The location was fantastic, the rooms were beautifully furnished and clean with lovely bathrooms and overall the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious. I will be recommending this place to my friends and would definitely stay here again. Very good value for money. Also loved the bike hire.

Disliked: Before I arrived, they could not find my booking on their database which was quite stressful, but when we checked in everything was fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean,good condition

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephane Wenric

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

15 April 2012 Stephane would recommend this property

Liked: Frioendly staff, super clean rooms, free wi-fi, nice breakfast buffet.

Disliked: Stephane left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

CHIA-WEN KU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 CHIA-WEN would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: the public toilet near the lobby was not really clean. some of the facilities were out of order during our stay (i.e. the lift and the public toilet) but they were repaired pretty soon.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Young

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the very clean rooms, daily cleaning service with new towels every day. Also, the breakfast was value for money with a lot on offer. The staff were very helpful too.

Disliked: There wasn't anything we didn't like about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostal, Breakfast is not included but 5 Euro for a buffet it's a good deal.

Disliked: N/A

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a TV in the room and the location.

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly.