HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

82.4% Overall Rating

1371 out of 1462 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Connor Ford thinks…

"Comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Good breakfast with bacon. Luggage room was easy enough and free. There are lockers in the room so valuables can be really secured."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
30.07 USD

Hostel 84.6% 776 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
24.95 USD

Hostel 87.2% 2275 reviews
Trianon
22.98 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
19.70 USD

Hostel 64.8% 4272 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
18.37 USD

Hostel 62.6% 529 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
42.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
19.63 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

1371 out of 1462 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 872 of 1413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a welcoming quality which was evident from the vibrant and attractive communal area immeadiately infront of the entrance. If one wished to meet new people, this was an ideal place to do so.

Disliked: Our shower/bathroom looked like it was half way through construction! A workman's ladder was left in the bathroom and a large hole took up a lot of the ceiling. This also gave the bathroom a strange smell. The receptionist took a long time to get to us as she was trying to get some information for some other guests, I'm not sure why this had to take the best part of half an hour.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Forsey

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2012 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really clean and has a great atmosphere. Its literally a minute walk to the nearest tram station which takes you right into the centre of Amsterdam. Theres a really good supermarket close to the Hostel which makes eating and drinking really cheap.

Disliked: The staff were not particularly helpful. We had some issues with checking in as we arrived late. The night staff in general are useless. I had a problem with getting a drink from the vending machine in the lobby which was eating up peoples money but the guy on duty didnt care. Also be aware of the 10% booking fee which does not show up as part of your bill as we ended up paying more than we thought we would have too

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SOFIA IRAKLEIDOU

Alone

Business / conference

04 February 2012 SOFIA would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, brand new furniture and facilities, beautiful decoration, very friendly staff and very clean!! I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: SOFIA left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really safe. Close to town. Comfy beds etc.

Disliked: More like a hotel rather than a hostel - it's so big you don't have any opportunity to met anyone else.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

marc williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 January 2012 marc would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room, clean, decent location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jess lu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 jess would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, i would say its a fancy hostel, not for party, but great place for stay in great price.

Disliked: jess left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Allen

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Basically I have literally no bad words to say about the place, well maybe just one but i will state that in the negatives. Overall we had a cracking stay, check in was early, rooms were clean, except one sheet which hadn't been changed, however this was changed immediately after it was reported to staff. The rooms were kept clean each day by staff, and new towels were delivered and beds were made. Safes in your room gave you added protection for anything expensive if you needed to use it. I opted not to buy the 5 euro breakfast, however it did look very good value for money. Personally i went to the nearby supermarket everyday to stock up on food, however if you wanted to do a slightly bigger shop there was ample space given in fridges if you needed it. When we were downstairs during the day we were given the tv control to the large tv in the dining area, perfect for watching comedy central, or the African cup of nations. Bathroom was clean and the shower was very powerful and hot, no complaints with pretty much anything. Perfect location, tram stops basically outside the hostel, and also a lovely upmarket shopping street very near, in which we met Manchester city footballer Nigel De Jong. Overall a very good value for money hostel, with great facilities.

Disliked: The one thing I did not like is that there was not a toilet downstairs, so if you needed the loo while downstairs, you had to walk up to your bedroom to go. Other than that, no complaints.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALISSON LEIGUS

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 January 2012 ALISSON would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, really good people, and I can recommend it for everyone.

Disliked: Just 1 bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: It's location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BOUGHALI BACHIR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 BOUGHALI would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, moderate building, close to supermarket, and transport; helpful receptionist espcially the evening one (17h00 to 23h00); free internet, shower in the room.

Disliked: not place to meet friend, no social event, awkward phone device in the hostel (unrefundable, it means whatever change you drop in, and you use even 5 cent of it, no change will come out),

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marília Ribeiro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 January 2012 Marília would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect.

Disliked: The staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, best location, transport just at the door, extremely clean and good temperature in the rooms !

Disliked: Nothing, I liked everything :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 January 2012

Liked: Only place to stay available around Amsterdam

Disliked: The most expensive one, zero service, unprofessional dealing with customers

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the people, the location near the museum, and the help from staff when required. The place was very clean, and the security box (though small) was nice to have for your laptop/etc. The bathroom/shower was great, but had to be shared with 8 people often at the same time, which sometimes posed problems for timing & getting ready early in the morning.

Disliked: It felt a little impersonal, and there was no good "common place" to hangout that had atmosphere. The central area for all visitors was the place they serve breakfast in the morning, near the front lobby, but it doesn't have a warm feeling to it, and isn't as warm/condusive to conversation as other hostel lounges are. Also, there was one bathroom for an 8-person room which was fine, but difficult if people in your room were taking a long time at the same time you needed to get ready/go. In that respect, I would have preferred communal showers/bathrooms with the whole floor. It didn't have lockers in the room for your luggage, only a security box, so I was lucky because I trusted the people I was with, but it COULD pose a problem if you're with less friendly travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, people and the rooms were great

Disliked: Nothing, had an amazing time!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! Particularly because of the relative expense of Amsterdam, 5 euros was a bargain. The bike hiring facilities were a great idea, and such a great way to get around Amsterdam, particularly as the hostel is a little way out from the town centre. The shower was wonderful!

Disliked: The bathrooms, while nice, are very limited. If someone is in the ensuite of your room, there are limited bathrooms to use as an alternative and no extra showers at all. The directions given to the hostel were rather poor and as a result we spent a long time walking around trying to find the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very nice and well furnished. Secure and large lock boxes. Good location. Good price.

Disliked: Some of the front desk staff was not overly helpful but others were excellent.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, convenient, comfortable

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Svetlana Pichugina

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a Double Superior Room, which wasn't very big, but was very tidy and nice. The bad was very big and comfortable. The toilet room had a shower cubicle, the towels had been changed every day. The breakfast in the hotel is 5 Euro. It was very good (3 types of bacon, cheese, buns, fruits, juices, coffee, cornflakes, etc.) and a big value for money in comparison with the prices in the city cafes. The hotel location is a bit far from the center, it usually took about 30 minutes to get to the central streets, but it's nice to walk and look around. The best thing is the museum of Van Gogh, which is located right across the street from the hotel, so it was the first museum we visited in Amsterdam and it's a great place to go to. The bus to/from the airport stops down the streets so there is no need to go to the Central Station.

Disliked: The hotel staff were very friendly, but the guy called Jay charged us another 45 Euros when we were checking-out although we paid the whole amount when we checked-in. He said that he had made a mistake and we had to pay 45 Euro more. So please check what you pay for, or better, ask for the receipt every time you pay so there is no further missunderstanding. This was the biggest disappointment of dealing with the hotel 'cause we were very tide on money.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the safes in the room. free internet. friendly staff. location. free towels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Demarchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel. The infraestructure

Disliked: N/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal crash pad for stag do

Disliked: no problems

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, location and stuff are great, the breakfast is worth a try.

Disliked: Lack of a proper kitchen. It's possible to store food in the fridge and warm something up in the microwave, but no cooking facility available. Closer to a hotel than to an hostel (the sign at the entrance also agree on this, being "Hotel Van Gogh").

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very modern and clean. My sister and I felt very safe, one reason was the safe's inside the room and the storage facility. Staff very friendly providing information about the local area which included a nearby super makert and any food bought there could be prepared in the clean kitchen and eaten in the very nice dining area which was a great way to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was easily accessible by tram. Hot and powerful showers. Luggage room is handy. Security lockers in room.

Disliked: Staff member who checked me in was not friendly. Failure to promptly clean vomit from stairs once informed by guests, especially as lift was out of order. Expensive laundry service. It was ridiculously overpriced for New Year's Eve. Our room was way too hot, despite the air conditioning.

The property's response is...