HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.59USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 181-190 of 204 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Pleasant, competent staff. Clean and well maintained. Great location. Quiet for sleeping. Working wifi. Modern, spotless bathroom.

Disliked: Extremely small room and narrow bed.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa

Liked: This is a great, safe location (30 mins walk or tram ride to Dam Sq but right by the major museums) and the 6 person girls dorms had modern, clean facilities just like a hotel, with actual electronic safes as well as a clean, modern ensuite bathroom. Did not try the breakfast, not sure if it's worth 5 euros. I think this is great value for Amsterdam city center.

Disliked: The bunk beds were all squeezed together with no space inbetween.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location. Although not in the main area, it's really near Leidseplein, which has lots of great restaurants, cafes and shops.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms looked like an upscale hotel (jsut with bunk beds), the bathrooms were very nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable. I was very happy to see electronic safes for each person in the rooms to avoid the hassle of a lock, and access cards to each room to avoid unwanted prowlers. It made me feel very safe, indeed,

Disliked: The only thing that keeps this hostel from havign a great rating was that during breakfast (a pretty good selection) is that the juice dispenser evidently had flies on the nozzles, such that my juice was filled with them. I pointed it out to the manager, and instead of giving me my 5 euro back, he suggested I get another cup of juice. Points down for helpfulness and cleanliness, though the room itself was great!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and clear. Wi-fi in the intire building.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location near the Van Gogh museum. A quiet neighborhood with easy access to the old city.

Disliked: No complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, modern and well maintained. The location is good.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Free wifi, very central location close to many tourist attractions.

Disliked: There was a problem with my room and the staff was less than nice about addressing it. They acted like I was asking for special treatment because they mistakenly booked 6 people to a room with 4 beds and they also forgot that my reservation was for a female-only room.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a modern Hostel, it looks like a Hotel. The bedroom was great!

Disliked: Most of the staff is very unkind and rude.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room fresh and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability