HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam

Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 79%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.92USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 79%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

Showing 181-190 of 275 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, notToo noisy, really clean, comfortable beds good showers

Disliked: Could've done with an iron or somewhere to hang clothes, was a little too hot at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Clean, ensuite bathroom, modern.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and very friendly. The location is awesome.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was perfect for us. Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive, but at least it was possible nearby. We were 8 people in an 8 people private room - and for one night that was all we needed. Breakfast was quite good - at least it was good value for 5 Euro (already with the coffee we had, it beat Starbucks by far...).

Disliked: We didn't manage to turn off the shower for 2 hours. In the corner of our room was an old pair of socks...

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The quality of the rooms, the bathroom was incredible for hostel standars, excellent buffet for breakfast.

Disliked: staff wasn't very friendly

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It was very clean, the bathrooms were lovely, it was nice to see linen and towels included, the Museum Quarter is a great bit of Amsterdam to be in because it is just far away enough from the weird, crazy bit. Definitely recommend it, especially for its value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is really good. Stuf very helpful and location is excellent. Breakfast good as well. Next time when I will be in Amsterdam I'm going to stay there again. I recommend this place.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel also runs as a hotel, so the rooms look like hotel room, bright and clean and modern. First time seeing flat screen tv in a dorm room. Really like the washroom, with hair dryer. Super close to Van Gogh Museum, can just pop into the museum easily when it opens in order to avoid the crowd and baggage check line. Not in the center of the city, but easy to get around by trams. We have a balcony in our room as well. Staffs are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: small and unreliable elevator, and narrow stairs. Next to a school for young childreb, can be loud during recess time in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice area, near the main museums. Bathroom very modern and cleaned everyday as well as a new towel supplied and bed made everyday which was a nice luxury. Microwave, kettle and guest fridge was a nice surprise considering we were expecting no kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Staff very unhelpful and slow. Will not go out of their way to help and quite rude. Really disappointing given the nature of the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was lovely except for the incredibly ignorant and rude Asian man on reception. He reminded me of Mr chow from the hangover but always in a bad mood.

Disliked: You have to pay upfront, absolutely no exceptions and before you can even enter or look around. You're also right next to a kindergarten so be ready to wake up early everyday. Other than that there's a nice atmosphere in the place at night and the rooms are well specked except for the leaky shower causing the occasional flood

Check Availability