HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

82.3% Overall Rating

1368 out of 1459 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Connor Ford thinks…

"Comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Good breakfast with bacon. Luggage room was easy enough and free. There are lockers in the room so valuables can be really secured."

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
36.81 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
29.68 USD

Hostel 87.1% 2274 reviews
Trianon
23.75 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
25.07 USD

Hostel 64.0% 4269 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
25.05 USD

Hostel 64.6% 527 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
45.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
23.68 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

1368 out of 1459 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 870 of 1410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the play on van Gogh (wall papers, etc), and especially that it was just around the corner from the van Gogh museum. I also liked that breakfast was available for purchase.

Disliked: Everything was great! No complaints

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Hostel front desk people are spiteful, mean, nasty, ill-natured to all the guests.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Glaisher

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: I was placed in a mixed dorm when I had paid for a female only one but this was resolved quickly and efficiently by the management.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Willis Fleming

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room which was a great size and had a lovely bathroom. We had all the facilities we required, staff were helpful and the location was ideal.

Disliked: Rachael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The van gogh hostel was a very nice place to stay, very clean and the rooms were very nice .

Disliked: I would say the only thing i didnt like was it was sometimes a bit warm due to the other people staying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room and great location.

Disliked: Some towels we received had make up/fake tan marks on them.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012

Liked: nice bathroom

Disliked: unfriendly staff and broken elevator and safety box

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Drake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff and hostel visitors, good secure locker facilities in the rooms, good breakfast provided in the mornings, and good free WiFi facilities.

Disliked: On the weekend nights, other hostel visitors were a bit noisy, but during the week it was quite, that's just a parrt of visiting Amsterdam I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location as quiet area. Yet close enough to walk to main areas and tram stop 2 mins away! Breakfast great @ €5 !

Disliked: The only negative was our room was Above the main door which was quite noisy especially late at night. Other than that it was perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was pretty neat though it was very plain.

Disliked: Door handle in the bathroom was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Christensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms and bathrooms were clean, the common room area had a cool vibe and the hostels location was close to all the action

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Gonzalez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, modern

Disliked: Sometimes the elevator was out of order and stairs were narrow

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Massey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Lobby and room was modern, bright and clean all round, with super comfy beds and a brill shower. No problem with staff, check in was easy and friendly. If you're visiting the Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk you really couldn't be any closer.

Disliked: Breakfast was nothing special, and at an extra cost of 5 euros I would have expected better. Some might see this as an example of helpful staff, but it was relatively easy to gain access to the luggage room - just ask for the key and it's yours. Maybe the staff remembered our faces, but it felt as though anybody could ask for the key and have access to all guests' bags.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Debora Centoamore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2012 Debora would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful decoration, good beds, big showers and bathroom, TV in the room, towels included.

Disliked: Debora left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the elivaitor!!!

Disliked: no smoking room!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sue mahr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 sue would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and lovely bathroom and fab beds. Our room was nice and cool, we did heat it. the cafe area was so hot. would stay again but not on ground floor

Disliked: our room was ground floor, it had a window ledge that people sat on and talked at 11pm, 2am 420am and 7am, didn't knw we were trying to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy and well facilitated. 130kb/s up and down free WiFi. Power outlet near bed, useful for charging a phone overnight. No curfew and a late check-in is possible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very nice rooms with TV, cable, clean private washrooms, good breakfast.

Disliked: If you're coming to Amsterdam to see Museumplein and Vondelpark the location literally couldn't be better. If you're coming for the red light district it's a little ways away and the public transport is not the most frequent at night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

lluvia brito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012

Liked: The beds were comfortable and free towel, bathrooms were nice.

Disliked: Staff was not only not friendly but wouldn't even help with basic directions. It got to the point where I dreaded asking them any questions, as it was always met with a bad attitude. They need new staff who might actually be enthusiastic about sharing this awesome city with travelers. The common area didn't really facilitate meeting other people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was always willing to help and very friendly, the 8 bed bedroom was not bad at all, nice neighborhood, nice building, well connected with the transport system.perfect for a hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enrico Mazzarella

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Enrico would recommend this property

Liked: My safe box didn't work they didn't manage to fix it up during my staying. Even though great experience!! Thanks

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

11 October 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: Staff was not very polite!!! Only one shower and toilet in a 8-person dorm roo, and no extra bathroom anywhere in the building. Made a reservation for five person but it was not possible that everyone of us us paid separately :-( Very expensive on weekends(/around 38 Euros for a 8- person dorm)!!!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Heenan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and good room. Note we stayed in the private and it is really a hotel not a hostel.

Disliked: Note the location is not currently near the Van Gogh exhibit as its temporarily at the Hermitage at the time of writing. Location a bit far away.