We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

85.1% Overall Rating

1391 out of 1483 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

Carly Bearder thinks…

"I, a solo travelling fremale from Australia, only stayed at Hostel Van Gogh for 2 night and was had a great stay. The hostel was clean and the staff were helpful (the desk was mannwed 24/24 which…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all. SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 82.7% 2285 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
13.92 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
12.02 USD

Hostel 61.4% 533 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1391 out of 1483 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 884 of 1432 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was highly impressed with this hostel because it felt like a hotel. I was in a double, so I can't speak for everyone's experience, but I imagine that the other rooms were just as nice. The beds were extremely comfortable, the towels and linens were nice, and everything was very clean.

Disliked: The location was a bit farther than I thought... usually this isn't a problem, but in late November, the walk to and from the city centre felt much longer in the cold weather. However, I still recommend this hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were so clean. It was a great place to be with friends, relax after a day of sightseeing, and was close to major museums and public transit. Planning on coming back.

Disliked: Staff was not as friendly as I could have hoped. In fact, they led us to the wrong part of town when asked where a major transportation hub was. Not helpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was amazing. Plenty of room for luggage, there was a tv in the room, shower was good. Free sheets and towels. Breakfast was pricey but worth it. Cleaned it everyday and changed towels. Safes for valuables.

Disliked: The customer service was shit, guy behind the counter which I thought was the manager was really rude, even easy questions and during the check. And after he treats you rudely you see him treat other customers and staff like shit. Then there's another guy who couldn't even book a tour for us. Stood there for 25 minutes and he still messed up. The other lady want very nice either. Basically crap customer servi e! The breakfast lady was lovely!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dr. i nyoman adi suparta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 dr. i nyoman adi would recommend this property

Liked: located in the center of museum (close to stedlijk and van gogh museum) and attraction, close to public transportation, very nice and affordable price for breakfast, high speed wifi, clean, modern interior and safe, everything was perfect

Disliked: the check in time is very consuming, why we have to wait until 2 pm, while we had a lot of of thing to do and to see and make sure that we had the room we want and put our things in the room. even they suggestfor luggage room, but we are traveller prefer a room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kan Man

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Kan would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel offers what it says! It is clean and tidy, got all the necessary facilities. Love the location, it's just in the middle of the museum area.

Disliked: Not much dislikes about it. Maybe a little minor of the staff at the frontdesk. They lack a bit of enthusiasm. It all just starts with a little greeting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the room smelt and looked great! It wasn't very close to Amsterdam Central (about 15min by tram) but the tram stop was very conveniently located outside the hotel. Staff were friendly and check out was a breeze!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Directions to the hostel could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent rooms and facilities, great location.nhs email

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Jenkins

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 November 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Slightly away from the city centre but only ten mins by tram.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a bedroom with a private bathroom. The bedroom is large. In the bathroom we have a hair dryer, towels. It is clean. You can leave your luggage in a luggage room for the last day. It is free. You can have a full breakfast for 5 €.

Disliked: When you arrive at the hotel or have a question, the staff keeps on chatting if they were talking together. You have to wait and listen to their conversation...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean , big rooms , security

Disliked: quite far from de city......brekfast not included...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie broughton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, we stayed in an all female dorm and the atmosphere was amazing! The location was great, the breakfast was great! I would definitely stay again and recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a very modern building which offers very sophisticated facilities to the travellers. It is quite close to everything

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Peter Björkroth

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 November 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the possibility to choose if you want a breakfast or not

Disliked: Elevator was broken, the supply of coffe in the room (2 portions of coffee for 4 days...) towels (two last days only 1 towel (yes, I could have asked for towels,....)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the play on van Gogh (wall papers, etc), and especially that it was just around the corner from the van Gogh museum. I also liked that breakfast was available for purchase.

Disliked: Everything was great! No complaints

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Hostel front desk people are spiteful, mean, nasty, ill-natured to all the guests.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Glaisher

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: I was placed in a mixed dorm when I had paid for a female only one but this was resolved quickly and efficiently by the management.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Willis Fleming

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room which was a great size and had a lovely bathroom. We had all the facilities we required, staff were helpful and the location was ideal.

Disliked: Rachael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The van gogh hostel was a very nice place to stay, very clean and the rooms were very nice .

Disliked: I would say the only thing i didnt like was it was sometimes a bit warm due to the other people staying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room and great location.

Disliked: Some towels we received had make up/fake tan marks on them.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012

Liked: nice bathroom

Disliked: unfriendly staff and broken elevator and safety box

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Drake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff and hostel visitors, good secure locker facilities in the rooms, good breakfast provided in the mornings, and good free WiFi facilities.

Disliked: On the weekend nights, other hostel visitors were a bit noisy, but during the week it was quite, that's just a parrt of visiting Amsterdam I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location as quiet area. Yet close enough to walk to main areas and tram stop 2 mins away! Breakfast great @ €5 !

Disliked: The only negative was our room was Above the main door which was quite noisy especially late at night. Other than that it was perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was pretty neat though it was very plain.

Disliked: Door handle in the bathroom was broken.