HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh Amsterdam Hostel

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.61USD

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Party Group, Stag Party Group will be refused to check in

Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that
you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel.

A few important rules:
- Dorm room has age limit: 18-40
- We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building
- We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accommodate all.

SHARED ROOMS check in closes at mid-night , anyone who will arrive after mid night, please book a private room or somewhere else.

For shared room, we cant provide everyone a low bunkbed, for person who has physical or emotional issue for upper bunkbed, please contact us before you book

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

Showing 91-100 of 192 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice rooms which were always clean. Clean towels to borrow for free. Spacious bathroom and shower. Amazing location. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help.

Disliked: There's not a lot of atmosphere, it's more of a hotel environment, but would still recomend!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great location, close to the tram stop. Most of the staff were friendly. Good breakfast available.

Disliked: Some unfriendly staff that just didn't want to help us, one older man in particular just gave us bad directions and information. Really small rooms and no public w/c downstairs

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and welcoming staff, very clean rooms and fantastic location.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very clean, easy to find from airport bus to hostel, breakfast was nice

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, nice Breakfast.

Disliked: Staff on reception were very rude.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanliness, room size, location

Disliked: Staff could be more friendly

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were insanely nice and the bathroom was amazing. It was the best shower of my life! The breakfast was really good even though they ran out of bacon before i could have any!

Disliked: The guy on the reception desk in the morning was a little rude! The rooms were very cold.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Good breakfast with bacon. Luggage room was easy enough and free. There are lockers in the room so valuables can be really secured.

Disliked: The lockers were too small for your whole bag, but this is no differnt to anywhere else. On arrival a city tax was added to the bill, but this isn't really the hostels fault. Doesn't have a backpacking atmosphere but it is a clean and convenient place to stay. A fair walk from the train station (40 mins) but we managed with our backpacks fine.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is more like a hotel than a hostel which was great. There was a communal eating area for everyone and we got to meet people from all over the place: Australia, Siberia, England, Canada etc... Our room was clean and we weren't too squashed considering we were a room of 8.

Disliked: Not a lot of storage room for clothes. Staff were quite unhelpful except for the Irish girl who was absolutely lovely. We had booked two rooms as we had a large group and one of the receptionists made it very difficult to pay, involving us going to an ATM but she had sent us in the wrong direction to it so we were walking around for ages trying to find one. Took us over 40 minutes just to check-in. Slowest elevator in the world.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest

thank you for your review, for large group, you should have prepared the payment before arrival. it is impossible for us to accept payment one by one, it wouldl take ages and made mistake, if we forgot onw payment, no one would complain. there are 3 banks at street, it is very difficult to miss . almost every corner no matter whcih direction you go if you look carefully.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location although more of a hotel with dorm beds available than a hostel. Breakfast was 5 euro but very much worth it. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability