HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel | Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 CW

83.3% Overall Rating

1296 out of 1382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Amy Borg thinks…

"It's the small things that matter. Hostel Van Gogh is excellent value for money. In addition to the hostel experience, the small things such as maps, a fresh towel, your very own safe for valuables,…"

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We don’t accept Stag Group, Stag Group will be refused to check in Please note that the 5.5% city charge is not included in these prices and that you will be charged upon arrival at the hostel. Hostel Van Gogh does pre-authorization 2 days before arrival. Please make sure the credit card you provided are valid and has sufficient funds, we reserve right to decline the booking if the authorization fails A few important rules: - Dorm room has age limit: 18-40 - Check In from 2pm - Check Out by 11 am - 5.5% City tax is not included - We operate a no-smoking policy throughout the building - We do not ensure that everyone will be in same room if you book dorm beds, although we will try to do our best to accomodate all.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.68 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.50 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2235 reviews
Trianon
29.05 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
31.82 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4217 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.05 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
51.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
57.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
26.84 USD

Hostel 72.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

1296 out of 1382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Van Gogh'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 829 of 1333 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sue mahr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 sue would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and lovely bathroom and fab beds. Our room was nice and cool, we did heat it. the cafe area was so hot. would stay again but not on ground floor

Disliked: our room was ground floor, it had a window ledge that people sat on and talked at 11pm, 2am 420am and 7am, didn't knw we were trying to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy and well facilitated. 130kb/s up and down free WiFi. Power outlet near bed, useful for charging a phone overnight. No curfew and a late check-in is possible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very nice rooms with TV, cable, clean private washrooms, good breakfast.

Disliked: If you're coming to Amsterdam to see Museumplein and Vondelpark the location literally couldn't be better. If you're coming for the red light district it's a little ways away and the public transport is not the most frequent at night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

lluvia brito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012

Liked: The beds were comfortable and free towel, bathrooms were nice.

Disliked: Staff was not only not friendly but wouldn't even help with basic directions. It got to the point where I dreaded asking them any questions, as it was always met with a bad attitude. They need new staff who might actually be enthusiastic about sharing this awesome city with travelers. The common area didn't really facilitate meeting other people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was always willing to help and very friendly, the 8 bed bedroom was not bad at all, nice neighborhood, nice building, well connected with the transport system.perfect for a hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enrico Mazzarella

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Enrico would recommend this property

Liked: My safe box didn't work they didn't manage to fix it up during my staying. Even though great experience!! Thanks

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

11 October 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: Staff was not very polite!!! Only one shower and toilet in a 8-person dorm roo, and no extra bathroom anywhere in the building. Made a reservation for five person but it was not possible that everyone of us us paid separately :-( Very expensive on weekends(/around 38 Euros for a 8- person dorm)!!!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Heenan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and good room. Note we stayed in the private and it is really a hotel not a hostel.

Disliked: Note the location is not currently near the Van Gogh exhibit as its temporarily at the Hermitage at the time of writing. Location a bit far away.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luke ninness

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 luke would recommend this property

Liked: its no party hostel but for value for money you definitely get more for money. its very clean and staff were friendly and very helpful.located about 5 min walk from shops and eating areas,this place is must to stay at definately worth every cent

Disliked: luke left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is spacious and generally clean. Design of the rooms and hostel in general is modern and minimal. Building is not as average building in Amsterdam, which means that it is spacious, has high ceilings and is new or adapted to be like new.

Disliked: It has digital safes which were easy to broke down, even I used them properly (I am programmer, so I have no problem following - simple - instructions). I was not fixed while I was there, as a result few of my things went missing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern.

Disliked: Not much space for luggage and the locker is tiny, only enough for documents or a laptop, not all your belongings.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very easy to get to and from. Quiet. Lovely facilities, beds were fab and lovely bathrooms! I felt very safe.

Disliked: It would be nice to have larger lockers to put your suitcase inside. There is a small safety deposit box for each guest, but it would have been nice to secure the whole bag.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V clean, great location, not too noisy

Disliked: Directly opposite a day nursery with noisy kids in the morning, otherwise v quiet. No kitchenette available, just a microwave, kettle and fridge. Cutlery and plates etc are provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew van der Valk

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay was great. For the price we paid we got great value and the location was excellent - nice and central to all of the attractions. It was less like a hostel and more like hotel.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well-maintained. Great toilet and bath fascilities

Disliked: The only reason I have a bad rate in relation to the staff is, that there where a asian guy in the reception wich had a very bad attitude and acted like the custermers were disturbing him - and a smile has probaly never been seen on his face. His behaviour did not live op to the rest of the staff wich where smiling, very helpfull and serviceminded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Its right next to the musem and public transport

Disliked: Rooms are not cleaned properly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and in a nice area

Disliked: Not many facilities provided in room. Would be nice to see a TV and a kettle

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Boyce

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast Double. room and bathroom spotless, very comfortable beds. Staff generally pleasant and competent.Organisation of taxi to airport very good. Plenty of information about what to see available.Young people were not intrusive. I would come here again. I appreciated the lift as i am 70 years of age

Disliked: Steps at entrance to bump suitcase down. Fortunately only a few.No printer attached to computer. I would happily pay for the use of such a facility if available. My dislikes are very minor. Overall i was very happy with my stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Kudlek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! I'd recommend it all of my friends! And i'll come back by myself as well :D

Disliked: Izabela left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eve Albrow

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2012 Eve would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, comfort

Disliked: couldn't walk to town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iurii Vlasov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2012 Iurii would recommend this property

Liked: Great location ! because museum - 50 -100 meter, stops tram & bus - 50 meter , stop river cruise 10 -15 min walking, to city centre walking 20 - 30 min. nice & cheap breakfast - 5 EURO , friendly stuff !

Disliked: Noisy street , because school situated front of hotel - you can't sleep after 09.00 . Children play on the street .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WIFI!! As well as computers in the main entrance to use. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. It was nice that there was a lift, as my luggage got quite heavy during this part of my trip. The breakfast for 5 euros was quite substantial. The rooms were nice and spacious. The rooms have safes for each individual.

Disliked: The location was not that easy to find at night since the Van Gogh museum is not illuminated. The atmosphere is more of a hotel than a hostel as no one really hangs around the lounge. No food on site except for candy..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine

Disliked: Nothing