We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston

Hostel | Warmoesstraat, 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012JA

85.6% Overall Rating

1225 out of 1348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"The hostel is located in the red light district so is great for travellers wanting a night out like us but not for people who want an early night (people are loud outside until around 4am). The included breakfast had…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Maggy's Guesthouse
39.43 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 231 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
27.04 USD

Hostel 73.1% 1185 reviews
Travel Hotel
22.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 777 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
42.24 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.53 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
28.16 USD

Hostel 82.4% 958 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

1225 out of 1348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 894 of 1089 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in the red light district so is great for travellers wanting a night out like us but not for people who want an early night (people are loud outside until around 4am). The included breakfast had everything you would want and helped save money.

Disliked: The cleaner left our door wide open one day after cleaning so someone could have taken our stuff, they didn't but I feel they need to be more careful with this.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hannah Tully

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was so close to absolutely everything. It is a two minute walk to Dam Square and about 5 minute walk to the Red Light District. We were able to walk everywhere during our stay at the hostel, we did not use public transport once during the stay. The hostel itself is also very good in terms of their facilities. In the bedrooms we were provided with a fan, a hairdryer and hair straighteners. The rooms are extremely spacious so you don't feel cramped with people you don't know. They also offer 25% off food and drink for the duration of the stay. The bar is lovely and the staff are very friendly. They also have a lot of free vouchers at reception offering discounts on different things to do around Amsterdam.

Disliked: The wifi reception in the bedrooms was rubbish. It would connect but it would not load anything at all. As the hostel is also linked with the nightclub downstairs, you could hear the music playing until late in the night which was a bit of a pain.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sara Ahmed

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing... Great location Nice food Rooms were a bit small but clean

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathieu Normandin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2015 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, amazing friendly staff and always fun

Disliked: Mathieu left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Vibrant night life. Large rooms

Disliked: Small toilet

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott campbell

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 June 2015 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in the bar

Disliked: N.a

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! Great vibe, great food (I can highly recommend their potatoe wedges!), friendly staff, comfortable, clean beds in small dorms with a massive vault for storing personal items (I managed to squeeze 2 small trolley bags into one), good safety protocols, one of the best free buffet breakfast's I've seen around... and I haven't even mentioned the location yet. It's just 2 min away from Amsterdam Central Station, right next to the Dam Square (For reference: I'm actually from Amsterdam myself, but emigrated abroad, after having visited some 500+ hostels on numerous trips around the world; but this one definitely won a top 25 spot!)

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, parties and breakfast. Excellent place if you want to have fun.

Disliked: The restroom is little. Lockers inside the room aren't so big.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice staff, good facilities, clean, decent free breakfast and good rooms and balcony

Disliked: I didn't find it super easy to meet people as a solo traveller - would be awesome to have somewhere to chill other than the bar to hang out and chat to people. I would stay here with friends though definitely :)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kathryn Walkington

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2015

Liked: Good lockers and breakfast

Disliked: Wasn't aware how loud the bar downstairs would be, room was old and could have used a good deep clean. No atmosphere as bar (only social area) is shared by the public

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2015 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, perfect location

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wenwen FANG

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Wenwen would recommend this property

Liked: near central station,helpful staff,good breakfast compared to its price

Disliked: pay for baggage deposit very unreasonable,room and building old,noisy during night

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015

Liked: Good location, good food and a good atmosphere in the bar area.

Disliked: Really dissapointed after staying at st. Christophers in other locations. Of the three rooms I saw (more on that later), the shower holder was broken in all of them, the toilets were worn and grimey. We booked three beds in the same room and when we checked in we were told we would be separated because they had booked someone else in. I had to really push to get a room together for the rest of our stay as the staff were extremely unhelpful and didn't offer me this option already. When we arrived at the room my friends were staying in, the beds hadn't been remade from the previous guests, again when we informed the desk the staff seemed to not care. On our second night, of the beds we stayed in, 2 of the under-bed locker cages were broken. Based on this experience, knowing there are so many other great hostels in Amsterdam, I will never be booking with any St. Christopher's chain hostel again. Especially knowing that booking a room together online means you may still end up separated

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have a noise in the night. No too clean, because a badroom with 8 diferent person is a mass sometimes. Good breakfast. People nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anderson Quintella

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Anderson would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Pavlidis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

18 February 2015 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were extremely Helpful and happy

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcelo Paiva

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, funny and good breakfast

Disliked: The doors didn't close very well

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sharif Moghrabi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Sharif would recommend this property

Liked: Loved absolutely everything about the place!!!

Disliked: Nothing to be honest!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cris Artuz

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

11 February 2015 cris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right in the middle of the action, and only 5 or less min walk from Amsterdam central station. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are very tidy, cleaners come every morning to clean the rooms, I will definitely stay at this hostel again if I visit Amsterdam.

Disliked: cris left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cheap, good location

Disliked: Rooms were not the cleanest

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Callum Snell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2015 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Really central, decent location for the main sights of Amsterdam. Rooms were comfortable. Facilities were sound.

Disliked: Bit cliched, lots of Brits there to primarily smoke weed. Bar was expensive, but then so is everywhere in Amsterdam. Busy hostel to check in at, but understandable given the volume of people staying there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Murray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Our first time staying in a hostel and it couldn't have been better. Great staff, helpful and friendly and a fantastic atmosphere. The food served in the bar was brilliant. Can't recommend the hostel highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Pessanha de Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: The pub downstairs was great!

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Romanenko

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is easy fast and nice. Lockers check in everything is exactly where and how it should be.

Disliked: I have no complaints.

The property's response is...