We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston

Hostel | Warmoesstraat, 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012JA

89.4% Overall Rating

1218 out of 1340 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

"Amazing place! Great vibe, great food (I can highly recommend their potatoe wedges!), friendly staff, comfortable, clean beds in small dorms with a massive vault for storing personal items (I managed to squeeze 2 small…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Maggy's Guesthouse
38.72 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.19 USD

Hostel 75.3% 1176 reviews
Travel Hotel
33.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.9% 768 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.49 USD

Hostel 93.3% 1136 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
Hostel Croydon
35.40 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
43.15 USD

Hostel 78.9% 951 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

1218 out of 1340 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 889 of 1081 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott campbell

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 June 2015 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in the bar

Disliked: N.a

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! Great vibe, great food (I can highly recommend their potatoe wedges!), friendly staff, comfortable, clean beds in small dorms with a massive vault for storing personal items (I managed to squeeze 2 small trolley bags into one), good safety protocols, one of the best free buffet breakfast's I've seen around... and I haven't even mentioned the location yet. It's just 2 min away from Amsterdam Central Station, right next to the Dam Square (For reference: I'm actually from Amsterdam myself, but emigrated abroad, after having visited some 500+ hostels on numerous trips around the world; but this one definitely won a top 25 spot!)

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, parties and breakfast. Excellent place if you want to have fun.

Disliked: The restroom is little. Lockers inside the room aren't so big.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice staff, good facilities, clean, decent free breakfast and good rooms and balcony

Disliked: I didn't find it super easy to meet people as a solo traveller - would be awesome to have somewhere to chill other than the bar to hang out and chat to people. I would stay here with friends though definitely :)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kathryn Walkington

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2015

Liked: Good lockers and breakfast

Disliked: Wasn't aware how loud the bar downstairs would be, room was old and could have used a good deep clean. No atmosphere as bar (only social area) is shared by the public

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2015 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, perfect location

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wenwen FANG

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Wenwen would recommend this property

Liked: near central station,helpful staff,good breakfast compared to its price

Disliked: pay for baggage deposit very unreasonable,room and building old,noisy during night

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015

Liked: Good location, good food and a good atmosphere in the bar area.

Disliked: Really dissapointed after staying at st. Christophers in other locations. Of the three rooms I saw (more on that later), the shower holder was broken in all of them, the toilets were worn and grimey. We booked three beds in the same room and when we checked in we were told we would be separated because they had booked someone else in. I had to really push to get a room together for the rest of our stay as the staff were extremely unhelpful and didn't offer me this option already. When we arrived at the room my friends were staying in, the beds hadn't been remade from the previous guests, again when we informed the desk the staff seemed to not care. On our second night, of the beds we stayed in, 2 of the under-bed locker cages were broken. Based on this experience, knowing there are so many other great hostels in Amsterdam, I will never be booking with any St. Christopher's chain hostel again. Especially knowing that booking a room together online means you may still end up separated

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have a noise in the night. No too clean, because a badroom with 8 diferent person is a mass sometimes. Good breakfast. People nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anderson Quintella

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Anderson would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Pavlidis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

18 February 2015 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were extremely Helpful and happy

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcelo Paiva

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, funny and good breakfast

Disliked: The doors didn't close very well

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sharif Moghrabi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Sharif would recommend this property

Liked: Loved absolutely everything about the place!!!

Disliked: Nothing to be honest!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cris Artuz

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

11 February 2015 cris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right in the middle of the action, and only 5 or less min walk from Amsterdam central station. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are very tidy, cleaners come every morning to clean the rooms, I will definitely stay at this hostel again if I visit Amsterdam.

Disliked: cris left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cheap, good location

Disliked: Rooms were not the cleanest

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Callum Snell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2015 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Really central, decent location for the main sights of Amsterdam. Rooms were comfortable. Facilities were sound.

Disliked: Bit cliched, lots of Brits there to primarily smoke weed. Bar was expensive, but then so is everywhere in Amsterdam. Busy hostel to check in at, but understandable given the volume of people staying there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Murray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Our first time staying in a hostel and it couldn't have been better. Great staff, helpful and friendly and a fantastic atmosphere. The food served in the bar was brilliant. Can't recommend the hostel highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Pessanha de Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: The pub downstairs was great!

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Romanenko

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is easy fast and nice. Lockers check in everything is exactly where and how it should be.

Disliked: I have no complaints.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Azov

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good ))

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to navigate the city from, good breakfast

Disliked: No common lounge area that wasn't the bar

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2014

Liked: Easy place to stay.

Disliked: Had to move rooms due to other guests / street noise.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Burns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014

Liked: The atmosphere was great and the people were very friendly.

Disliked: The room wasn't ventilated that well and it became quite hot.

The property's response is...